Is this a bounce potentially?

Klyver

Member Since 2026
Brand new to all this. Fynn was diagnosed 1 week ago. But didn't start insulin treatment until Monday, as the vet couldn't teach us until then.
They said he had no ketones on diagnosis, through the urinalysis and blood work.

See his spreadsheet, trying to be conservative with his doses, as his first shot REALLY worked well. But yesterday was at 11.3, gave him the 1 unit, and he was down to 4.1 by 4.5hours, ended up giving him 4 greenie treats and some wet food that was around 15% carbs. By evening shot, he was 20.5... this is the highest he has ever been since digonsis. And then this AM, he was 15.3, and I gave the 1 unit. Are we thinking this is a "bounce" situation from going into the low 4s, and his body not being used to it and dropping glucose into his body to "protect" him?

Any advice is helpful! thanks!

Fynn Tracker World/US 12/12 Insulin Spreadsheet Template
 
Last edited:
Hi. I would like to help but I cannot see your spreadsheet. You need to set the permissions so that “anyone with the link may view” the spreadsheet. Can you do that?

Welcome to the FDMB!
 
What food are you feeding? What is your feeding schedule? Please feed a small low carb wet food snack at +2 and again at +4. ProZinc will generally begin to onset and lower BG at about +2 so that’s a really important time to give the snack (a spoonful or two of LC wet food.)

Do you feed any dry food?
 
I can see the spreadsheet now. Thank you. It’s not set up correctly because there is no US tab, which I need in order to not use a calculator every time I look at it. You can fill in, for the most part, your world numbers and the US tab will populate automatically.

For now, I do have some comments on his numbers but I would like to know what he eats and his feeding schedule.

Good job getting up and running with the BG testing! That’s half the battle. You are on your way to really helping Fynn.

What country do you live in?
 
For now, please reduce his dose to .75 units. Okay? I assume you have the U-40 syringes with the half unit markings? If so, you draw the plunger back to halfway between the 1 unit and the half unit mark.
 
I’m in Canada. Ok I think I accidentally delete the US page. But I’ll fix it!

He eat breakfast, then not really wanting food until lunch time. But even then, when I’m at work I can’t really force him to eat :(

He eat wet food. Purino pro plan pate because he wasn’t a huge fan of fancy feast. No dry food anymore.
 
If I’m gonna be honest, I’ve been to “ scared” to actually give him exactly 1 unit. It’s more like 0.75, 0.8. I cover the line fully with the plunger part. I felt like 1 unit is probably too much.

Last night I gave him more food, around the +2, +4 hours and some freeze dried chicken treats. But still shot up to 18.9 for breakfast shot this AM. It’s weird, we haven’t seen these shots up before.even before we started insulin, because we tracked for a few days before our vet could teach us how to give shot because of the weekend and such. Maybe he is going “ low” for his body and releasing glucose.

I’m gonna test him at +2 and +4 hours today, and see where he at. I’m home all day today.

This is the food he been eating. He not a huge eater, so he doesn’t normally finish it all.

IMG_7867.jpeg
IMG_7868.jpeg
 
Last edited:
Ik I think I fixed the spreadsheet to have US number sheet back again that automatically updates. :)

I have him the “ 1 unit” because he was 18.9 this morning, which is likely more like 0.75,0.8, which I have been doing lately. I will keep testing through the day. Thanks.

See picture below of the amount I’m giving him. I use food coloring water to draw it up to take picture, that why it looks red.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_7872.jpeg
    IMG_7872.jpeg
    1.2 MB · Views: 49
I’m in Canada. Ok I think I accidentally delete the US page. But I’ll fix it!

He eat breakfast, then not really wanting food until lunch time. But even then, when I’m at work I can’t really force him to eat :(

He eat wet food. Purino pro plan pate because he wasn’t a huge fan of fancy feast. No dry food anymore.
It’s good he’s not eating dry food anymore. What are you using for treats when he gets his BG tests? If he eats too much when he has his shot that he is not willing to eat a spoonful of his LC wet food two hours later, then he’s probably eating too large of a breakfast and all you need to do is cut back on his breakfast portion and feed him a little at +2 and +4. I know it’s not convenient for some people, but it’s important. Most people who work and are gone during the day will set up an automated feeder to dispense the small meals at strategic points during the cycle.
 
