New here

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oops! I'm sorry. I misread and I see that you shot already. Please disregard the last comment.

But I do think it's important to continue attempting to test if you can.

If you can't, I might suggest giving a higher carb food to keep Diesel safe.

I am wondering, could there ever be something wrong with a cats blood that it wouldn’t test? A few months back the dr said he had a really low red blood cell count and he was put on steroids to help and he’s been off them since Christmas.
 
I doubt that the RBC is the problem. Cat blood is totally different than humans in regards to where they carry the glucose. Did you manage to get a large enough blood sample? Not sure but you need 0.6ul which is twice the size of the smallest sample required by some meters. You may want to invest in another meter for Diesel that requires a smaller blood sample like the Freestyle Lite.
Also make sure his ears are warm when testing. Some folks make little socks with rice that can be warmed in the microwave and some just rub ears before testing. As you test more Diesel will grow more capillaries and it will be easier to get a good blood sample.
You might also be using lancets that are 30 or higher gauge. Generally at least when starting out, lancets gauge 26 to 28 work better.
 
I am wondering, could there ever be something wrong with a cats blood that it wouldn’t test? A few months back the dr said he had a really low red blood cell count and he was put on steroids to help and he’s been off them since Christmas.

I don't personally know but i've put out your question to a few members here for their input. Others might come along and answer this question too. And I see that @MrWorfMen's Mom has answered as well.

possibly tomorrow after work. Not sure how though :(
If you're having issues, you can PM @Marje and Gracie. She'll help you get set up.

The instructions on how to set it up is here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
 
I doubt that the RBC is the problem. Cat blood is totally different than humans in regards to where they carry the glucose. Did you manage to get a large enough blood sample? Not sure but you need 0.6ul which is twice the size of the smallest sample required by some meters. You may want to invest in another meter for Diesel that requires a smaller blood sample like the Freestyle Lite.
Also make sure his ears are warm when testing. Some folks make little socks with rice that can be warmed in the microwave and some just rub ears before testing. As you test more Diesel will grow more capillaries and it will be easier to get a good blood sample.
You might also be using lancets that are 30 or higher gauge. Generally at least when starting out, lancets gauge 26 to 28 work better.

I tested about 5-6 times and I can’t see that at least one of those time’s there wasn’t enough. I thought some were large enough. My meter usually tells me if I haven’t put enough blood. It would be a different code.
 
It would be a really good idea to try to get another test any time now. Lantus can reach peak action in our kitties any time between about +4 and +7 but some cats hit nadir earlier or later so it would be good to know what BG is before you turn in for the night.
 
It won’t work. Every time I test the code is saying E20. I tried both ears, poking double, wiping his ear, switching machines, opening a new container of strips :(
 
Not sure what the problem could be other than sample size and with the difference in cat vs. human blood perhaps that could alter the error message. I know others have used that meter for their kitties.
 
Not sure what the problem could be other than sample size and with the difference in cat vs. human blood perhaps that could alter the error message. I know others have used that meter for their kitties.

the first time I tried to take his blood I didn’t have enough and the meter told me. The next 3 times I got a reading. It’s super weird. I don’t feel like I am doing anything different.
 
can you try a different blood source ...maybe a paw pad ? the only thing I could think of was trying somewhere with no hair/fur:confused:
Is there a reset for the glucometer? I got a replacement for my alphatrak and had to remove the battery when I was setting it up because it wouldn't leave the number screen/turn off right after I first used it...like it was stuck ?
 
That's definitely a conundrum when the meters are working for you. I really think it has to be the sample size even if you aren't getting the same error code. If you try again, try poking twice immediately beside each other to get a good bead of blood. Catch it on a fingernail and test from there.

Infections often cause elevated BG and with Diesel being close to finishing the antibiotics, it's likely his BG is also coming down so it would be really helpful to know what his BG is tonight.
 
Hi, just tried again but used a bit of Vaseline this time. It worked but I don’t feel like there was any more blood on the strip compared to last night when I tried. Who knows?

his blood is 6.2 (111.6). That’s definitely way too low for a needle I’d say.
 
