Neuropathy-Methyl-B12-Comments requested

Status
Not open for further replies.

pepperthecat1969

Member Since 2010
Khan's BG numbers are improving from 600+ down around 200-300 and even btwn 65-100! HIs Humulin N has decreased from 5u/2x a day down to 0.75u twice a day! He is eating,pooping and peeing normal amts, his belly hair is growing back, his activity seems good. Last night he was having difficulty walking-he'd walk a few steps then sit.. I could tell his back legs are weak. BG number this morning was 308 (0.75u +11). I spoke to the vet and agreed the B vitamin is worth a try, potassium level most likely isn't low since Khan's peeing is normal and his head is up and alert.

REQUEST: What has worked for others on this board for treating neuropathy?
 
I used the cyanocobalamin injections. I had been giving them previously for low levels due to IBD and increased them when I saw the neuropathy. I actually found it much easier than mixing things into the food--Weeble's very picky and B-supplements can sometimes cause nausea.

They're cheap and you're already used to giving shots--and the shots work quicker than the pills. There's no worries about "overdosing" as they just pee out whatever they don't use.
 
For neuropathy you want to use methylcobalamin and not cyanocobalamin. You can find Methyl B12 either at most health food stores or online. Cyanocobalamin is not effective for neuropathy.

Methyl B12 usually comes in small disolvable tablets. Many of us just crush them up and mix them with our cat's food.
 
MB12 absolutely helped my Trouble BUT not before his bg levels started coming down. Trouble had sever neuropathy. I thought he'd never walk properly again.

We used the cherry flavored tablets finely crushed and mixed into his food. He never tasted the difference and the cherry flavoring never raised his bg levels. Crushed 1 tablet into morning food and 1 tablet into evening meal.

This method worked wonders for us but REMEMBER ECID.

I hope this helps,
jeanne
 
ECID??? what do you mean? I will order some of the tablets.. but before I do is there anyone that knows if I am able to get injectable? I just want to make sure he is getting what he needs..unless of course these crushed tablets are a definitely don't worry about it -- just crush the tablets and make sure the cats eats all the food --type of thing. So far the last two days I've crushed the b12 and he has eaten all the food... but if this specific brand name works I'm definitely willing to buy it and try it. poor cat only walks a few steps then lays down. My vet is completely onboard with this -which is so awesome.
 
E very
C at
I s
D ifferent :)

ETA: The tablets worked for us. I hope others will weigh in on this. I *think* there is an injectable Methylcobalamin. I'm not sure. We used the tablets YEARS ago. I think before people started exploring "different" brands.

My best wishes
jeanne
 
The crushed MB12 tablets from Lifelink worked great for Houdini....I never thought he would eat cherry flavored tablets but they are tiny and he never even noticed. They are not expensive and sometimes Lifelink has great specials like 2 for 1.

It takes time for this to work so be patient....
 
Thank you. I'm looking into the injectable with my vet right now.. I'll post if there is one.. I believe Foster&Smith offers an injectable but the question is : is the B12 the methylB12? I don't know.
 
pepperthecat1969 said:
Thank you. I'm looking into the injectable with my vet right now.. I'll post if there is one.. I believe Foster&Smith offers an injectable but the question is : is the B12 the methylB12? I don't know.

No, B12 (cyanocobalamin or cobalamin )and Methyl B12 (methylcobalamin )are different. Standard B12 shots will not help with neuropathy. They can be helpful for a number of conditions from anaemia to IBS, but not neuropathy. Neuropathy responds to the Methyl form of B12 only.

Just make absolutely sure that the Methyl B12 contains no artificial sweeteners, specifically Xylitol since it is toxic to cats and dogs.
 
Well I ordered the product from the webpage recommended. Special right now is buy 2 get a 3rd free.
 
Do I have to worry about the BG numbers going up due to the B12? I am giving a B12 that has NO sugar no preservatives etc.. but I'm unsure if it has methyl in it so that is why I bought the exact brand/type as recommended. Rt now Khan's numbers preshot have been mid 300s by +10 and that is on Humulin N.. I'm just wondering if the adding the B12 made the numbers go up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top