New Member - Christina & Kitty Cat - 9/13/20

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Christina & Kitty Cat, Sep 13, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    yes!! sorry, just edited it.
     
  2. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    He's been through quite a swing in BG levels since this morning.

    He's sitting above the top of the reference range at the moment. Keep a close watch on him and test in 30 mins (+5).

    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  3. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Above it said 4.5.Good. I’ll check back in 30.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  4. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Sorry my spreadsheet got crazy!! not thinking straight. Putting the numbers here in messages first and then putting in sheet. It is correct now.
     
  5. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    My baby who is very lucky you are all here. We are fighters! It's very rare that he comes on the couch but I guess he needed a more comfortable spot than the kitchen floor and sitting here is helping me to calm down too.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    He looks nice and comfortable.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  7. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Recap: Please correct me if I've got some of this wrong.
    Christina – there is a notes section at the far right of your spreadsheet. Make notes of what you fed tonight and when. Over time, you will get to know how Kitty Cat responses to honey, dry food, and high carb wet (do pick up some of the Fancy Feast Gravy lovers)


    HisTreats sometime before PMPS: Greenies Chicken flavour and Purebites Chicken

    PMPS 56/106/121 AlphaTrak
    1 unit Lantus
    Fed just under 2 cans FF.
    Shot 1 unit Lantus.
    +1 134
    +2 80 Fancy Feast + ondanestron
    +3 55 Purina dry (27%) + honey
    +3.5 72 Purina dry + honey
    +4 143
    +4.5 158

    History:
    Ketones: small
    Vomitting
    Admitted to clinic Monday 14 Sept
    Vet said not in DKA "yet"
    Given fluids and cerenia.
    Ultrasound showed pancreatits and GI inflammation.
    Sent home today (15 Sept) with ondanestron and famotidine.
     
  8. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    It is amazing how such little creatures can take up so much space.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  9. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
  10. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    This is very good to see. I would like to see one more test in 45 minutes to make sure unless you think it’s ok to stop testing Kel.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  11. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020

    HisTreats sometime before PMPS: Greenies Chicken flavour and Purebites Chicken

    PMPS 56/106/121 AlphaTrak
    1 unit Lantus
    Fed just under 2 cans FF.
    Shot 1 unit Lantus.
    +1 134
    +2 80 Fancy Feast + ondanestron + famotidine
    +3 55 Purina dry (27%-35%?) + honey
    +3.5 72 Purina dry + honey
    +4 143
    +4.5 158

    History:
    Ketones: small
    Vomitting
    Admitted to clinic Monday 14 Sept
    Vet said not in DKA "yet"
    Given fluids and cerenia.
    Ultrasound showed pancreatits and GI inflammation.
    Sent home Monday (14 Sept) same day with ondanestron and famotidine.
     
  12. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    We'll have that. :)


    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  13. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Not half-way through the cycle yet, Elise. And he dropped all the way from AMPS to PMPS earlier.

    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  14. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    I think I did the chart backwards with my am and pm switched. I didn't get to test for keytones today. I will fix my chart we're over this scare.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  15. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    When did he last eat?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  16. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Were there any tests after +6 or not until pmps?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  17. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    From AMPS all the way through to PM+3.5 is fine, Christina (was following progress on the spreadsheet earlier).
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  18. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    I love Kitty Cat's long sock. :cat:


    .
     
  19. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Is it okay to get a OneTouch Ultra2 monitor for him going forward? It's the same one my grandma has so I'm thinking it would be good in case of emergency to just have the same one. Or I can order the relion now but won't be deliverd until Friday. No Walmarts in NYC :(
    9 alphatrak strips left.
    Don't want to keep my grandma's meter too long because she's also been having complications with her BG and this is her only meter so I need to give it back when she wakes up.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  20. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    'Tis a mild and misty morning here in the Shire. Just a heads-up that I've taken my sleep meds so I'm likely to drop out without warning from here onwards.


    .
     
