New, overwhelmed, confused

Status
Not open for further replies.
Like Catherine said, how were you supposed to know that not all cat food is created equal. I had Gabby on what I thought was a premium diet -- Science Diet kibble! I now have "discussions" with co-workers when they tell me what they are feeding their cats. And I agree with Catherine in that transitioning your kitty to low carb (LC) may help. The same vet who put together the food chart has information on transitioning your cat to a canned food diet. There's a lot of very good information on her website on feline nutrition.

Hold on to the high carb (HC) food. We. use the the HC to steer numbers if they are dropping low. Most kitties are junkies for the gravy -- it's where the carbs are so it's an easy option if you need to raise BG numbers.

As far as treats, cheese is fine. It's a protein. Any sort of protein is fine. Many people here use freeze dried chicken (or other freeze dried protein), or will cook chicken for their cat. One of our members used shrimp as a treat!! The only caveat about cheese is that many cats are lactose intolerant. You may be using treats as a frequent reward for testing. You might want to try out other options so you don't end. up with your kitty having a GI upset.

There are several people here who can help you decipher labs. The results from an in-office lab test, if it is a BG test, may be inflated from stress (i.e., stress hyperglycemia). Unless your vet has serious lab equipment, it's possible that he sent the blood out which is very common and may be why they didn't get back to you with results. What I would ask about is a fructosamine test. This will let you know whether BG has been elevated for several weeks vs just higher than desirable when the blood was drawn. (It's very much like a hemoglobin A1c that is used to assess blood glucose levels in humans.)

I know there have been members in the Chicagoland area. What I would suggest is starting a new thread with the subject line reading something like, "Need help learning testing/shooting - Lake Zurich, IL" Give a brief explanation -- you're new and your vet has not been terribly informative
If you see my post above I went and bought everything. Not sure if I got the right stuff or how to use it. And I’m having a really hard time with this situation right now.

I’m sorry! I’m sure it’s the last thing you want to deal with— a complete nutcase who’s acting like a total baby. I know I am… anxiety is something I struggle with
 
Testing for ketones: You stick the end of the strip that has the blotter-like matters into your cat's urine stream. You wait the amount of time indicated in the directions and then compare the color of the strip to the color on the bottle/box. You want ketones to be trace or lower. Post here if it's higher. Some people will use a big spoon or a small ladle to get a urine sample. A lot depend on how tolerant your cat is of your being there at litter box time.

I'm sorry, but. your vet may be an idiot. There's no way. you can get a sterile urine sample at home. None of. us can. The only way to get a sterile sample is by cystocentesis where the vet inserts a needle into your cat's bladder. The urine sample is then cultured to see if any bacteria grows and they do a sensitivity test to see what antibiotics the bacteria is sensitive to. (It's called a culture and sensitivity.) If the sample isn't sterile (for example, I'm guessing the container you used wasn't sterilized or there was dust from the gravel), it can be a source of bacteria that isn't from your cat's urine.

Lantus - it lasts for more than 28 days. I've used a pen for 3 months. Keep it refrigerated and in a place other than on the door where there's both more variation in temperature and the insulin is subject to getting rattled around from the door opening and closing. Do NOT roll or shake the Lantus. It's already in solution so there's no need to mix it.

The 33 gauge lancets are very thin. It takes a while for the capillary bed along the edge of the ear to develop and for the ear to bleed a bit more easily. You may want to get some 28 gauge lancets for now. (The lower the gauge the thicker the needle.) Hold on to the lancets you bought. Once your cats ears get used to being poked, you can use the thinner gauge lancets.

Syringes - I hope your were able to get syringes that are marked in half unit increments.
 
I just saw your post above mine. There are very few people who arrive here and are comfortable with testing and dosing insulin. There are also a surprising number of people who are needle phobic.

Take a few deep breaths and calm yourself. You can do this! At the beginning, this is not an easy process. FWIW, Gabby was critically ill and in the ICU for several days when she was diagnosed. I speak fluent medicalese. I have no doubt the vet and the veterinary resident thought I was an MD or a nurse. I was such a basket case I forgot to ask them to show me how to give Gabby her injection. I learned how to test and shoot by watching YouTube videos. I hadn't even found FDMB at that point. I was a wreck.

If you can use a safety pin or sew on a button, you can do this!
 
Testing for ketones: You stick the end of the strip that has the blotter-like matters into your cat's urine stream. You wait the amount of time indicated in the directions and then compare the color of the strip to the color on the bottle/box. You want ketones to be trace or lower. Post here if it's higher. Some people will use a big spoon or a small ladle to get a urine sample. A lot depend on how tolerant your cat is of your being there at litter box time.

I'm sorry, but. your vet may be an idiot. There's no way. you can get a sterile urine sample at home. None of. us can. The only way to get a sterile sample is by cystocentesis where the vet inserts a needle into your cat's bladder. The urine sample is then cultured to see if any bacteria grows and they do a sensitivity test to see what antibiotics the bacteria is sensitive to. (It's called a culture and sensitivity.) If the sample isn't sterile (for example, I'm guessing the container you used wasn't sterilized or there was dust from the gravel), it can be a source of bacteria that isn't from your cat's urine.

Lantus - it lasts for more than 28 days. I've used a pen for 3 months. Keep it refrigerated and in a place other than on the door where there's both more variation in temperature and the insulin is subject to getting rattled around from the door opening and closing. Do NOT roll or shake the Lantus. It's already in solution so there's no need to mix it.

