New Member - Christina & Kitty Cat - 9/13/20

Status
Not open for further replies.
My baby who is very lucky you are all here. We are fighters! It's very rare that he comes on the couch but I guess he needed a more comfortable spot than the kitchen floor and sitting here is helping me to calm down too.
 

Attachments

  • 20200916_020041.jpg
    20200916_020041.jpg
    79.5 KB · Views: 180
Recap: Please correct me if I've got some of this wrong.
Christina – there is a notes section at the far right of your spreadsheet. Make notes of what you fed tonight and when. Over time, you will get to know how Kitty Cat responses to honey, dry food, and high carb wet (do pick up some of the Fancy Feast Gravy lovers)


HisTreats sometime before PMPS: Greenies Chicken flavour and Purebites Chicken

PMPS 56/106/121 AlphaTrak
1 unit Lantus
Fed just under 2 cans FF.
Shot 1 unit Lantus.
+1 134
+2 80 Fancy Feast + ondanestron
+3 55 Purina dry (27%) + honey
+3.5 72 Purina dry + honey
+4 143
+4.5 158

History:
Ketones: small
Vomitting
Admitted to clinic Monday 14 Sept
Vet said not in DKA "yet"
Given fluids and cerenia.
Ultrasound showed pancreatits and GI inflammation.
Sent home today (15 Sept) with ondanestron and famotidine.
 
Recap: Please correct me if I've got some of this wrong.
Christina – there is a notes section at the far right of your spreadsheet. Make notes of what you fed tonight and when. Over time, you will get to know how Kitty Cat responses to honey, dry food, and high carb wet (do pick up some of the Fancy Feast Gravy lovers)


HisTreats sometime before PMPS: Greenies Chicken flavour and Purebites Chicken

PMPS 56/106/121 AlphaTrak
1 unit Lantus
Fed just under 2 cans FF.
Shot 1 unit Lantus.
+1 134
+2 80 Fancy Feast + ondanestron
+3 55 Purina dry (27%) + honey
+3.5 72 Purina dry + honey
+4 143
+4.5 158

History:
Ketones: small
Vomitting
Admitted to clinic Monday 14 Sept
Vet said not in DKA "yet"
Given fluids and cerenia.
Ultrasound showed pancreatits and GI inflammation.
Sent home today (15 Sept) with ondanestron and famotidine.


HisTreats sometime before PMPS: Greenies Chicken flavour and Purebites Chicken

PMPS 56/106/121 AlphaTrak
1 unit Lantus
Fed just under 2 cans FF.
Shot 1 unit Lantus.
+1 134
+2 80 Fancy Feast + ondanestron + famotidine
+3 55 Purina dry (27%-35%?) + honey
+3.5 72 Purina dry + honey
+4 143
+4.5 158

History:
Ketones: small
Vomitting
Admitted to clinic Monday 14 Sept
Vet said not in DKA "yet"
Given fluids and cerenia.
Ultrasound showed pancreatits and GI inflammation.
Sent home Monday (14 Sept) same day with ondanestron and famotidine.
 
Is it okay to get a OneTouch Ultra2 monitor for him going forward? It's the same one my grandma has so I'm thinking it would be good in case of emergency to just have the same one. Or I can order the relion now but won't be deliverd until Friday. No Walmarts in NYC :(
9 alphatrak strips left.
Don't want to keep my grandma's meter too long because she's also been having complications with her BG and this is her only meter so I need to give it back when she wakes up.
 
Is it okay to get a OneTouch Ultra2 monitor for him going forward? It's the same one my grandma has so I'm thinking it would be good in case of emergency to just have the same one. Or I can order the relion now but won't be deliverd until Friday. No Walmarts in NYC :(
9 alphatrak strips left.
Don't want to keep my grandma's meter too long because she's also been having complications with her BG and this is her only meter so I need to give it back when she wakes up.
Getting Relion Premier Classic, will come thursday. today is wednesday 3am.
Relion prime won't come in time.
 