Hi, just tried again but used a bit of Vaseline this time. It worked but I don’t feel like there was any more blood on the strip compared to last night when I tried. Who knows?

his blood is 6.2 (111.6). That’s definitely way too low for a needle I’d say.
Where about in the cycle are you?
Are you in the middle of the cycle or are you at the end of the cycle and ready to give insulin if the BG is high enough.
 
Where about in the cycle are you?
Are you in the middle of the cycle or are you at the end of the cycle and ready to give insulin if the BG is high enough.
He got his first shot at 7pm last night. He is suppose to get his next one in 10 minutes(7am). The problem is also that I am gone to work all day until 330pm
 
He got his first shot at 7pm last night. He is suppose to get his next one in 10 minutes(7am). The problem is also that I am gone to work all day until 330pm
You can stall for 20 mins then test again ( don't feed yet) if you have time.
But if you are going to be gone all day and he is only at 6.2 it might be wise to skip the shot. I note there was no mention of ketones.
 
You can stall for 20 mins then test again ( don't feed yet) if you have time.
But if you are going to be gone all day and he is only at 6.2 it might be wise to skip the shot. I note there was no mention of ketones.

no, he never had ketones since I have realized he might be diabetic. I have been checking with strips. I think I am going to skip the shot and then retest as soon as I get home. I don’t feel comfortable leaving him here all day on his own.
 
What have you decided to do?

We cross posted.
Ok probably wise to skip as it is a long day without you there to test and with a low preshot, it would have to come up quite a bit for you to be able to give the insulin.
I'm glad you only gave the 0.5 units.
Post tonight and ask for advice if the preshot is still low.
Stick to the 0.5 units unless he drops under 50 and you would reduce.
Feed him his breakfast now.
 
Yes I can leave some out. I am going to look at the spreadsheet after work and see if I can figure it out
Ask for help if you need it
Is Deisal a grazer or will he eat all the food you leave out at once?
Once you start giving insulin in the morning and have to leave for work, you will need to be able to leave some food out so that he can have a couple of snacks during the day (and the night for that matter)
Well done on getting the test in this morning btw! Just goes to show how important it is to test before every shot, doesn't it?
 
Oh yes very important. Being diabetic myself, I’ve learned that lesson a few times.

He’ll eat everything I put out for him in the morning but then he kinda grazes.
 
So happy to hear you were able to test this morning and good choice skipping this AM on that low pre-shot. Looks like Diesel may have gone lower than the 7 (126 US) you got last night at roughly +3 post shot and the 0.5u may be too much insulin given how low BG was this morning.
 
So happy to hear you were able to test this morning and good choice skipping this AM on that low pre-shot. Looks like Diesel may have gone lower than the 7 (126 US) you got last night at roughly +3 post shot and the 0.5u may be too much insulin given how low BG was this morning.


What is normal range for them usually in the mornings?

I am at work worried that his sugars have spiked :(
 
What is normal range for them usually in the mornings?

I am at work worried that his sugars have spiked :(
A day too high is better than a day too low. The 6.2 was too low to shoot. As you gather more data and get an idea of how Lantus works for Diesel, the no shoot number comes down.

Congratulations on getting a test! It will get easier.

Taking into account last night's 0.5 units and the 126 reading, there is a chance that with the right treatment plan Diesel might just go into remission. The first steps are being able to get tests on a regular basis and finding a dose that will keep him safe.
 
There is no "normal" morning reading. On a human meter we consider 50 to 120 to be normal range BG. Some non-diabetic cats can have BGs as low as the 40s but we use 50 as an action needed number to keep kitty from going too low while on insulin.
 