Many people will calculate how much their cat needs to eat during the day and night and divide it up into several meals for each cycle.
 
If I’m gonna be honest, I’ve been to “ scared” to actually give him exactly 1 unit. It’s more like 0.75, 0.8. I cover the line fully with the plunger part. I felt like 1 unit is probably too much.
Okay. So that is good to know about the dose. Your photo looks like it’s almost 1 unit. It’s probably what we would call a skinny 1 unit. Since you have been doing that, I still would like to see you give him the reduction he has earned if following the Start Low Go Slow dosing method. Have you read the sticky note on this ProZinc forum for the ProZinc dosing methods? It’s a lot to take in at first so don’t worry if it doesn’t make sense. It’s a start. We usually recommend following SLGS for a month while your cat gets used to the insulin. I think your Fynn is doing really well now on a small dose so I am optimistic!
 
Thank you for all the help. I will do the 0.75 this evening. Once I saw the high BG I thought I stick with the 1 unit to get it back down before reducing. But that makes sense. Thanks!

He doesn’t get a treat with BG testing. He pretty good with getting it done.

He is a 17 pounds so the vet want us to give him around 250 calories a day, or about 2.5 small can a day.
He just not a huge eater with all the changes recently to his schedule and everything.
I did get an automatic wet food feeder, but he doesn’t seem to go to eat it until noon, and his shot at 7am. In the evening I try to do 7pm dinner, then a night feeding/snack around 10-11pm.
 
Sorry to dump on you, but I see you have not been testing at night very often. The thing you should know is that many cats tend to drop into lower numbers at night. We always recommend getting at least a “before bed test” for the evening cycle so that you know if you may need to set an alarm to wake yourself up and test/give a snack. Again, many people use the auto-feeders at night to help keep the kitty safe.
 
Many people will calculate how much their cat needs to eat during the day and night and divide it up into several meals for each cycle.
He was eating purino pro plan gravy wet food 1/2 a day. Then hill science urinary tract dry food, that came out 3 times a day.

The only reason he got dignosed was because he stopped eating his dry food. And I tried a few different brand and he wasn’t into it. And he lost a bit of weight from not eating dry food before we noticed and tried a few brand.

So I brought him to the vet. They think he might need a teeth cleaning maybe some teeth pulled potentially.
But because of his weight, and drinking decent water they wanted to test his blood sugar, and then we found out.
 
He doesn’t get a treat with BG testing. He pretty good with getting it done.
That’s really nice, but that sweet boy should at least get a piece of freeze dried chicken like Pure Bites Freeze Dried Chicken or a piece of boiled chicken or some Low Carb treat as a reward for being such a wonderful cat!
 
Sorry to dump on you, but I see you have not been testing at night very often. The thing you should know is that many cats tend to drop into lower numbers at night. We always recommend getting at least a “before bed test” for the evening cycle so that you know if you may need to set an alarm to wake yourself up and test/give a snack. Again, many people use the auto-feeders at night to help keep the kitty safe.
Make sense. I didn’t know if should leave food out at night in the feeder, because he might eat it less then 2hr before his morning BG test. But I will try :)
 
He was eating purino pro plan gravy wet food 1/2 a day. Then hill science urinary tract dry food, that came out 3 times a day.

The only reason he got dignosed was because he stopped eating his dry food. And I tried a few different brand and he wasn’t into it. And he lost a bit of weight from not eating dry food before we noticed and tried a few brand.

So I brought him to the vet. They think he might need a teeth cleaning maybe some teeth pulled potentially.
But because of his weight, and drinking decent water they wanted to test his blood sugar, and then we found out.
He may have actually become diabetic because of his dental disease and the higher carb food. He is doing really well on a small dose of insulin so I am optimistic for hos progress. If his teeth could be taken care of then maybe we could get him into remission? We can hope.
 
Make sense. I didn’t know if should leave food out at night in the feeder, because he might eat it less then 2hr before his morning BG test. But I will try :)
I understand. Do you have an automatic feeder? You are doing well so far! I can tell how much you love Fynn.
 
