Jenny - Part 3

My spreadsheet is back up (at least for me). When you have a sec let me know if you can see it ok. It's updated thru today amps+6. Thanks!
 
My husband wanted to look back on something on the spreadsheet. He has these huge fingers that never work right on touch screens, and he tried to scroll up or down and all of a sudden, the whole spreadsheet was gone except the top and bottom lines. I tried a few things suggested on the forum, then asked chatgpt for help, and about 3 or 4 questions later, I was back! Somehow he invoked both a data filter and a "published view", but we're all good now.
 
My husband wanted to look back on something on the spreadsheet. He has these huge fingers that never work right on touch screens, and he tried to scroll up or down and all of a sudden, the whole spreadsheet was gone except the top and bottom lines. I tried a few things suggested on the forum, then asked chatgpt for help, and about 3 or 4 questions later, I was back! Somehow he invoked both a data filter and a "published view", but we're all good now.
Oh that must be so frustrating for r husband! Touch screens can be so annoying for many of us. I am happy you recovered it.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy if you can look at Jenny's spreadsheet before 9pm central I'd appreciate it. She went under 90 today, which normally would say to decrease .25, but she wasn't doing that great on 1.5 and it was only 4 days ago, so would appreciate your experience. Thanks!
 
Hello! I hope you had a good day. Jenny did well. If Jenny were my kitty I would switch her to the modified ProZinc method and start following MPM. She could make more progress like that. You have enough experience now to do this and you test enough to keep tabs on her BG. I would then hold this 1.75 dose a couple more days to see how it settles.

It’s a legitimate thing to reduce by .25 if you want to, but as you said, she wasn’t doing great on 1.5 units, so you probably would be increasing back up to 1.75 again soon. We don’t want to see her ketones going back up.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy , I think I'm ready to take Jenny up to 2 (from 1.75) based on her numbers for a week on 1.75. I would give her the 1.75 tonight, then move to 2 in the morning when I can watch her all day, and do a full curve. Thoughts?
 
@Suzanne & Darcy when you have a minute tomorrow take a look a Jenny's SS if you can. She's actually having a higher nadir on a higher dose, so I'm not sure if I stay at 2u a few more days or move to 2.25. thanks!
 
Try to get a test tonight before bed. The nighttime tests can really help interpret the AMBG at times.

Just hold the line on the dose and be patient. It’s not uncommon to see higher BG after an increase for a little while. We need to let things settle. Also, there could have been a bounce at play the last few days. Let’s see how it goes tomorrow.

Okay? Don’t be discouraged! It’s a marathon. :bighug:
 
Perfect. I wasn't sure with the MPM if I was supposed to react quicker or let it ride. I'm good watching for a few days. I appreciate you!
 
Perfect. I wasn't sure with the MPM if I was supposed to react quicker or let it ride. I'm good watching for a few days. I appreciate you!
MPM gives us the option to increase sooner, but we don’t have to. I generally like to see three days on a dose before increasing.
 
Hello. I hope it’s not too late to respond. I apologize. I lost one of my sweetest babies on Sunday (my birthday) and then on Monday I was in the ER with my husband for the whole night. I slept a lot today. He’s okay though.

Looking at the spreadsheet, I do agree that you should try a .25 increase. My only reservation is that you don’t have night tests recently. I would like to verify that she’s not going lower at night.
 
oh no, I'm so sorry you lost your baby, and then the ER on top of that. I hope your husband is OK?

We stopped doing the night testing because they were so consistent between 250-280 every night. I wasn't changing dosing, and Jenny was just getting cranky from 4 tests a day. When I change doses I'll start the night testing back up. Should I do a curve before changing, or do the curve after? Thanks Suzanne.
 
You are doing a great job. I would go ahead and increase and then wait a couple of days and do a few extra tests — like a +4 and +6 and maybe another one or add in an evening test if she will allow it. If not, then try to get an evening test on a day where she hasn’t had as much testing that day.

Please tell me how Jenny is doing overall these days. I bet you have good news to report!
 
Jenny is doing great. She eats well, drinks well, has a good attitude. As good as a cat can have :) She's very normal acting, has gained a couple pounds back, and her coat look good. She's been cranky lately getting her blood, but my husband has become a cat-whisperer and can calm her down while I get the blood. I'll change her dose in the morning to 2.25. Thanks Suzanne!
 
@Suzanne & Darcy , I had an issue today. I accidentally left the insulin out last night from 9pm to 9am! Our house is cool, high 60's, and it wasn't in the sun. Looking at it, it looked fine. Not stringy or clumpy, etc. I decided to give to Jenny then test +6 to ensure it worked ok. PMPS at 9am was 341. +6 was 327, hardly any change! She has consistently been in the 100's at +6, so she hardly moved down at all. If you look at her spreadsheet, it was definitely an aberration.

So I called the vet to get a new bottle of insulin today. Jenny has a 3 month checkup next week where we would get a new bottle anyway. The vet was not wanting to do it, said the 327 could be some other reason, keep using the old bottle. The vet told me 3 weeks ago to go from 1.5 to 2.5, but instead I started stepping Jenny up to 1.75, then 2.0, and was going to 2.25 today (but delayed due to this). The vet said it's because I didn't take her directly from 1.5 to 2.5 and I need to go to 2.5 immediately. I told her the last time she had me to go up a full unit, Jenny went hypo the next day, so I have learned to step her up and not make big changes. Vet said fine, but take her to 2.5 now, that's why she's high today. I don't agree with any of that. Anyway, after 10 minutes of me politely arguing, she agreed to give me a new bottle today though she still said I don't need it, it's the dosage, just go to 2.5 using the old insulin.

I agree with the vet that 12 hours out in a cool house should not make the insulin go bad, but it sure looks like it did. Also I've been on this same bottle for 3 months. Anyhow, thoughts? I still plan to go to 2.25 and not 2.5, and will just have to deal with that at the vet next week I guess. I sent her my spreadsheet and a curve I did yesterday.
 
Back
Top