New Acro Diagnosis

Status
Not open for further replies.
One of the things that may help you, is to look at spreadsheets of other acrocats when they are first starting out. I know it helped me, but one of my majors was in Math. ;) As long as he's only seeing numbers above 200, you should be fine increasing the Lantus dose every six cycles, provided you can test like you have been. You can slow down when you start to see blues numbers. And that's what the protocol has you do for safety. Hypo situations should scare you, but also know that since you are testing and have high carb food, you can control Pig's numbers.

If you could, keep the spreadsheet up to date with the numbers. +2 is normally the time R onsets, but like I said, my Neko didn't like to be normal and onset later. The other possibility is that 0.25 R is not enough, either ever, or when he starts above 400. My R scale was really simple for Neko when she was in higher Lev doses - 250-350, give 0.25U, 350 and above, give 0.5 units.

You are in the right place if you want to talk to cat lovers. :) Even my vet used to joke how much I spent on Neko. But she was worth every penny.
Testing as I have been should not be an issue. I like to get a minimum of 4 a day with two each cycle. I always do more, but that is my lowest.

So, let us say tomorrow morning he preshoots for <300. I stick with the .25u and see where he goes?
 
Are you around to monitor tomorrow morning like you did today? I would try 0.25 if between 300 and 400. (provided he doesn't go crazy down in the next hour).
 
So far this looks a lot like his cycle a couple nights ago. The good thing is that it's a steady drop, but not too much. I'm curious to see if he flattens out like he did then or keeps going down. But I'll have to save that for tomorrow morning when I get up. I would get that +4 test for sure. If you are up, or if he drops a decent amount to +4, I would get a +5.

After this, I think you said you don't have time to use R until Saturday. Your next Lantus increase wouldn't be until Sunday, so Saturday would still be a good day to try R. We'll see how the rest of tonight goes before deciding if it's the same experiment, or different dose.

Yes, feed as you normally would.
Yes, Saturday would be the better bet. I am home tomorrow, but will not be able to monitor quite like I would like. So Saturday at 11:00a would be best. Thank you for your help! Rest well!
 
I will be home, but so will my 5 year old daughter. I can test every hour, but it will be hard to keep a close eye on him..
Checking every hour is keeping a fairly close eye on him, but maybe not quite enough for an R experiment.

I'll check back to see where he is at +4. I'll be swinging by periodically until then, just in case you need anything.
 
I have a meeting Saturday morning, so I won't be able to pop in. You could just try the same dose if over 300, and see what happens. Keep up the testing every hour. As you gather more data, you will be able to reduce the number of tests.
Yes. This sounds like a good plan. After this weekend I can dose R more regularly, but typically in the PM. I work and do school overnight, so I know this makes it difficult. I will also have a few days that I can dose during the day and am sure once I know more will be able to do so everyday. However, until then I will err on the side of caution. I will keep testing and updating!
Thank you again!
 
Checking every hour is keeping a fairly close eye on him, but maybe not quite enough for an R experiment.

I'll check back to see where he is at +4. I'll be swinging by periodically until then, just in case you need anything.
It is... But I am a bit nutso.. lol. I like to watch his breathing patterns and the like. Just to see if there is any pain or repression. Plus, if something were to happen, it would be next to impossible to coral both my daughter and Tail while trying to take care of Pig.

I will say the same to you as I said to Wendy, thank you so much for your time. I am sure it is as precious as mine and I cannot appreciate it more!
 
I will say the same to you as I said to Wendy, thank you so much for your time. I am sure it is as precious as mine and I cannot appreciate it more!
Around here we like to pay it forward. Someone helped us when we were new, and we want to do the same. I can say without a doubt my Cinco would have died if not for the the people on this Board. Thanks to the help I got here, we had him for another five years. It's something I can never repay. Don't even get me started about all the help with other, including Harvey. That's why we stick around, even after our sugar cats have Gone Ahead.
 
Around here we like to pay it forward. Someone helped us when we were new, and we want to do the same. I can say without a doubt my Cinco would have died if not for the the people on this Board. Thanks to the help I got here, we had him for another five years. It's something I can never repay. Don't even get me started about all the help with other, including Harvey. That's why we stick around, even after our sugar cats have Gone Ahead.
Honestly, it is just so amazing to me! I like to give appreciation where it is due and it is due!

Pigs +4 was @ 337 - That is a good number for him, especially after eating!
 
Well done with the R experiment.

You shoot at 11am CST right? That's 6pm for me (i'm in Europe/Spain), I can be around and check in on you if you decide to try R again on Saturday, just so you have some support. Just let me know and feel free to tag me.
Wonderful! Thank you so much! I will heed Wendy's advice and only shoot the .25u if he is >300. Yes, at 11am CST.
 
It doesn't look like Pig is going to do anything terribly exciting tonight. We'll just chalk this down to a learning experience. There is no such thing as too much data.
Yes.. I agree. I will say that he does seem to be feeling better either way. Even as 300#s are not super exciting, they are when you have been hovering in the 400's for the past day or so. With that being said, I say success for tonight!
 
Looks like the new Lantus dose may be starting to bring him down a little. :) Either that, or what some people see is some action on the cycle following the use of R. Knowing whether Pig is one of those types of cats will be useful as you plan ahead when to use R.
 