G
He may have actually become diabetic because of his dental disease and the higher carb food. He is doing really well on a small dose of insulin so I am optimistic for hos progress. If his teeth could be taken care of then maybe we could get him into remission? We can hope.
This is what I’m thinking too. My vet said they wanted him “stable” on insulin first before dental procedure. But I will talk to them again :)
 
G

This is what I’m thinking too. My vet said they wanted him “stable” on insulin first before dental procedure. But I will talk to them again :)
Vets always say to get your cat regulated before doing the dental. But gingivitis or bad teeth create a lot of inflammation that causes insulin resistance and make it very hard to get the cat regulated.
 
Vets always say to get your cat regulated before doing the dental. But gingivitis or bad teeth create a lot of inflammation that causes insulin resistance and make it very hard to get the cat regulated.
This is what I’ve been reading too. I gonna have a chat with the vet next week and discuss some options about getting his teeth checked again and potentially scheduling the cleaning :)
 
Yah? I’m trying not to obsess over the numbers. But its hard not too!
Seeing how good the first few days were, and now being in pinks is discouraging. But i know I’m trying to do what is best for him! :)
Thank you!
 
Last edited:
You’re doing great! His numbers are not that bad for a newly diagnosed cat. It’s early days. I see a lot of newbies with much higher numbers. He is responding to the insulin. It takes time. Let’s see how it goes today.

Does he have a history or urinary tract problems? I see you had been feeding a urinary food. I was wondering about the carbs in that.
 
No. No history actually. My old roommate cat did, so we had switched them all to urinary tract food. And he honestly really like it, so we stuck with it being in our rotation.

But your right, doing further research, the urinary tract wet food I think is higher carb then the guide on the Facebook page was saying. I did more research yesterday morning on it after the days of being in pink. The guide on Facebook group said it was 4% carbs. But doing the calculator it’s coming back around 10% carbs.

Needless to say, yesterday I switched him back to fancy feast( with freezer dried chicken crushed on it, since he doesn’t love fancy feast and only way to get him to eat it lol), and wellness complete, which he seemed to enjoy. The admin on the Facebook page said wellness complete is really low carbs.

Today’s AM number is looking much better. So I think the switch is helping :)
 
Which one of the Wellness Complete Health foods are you feeding? The pates are pretty low carb. For example, the turkey and salmon pate is less than 2 percent carbs. Some cats actually do better with a few more carbs— 6 or 7 percent. As long as the food is under ten percent it’s all right. Hopefully he likes the Wellness. It’s horribly expensive! I feed many of my cats Weruva BFF pates which are low carb and also low in phosphorus so easier on the kidneys. Another good Weruva food is the Press Your Dinner flavor. It’s low carb, low phosphorus and for some reason very popular with my cats.
 
Last edited:
Which one of the Wellness Complete Health foods are you feeding? The pates are pretty low carb. For example, the turkey and salmon pate is less than 2 percent carbs. Some cats actually do better with a few more carbs— 6 or 7 percent. As long as the food is under ten percent it’s all right. Hopefully he likes the Wellness. It’s horribly expensive! I feed many of my cats Weruva BFF pates which are low carb and also low in phosphorus so easier on the kidneys. Another good Weruva food is the Press Your Dinner flavor. It’s low carb, low phosphorus and for some reason very popular with my cats.
Both the turkey and the chicken flavours. I haven't been able to find those BBF pates here in Canada, all I see are the gravy ones.

I haven't gotten any tests today besides AM prior to his shot, I've been at work all day, unfortunately :(.
 
Which one of the Wellness Complete Health foods are you feeding? The pates are pretty low carb. For example, the turkey and salmon pate is less than 2 percent carbs. Some cats actually do better with a few more carbs— 6 or 7 percent. As long as the food is under ten percent it’s all right. Hopefully he likes the Wellness. It’s horribly expensive! I feed many of my cats Weruva BFF pates which are low carb and also low in phosphorus so easier on the kidneys. Another good Weruva food is the Press Your Dinner flavor. It’s low carb, low phosphorus and for some reason very popular with my cats.
You were right he LOVES the weruva press ur dinner! Ate every single bite!
 
