New Acro Diagnosis

Status
Not open for further replies.
She's looked pretty flat. She may well need a little more R to see some movement. I'm sure Wendy will stop by when she gets a mo.

Is she on Lev or Lantus??
I can't see it anywhere on the ss or sig block???
I'm assuming Lev, and I think I remember reading that somewhere in one of your posts:confused:

That is what I was thinking... However, I want to be sure.

I know... I need to set up my signature, but I do not really know how or what to put in it! lol... I have been thinking about that. Pig is on Lantus.
And between you and me... Pig is a boy.. lol. He may get offended with the 'she' pronoun.. :smuggrin:
 
"This leaves me and my Assistant Manager covering all the hours!"
I hope there is extra compensation as a result of you effectively running the business.
Yeah... You would think so. I am hourly for now, so the extra compensation comes with just my wage... :rolleyes:
 
Well, you could remind them that you are running their business and a bump in pay would be compensation for that. (I'm not turning this into a job forum) :)
 
Well, you could remind them that you are running their business and a bump in pay would be compensation for that. (I'm not turning this into a job forum) :)
Right!? The problem is that I am 'maxed' out for my position.. according to their pay scale. Any bump in pay would come with added responsibility and trust me, I have more than my fair share!
 
I know... I need to set up my signature, but I do not really know how or what to put in it!
run the mouse over your screen name top right of the page
A drop down list appears, select signature
then enter whatever info you think is important.
And between you and me... Pig is a boy.. lol. He may get offended with the 'she' pronoun.. :smuggrin:
Oops sorry Pig:oops: (this can go in your signature)

Most folk put
meds
other medical issues
date of diagnosis
You want to include that he is acro for instance
What food you feed
What insulin he is on.

That sort of thing.
 
run the mouse over your screen name top right of the page
A drop down list appears, select signature
then enter whatever info you think is important.

Oops sorry Pig:oops: (this can go in your signature)

Most folk put
meds
other medical issues
date of diagnosis
You want to include that he is acro for instance
What food you feed
What insulin he is on.

That sort of thing.

Wonderful! Thank you so much! And why we are here on the tech thing.. how do I do that fancy little quote thing, rather than replying to the whole comment? In case I want to be specific.
 
Wonderful! Thank you so much! And why we are here on the tech thing.. how do I do that fancy little quote thing, rather than replying to the whole comment? In case I want to be specific.
You highlight the text that's pertinent, a little drop down tab will appear, it says reply, click on that and Hey Presto!!

I'm off to bed, it's midnight here.
 
I technically can dose R on his pm schedule tonight, but will need to get up every hour to test. I do not mind. However, I would not increase the R dose if I were to dose it tonight. What if I didn't wake up? Yikes!!
When would your next opportunity be to do R, but at a 0.5 unit dose? I think we need to try that next, but only when you can monitor. Keep in mind that tomorrow morning would be the time to do a Lantus increase to 14 units, as long as you don't see blue tonight. And you don't want to do L and R increase on the same cycle. One option, if possible, is R tomorrow day and L tomorow night. But it depends on your ability to monitor.
 
Last edited:
When would your next opportunity be to do R, but at a 0.5 unit dose? I think we need to try that next, but only when you can monitor. Keep in mind that tomorrow morning would be the time to do a Lev increase to 14 units, as long as you don't see blue tonight. And you don't want to do Lev and R increase on the same cycle. One option, if possible, is R tomorrow day and Lev tomorow night. But it depends on your ability to monitor.
Yes, I agree with you entirely. I do not think we will see a blue tonight... I do not want to chance it tonight and then end up missing something crucial because I did not wake up. It will be tough the next couple of days, because I will be working during the day and right in the middle of his cycle. I have my brother come and babysit, which he is excellent at. But, he is not R ready, I do not think. Neither has he navigated the forums.

I can dose the .5u on Monday night. That would be the very next time that I will be able to monitor the way I feel is necessary. That would give him ample time to adjust to the unit raise of Lantus..
 
I think as long as he's still above 300, and his numbers have not been trending down the previous cycle so that the PMPS is not lower than the AMPS, you should be OK to shoot without checking in first. But it would be good to see the hourly updates.
 