Yes, I think a lot of it is the L. He responds a bit whenever we increase. We saw BGs almost as low as last night, but not quite. I am glad I did not dose the R today, it has been too busy to properly test. I got a +3 and +5, but not enough. His appetite is good. I will be starting new medications tonight (cisapride), but will only be giving half the dose until I know how he reacts. His Gaba will be here very soon and I will do the same with it. Is it alright to increase or dose R when starting new meds? Or should I do what my gut says and introduce it all very slowly and one at a time?
 
If you want to see the impact of an individual med, I would start them one at a time. And without R which might mask if it increases Pig's BG.
 
Tonight we start the Cisapride. I got it from Wedgewood veterinary pharmacy. It is compounded with almond oil. This should be fine? It will not raise the BGs?
Tomorrow we dose with R again, assuming his amps is @ >300.
 
I am assuming it is the bitter almond that is only poisonous? If the vet pharmacy compounded it with almond oil, it should be alright, yes? The carbohydrates are at 0% with no sugars either.
 
I am assuming it is the bitter almond that is only poisonous? If the vet pharmacy compounded it with almond oil, it should be alright, yes? The carbohydrates are at 0% with no sugars either.
From what I was able to find on the web, plain almond oil is okay. Just not the bitter variety. I also would assume that if Wedgewood used it, it's safe, but one should always double check!
 
I will be dosing the R this morning @ 11:00 am. He saw a BG spike around the +6 hour last night and I am not sure why. He did not have food around that time, but it might be due to stress. There has been a lot of foot traffic in my home the past day and his numbers almost always reflect this. His numbers never dropped after the spike last night. I will be giving the .25u as recommended. He did receive a half dose of cisapride last night, but the numbers did not jump until much later. I do not know or think that the cisapride is to blame. However, I am no expert.

I just weighed him and he has put on a whole pound in just over a month.
 
I am assuming it is the bitter almond that is only poisonous?
Bitter almonds have a high content of cyanide that's what makes them poisonous. (eating 40 bitter almonds could be enough to kill an adult, though you would struggle to eat one, they taste disgusting)
Sweet almonds only have trace amounts, and the oil made from them is certainly safe for human consumption.

(we live on a small almond farm in Spain:))
 
I will be dosing the R this morning @ 11:00 am. He saw a BG spike around the +6 hour last night and I am not sure why. He did not have food around that time, but it might be due to stress. There has been a lot of foot traffic in my home the past day and his numbers almost always reflect this. His numbers never dropped after the spike last night. I will be giving the .25u as recommended. He did receive a half dose of cisapride last night, but the numbers did not jump until much later. I do not know or think that the cisapride is to blame. However, I am no expert.

I just weighed him and he has put on a whole pound in just over a month.
Could you update last nights numbers on the ss.
 
How are those tests?
Any reaction tot he R dose?
Today will be only his second dose of R. I am a little concerned about how high he went last night. Wendy said not to give on a bounce breaking cycle and I am hoping that his higher BGs is due to the stress of foot traffic in the house.

What do you think? I will have the amps here soon...
 
Okay... His amps was @ 383, so I do not think it is a bounce. I think he has a normal cycle showing. I feel R would be a good call.

Now, I work @ 6:00 in the am. Am I safe to dose R tonight?
 
That is great to hear that Pig has gained a healthy pound since you started insulin treatments. He is probably feeling better as a result.
Actually, he started off about 14lbs and only lost the weight under the instruction to feed 3oz 2x a day.. That was an awful time. He was sooooo hungry and he dropped fast. I quickly took matters into my own hands and started feeding him when he wanted it. He gained a pound back really quick! Either way... It is a really good thing. He feels better for it!
 
Sorry just nipped out to walk the dogs. I got confused about your shot time.

Paws crossed at this end that we see some movement with r.

Are you working tomorrow/Sunday at 6am.

No worries! It is all good! I just appreciate the support.

Yes, I am hoping for some movement. I want to at least see some yellow today!

Yes, I am working at 6am Sunday morning and then @ 7am on Monday. I normally work the nightshift, but we are down a tremendous amount of people right now and I just lost one of my management personnel. This leaves me and my Assistant Manager covering all the hours!

I am hoping for a more normalized schedule at the end of the week.
 
Well... What can I say? Pig has always been stubborn and in a league of his own... *sigh*

+2 @ 346

Wrong way, buddy... Wrong way... :banghead:
 
He gave a little with a minuet drop...
+3 @ 335

As of now, this cycle with R is looking remarkably like the last run. Perhaps a move to .5u on the next try is warranted? I am not sure...

I technically can dose R on his pm schedule tonight, but will need to get up every hour to test. I do not mind. However, I would not increase the R dose if I were to dose it tonight. What if I didn't wake up? Yikes!!

Thoughts?
 
I'm not sure about taking the dose up. I'd rather @Wendy&Neko took a look and offer you a suggestion on that.

The most important thing with R, particularly in this early phase, is that you monitor closely, so if you even think that there is a chance that you might fall asleep, it might be safest to leave it for another day.

This cycle is starting to look like the earlier one, but it's not over yet.
He is looking pretty flat to me.
 
"This leaves me and my Assistant Manager covering all the hours!"
I hope there is extra compensation as a result of you effectively running the business.
 
Well.. Still in the wrong direction, but that's because he ate.

Food @ +3.5
+4 @ 353
She's looked pretty flat. She may well need a little more R to see some movement. I'm sure Wendy will stop by when she gets a mo.

Is she on Lev or Lantus??
I can't see it anywhere on the ss or sig block???
I'm assuming Lev, and I think I remember reading that somewhere in one of your posts:confused:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top