I did his first curve today. Could you take a look, let me know what you think? :)
This is the background info.


Insulin 0.75 units of prozinc

6:15am - 17.4 BG
- Ate 6:30 1/2 can of weurva press your dinner pate. Freeze dried chicken sprinkled. 5oz can
- Shot at 6:25am of 0.75 units

8:30am - 15.5 BG
- Ate the last few bites from his morning breakfast . Less than a spoon full of food left

10:30am- 12.4 BG


12:30pm- 9.1 BG
- snack of about 1/4 of 3oz can of weurva beef & chicken - meal or no deal

2:30pm- 12.3 BG
- Snack at 2:30pm - 1/4 can of weurva press your dinner pate 5oz

- 4:30pm- no test, wasn’t home

- 6:30pm- 18.5 BG
1/2 can of weurva press your dinner pate.


He hasn’t been dropping as much as he did the first week or so of being on insulin. Not sure he just settling in. Or if he might be in a mini flair for his EGC ( granuloma complex ). Not sure if I should try going back up to my shy 1 unit or not.
He acting great, not drinking water, normal bathroom use, better energy and playing.

In my spreadsheet I have a tab with picture of all the shots.
 
Why the reduced dose for the curve? It would be better to keep a consistent dose as much as possible since, even with ProZinc, one cycle can influence another. He hasn’t dropped low enough to earn a reduction— even with SLGS. It’s good that you had a blue number on curve day. I would recommend increasing the dose to 1 unit and getting some tests to see what his nadir is on that dose. With the curve numbers, he should be able to handle 1 unit.
 
A good feeding schedule for ProZinc is to test, feed and shoot all within a couple of minutes (you can even give insulin while Fynn is eating.) Then small amounts of food at +2 and +4 are really beneficial. The PZ will start to onset and lower BG at about +2 — so the +2 snack can help prevent him from dropping too quickly at that point and help prevent a bounce. Feeding after nadir (which looks like about +6 for Fynn) isn’t something I generally recommend as it can shorten the duration of the insulin and cause numbers to rise prematurely in the second half of the cycle.
 
Why the reduced dose for the curve? It would be better to keep a consistent dose as much as possible since, even with ProZinc, one cycle can influence another. He hasn’t dropped low enough to earn a reduction— even with SLGS. It’s good that you had a blue number on curve day. I would recommend increasing the dose to 1 unit and getting some tests to see what his nadir is on that dose. With the curve numbers, he should be able to handle 1 unit.
He earned a reduction when he hit the 4.1mmol on the 28th of May. So we normally been doing 0.75 units.
He is upset if he doesn't get any food from +6 until when his shot is due, that why I was feeding him later in the cycle.
He gets steroids 1 per year for his EGC, hasn't had a round of steroid meds since last summer.

We raised to 0.9 AMPS yesterday, then for PMPS I gave him close to 0.75 shot because I was just used to it. oops.... BUT...................
( i have picture of shots in a tab on the spreadsheet)

He woke up with an AMPS of 8.5mmol this am. I gave him a reduced dose of 0.25 units.
 
He earned a reduction when he hit the 4.1mmol on the 28th of May. So we normally been doing 0.75 units.
He is upset if he doesn't get any food from +6 until when his shot is due, that why I was feeding him later in the cycle.
He gets steroids 1 per year for his EGC, hasn't had a round of steroid meds since last summer.

We raised to 0.9 AMPS yesterday, then for PMPS I gave him close to 0.75 shot because I was just used to it. oops.... BUT...................
( i have picture of shots in a tab on the spreadsheet)

He woke up with an AMPS of 8.5mmol this am. I gave him a reduced dose of 0.25 units.
Sorry forgot to answer this:

He get 1 round of PrednisoLONE 10mg/ml usually 1 per summer when the flair gets bad.
It’s lip ulcers. I attached some example photos of past flairs for him.

The flair I saw a few days ago, has already almost completely gone away. So hopefully it continues to go completely away.

