Lowered dose today

A Fae

Member Since 2021
AMPS was 65 shot 0.25U
AM+2 was 60
AM+8 was 55

PMPS was 52 shot 0.1U
PM+1 was 51
PM+3 was 51

I felt Ben's BG would have gone too low on a 0.25U shot and didn't want to go hypo.
Also, I didn't want to hold the shot. 0.1U seemed to do the trick
I will do testing every 2 hours tonight.
I practiced with a needle and dosage and the 0.25U was 2 large and 1 small drop, 0.1U was 1 large drop.
Am I doing it right? They say KNOW THY CAT.
 
We normally wait for a reduction to be earned (with a drop below 50, for newly diagnosed kitties), to take the reduction. Ben seems to be doing great, though so he may just have earned the reduction any day now!
The higher depot will after 4 cycles after the reduction, so we it will take a few cycles to know how he actually does on 0.10U.

Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/no-wasted-strips.249264/
 
Ben has also switched to FF classic Pate with carbs of 2% where lamb stew was 7%. Could that have made a difference?
Now looking into home made with a completer, I would like to feed raw but too ignorant on the subject right now.
we have Whole Earth Farms Duck pate coming next week. I still worry about phosphorus levels since treating a CRF kitty I know it's hard on the kidneys

130 phosphorus
28 protein
68 fat
4 carbohydrates
 
Ben has also switched to FF classic Pate with carbs of 2% where lamb stew was 7%. Could that have made a difference?
Possible. Some cats do better on lowest carbs and some on slightly higher. I think his pancreas are healing some more each day with all the time he is spending in normal numbers.

Now looking into home made with a completer, I would like to feed raw but too ignorant on the subject right now.
Here's a post on Raw Feeding Senior Kitties by @PerfumedCatMom

 
AMPS is 86 shot 0.25U

He was hungry and ate about an hour ago. I can't seem to get him to eat only when I want him to. Silly kitty!
 
What lovely flat green cycles! Btw, 1 week in largely green numbers is another criteria for a reduction. Today is Day 4!
 
It would be very helpful if you could follow the guidelines for posting on this forum.
  • We ask that you post a new thread for each day rather than run the days together.
  • Please follow the conventions for your subject line: date, cat's name, +hour and test results
    • The convention for the subject line allows those of us who scan the board to insure there are no problems to quickly identify if there's a trouble spot. Saying that you "lowered the dose" makes if much more difficult for experienced people, whose time is limited, to know if you need help.
Thank you.
 
Back
Top