The 33 gauge lancets are very thin. It takes a while for the capillary bed along the edge of the ear to develop and for the ear to bleed a bit more easily. You may want to get some 28 gauge lancets for now. (The lower the gauge the thicker the needle.) Hold on to the lancets you bought. Once your cats ears get used to being poked, you can use the thinner gauge lancets.

Syringes - I hope your were able to get syringes that are marked in half unit increments.
I really do think my vet is a moron. It’s not my usual vet—they went out of business during covid. This is a new place completely.

So even if the urine sample wasn’t sterile, it wouldn’t cause a false glucose reading. Would it? I could be treating a cat for diabetes when he doesn’t have it. I know that’s just wishful thinking.

I was considering doing an insulin dose without testing because I’m so worried that I’m waiting too long to give him insulin. And I’m not clear on the testing. Bad idea?

For insulin, is it supposed to be given every 12 hours and the testing just helps me keep track of how it’s affecting him? If the dose is correct, etc. Or how do I know when he needs it? I’m sorry! I don’t know why I’m having such a hard time grasping this.

The insulin directions say every 12 hours (no ifs/ands or buts). I’m just really confused on how I know when/how often I give the insulin if I’m supposed to ignore doctor’s instructions….

can you please dumb it down for me? like how my first day with all of this should go? Or how your typical day goes? PLEASE pretend you are talking to a small child…. because that’s my level of comprehension.

I’m sorry to be such a pain! I hope you know how much your help means and how grateful I am for everyone’s time!
 
Testing for ketones: You stick the end of the strip that has the blotter-like matters into your cat's urine stream. You wait the amount of time indicated in the directions and then compare the color of the strip to the color on the bottle/box. You want ketones to be trace or lower. Post here if it's higher. Some people will use a big spoon or a small ladle to get a urine sample. A lot depend on how tolerant your cat is of your being there at litter box time.

I'm sorry, but. your vet may be an idiot. There's no way. you can get a sterile urine sample at home. None of. us can. The only way to get a sterile sample is by cystocentesis where the vet inserts a needle into your cat's bladder. The urine sample is then cultured to see if any bacteria grows and they do a sensitivity test to see what antibiotics the bacteria is sensitive to. (It's called a culture and sensitivity.) If the sample isn't sterile (for example, I'm guessing the container you used wasn't sterilized or there was dust from the gravel), it can be a source of bacteria that isn't from your cat's urine.

Lantus - it lasts for more than 28 days. I've used a pen for 3 months. Keep it refrigerated and in a place other than on the door where there's both more variation in temperature and the insulin is subject to getting rattled around from the door opening and closing. Do NOT roll or shake the Lantus. It's already in solution so there's no need to mix it.

The 33 gauge lancets are very thin. It takes a while for the capillary bed along the edge of the ear to develop and for the ear to bleed a bit more easily. You may want to get some 28 gauge lancets for now. (The lower the gauge the thicker the needle.) Hold on to the lancets you bought. Once your cats ears get used to being poked, you can use the thinner gauge lancets.

Syringes - I hope your were able to get syringes that are marked in half unit increments.
I just tested myself with the ketostix. To make sure I understood how to read the results. Apparently, I have ketones in my urine. So that can’t be good. LOL. One problem at a time. I’ll worry about me after I figure out the cat. Plus, everything wrong with me is likely due to the overwhelming stress and anxiety I’m feeling.

Now the scary part… testing myself with the glucose meter. I need to practice on myself and get it right before I attempt it on my cat.

but I’m scared….
 
Here is one video ,I had always given Tyler his injection in his scruff, pull up until you fell like an indentation, you can actually feel it with your finger , that's where you want to shoot.
DON'T Listen to what she says about over drawing how many units you have to give and then pushing it back into the vial or a pen. I'm just showing you this to show how she injects it
 
Last edited:
I also got the following:

  1. ketostix reagent strips for urinalysis
  2. Lantus 100 unit/ml. Directions: give 2 units under skin at neck region every 12 hours. Discard after 28 days!!! For that much money!!??
  3. Sure comfort insulin syringes short needle
  4. Sunmark true metrix glucose meter
  5. Sunmark trueplus 33g sterile lancets
  6. Sunmark true metrix test strips
  7. Cotton balls
Like Sienne said the pen will last you up to 3 months
So you got the pen of Lantus right?
What did you pay for it,
Where did you buy it CVS Costco, Walgreen's Walmart etc some if these places have a coupon they will apply for you

I showed you the prices from Marks Marine Canada, next time order the 5 pens from there , they will last a year

I myself wouldn't use cotton balls, you want the cotton rounds ( you take make up with these )
They are better to use , thicker than cotton balls

Everything else you got is ok
Don't use the Relion test strips you bought in the meter that you bought
Maybe later you can order the Reluon Prime on line from Walmart or go tell them to order them
Always good to have a back up for 9 bucks
 
For insulin, is it supposed to be given every 12 hours and the testing just helps me keep track of how it’s affecting him? If the dose is correct, etc. Or how do I know when he needs it? I’m sorry! I don’t know why I’m having such a hard time grasping this.