So sorry I missed my tag yesterday. It's been crazy in my life the past few days. And yes I find it much more difficult to care for my diabetic cat than my human students. It's not the actual care that I have a problem with, I have no problems checking his sugars and giving the insulin. That's easy, it's the "not knowing what I should do if such and such happens." With humans you can call a doctor right away and get directives, you get a plan of care right away when diagnosed. Tons of training ensues. Me, Ninja was diagnosed, I was given a vial of insulin and syringes and "oh you're a nurse you will have no problems." and we were out the door in 30 minutes. Well then the low hit!! Yikes!!! THANK GOD for this site!!! I didn't know about the different types of insulin for cats, I didn't know that the dose the vet prescribed was way to high for a cat, I didn't know that food needed to be 10% carbs or less, (vet said not to worry about changing his food.) I had no idea I needed to check sugars before I give a shot and then to monitor sugars to see how that insulin is working, I had no idea what to do if he went low... I have learned so much and am still learning!! Ask questions!! No matter how silly ask!! That's what I have learned and have gained so much knowledge. This is a journey and I am so thankful for this site.
 
Oh my! Just now catching up on the 'pajama party' Nicole & Diesel had last night. Skipping the dose this morning was a good call.

So glad that you decided to lower the vet suggested starting dose of 1 unit to 0.5 units. Glad you had your hypo kit ready just in case.

It's close to the weekend, maybe wait for the weekend to restart the insulin? If you are home to monitor that is. No ketones mentioned but please keep testing for that. If Diesel is not eating well, that can make a big difference. I think you need to make sure Diesel eats enough before giving him his insulin.
 
Just checked his sugar now that I am home and it is 16.8 (302.4). I did not give him his needle last night until 7. Not sure what to do
 
Wait till your usual shot time and reduce the dose to 0.25u tonight. Part of that higher number now is likely from a bounce from lower numbers last night given the low pre-shot test you took this AM as well as the skipped shot. Not to worry. Diesel will be fine and you'll get him on track again.
 
Wait till your usual shot time and reduce the dose to 0.25u tonight. Part of that higher number now is likely from a bounce from lower numbers last night given the low pre-shot test you took this AM as well as the skipped shot. Not to worry. Diesel will be fine and you'll get him on track again.

I also left out extra food this am because I was worried as he ate that so maybe he got a little too much?
 
The food may also be a factor in that higher BG but try not to hang on one individual BG reading. It is one moment in time and you need to focus on patterns over a longer period which will come as you gather more data. The goal right now is to find the dose that allows you to shoot twice daily and get Diesel's BG down to better levels for the majority of each 24 hour period. Our kitties tolerate higher BG better than humans over the short term. Diesel will be fine at slightly higher numbers but too low can be dangerous so starting off with a low dose and if necessary working up slowly is the safest and most productive way to handle the situation.
 
The food may also be a factor in that higher BG but try not to hang on one individual BG reading. It is one moment in time and you need to focus on patterns over a longer period which will come as you gather more data. The goal right now is to find the dose that allows you to shoot twice daily and get Diesel's BG down to better levels for the majority of each 24 hour period. Our kitties tolerate higher BG better than humans over the short term. Diesel will be fine at slightly higher numbers but too low can be dangerous so starting off with a low dose and if necessary working up slowly is the safest and most productive way to handle the situation.

I just went to a different pharmacy and told them I thought I had needles and u won’t be home for a while so they let me buy an individual bag of the purple boxed needles lol Yay!
 
Just checked his sugar now that I am home and it is 16.8 (302.4). I did not give him his needle last night until 7. Not sure what to do
Ok, Diesel has only had one shot of insulin and went low on the very first small dose of 0.5U (half a unit).

As MrWorfMen's Mom said, you want to get back to testing and dosing when it will make the most sense with your schedule and life responsibilities. you want to keep to a 12 hour dosing schedule if possible, but that may slip now and then. Life happens. High BG numbers are not good in the long term, but low BG can have more immediate dangers. Under 50 mg/dl (<2.7 mmol) is low with a human meter.

Things to consider/ideas.
1. You had difficulties with testing him last night. Do you want to see if the testing gets more reliable with experience before giving insulin?
2. You are changing to a low carb food at the same time as you are starting him on insulin. You could hold off on the insulin until the food change is complete or further along.
3. What do you want to have as your regular shot times? What will be better for you with your work schedule?
4. Do you work this weekend? or do you have some time off to monitor? If so, if no ketones, wait until a couple of days off to re-start the insulin.
5. Think about when you might be able to test at the +3 to +7 timeframe to see if you can find Diesel's nadir. Before bed? Early in the morning? After you get home from work? Weekends? Depends if you are a night owl or early riser.
6. Have you been able to contact your vet to review the blood results again?
 