  21. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Thank you so much for staying on with us for so long <3 <3 <3
     
  22. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    HUMONGOUS hug to your grandma! Saved the day. :D

    :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  23. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    +5.5 is 254 on alphatrak
    is it rising too much now???
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  24. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
  25. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Getting Relion Premier Classic, will come thursday. today is wednesday 3am.
    Relion prime won't come in time.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  26. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    The One Touch Ultra is okay. Test again in an hour. If it’s still over 200 I would also try to get a test with the One Touch to see if it’s easy for you to use. The good thing about the Relion is the strips are pretty cheap. I used to buy on auction on eBay and got really good deals.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  27. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    do i need a +6 or can i wait until +6.5? Last test was +5.5
    Got the relion premire classic. I think the one touch was too much blood.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  28. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Will you be okay on your own now? If the test in an hour is as high as the last one Or even in the 200’s you could test again in two hours. If Kitty will eat a little that will help keep her up.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  29. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    yes. One hour.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  30. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    I'm around now for a while if Christina needs support.
    Hi Christina! Waving from a damp and grey England. :cat:

    ...Just catching up on 'the story so far'...
     
  31. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    So I will test at +6.5 (1 hr after last test), then if in 200s, will test again 2 hours after that at +8.5, if still in 200s, I can stop testing until AMPS?
    If it goes lower than 200, I will try to get him to eat some more and test after 1 hr at +7.5?
    Yes, I think we'll be alright. Please rest, we really appreciate all the help. I think he will be okay.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  32. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Hello Elizabeth and Bertie!
    My spreadsheet is updated and have included notes on what I gave him tonight.

    History:
    Ketones: small
    Vomiting
    Admitted to clinic Monday 14 Sept
    Vet said not in DKA "yet"
    Given fluids and cerenia.
    Ultrasound showed pancreatits and GI inflammation.
    Sent home Monday (14 Sept) same day with ondanestron and famotidine
     
  33. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Hi Christina, I'm just catching up on your thread now, so am not yet up to speed with the fine detail of what's happening. But as a general rule we want to see a few tests to indicate that the blood glucose is rising and is not likely to drop again.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  34. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Awe so precious
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  35. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Hi Christina, am I reading your SS wrong or was the last reading 254?.

    I think you're safe to call it a night then. Right, @Elizabeth and Bertie ?
     
  36. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Hi again, Christina, from looking at the SS it looks like Kitty Cat has had a steady rise in numbers since +3.5 when you gave the second lot of purina dry and honey. I know these numbers are 'food influenced' but the rise is certainly consistent with no sign of dropping. And dry food is good for longer term rises in blood glucose.
    On the basis of those numbers alone I'm inclined to agree with Bandit's Mom that you may be OK now. ...However, given that I am more cautious than most, and given Lantus's ability to drop late on into the cycle, if it were me I'd get just one more test to be sure...
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  37. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    yes, last test was +5.5 reading 254. Sorry, my spreasheet is ugly right now! I will clean it up after some rest later.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  38. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    totally understandable!

    it looks like she is well and truly on a bounce.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  39. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    On the contrary! Your info is incredibly helpful. :cat:
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  40. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Time for a final test...? You must be exhausted....
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  41. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    +6.5 is 267 alphatrak!
    Are we okay to stop testing until AMPS? He's sleeping now. Barely resisted me pricking, he must be even more exhausted than me.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  42. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    That is very similar to the last test. No drop, but no significant rise either.
    I 'think' you'll most likely be OK, but I was expecting a bit more of a rise...
    If this were my kitty I think I'd give a little bit more food 'as insurance' before going to sleep....
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  43. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    He's eating the purina cat chow dry food! Any tips for AM routine before we head to sleep? Should I keep feeding the low carb FF as normal for breakfast if his numbers seem more within his usual range?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  44. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Christina, yes, I would think the normal FF for breakfast, as per usual.
    And you will of course need to reduce the dose. Other lantus users will help you with that. But just be aware that you may well see some wonky numbers over the next day or so, due to the low numbers and maybe the high carb food...
    You've worked very hard and must be completely exhausted. I do hope you manage to get some good rest. (((Hugs)))
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  45. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  46. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Hello, I'm waiting to take AMPS reading in 45 min, just gave him his ondanestron with the tinest bit of FF. Anyone available to advise on insulin dosage once I have the number? I don't have syringes with half unit lines yet. I know, I should've gotten them already.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  47. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Tagging Elizabeth @Panic to see if she can help with Lantus dosing advice.
     