The One Touch Ultra is okay. Test again in an hour. If it’s still over 200 I would also try to get a test with the One Touch to see if it’s easy for you to use. The good thing about the Relion is the strips are pretty cheap. I used to buy on auction on eBay and got really good deals.
 
The One Touch Ultra is okay. Test again in an hour. If it’s still over 200 I would also try to get a test with the One Touch to see if it’s easy for you to use. The good thing about the Relion is the strips are pretty cheap. I used to buy on auction on eBay and got really good deals.
do i need a +6 or can i wait until +6.5? Last test was +5.5
Got the relion premire classic. I think the one touch was too much blood.
 
Will you be okay on your own now? If the test in an hour is as high as the last one Or even in the 200’s you could test again in two hours. If Kitty will eat a little that will help keep her up.
 
Will you be okay on your own now? If the test in an hour is as high as the last one Or even in the 200’s you could test again in two hours. If Kitty will eat a little that will help keep her up.
So I will test at +6.5 (1 hr after last test), then if in 200s, will test again 2 hours after that at +8.5, if still in 200s, I can stop testing until AMPS?
If it goes lower than 200, I will try to get him to eat some more and test after 1 hr at +7.5?
Yes, I think we'll be alright. Please rest, we really appreciate all the help. I think he will be okay.
 
I'm around now for a while if Christina needs support.
Hi Christina! Waving from a damp and grey England. :cat:

...Just catching up on 'the story so far'...
Hello Elizabeth and Bertie!
My spreadsheet is updated and have included notes on what I gave him tonight.

History:
Ketones: small
Vomiting
Admitted to clinic Monday 14 Sept
Vet said not in DKA "yet"
Given fluids and cerenia.
Ultrasound showed pancreatits and GI inflammation.
Sent home Monday (14 Sept) same day with ondanestron and famotidine
 
So I will test at +6.5 (1 hr after last test), then if in 200s, will test again 2 hours after that at +8.5, if still in 200s, I can stop testing until AMPS?
Hi Christina, I'm just catching up on your thread now, so am not yet up to speed with the fine detail of what's happening. But as a general rule we want to see a few tests to indicate that the blood glucose is rising and is not likely to drop again.
 
Hi again, Christina, from looking at the SS it looks like Kitty Cat has had a steady rise in numbers since +3.5 when you gave the second lot of purina dry and honey. I know these numbers are 'food influenced' but the rise is certainly consistent with no sign of dropping. And dry food is good for longer term rises in blood glucose.
On the basis of those numbers alone I'm inclined to agree with Bandit's Mom that you may be OK now. ...However, given that I am more cautious than most, and given Lantus's ability to drop late on into the cycle, if it were me I'd get just one more test to be sure...
 
+6.5 is 267 alphatrak!
Are we okay to stop testing until AMPS? He's sleeping now. Barely resisted me pricking, he must be even more exhausted than me.
That is very similar to the last test. No drop, but no significant rise either.
I 'think' you'll most likely be OK, but I was expecting a bit more of a rise...
If this were my kitty I think I'd give a little bit more food 'as insurance' before going to sleep....
 
That is very similar to the last test. No drop, but no significant rise either.
I 'think' you'll most likely be OK, but I was expecting a bit more of a rise...
If this were my kitty I think I'd give a little bit more food 'as insurance' before going to sleep....
He's eating the purina cat chow dry food! Any tips for AM routine before we head to sleep? Should I keep feeding the low carb FF as normal for breakfast if his numbers seem more within his usual range?
 
Christina, yes, I would think the normal FF for breakfast, as per usual.
And you will of course need to reduce the dose. Other lantus users will help you with that. But just be aware that you may well see some wonky numbers over the next day or so, due to the low numbers and maybe the high carb food...
You've worked very hard and must be completely exhausted. I do hope you manage to get some good rest. (((Hugs)))
 
Hello, I'm waiting to take AMPS reading in 45 min, just gave him his ondanestron with the tinest bit of FF. Anyone available to advise on insulin dosage once I have the number? I don't have syringes with half unit lines yet. I know, I should've gotten them already.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top