The insulin directions say every 12 hours (no ifs/ands or buts). I’m just really confused on how I know when/how often I give the insulin if I’m supposed to ignore doctor’s instructions….

can you please dumb it down for me? like how my first day with all of this should go? Or how your typical day goes? PLEASE pretend you are talking to a small child…. because that’s my level of comprehension.

I’m sorry to be such a pain! I hope you know how much your help means and how grateful I am for everyone’s time!
Yes insulin is given every 12 hours
I assume you work, I don't know your hours
Let's say you work 9 to 5
I don't know how long it takes you to drive to work
You can test him at 7:45 AM, feed , then insulin at 8 AM
If you are close enough to come home for lunch test him
Then at night you test him at 7:45 PM, feed , insulin at 8 PM
So your shoot times would be 8AM ,and 8 PM


Then you would try and get some more tests in to see how the insulin is working for Red and how low it's dropping his BG and when.
If you are at work then test him when you get home . After his night time shot do the same.

On weekends you can test him more during the day cycle
Yes we have a spreadsheet we use to track our cats numbers
I am going to ask one of our members to set one up for you, I know you are overwhelmed
I will give you the link to read , it will tell you how the spreadsheet works
I can go into more detail tomorrow, but read about it ok
I will ask our very nice member Bhooma to set it up for you Hi Bhooma :cat:
@Bandit's Mom
She will be sending you a private message to get some info from you
so look for it where it says inbox
Bhooma won't be on during the day she lives in India so she's in at night
 
I also got the following:

  1. ketostix reagent strips for urinalysis
  2. Lantus 100 unit/ml. Directions: give 2 units under skin at neck region every 12 hours. Discard after 28 days!!! For that much money!!??
  3. Sure comfort insulin syringes short needle
  4. Sunmark true metrix glucose meter
  5. Sunmark trueplus 33g sterile lancets
  6. Sunmark true metrix test strips
  7. Cotton balls
I see your vet said to give 2 units
I'm not sure about that, you said you will call the office and get the notes and what his BG number was
Usually you would start with 0.5 units it 1 unit
If I were you I would get the vets notes and before giving your cat insulin
START a new post (thread) link this thread to the new one so members can go back to this one for info and ask How Many Units Should I Give
Say you are a new member and start trying to get some tests done, write them down
then when your spreadsheet is set up you can go and enter them on the spreadsheet.

The food I see you bought ,that's fine
After some one gives you advice on how many units to give Red ,you can do your signature.
Just jeep asking questions , that's what we are hear for
Do you have a friend to come over when you test and give insulin since you are very nervous, maybe having some one with you will make it better
 
If you have swapped over to a low carb wet diet and there are no ketones in the urine, I would start with 0.5 units (1/2 unit) insulin twice a day.
First you test the blood glucose, then you feed a meal, then you give the insulin in that order.
Also give your kitty a couple of snacks to eat during the first 6 hours after each insulin dose around 3 and 5 hours after the dose. And try and get a blood glucose test in then too.
If the BG is under 200 when you test before the dose of insulin…. Stall, don’t feed and test again in 20 minutes and post and ask for help. In the beginning we suggest not giving insulin under 200 on the main forum until you have some data.
 
If you have swapped over to a low carb wet diet and there are no ketones in the urine, I would start with 0.5 units (1/2 unit) insulin twice a day.
First you test the blood glucose, then you feed a meal, then you give the insulin in that order.
Also give your kitty a couple of snacks to eat during the first 6 hours after each insulin dose around 3 and 5 hours after the dose. And try and get a blood glucose test in then too.
If the BG is under 200 when you test before the dose of insulin…. Stall, don’t feed and test again in 20 minutes and post and ask for help. In the beginning we suggest not giving insulin under 200 on the main forum until you have some data.
Thanks so much Bron ,her vet told her squat about anything
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Lauren are these the syringes you bought?
We use syringes with half unit markings because we adjust units by 0.25 units at a time
These are the ones in Walmart. You want 0.30 cc/ml (30 units) syringes with half unit markings. Not the 0.5 cc/ml or 1 cc/ml ones.

84ebbd9e955b4348939878c2f671b8ed.jpg


relion-insulin-syringes-png.37311

Do you have syringes with half unit markings

30-unit-insulin-syringe-markings.jpg
 
Last edited:
@Lauren Esenberg
Lauren please make sure you read what Bron said in post #62. The numbers are on the right hand side of each persons posts
Also just so we know that you have read what members have said to you can you please hit tap in the word like so we know you have read it, like is on the right hand side
 
Last edited:
I'm sorry I don't have much advice to give since I'm in the same boat as you, I just wanted to give a shout-out and some well wishes to you and Red. Your posts really hit close to home for me - my cat was also just diagnosed and it has had me torn up inside. I share a lot of your anxieties and have so many of the same questions as you (which is understandly a lot). Don't mind if I lurk your thread in case any answers to some of my questions appear here. :)

I'm also still in the "super scared, overwhelmed, and confused" phase. We haven't even started treatment yet and, like you were, I'm worried about my vet having me wait...but also dreading having to start doing all these scary sounding things. Nevermind the financial aspect as well. I feel super unprepared and am trying to learn things ahead of time, but as you said, it's like I'm reading another language when I try to take in too much info at once. It's getting better though - a couple days ago I understood NOTHING, but a few things here and there are starting to make more sense. Baby steps, as much as possible. Take a deep breath and allow time to let your brain rest in between all the learning.