I think as long as he's still above 300, and his numbers have not been trending down the previous cycle so that the PMPS is not lower than the AMPS, you should be OK to shoot without checking in first. But it would be good to see the hourly updates.

I can certainly post them! I am excited. I want to see him in better numbers so bad! My main focus is to get him in better BGs and improve his quality of life, then it will be on to the big boys of treatment. Attacking that stupid tumor... :nailbiting: I will find a way. I can promise you that. lol. But, for now... Just the numbers and symptom management.
 
You are doing a good job. He really needs to get some time in the 100's. All those high numbers are just unhealthy for him. I remember dancing around with those numbers when Leo's tumor was growing. He was not a happy camper at the time.
 
@Wendy&Neko I upped Pig's L to 15u this morning and was thinking I was not going to see any movement, but once again, he surprises me. We saw a 307 @ +8. My question is this... Given his higher numbers and the way he has been feeling as a result, how safe it is to give the .25u just to see a little movement downward. I was wondering this before I saw the 307. What do you think? Wait and allow the 15uL to do their stuff or give the .25u as well tonight since we know sort of what he is going to do with it? I will not dose the .5u until tomorrow and only under the advice you gave me. I was just curious about this this morning... I really want to see him in lower numbers...
 
As long as he's above 300, it should be OK, if you can monitor tonight.
That is the problem... I will not be able to monitor the way I would like. I have to be at work at 6am, which is entirely out of the norm. I will be going to bed immediately after shooting. If he had not reached a 307 on the new 15u of L then I would not even worry and, in fact, that was going to be my initial question. However, then he went and complicated things! Lol... Ugh. I just feel like I never know what the right thing to do is! He needs lower numbers, but I am overly cautious. I am sorry to bug so much... I did have a few other questions that I a going to type up in a minute.
 
You are doing a good job. He really needs to get some time in the 100's. All those high numbers are just unhealthy for him. I remember dancing around with those numbers when Leo's tumor was growing. He was not a happy camper at the time.

He is so not happy... did you ever feel like you were in one of those bad dreams where you are running towards the end of the hallway and the hallway kept getting longer? Or that you were wading in mud towards a solution, but everything was taking so long to work out? I am waiting on pain meds. Working the R thing cautiously. Slowing increasing the L. Trying to find a reputable internist. All of this takes time and while it is taking its time, he is feeling poopy. Sometimes I just feel so helpless.
 
I wouldn't shoot R is I can't get any other tests. One thing you can do is increase L a little faster. If all you see is numbers above 300, you can increase Lantus after four cycles. That should give you time to do an R experiment tomorrow then increase L.
 
I wouldn't shoot R is I can't get any other tests. One thing you can do is increase L a little faster. If all you see is numbers above 300, you can increase Lantus after four cycles. That should give you time to do an R experiment tomorrow then increase L.

Okay. If I am pushing it faster, should I decrease the increase to only a .5u raise? I only say this because the last time I was making increases every five days his numbers seemed to really push up. Granted, we have not ever seen really great numbers, but when I pushed the doses we saw way worse. It was like his body just was not ready for it. I can always try it, however, and see what happens.
 
If all you see is numbers above 300
I also have to say that I am officially a pansy. Whenever I see anything <300 I tend to start to panic and bring out all the hypo stuff. Especially when it is at a ps time. I am just not use to numbers that low and it is frightening. However, I also know that in order to get him where he needs to be I need to start being a little aggressive with dosing. Aggressive, but safe.
 
I too was initially terrified of low numbers. Don't worry, once you have seen how you can control them with food, it's much easier.

I would still increase Lantus by 1.0 units at this point. Think of dose increases as a percentage. 10-15% is a good amount. You can see high numbers initially after an increase as the depot stabilizes. We really want to get him out of those high numbers as fast as it is safe to do so.
 
I too was initially terrified of low numbers. Don't worry, once you have seen how you can control them with food, it's much easier.

