New Member - Christina & Kitty Cat - 9/13/20

Status
Not open for further replies.
Chicken flavoured Greenies:
Chicken Meal, Ground Wheat, Brewers Rice, Corn Gluten Meal, Poultry Fat (Preserved with Mixed Tocopherols), Oat Fiber, Natural Poultry Flavor, Ground Flaxseed,

High carb.
 
I just gave him 1 unit insulin just now, 10 mins after usual time. After this weekends scare, I'm so scared of missing it and he did eat. so next dose is in 12 hours.
Can you get a test one hour after the shot (we refer to it as +1 because we have members here from all over the world) and a test 2 hours after you shot?

The +1 test should be higher because it is food influenced.
If the +2 test is the same as the shot time test or lower, it can be a sign of an active cycle.
 
Yes, hills w/d wet food. I don't know if he'll eat it though, he seems to be done with dinner after just under 2 cans FF. Which means he ate a little over 3.5 cans FF today.
I was asking about higher carb foods to see how you were provisioned in case you need to give small amounts of higher carb later on if Kitty Cat's numbers need a boost.

How many test strips do you have for the Alphatrak?


.
 
Can you get a test one hour after the shot (we refer to it as +1 because we have members here from all over the world) and a test 2 hours after you shot?

The +1 test should be higher because it is food influenced.
If the +2 test is the same as the shot time test or lower, it can be a sign of an active cycle.
Yes I will test +1 and +2.
Silly question but what do you mean by "active cycle"?
 
Since this thread is already very long and there is no spreadsheet yet, I'm starting a timeline for people to read.

HisTreats sometime before PMPS: Greenies Chicken flavour and Purebites Chicken

PMPS 56/106/121 AlphaTrak
1 unit Lantus
Fed just under 2 cans FF.
Shot 1 unit Lantus.

History:
Ketones: small
Vomitting
Admitted to clinic Monday 14 Sept
Vet said not in DKA "yet"
Given fluids and cerenia.
Ultrasound showed pancreatits and GI inflammation.
Sent home today (15 Sept) with ondanestron and famotidine.
 
I strongly recommend you get a human meter and a supply of test strips for it. In the event that Kitty Cat were to run on the low side tonight I'm worried that you don't have enough strips.

Maybe give them a ring first to see if you'd be able to get a meter and strips from them? Is there anyone at home with you who could pop to the drugstore for you?

.
 
Reasons why tonight might use up all of your strips.
If the 56 was a valid number, tonight might be busy.
It is recommended that no shot be given under 150, so that makes the 106 and 121 numbers to be concerned about.
Next time, do not feed and test again as you did tonight, then stall another 20 minutes to see if the cat is headed up or down.
With the "not in DKA 'yet'", it is important to give insulin. Knowing which way the cat is heading without the benefit of food can help tell us.
If Kitty Cat goes low tonight, 17 strips may not be enough.
 
Kitty Cat is at a very safe number right now, so give yourself permission to take a big deep breath ... or six! ;)

You're doing really well, Christina. Visual monitoring should suffice for the time being until you do your +2 test. If you're not sure of anything just post.


.
 
There is only one type of greenies that is low enough in carbs (if my memory serves me correctly) and that is the Duck and Green Pea for dogs (which may have been discontinued).
Only the greenies pill pockets/allergy free duck and pea are low carb. Dog version only exists, not cat version now. All other greenies are higher carb.
 
Only feed a couple of teaspoons for now because you will need him to eat again shortly.

Please can you tell us what foods you have in the house at the moment (we already know you have FF low carb and the w/d wet food).

Do you have any kibble in the house? If yes, can you give us the brand and variety so we can check the carbs.


.
 
Only feed a couple of teaspoons for now because you will need him to eat again shortly.

Please can you tell us what foods you have in the house at the moment (we already know you have FF low carb and the w/d wet food).

Do you have any kibble in the house? If yes, can you give us the brand and variety so we can check the carbs.


.
I have purina cat chow naturals original with chicken and salmon dry food, Rachel ray nutrish purrfect entrees grain free wet 3 flavors
 
Photos of the food
 

Attachments

  • 20200915_233921.jpg
    20200915_233921.jpg
    59.1 KB · Views: 165
  • 20200915_233937.jpg
    20200915_233937.jpg
    82 KB · Views: 164
The first one looks like it has carbs. There’s corn and peas. It’s hard to see the list because it’s turned the wrong way. The second one appears to be low carb. Rice too.
 
Purina cat chow: Chicken, corn gluten meal, chicken by-product meal, rice, soybean meal, ground yellow corn, ground whole wheat, beef tallow naturally preserved with mixed-tocopherols, natural liver flavor, salmon, phosphoric acid, calcium carbonate, natural flavor, salt, choline chloride, dried spinach, taurine, potassium chloride, VITAMINS[Vitamin E supplement, niacin (Vitamin B-3), Vitamin A supplement, calcium pantothenate (Vitamin B-5), thiamine mononitrate (Vitamin B-1), riboflavin supplement (Vitamin B-2), Vitamin B-12 supplement, pyridoxine hydrochloride (Vitamin B-6), folic acid (Vitamin B-9), Vitamin D-3 supplement, biotin (Vitamin B-7), menadione sodium bisulfite complex (Vitamin K)], MINERALS [zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, manganese sulfate, copper sulfate, calcium iodate, sodium selenite]. G452118
 
The first one looks like it has carbs. There’s corn and peas. It’s hard to see the list because it’s turned the wrong way. The second one appears to be low carb. Rice too.

Here's the list of ingredients for the Cat Chow Original dry food:



upload_2020-9-16_5-50-53.png


.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-9-16_5-50-53.png
    upload_2020-9-16_5-50-53.png
    166.4 KB · Views: 235
Is the goal to give him high carb food right now? That will make his bg go up?
That's the idea, because of the test strip shortage.

Is your helper still with you? Is there any chance that you could call the drug store to ask them whether they could check the contents of the meter starter kits they have for sale to double-check whether any of them come with a small supply of test strips included in the box? (They often come with a pod of 25 strips in the starter sets.)


.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top