It sounds like you could do with finding some sort of a local support system, starting with a better vet, but also reach out to any nearby friends/family you have who may be able to help emotionally, or even come over to assist with the shots/testing. One of the best things I have going for me is that my girlfriend has experience with giving injections and has promised to help me, because she loves my cat as well. She's also been good for just getting my mind off everything for a little each day by watching Tv together or talking about other things.

I also suffer from severe needlephobia and at the moment can't imagine having to do this without any help. I'm so sorry you're in that situation. Please be careful with yourself too, I know us needlephobes are prone to fainting at even the sight of those things. You don't want to hurt yourself or your kitty, so if you feel dizzy at any point make sure to lay down (with your legs slightly elevated) asap.

Best of luck, I know how badly this sucks, and I hope that things start looking up for you and Red real soon. <3
 
Good morning!!

If a urine glucose reading is what your vet was aiming for, the sample should be fine. However, urine glucose is far less accurate than blood glucose. (I'm rushing to get ready for work -- if you remind me at some point I'll explain why.)

Re-read Bron's post - #62. I agree with the amount of insulins you should be giving. 2.0u is too much when starting out unless your cat is the size of a 4 mo old tiger cub. The only point I'd add is that you don't have to wait until Red finishes eating. I would inject Gabby when her head was in her bowl. It takes Lantus about 2 hours to kick in so you have time if your cat is a grazer and doesn't eat all in one sitting.

There's a huge amount of information in this thread. I completely understand how overwhelmed you must be. I'm going to see if I can get an experienced member to summarize for you since I'm needing to get out the door.
 
Welcome! You have been given a lot of information and must be overwhelmed. I get that. When I diagnosed Max by finding glucose in his urine I was at my vet’s office the next day. I had a friend and my sister who had diabetic cats and other than switching to fancy feast pates and giving lantus twice a day they went on about their lives. Max was very sensitive and in my first post here I wrote don’t shoot me for saying I will not be home testing. I was seeing my vet every few days for a mid cycle test then. I soon became a testaholic when my vet gave me the needle to prick his ear and Max was an angel.

If your cat doesn’t like the fancy feast pates try different flavors or a different manufacturer. Before diabetes Max only liked high carb foods with slices or pieces. He adjusted quickly. Before that he was a dry food junky but he blocked so I switched to canned food after a time on RX food for crystals.

If you are doing a food change and he will eat the low carb foods it’s fine to wait a week or two and might actually be best because the diet change might greatly change the amount of insulin needed. If he won’t eat the canned get a dry low carb food for now and start insulin. You dint want him dropping weight too quickly as that can lead to other illnesses in a cat. You will get all the help you need here. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning Lauren and welcome. Sienne is right, there is a huge amount of information in this thread! :)

  • When you get the test results, we can help you go through the information, but since you've noted symptoms of drinking excessive amounts of water and sticky pees, those are both typical of diabetes diagnosis.
I now have every flavor and every option available at my local stores (I went to a few). I kept referencing the food chart and only purchased ones with less than 6% carbs. A couple have 6%. Is that ok?
  • This is perfectly fine, and actually as long as you focus on canned foods that are under 10%, you're good. Don't worry too much about the difference - it doesn't have to be 1-2%, some kitties actually do better on a higher low carb like a 6-9%.
  • I agree with Bron, start with 0.5u dose, especially now that you've transitioned to all wet food.
  • Most of us find it is better for our kitties to feed a meal at shot time, and then have a couple of little snacks during the earlier part of the cycle. When we used Lantus, I used to feed 1/4 can of FF every couple of hours up until 6 hours after insulin which is when the dose's effect would typically start to slow down and BG levels start to rise (although that can sometimes vary depending on the cat).
  • It is important to test your cat's BG levels, particularly before giving insulin, since you want to make sure it is safe to do so. Please believe me when I say you will get the hang of testing! My hand was shaking the first time I tried it with my cat, I actually found giving the insulin shot easier. The edge of the cat's ear actually has very little feeling/sensation, so you won't be hurting him. Some kitties are more startled by the popping sound the lancet device makes. I like to place the cotton ball on the underside of the ear, then fold the ear over a little, and test on the outer edge. Then I'd hold the cotton round on the edge where I poked for a few seconds afterward. I also use some reading glasses and I bought a small little head lamp to keep both my hands free, you'd be amazed what you can see with a little extra light. Sometimes the blood drop is so small, I think it was there, I just couldn't see it. You could try getting the blood test from his paw pad, but I never had much luck with that.
  • This part of Sienne's post explains about testing for ketones. Some of us find we can sneak up on the kitty and just stick the strip under while they are peeing, but the spoon or ladle trick works too.
Testing for ketones: You stick the end of the strip that has the blotter-like matters into your cat's urine stream. You wait the amount of time indicated in the directions and then compare the color of the strip to the color on the bottle/box. You want ketones to be trace or lower. Post here if it's higher. Some people will use a big spoon or a small ladle to get a urine sample. A lot depend on how tolerant your cat is of your being there at litter box time.

  • Sienne also posted a good link on where to give injections here:
I gave injections in my cat's scruff. You pull up the skin and inject into the space below the skin and above the muscle. The AAHA has information on injections in this link.

