I think Minnie is finally at the right dose...?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA)

Member Since 2019
I wanted to wait and not jinx it but after 2 midday 60ish numbers and an 81 today, I think the 5 unit dose may be ideal. I’m only concerned about 2 days ago when her pmps was 231. Normally that would be a perfect no brainer number to shoot her regular dose at, but this would have been the pre hospitalization, pre pneumonia, pre cardiomyopathy Minnie. So I chickened out and gave her 4.5 only that night because i did some crazy math in my head that equaled to where she’d be if I were still following SLGS. I pretty much made up my own modified protocol at this point I think but she’s had some steep dives and I didn’t want to risk it. So to recap, I’m thinking 5 may be the right dose or maybe somewhere in between 5 and 4.75. TR scares the hell out of me and I just want to go back to SLGS, but I know we had too many failed dose reductions with her lately. Anyway, I’m being positive that we may be over the glucose toxicity at this point. I’d welcome feedback.

Thanks!!

oh and just another lazy Sunday around here
36C28CE3-BF0D-48E4-B9B2-5349BDDCB31C.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • 36C28CE3-BF0D-48E4-B9B2-5349BDDCB31C.jpeg
    36C28CE3-BF0D-48E4-B9B2-5349BDDCB31C.jpeg
    82.3 KB · Views: 343
I wanted to wait and not jinx it but after 2 midday 60ish numbers and an 81 today, I think the 5 unit dose may be ideal. I’m only concerned about 2 days ago when her pmps was 231. Normally that would be a perfect no brainer number to shoot her regular dose at, but this would have been the pre hospitalization, pre pneumonia, pre cardiomyopathy Minnie. So I chickened out and gave her 4.5 only that night because i did some crazy math in my head that equaled to where she’d be if I were still following SLGS. I pretty much made up my own modified protocol at this point I think but she’s had some steep dives and I didn’t want to risk it. So to recap, I’m thinking 5 may be the right dose or maybe somewhere in between 5 and 4.75. TR scares the hell out of me and I just want to go back to SLGS, but I know we had too many failed dose reductions with her lately. Anyway, I’m being positive that we may be over the glucose toxicity at this point. I’d welcome feedback.

Thanks!!

oh and just another lazy Sunday around here
View attachment 55917
I loving those greens, go Minnie, I think you might have found the right dose.
Just look at these two adorable kitties, little bums lol, Tell then to make room for me cause I could fall asleep any where.
Give kisses to Minnie and Bobo for me Ale, have a good night :bighug::cat:
 
The other thing I did I think is helping her not drop too low overnight and bounce all the time is I potty trained myself, that’s right have a good laugh :eek:, so I wake up to pee at about 1:30-2:30 with no alarm needed to make sure she eats at +6/+7. If she hasn’t eaten the food I left out, I put it in front of her face and she eats it. So she’s getting almost the exact same amount of food at night as she does in the day time, minus one snack :rolleyes:
 
The other thing I did I think is helping her not drop too low overnight and bounce all the time is I potty trained myself, that’s right have a good laugh :eek:, so I wake up to pee at about 1:30-2:30 with no alarm needed to make sure she eats at +6/+7. If she hasn’t eaten the food I left out, I put it in front of her face and she eats it. So she’s getting almost the exact same amount of food at night as she does in the day time, minus one snack :rolleyes:
You are too funnyfunny, I love it :cat:
 
I wanted to wait and not jinx it but after 2 midday 60ish numbers and an 81 today, I think the 5 unit dose may be ideal. I’m only concerned about 2 days ago when her pmps was 231. Normally that would be a perfect no brainer number to shoot her regular dose at, but this would have been the pre hospitalization, pre pneumonia, pre cardiomyopathy Minnie. So I chickened out and gave her 4.5 only that night because i did some crazy math in my head that equaled to where she’d be if I were still following SLGS. I pretty much made up my own modified protocol at this point I think but she’s had some steep dives and I didn’t want to risk it. So to recap, I’m thinking 5 may be the right dose or maybe somewhere in between 5 and 4.75. TR scares the hell out of me and I just want to go back to SLGS, but I know we had too many failed dose reductions with her lately. Anyway, I’m being positive that we may be over the glucose toxicity at this point. I’d welcome feedback.