I just went to a different pharmacy and told them I thought I had needles and u won’t be home for a while so they let me buy an individual bag of the purple boxed needles lol Yay

I don't think there is any limit to the number of syringes you can buy without a script in Nova Scotia or anywhere in Canada for that matter. If you needed syringes they could have just sold you the whole box.
 
Ok, Diesel has only had one shot of insulin and went low on the very first small dose of 0.5U (half a unit).

As MrWorfMen's Mom said, you want to get back to testing and dosing when it will make the most sense with your schedule and life responsibilities. you want to keep to a 12 hour dosing schedule if possible, but that may slip now and then. Life happens. High BG numbers are not good in the long term, but low BG can have more immediate dangers. Under 50 mg/dl (<2.7 mmol) is low with a human meter.

Things to consider/ideas.
1. You had difficulties with testing him last night. Do you want to see if the testing gets more reliable with experience before giving insulin?
2. You are changing to a low carb food at the same time as you are starting him on insulin. You could hold off on the insulin until the food change is complete or further along.
3. What do you want to have as your regular shot times? What will be better for you with your work schedule?
4. Do you work this weekend? or do you have some time off to monitor? If so, if no ketones, wait until a couple of days off to re-start the insulin.
5. Think about when you might be able to test at the +3 to +7 timeframe to see if you can find Diesel's nadir. Before bed? Early in the morning? After you get home from work? Weekends? Depends if you are a night owl or early riser.
6. Have you been able to contact your vet to review the blood results again?


I did the test fine this morning and this afternoon so I should hopefully be ok with that.

I am not reeding him any of his old food anymore. He only getting the Fancy Feast. One that I fed last night/ this am I believe had 5-6 carbs. How much of a can should I be giving him for feedings?

I am up at 6-630am and leave for work at 715 usually. I was going to do 7 and 7 but the checking in the morning +3 won’t work unless it’s a weekend.
When I called the vet last she couldn’t find his chart because the receptionists were not in because of the storm
 
How much to feed him depends on his ideal weight and activity level. The formula for calculating calories is 13.6 X ideal weight in lbs. +70. Diabetics often need more calories to regain lost weight or to maintain their weight so exceeding the formula amount until kitty is regulated is fine but you don't want kitty getting too "fluffy" so you need to watch their weight. Likewise there will be a difference between a couch potato cat vs an energizer bunny kitty in their calorie requirements so the formula really just provides a baseline to work from.

Each can of FF pate runs between 80 and 95 calories each depending on flavour.
 
Good job getting that set up. Now you can add it to your signature so it's always available when you need assistance/have questions.

To add it to your signature, copy that link for the SS. Go to your signature and type "Diesel's SS" and highlight it. Then click on the little chain link icon in the tool bar and paste the link you copied there and click on INSERT. Then scroll down and click on "Save Changes".
 
Last edited:
Not sure how to add things to it. I did it on my phone so going to hop onto my Mac in a bit when my little one goes to bed for the night.

ok so wondering about Diesel’s shot tonight. I should give him 0.25? That sounds so hard to measure :/
 
As long as pre-shot is high enough(over 150) then yes I would give 0.25u and grab a +2 or +3 BG test to see what Diesel is doing tonight. All you can do is eyeball the 0.25u dose half way between the 0.5u mark and the zero line on the syringe barrel. (See left picture below). You could draw up coloured water in a used syringe to what you perceive to be 0.25u and use that as a comparison. It's much more important to be consistent with dosing than precise. The point is to reduce the dose from the 0.5u to something close to 0.25u.

syringe markingsPNG.PNG
 

Attachments

  • syringe markingsPNG.PNG
    syringe markingsPNG.PNG
    146.8 KB · Views: 485
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top