These insulin needles really are very small and thin, most kitties don't even notice, especially when they are busy with their head down in their bowl eating. When you look at your needle, you'll notice there is a bevel edge, so you want that facing up when you inject, it goes in very smoothly that way.

I'm not familiar with the Sure Comfort brand - can you also confirm they are for U100 insulin, and that they have half unit markings - perhaps you can take a quick picture of the box?

Lastly, a couple of general comments. I have been doing this for 4 years now. My cat still loves me dearly, and if anything we have an even stronger bond because of the care and attention. He still sleeps in my bed, and curls up against my arm. Actually, if I don't have my arm available, he'll paw at me to get into his cuddle spot :cat:.

Cut yourself a little slack, there really is a steep learning curve, and no one expects you to understand everything in one day! It is only natural to have a little doubt, some anxiety, and lots questions, but we are here to help you.
 
I see your vet said to give 2 units
I'm not sure about that, you said you will call the office and get the notes and what his BG number was
Usually you would start with 0.5 units it 1 unit
If I were you I would get the vets notes and before giving your cat insulin
START a new post (thread) link this thread to the new one so members can go back to this one for info and ask How Many Units Should I Give
Say you are a new member and start trying to get some tests done, write them down
then when your spreadsheet is set up you can go and enter them on the spreadsheet.

The food I see you bought ,that's fine
After some one gives you advice on how many units to give Red ,you can do your signature.
Just jeep asking questions , that's what we are hear for
Do you have a friend to come over when you test and give insulin since you are very nervous, maybe having some one with you will make it better
Thanks so much for all of your reply’s and helpful information. I’m still going through it and trying to understand but wanted to tell you how much I appreciate your time and help!

I found this site because I got a bad feeling from the vet and didn’t trust what he was saying. I will have to look into the dosage but it does say 2 units on the bottle. I haven’t administered any insulin yet. He told me that’s the lowest amount and we can work our way up. He told me a lot of things that were incorrect apparently. A different vet I spoke with on the phone today gave me even worse information.

I need a new vet ASAP.

They didn’t have pens. Are those better/easier/less painful for the cat?
 
Lauren are these the syringes you bought?
We use syringes with half unit markings because we adjust units by 0.25 units at a time
These are the ones in Walmart. You want 0.30 cc/ml (30 units) syringes with half unit markings. Not the 0.5 cc/ml or 1 cc/ml ones.

84ebbd9e955b4348939878c2f671b8ed.jpg


relion-insulin-syringes-png.37311

Do you have syringes with half unit markings

30-unit-insulin-syringe-markings.jpg
I got the wrong stuff :(
They don’t have the correct ones in store so I have to order online. I hate that I keep delaying insulin but I can’t test the blood without the right supplies… sigh
 
I'm sorry I don't have much advice to give since I'm in the same boat as you, I just wanted to give a shout-out and some well wishes to you and Red. Your posts really hit close to home for me - my cat was also just diagnosed and it has had me torn up inside. I share a lot of your anxieties and have so many of the same questions as you (which is understandly a lot). Don't mind if I lurk your thread in case any answers to some of my questions appear here. :)

I'm also still in the "super scared, overwhelmed, and confused" phase. We haven't even started treatment yet and, like you were, I'm worried about my vet having me wait...but also dreading having to start doing all these scary sounding things. Nevermind the financial aspect as well. I feel super unprepared and am trying to learn things ahead of time, but as you said, it's like I'm reading another language when I try to take in too much info at once. It's getting better though - a couple days ago I understood NOTHING, but a few things here and there are starting to make more sense. Baby steps, as much as possible. Take a deep breath and allow time to let your brain rest in between all the learning.

It sounds like you could do with finding some sort of a local support system, starting with a better vet, but also reach out to any nearby friends/family you have who may be able to help emotionally, or even come over to assist with the shots/testing. One of the best things I have going for me is that my girlfriend has experience with giving injections and has promised to help me, because she loves my cat as well. She's also been good for just getting my mind off everything for a little each day by watching Tv together or talking about other things.

I also suffer from severe needlephobia and at the moment can't imagine having to do this without any help. I'm so sorry you're in that situation. Please be careful with yourself too, I know us needlephobes are prone to fainting at even the sight of those things. You don't want to hurt yourself or your kitty, so if you feel dizzy at any point make sure to lay down (with your legs slightly elevated) asap.

Best of luck, I know how badly this sucks, and I hope that things start looking up for you and Red real soon. <3
Thanks so much for your kind words! I haven’t started any of it yet and currently trying to find a vet to show me in person. It’s the only way I’m going to feel comfortable. The videos make me sick (because of my needle issue). So I need something more hands on (basically forcing me to confront it). The problem is me. Everyone here has provided more than enough info, but I need to be shown in person. I probably sound nuts. Maybe I am…

Anyway, the new vet I found today I only spoke with on the phone. He had great reviews that specifically mentioned diabetes. However…

He told me that glucose blood testing wasn’t necessary. I only need to do that when I’m testing the “curve”. Whatever that means. Regardless, that was music to my ears. The insulin shots I can see myself being able to do. But stabbing a needle into the delicate sweet ear so hard it bleeds and then squeezing out blood multiple times a day is an unbearable thought. I can’t imagine ever being ok with that.

Ignorance is bliss. Because even though the vet is telling me it’s OK not to do the tests (and I want to just say, awesome, thank you!). My conscience has a very different and nagging opinion. So I’m back at square one.