  48. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Hold on I'll find out
     
  49. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    og I thought she was a prozinc person ty EliZ
     
  50. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  51. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Ah... Thanks, Jeanne.... Duh! Silly me....
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  52. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
  53. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Understood thats why I tagged Wendy
     
    Elizabeth and Bertie likes this.
  54. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Christina have you slept at all?
     
    Elizabeth and Bertie likes this.
  55. Elizabeth and Bertie

    Elizabeth and Bertie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Oh, yes, I know. ...Can't currently see any experienced lantus folks online, though not everyone shows their online status...

    Christina, it's also really important to bear in mind the hypo-range numbers that Kitty Cat has had. So this does need some very experienced eyes...
    Hypo can make cats more sensitive to insulin.
    Also, the dry food from earlier 'may' be elevating the numbers at the moment...
     
  56. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Hi I’m glad the bounce happened. Good question about sleep. Will you be home? Usually we reduce by .25 but they can be very sensitive to insulin after a hypo so monitoring is important.
    @Sue and Luci
     
  57. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Elise to the rescue! yaaaay
     
  58. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    ty Elise I didnt know if I should tag her ty ty ty
     
  59. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    AMPS is 431 on alphatrak!
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  60. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Youre in good hands Christina
     
  61. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    NB: PLEASE DO NOT GIVE ANY INSULIN YET - UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES

    Wait and answer the questions people are about to ask you so that we can help you determine what is safe for Kitty Cat today.

    It doesn't matter if you end up being a little bit behind schedule.



    (FAO Members replying to this thread: I've only just woken up, my head's not with it so can't take lead on this.)

    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  62. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    understood! just giving him breakfast now, FF

    I slept ~2 hrs but I'm always home and able to watch him. Mom will be coming over as well. doesn't agree with what I'm doing but won't try to convince me otherwise and will help when i ask.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  63. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I’ve just woken up too but my problem is with a hypo last night. I need to think. I will be back.
     
  64. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    I have experience with both haha but I'm not as great with dosing advice on Lantus. Glad to see there's several people here now.
     
  65. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Probably needs a reduction but WAIT for mor
    UNDERSTOOD Mogs TY for stepping in
     
  66. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    55 on Alphatrak last night - that'd be a reduction.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  67. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    In other words Christina STALL You will be off schedule but that can be rectified easier than another hypo
     
    Elizabeth and Bertie likes this.
  68. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Did you sleep?

    Definitely earned a reduction. We are trying to figure out how big.
     
  69. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Will you be home all day?

    can you get enough test strips? Maybe more AT from the vet?
     
  70. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    OMG I just found out the city of Talent Oregon is gone. I have a close friend that lives very close to that town. BBIAB
     
    Christina & Kitty Cat likes this.
  71. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Just reminding my syringes only have full unit lines so I will have to guess... cursing myself for not getting the right ones.
    Yes, I will be home all day.
     
  72. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    She said she will be home Elise
     
  73. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Would it not be a 0.25U reduction? If she is following SLGS?
    If she is following TR, Kitty Cat has not earned a reduction?

    Am I wrong? Just going by the dosing protocols.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  74. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    He's not eating at his usual rate/amount this morning. i'm assuming because he ate so much last night? We're at ~1 can now but i'm worried he'll stop soon. Yesterday he ate a full 2 cans breakfast, 2 cans dinner, plus the extra dry food to bring his bg up.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  75. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Its likely that he may not be as hungry because of eating through the night. Do you think he will eat later in the day? Is he not eating because he is full from last night or is it nausea/lack of appetite?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  76. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    YOU ARE WRONG! A reduction has been earned for sure. We are working on how big.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  77. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Don't let him get too full, Christina.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  78. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Kitty Cat hit 55 on an Alphatrak last night. The dose MUST be reduced.



    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  79. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Oh my bad! Didn't pay attention to the fact that she is using a pet meter. Apologies!
     
  80. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I am thinking giving .25 Or maybe .50 but I don’t know if that’s right. I don’t like the lack of appetite.

    How many test strips?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  81. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Just mulling a couple of things. Back in a couple of minutes.

    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  82. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    7 strips left but can borrow grandmas later if needed.