Anyways. We are monitoring him closely with his AMPS of 8.5mmol, and 0.25 dose this morning.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_7937.png
    IMG_7937.png
    5.3 MB · Views: 26
  • IMG_5597.jpeg
    IMG_5597.jpeg
    599.2 KB · Views: 25
  • IMG_4269.jpeg
    IMG_4269.jpeg
    3.1 MB · Views: 25
  • IMG_4291.jpeg
    IMG_4291.jpeg
    2 MB · Views: 25
  • IMG_5662.jpeg
    IMG_5662.jpeg
    826.5 KB · Views: 26
He earned a reduction when he hit the 4.1mmol on the 28th of May.
Okay so if he did earn the reduction on 28 May (I see the drop below 90) his new dose going forward should have been .75 units and should have been held at .75 units for 7 days. After 7 days if his numbers were unsatisfactory then he should have been increased to 1 unit.

When a reduction is earned it’s not just a temporary reduction for a single cycle.
 
Last edited:
Sorry forgot to answer this:

He get 1 round of PrednisoLONE 10mg/ml usually 1 per summer when the flair gets bad.
It’s lip ulcers. I attached some example photos of past flairs for him.

The flair I saw a few days ago, has already almost completely gone away. So hopefully it continues to go completely away.

Anyways. We are monitoring him closely with his AMPS of 8.5mmol, and 0.25 dose this morning.
Poor baby. I’ve had a few of these with my cats and we’ve treated with Depo-Medrol injections, but those are not diabetic cats. You do know that the steroids will increase his BG (when you are giving it)? Of course, if he has to have it, then you may just need to adjust his insulin for the time that he’s taking the Pred.
 
He is upset if he doesn't get any food from +6 until when his shot is due, that why I was feeding him later in the cycle.
So if you feed him a small amount at +6 of very low carb wet food, he cannot wait until dinner time? If he insists on a snack, then perhaps you can give him a few pieces of boiled chicken breast or a teaspoon of LC wet food, but I would try to not feed him more than that. Also, just to make sure… you do know that he should not have any food for two hours prior to the morning and evening pre-shot BG tests, right? Those are supposed to be fasting glucose numbers.

Some cats, if their BG is really high, will freak out for food, it’s true. So sometimes we need to make allowances for that while trying not to mess up the cycle.
 
He woke up with an AMPS of 8.5mmol this am. I gave him a reduced dose of 0.25 units
I don’t think that’s enough insulin, but since it’s new you were right to be cautious. If we see that his numbers could have been better, then next time you can try .5 units and monitor his cycle. Be sure to try to track how high he climbs today on the .25 unit dose. I hope he won’t be higher than the usual pink at PMPS. But if so, you can always get him back on track.
 
I don’t think that’s enough insulin, but since it’s new you were right to be cautious. If we see that his numbers could have been better, then next time you can try .5 units and monitor his cycle. Be sure to try to track how high he climbs today on the .25 unit dose. I hope he won’t be higher than the usual pink at PMPS. But if so, you can always get him back on track.
yeah no food 2 hours per shot, I have been making sure I don't do that.

. Ok, will try to only feed him +6 or less. We are all trying to adjust to the new schedule, including my other non-diabetic cat.

yeah i dont think 0.25 was the right call. Now I'm upset. I didn't know what to do. :( .
He was 11mmol at 1hr
9.7mmol at 2hr
10.2mmol at 3hr
I feed a small meal at 4+ hr post shot.
6+ hr post shot - He is now he is at either 17.4, 21.2 or 20.6. I did 3 readings within 3 minutes, and this is what I got :(

Now I'm scared to see what he gonna end up being in another 6 hours :(
 
yeah no food 2 hours per shot, I have been making sure I don't do that.

. Ok, will try to only feed him +6 or less. We are all trying to adjust to the new schedule, including my other non-diabetic cat.

yeah i dont think 0.25 was the right call. Now I'm upset. I didn't know what to do. :( .
He was 11mmol at 1hr
9.7mmol at 2hr
10.2mmol at 3hr
I feed a small meal at 4+ hr post shot.
6+ hr post shot - He is now he is at either 17.4, 21.2 or 20.6. I did 3 readings within 3 minutes, and this is what I got :(

Now I'm scared to see what he gonna end up being in another 6 hours :(
He’s gonna be fine. We can get him back on track very quickly.
 
Back
Top