Anyway, tomorrow I will be calling every vet nearby to find one that seems like they know what their doing and can get me in ASAP. I’ve completely changed the diet but I know that’s not enough.

I’m doing this one very slow (and painful) step at a time.

Why is the vet having you wait to start insulin? I’m sorry if you explained already. My brain is mush from all of the info lately.
 
Good morning Lauren and welcome. Sienne is right, there is a huge amount of information in this thread! :)

  • When you get the test results, we can help you go through the information, but since you've noted symptoms of drinking excessive amounts of water and sticky pees, those are both typical of diabetes diagnosis.

  • This is perfectly fine, and actually as long as you focus on canned foods that are under 10%, you're good. Don't worry too much about the difference - it doesn't have to be 1-2%, some kitties actually do better on a higher low carb like a 6-9%.
  • I agree with Bron, start with 0.5u dose, especially now that you've transitioned to all wet food.
  • Most of us find it is better for our kitties to feed a meal at shot time, and then have a couple of little snacks during the earlier part of the cycle. When we used Lantus, I used to feed 1/4 can of FF every couple of hours up until 6 hours after insulin which is when the dose's effect would typically start to slow down and BG levels start to rise (although that can sometimes vary depending on the cat).
  • It is important to test your cat's BG levels, particularly before giving insulin, since you want to make sure it is safe to do so. Please believe me when I say you will get the hang of testing! My hand was shaking the first time I tried it with my cat, I actually found giving the insulin shot easier. The edge of the cat's ear actually has very little feeling/sensation, so you won't be hurting him. Some kitties are more startled by the popping sound the lancet device makes. I like to place the cotton ball on the underside of the ear, then fold the ear over a little, and test on the outer edge. Then I'd hold the cotton round on the edge where I poked for a few seconds afterward. I also use some reading glasses and I bought a small little head lamp to keep both my hands free, you'd be amazed what you can see with a little extra light. Sometimes the blood drop is so small, I think it was there, I just couldn't see it. You could try getting the blood test from his paw pad, but I never had much luck with that.
  • This part of Sienne's post explains about testing for ketones. Some of us find we can sneak up on the kitty and just stick the strip under while they are peeing, but the spoon or ladle trick works too.

  • Sienne also posted a good link on where to give injections here:

These insulin needles really are very small and thin, most kitties don't even notice, especially when they are busy with their head down in their bowl eating. When you look at your needle, you'll notice there is a bevel edge, so you want that facing up when you inject, it goes in very smoothly that way.

I'm not familiar with the Sure Comfort brand - can you also confirm they are for U100 insulin, and that they have half unit markings - perhaps you can take a quick picture of the box?

Lastly, a couple of general comments. I have been doing this for 4 years now. My cat still loves me dearly, and if anything we have an even stronger bond because of the care and attention. He still sleeps in my bed, and curls up against my arm. Actually, if I don't have my arm available, he'll paw at me to get into his cuddle spot :cat:.

Cut yourself a little slack, there really is a steep learning curve, and no one expects you to understand everything in one day! It is only natural to have a little doubt, some anxiety, and lots questions, but we are here to help you.
Thank you for all of that helpful info! I’m still getting a little lost in the reading but you made it simple. I just have to keep going through it all until it makes sense. I really appreciate the time you spent summarizing things for me.

So you don’t think a cat can feel the ear pricks? That would make me feel a little better. I don’t like the noise either. I couldn’t even do it on myself. I’m a baby! (it’s the needle fear— that I’m trying sooo hard to overcome) Is there a way to do it without the spring trigger? I hate it.

I have the test results from the vet. Just trying to figure out how to enter it for everyone to see. Someone is already helping me figure that out. So I’ll hopefully have it up soon.
Thanks again
 
Is there a way to do it without the spring trigger? I hate it.
You don't need to use the device at all, and then you won't have that spring trigger. Just hold the little plastic lancet in your free hand (the other hand will be holding Red's ear) and lightly poke the spot that you want to get blood from. Doing it this way allows you to get the spot that you're aiming for, and just gives you better control. Most of us, including myself, do it this way.
 
Thanks so much for all of your reply’s and helpful information. I’m still going through it and trying to understand but wanted to tell you how much I appreciate your time and help!

I found this site because I got a bad feeling from the vet and didn’t trust what he was saying. I will have to look into the dosage but it does say 2 units on the bottle. I haven’t administered any insulin yet. He told me that’s the lowest amount and we can work our way up. He told me a lot of things that were incorrect apparently. A different vet I spoke with on the phone today gave me even worse information.

I need a new vet ASAP.

They didn’t have pens. Are those better/easier/less painful for the cat?
I definitely would not start at 2u of any insulin under your circumstances. I agree with Bron that it’s best to start at 0.5u. Starting slow with him at a lower dose is a better option.
 
Christie is correct. There are far fewer of the nerves that sense pain along the edge of a cat's ears. If you think about a cat that lives in the wild, they'd be miserable if every time they brushed past something, their ears hurt! Or, since ears are something kittens gnaw on, the littermates would also be miserable to say nothing of cat that get into a fight -- a nip on the ear would leave a cat vulnerable to an attack due to an "owwie".

I hated the lancing device, as well. I free handed. I felt like I had far better control.