    My vet is open now but last time they didnt have an opening so it took a while for them to see kitty cat before he was referred to the hospital. should I try to go today?

    tested negative for keytones last night. he's eating a little more, just very slowly so i'm not sure when he'll stop
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  83. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Christina:

    Just getting ducks in a row here:

    1. From your spreadsheet, am I correct in my understanding that Kitty Cat tested negative for ketones at PM+7.5 last night?

    2. Please can you confirm the meter you're going to use today and how many strips you have for it.

    3. Could your mom pick up some additional foods for your hypo toolbox and bring them over to you today? (Will tell you which ones in a minute.)
    .

    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  84. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    baby is drinking water!
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  85. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    In a good or a bad way?

    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  86. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I don’t think you will need to take her to the vet.
     
  87. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    1. yes, negative for keytones at PM+7.5
    2. I have 7 strips left for alphatrak, grandmas monitor is onetouch ultra 2
    3. yes, i will have her do that
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  88. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    drinking in a good way, not excessively, has been rarer lately getting him to drink
     
  89. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    We are going to need you to use the same meter as human meters read lower than the pet meter. So having enough test strips is important.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  90. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Hi Christina:

    Sorry for delay but situation is tricky:

    * Need to reduce dose after last night's low - but how much? Can't be too little a dose (for ketone protection, esp with bounce in numbers, possibly aided by Kitty Cat's dry high carb food last night).

    * There will still be some influence from the insulin depot from the previous 5 doses of 1IU Lantus.

    * Since Kitty Cat only diagnosed recently there's not much data to get a feel for how quickly he might clear a bounce.

    * KC had a carb fest last night and that will eventually clear his system now he's back on low carb FF.

    * KC's appetite is a little slower today. Ondansetron on board. Drinking OK (probably after dry food).

    You obviously need to reduce the dose but you need to be cautious because of the ketone history.


    My best suggestion is:

    * give your vet a quick call and confirm with them that it's OK to reduce the dose down to 0.5IU of Lantus for this cycle (and ask for a steer on what to do for this evening's dose too).

    * diligently monitor Kitty Cat's pee for ketones today. If anything higher than trace call your vet for advice straight away.

    * Feed low carb food today (unless numbers go low - very unlikely but can never be ruled out). Small, frequent feeds, mix a couple of teaspoons of water into the food.

    * Monitor BG diligently, particularly in early part of cycle to get an idea of where Kitty Cat might head.


    Mogs
    .
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2020
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  91. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    Should I switch to human meter now so today is consistent?
    he ate a little under 1.5 cans FF so normal for his breakfast
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  92. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    just checked, negative right now, AM+1
    calling vet now
     
  93. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Excellent stuff. You are doing brilliantly with all of this Christina. :bighug:


    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  94. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    When you shoot that will be your AMPS and your new time will be hopefully 12 hours from when you shoot this morning. I say hopefully because if too low or we need to strategize it could get bumped up.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  95. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Don't give him any more grub for the time being, Christina. Don't want him to get too full. :)

    Yes, please switch to the human meter now.

    Even though Kitty Cat has just eaten, could you please take a BG test with the human meter after you get off the phone with the vet so that Eliz and Bhooma will have some form of baseline reading which they can refer to when interpreting numbers later in this AM cycle.


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  96. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I think before you shoot we should get a test with it and then use it. It will be lower and possibly by a lot. You also need to get comfortable being able to get a reading with it.

    No more food for now. it’s good he has an appetite.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  97. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Mogs and I cross posted.
     
  98. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    @tiffmaxee - If you keep reading my thoughts like that I'm gonna buy myself a tin foil hat. :p ;)


    Mogs
    .
     
  99. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You are just more detailed than I am. And very good at summarizing I might add. Very useful.
     
  100. Christina & Kitty Cat

    Christina & Kitty Cat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2020
    primary vet on his case isnt in so I called the hospital, she said she cant really help to much because shes emergency but she asked if I wanted an implant so I dont need to keep pricking him? should I get this?
    got the okay to do 0.5u 2x today
     
  101. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    The implant lasts for two weeks but sometimes less. People have used them here and some successfully. They weren’t around for Max.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  102. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    So get a test with the human meter now.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page