I would still increase Lantus by 1.0 units at this point. Think of dose increases as a percentage. 10-15% is a good amount. You can see high numbers initially after an increase as the depot stabilizes. We really want to get him out of those high numbers as fast as it is safe to do so.

Okay. So, I am now planning on making a dose increase every 4 cycles? Just to be certain.
 
I was also worried about low numbers. However the longterm high numbers will take their toll. You should continue adjusting (every 5th dose) until you can see a nadir in the 150 range.

All of Pig's numbers are 250 and above. Hypos are in the 30-50 range, and you are not even close to that. I agree with Wendy that dose increases should be 1.0 units now. You are at 15 units.
1 unit / 15 units = 6%
That is a pretty small increase.
 
If all you see is red or pink, I think you can go every 4 cycles for a bit until you see mid yellow. You may every once in a while take a pause (6 cycles) to let the depot catch up. Or if you are doing an R experiment and the timing is such that you would normally increase the Lantus and the same time, I would hold off the L increase.

At 20 units, increases can be by 2-3 units at a time. Julie once described it as racing to get ahead of a speeding train. It felt like that to me. You are racing the insulin resistance. Another good saying around here - be the tank. A tank always gets where it wants to go.
 
1 unit / 15 units = 6%
That is a pretty small increase.
Okay... This makes a lot of sense. Thank your for explaining that to me... That would suggest why the numerical differences are seemingly smaller with every increase now that we are in higher doses??
 
If all you see is red or pink, I think you can go every 4 cycles for a bit until you see mid yellow. You may every once in a while take a pause (6 cycles) to let the depot catch up. Or if you are doing an R experiment and the timing is such that you would normally increase the Lantus and the same time, I would hold off the L increase.

At 20 units, increases can be by 2-3 units at a time. Julie once described it as racing to get ahead of a speeding train. It felt like that to me. You are racing the insulin resistance. Another good saying around here - be the tank. A tank always gets where it wants to go.

Yes!! That is precisely what it feels like! Okay, I understand this, I think. I really am awful with numbers... I am trying to see the patterns. I was making increases every five injections, but then he shot up into the 500's and that scared me a bit, so I slowed the increases just incase it was a bounce. I do not know enough of this. I have been studying this for the past 4-5 months and still like I know nothing. Lol.. I will go back to the 5 cycle increases, with a few stalls to 6 in order to let that depot get caught up. I am gunning for lower numbers.

I will be dosing the .5uR tonight, given that his pmps is not lower than his amps. He has been seeing a few wonky dips in numbers and his amps was marginally lower than usual. This should be okay, though? I am taking a nap here soon to ensure I can stay up all night with him and not worry about falling asleep.
 
If all you see is numbers above 300, you can increase Lantus after four cycles.
you can go every 4 cycles

Okay @Wendy&Neko perhaps I am confused... I took this to mean that I would give him 4 cycles @ a certain u, then increase the dose on the 5th cycle. Did you mean to make the increase on the 4th cycle, rather than the 5th? So three shots at Xu and then raise on the 4th? I am sorry if I am dumb about this stuff... lol. Numbers, man, numbers.
 
In Wendy's note above she suggests every 4 cycles, until you see yellow.:)

Good luck with the R dosing tonight.mits bedtime here, hope I see a nice r result when I check in in the morning.

Thank you! I am excited and scared, but mostly ready to see yellow!! I hope you have a lovely rest! See you in the morning!! :cat: Sleep well!!
 
So, I have a list of questions that have been running in my head for the past day or so... Should I post them here or on the general health forum? I am not versed in the forum etiquette as of yet. lol. On a positive note, I spelled etiquette right the first time! :joyful:
 
If you open a thread on the Lantus sub-forum, I'll post the link to that thread in the last comment on this thread.
 
If you open a thread on the Lantus sub-forum, I'll post the link to that thread in the last comment on this thread.

Oh!! Okay! That sounds good! I will start a new one in just a second... That will be good for tonight's increase on R! Thank you!
 
If you open a thread on the Lantus sub-forum, I'll post the link to that thread in the last comment on this thread.

For future reference... If I wanted to link threads, I would simply copy the URL and paste it into the new forum?? I just started a new thread on the Lantus forum.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top