Red's labs: If you look on Red's spreadsheet, there's a tab at the top marked "Labs". You can enter the information there. Just make sure that the reference values are the same as on the lab report. If not, change them on the spreadsheet.

You can test Red's blood as long as you have a meter, lancets, and test strips.

When you said "they" didn't have pens, who do you mean? Is the vet selling Lantus? If so, does what the vet sold you look like the image in this link? Vets should not be repackaging Lantus.

There is a general consensus that it would be far more prudent to start Red at a dose of 0.5u twice a day.

Since you're planning on finding a new vet, you may find this information on interviewing vets helpful. (And before you ask, yes -- we have information on just about everything feline!)

You had mentioned urine glucose testing. It's not a great alternative. First, when you test blood glucose it tells you what the level is at the moment. With urine glucose testing, the result you get is not reflective of what's going on right now. (Food has to be digested, metabolized, the waste products need to be collected, and enough urine needs to be collected in the bladder for the cat to have the urge to urinate. It take hours.) Even more importantly, the test strips do not give you really high or really low numbers. They are generally not recommended unless you don't have access to a glucometer.
 
hi, i'm just here to give support since i still don't know very much, despite being three months into this. i was very scared and overwhelmed at first, but things start to get easier as you go along. your vet sounds pretty dismissive and i hope that this message board can help you fill in some of the blanks. good luck to you and your little Red!
 
Christie is correct. There are far fewer of the nerves that sense pain along the edge of a cat's ears. If you think about a cat that lives in the wild, they'd be miserable if every time they brushed past something, their ears hurt! Or, since ears are something kittens gnaw on, the littermates would also be miserable to say nothing of cat that get into a fight -- a nip on the ear would leave a cat vulnerable to an attack due to an "owwie".

I hated the lancing device, as well. I free handed. I felt like I had far better control.

Red's labs: If you look on Red's spreadsheet, there's a tab at the top marked "Labs". You can enter the information there. Just make sure that the reference values are the same as on the lab report. If not, change them on the spreadsheet.

You can test Red's blood as long as you have a meter, lancets, and test strips.

When you said "they" didn't have pens, who do you mean? Is the vet selling Lantus? If so, does what the vet sold you look like the image in this link? Vets should not be repackaging Lantus.

There is a general consensus that it would be far more prudent to start Red at a dose of 0.5u twice a day.

Since you're planning on finding a new vet, you may find this information on interviewing vets helpful. (And before you ask, yes -- we have information on just about everything feline!)

You had mentioned urine glucose testing. It's not a great alternative. First, when you test blood glucose it tells you what the level is at the moment. With urine glucose testing, the result you get is not reflective of what's going on right now. (Food has to be digested, metabolized, the waste products need to be collected, and enough urine needs to be collected in the bladder for the cat to have the urge to urinate. It take hours.) Even more importantly, the test strips do not give you really high or really low numbers. They are generally not recommended unless you don't have access to a glucometer.
The pharmacy didn’t have pens. Just the individual syringes that I need to figure out how to use.

I’m taking the second half of the day off so I can start treating him today. I’m worried about postponing this any longer. I will start with adding his lab results. Then, force myself to watch these how to videos even though they make me sick to my stomach just thinking about them. The plan is to be ready to give insulin by 9:00 pm tonight.

I’m thinking the best time for me to dose is 9:00am and 9:00pm. Can you walk me through step by step what needs to happen based on that timeline?

I do work so testing and feeding prior to insulin won’t be a problem, but after that I won’t be home to feed at certain time marks. Plus, I don’t think I can get my cat to eat on command more than twice. He always goes back and forth throughout the day and eats a little when he wants. Is that a problem? He won’t eat treats. Sometimes he likes to each cheese. But we are talking about a very small amount. Maybe a tiny bit of milk but that’s hit or miss with him.

So the glucose test is just to keep track of his numbers, right? I’m not going to be adjusting his dose every time? I’m just trying to figure out how everything fits together.

Starting at 0.5 should be a low enough dose that I don’t have to worry about a hypo situation. Right? I understand testing before insulin to make sure it’s safe. But is it absolutely necessary afterwards? Obviously, it would be best to keep track. However, both Red and myself need to ease into this and so we need to begin with as little jabs and pokes as possible until we get comfortable with more.

I’m not asking for an expert level schedule or even an ideal one with testing. But what is absolutely necessary / bare minimum (only for the beginning). I cannot get over my fear of needles overnight. Every time I have to get blood or inject. It will be a major / stressful thing. Sometimes I get physically sick around needles so kindly keep that in mind for my starting/learning phase.
 
I work. I worked full time throughout Gabby's life. I ended up shooting at 5:00 so it gave me a window of time before I left for work to keep an eye on her BG numbers. (It also helped that she had an early nadir.) If I had a late meeting, I'd schedule it for 5:30 so I could run home, test, feed, and shoot and then run back for my meeting and be home within a few hours. I'd encourage you to think about your test time if your concerned about testing and walking out the door. The other thing that was helpful for me was a timed feeder. Since I wasn't home during the day, it was a way to make sure there was food available if Gabby's numbers were dropping since cat's usually will scrounge for food if their BG is dropping.

The pre-shot test tells you if it's safe to give insulin. The other tests allow you to make sure than numbers are in a safe zone. You do not adjust the dose with every shot. Lantus differs from other insulin in that you need to hold the dose to allow the insulin depot to stabilize. If you read over the dosing methods sticky note, you'll see that depending on the method you're using, you hold the dose for at least 3 days with TR and a week with SLGS providing a dose reduction isn't indicated.

I would not be comfortable telling anyone that any dose of insulin is small enough that low numbers are impossible. Cats do not like to be predictable. I also don't want any member to be complacent. Testing is your best way to keep Red safe. The minimum number of tests is one each cycle in addition to your AMPS and PMPS tests. The more you get used to handling lancets and syringes and the more you test and shoot, the less the anxiety will be!
 
Thanks so much for your kind words! I haven’t started any of it yet and currently trying to find a vet to show me in person. It’s the only way I’m going to feel comfortable. The videos make me sick (because of my needle issue). So I need something more hands on (basically forcing me to confront it). The problem is me. Everyone here has provided more than enough info, but I need to be shown in person. I probably sound nuts. Maybe I am…

Anyway, the new vet I found today I only spoke with on the phone. He had great reviews that specifically mentioned diabetes. However…

He told me that glucose blood testing wasn’t necessary. I only need to do that when I’m testing the “curve”. Whatever that means. Regardless, that was music to my ears. The insulin shots I can see myself being able to do. But stabbing a needle into the delicate sweet ear so hard it bleeds and then squeezing out blood multiple times a day is an unbearable thought. I can’t imagine ever being ok with that.

Ignorance is bliss. Because even though the vet is telling me it’s OK not to do the tests (and I want to just say, awesome, thank you!). My conscience has a very different and nagging opinion. So I’m back at square one.

Anyway, tomorrow I will be calling every vet nearby to find one that seems like they know what their doing and can get me in ASAP. I’ve completely changed the diet but I know that’s not enough.

I’m doing this one very slow (and painful) step at a time.

Why is the vet having you wait to start insulin? I’m sorry if you explained already. My brain is mush from all of the info lately.

Sorry for the late response. The vet just didn't have any appointments open sooner to go over giving Leon (my cat) his shots, I guess. I'm on the cancellation list in case something sooner opens up.
In the meantime, Leon at least seems to show some improvement on the new diet.

On one hand, I hate waiting that long and I feel nervous...but I would hope the vet wouldn't put it off if he didn't think it was safe to. He's the one who's seen Leon's test results and can interpret them. I've never had a problem with my vet but some of the things I keep reading make me lose trust. Like your post just now. =\ It's in my nature to wanna be like "they're the expert, I should just listen to them because I don't want to mess something up or put more on myself".

I'd also love it someone told me that the glucose tests aren't necessary, it all sounds like x10 more stress on top of having to already do the insulin. But after everything I've read, I would feel sceptical too. I mean, diabetic humans do regular testing, I think, so it just makes sense that cats should too.

I always say trust your gut if something feels off. I hope you can find a vet you're comfortable with soon!

Also as someone with a learning disability (Adhd), wanting hands-on experience or simple explanations to things is completely understandable so don't feel bad about it.
 
Sorry for the late response. The vet just didn't have any appointments open sooner to go over giving Leon (my cat) his shots, I guess. I'm on the cancellation list in case something sooner opens up.
In the meantime, Leon at least seems to show some improvement on the new diet.

On one hand, I hate waiting that long and I feel nervous...but I would hope the vet wouldn't put it off if he didn't think it was safe to. He's the one who's seen Leon's test results and can interpret them. I've never had a problem with my vet but some of the things I keep reading make me lose trust. Like your post just now. =\ It's in my nature to wanna be like "they're the expert, I should just listen to them because I don't want to mess something up or put more on myself".

I'd also love it someone told me that the glucose tests aren't necessary, it all sounds like x10 more stress on top of having to already do the insulin. But after everything I've read, I would feel sceptical too. I mean, diabetic humans do regular testing, I think, so it just makes sense that cats should too.

I always say trust your gut if something feels off. I hope you can find a vet you're comfortable with soon!

Also as someone with a learning disability (Adhd), wanting hands-on experience or simple explanations to things is completely understandable so don't feel bad about it.
We are very much alike indeed! I have ADD too. Not the hyper part but I can relate. Medicine helps but some days not well enough. Anyway, keep me posted on how things go.

I did my first test and shot last night. It was a pretty horrible experience (not going to lie) but I did it. I will link the new thread I started for that below.
 
I would get script for Semglee, which is a glargine insulin It was approved by the FDA a little more than a year ago ass a biosimilar Lantus (glargine) insulin. Price w/GoodRx coupon, is about the same as Lantus from Mark's Marine
https://www.goodrx.com/semglee
Thank you. I will look into that but since I already purchased the lantus, I’m going to be using it. So expensive. Yikes!
 
Hi everyone!

I just wanted to let you know how things are going. I wish I could say great …but I’m struggling.

I did my first test and insulin shot last night. Here is the new thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/first-shot-test-at-2.250235/#post-2822798

I have to do a test and shot in an hour and 30 minutes. i’m starting to feel sick to my stomach again.

Overall, I’m scratched everywhere, extremely tired and very stressed. But I will continue to push through.

Luckily, my boss is allowing me to go back to working mostly from home again. So I’m grateful for that.

Thanks again everyone for all of your support and guidance!! Please continue to follow/reply on the new thread I linked above.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top