Thanks!!

oh and just another lazy Sunday around here
View attachment 55917
Yayyy Ale and Minnie Look at my Beautiful Niece and Nephew Ale they are Really Happy Kitties you are definitely doing something right Kisses right on the Pink and Black noses lol
 
Yayyy Ale and Minnie Look at my Beautiful Niece and Nephew Ale they are Really Happy Kitties you are definitely doing something right Kisses right on the Pink and Black noses lol
They send many many purrs back. Yes well, my backyard is now also known as “Box World” or “Box Land” what can I say, they love it! :D:D:D

omg Roe, I have to send you the video of Bobo reacting to a stray cat that has been coming by to eat the possum food I leave outside. It’s the funniest thing. Minnie, on the other hand, couldn’t care less lol!!
 
@Nan & Amber (GA) didn't I say jinx?? And @Panic

So Miss Minnie woke up to an amps of 174. I of course did my crazy math again and gave her a reduced dose, not token, of 3. She’s now 185@+6, which means my 3 just made sure she didn’t drop but she also didn’t go super high. It could still happen at pmps I know. I really think I need to go back to SLGS. The 5 units is probably too much now even though it worked to break through the toxicity. I feel that the 60’s I got last week should have earned her a x2 .25 reduction. I’m thinking she should go back down to 4.5. But I also know she goes out of pattern when she goes on and off antibiotics. I think her numbers are actually better when she’s sick than when she’s in treatment. I’m also wondering what dose I should go with if she’s still at under or at about 200 at pmps o_O

help and thanks!
 
Last edited:
Not a curve, necessarily, just more tests at different times and (especially) around the greens she is getting. I'm just wondering if you'd have a better handle on what she's doing if you were able to test more. Those greens you have picked up are lovely numbers in themselves, and (in my view) the 174 pre-shot is a sign of good progress, but it's hard to interpret them fully without some more context.

One reason SLGS has the more conservative reduction point is that it doesn't assume you're getting the full story with a ton of testing-- so an 85 (relatively high green) gotten as an occasional spot-check might signal lower numbers at other times that you're not seeing. You technically test enough to satisfy TR, but it's on the sparse side, which is probably why you are getting nervous now that you're seeing lower numbers.

You definitely have the option of going back to SLGS if you would be more comfortable, but I'd hate to see Minnie lose this progress. If you could get some more tests in during the day, that would be ideal, but if Minnie's medication schedule just makes it too hard to add more testing, you might be better off with SLGS.

I have to sign off now so I probably won't be around for your PMPS :(. She will likely be on track for her full dose (we'll see what she has to say about that!). And as always, you hold the syringe :).
 
Hmm, don't really have a specific number in mind, it might depend on the day, but at least one more in the early part of the cycle would be good.

How about, trying to get some earlier tests in, maybe +3 or +4, and then adjusting your plans based on that? Like if she seems to be having a high day, you can give her a break, but if it looks like it might be one of the days when she's headed to green, you would test more. Side note: I'd normally suggest starting with a +2, but you get a lot of those at night and they don't seem to vary much from pre-shot. No guarantee that the daytime cycle will be the same, but this is a place to start.

Anwyay, right now, she's hitting some lovely greens, but we don't have a good handle on whether those numbers (at +6, +7, +8) are close to her nadir, or maybe past it. Getting more tests in the first half of the cycle may help answer that question.
 
Sorry I didn't get this tag! :arghh:

Some of the other members were talking about SLGS vs TR and someone mentioned that some people DO alter TR just a bit, like instead of reducing at 50, reducing at 60 or 70. Maybe that would work better for you rather than just going back to SLGS's 90 reduction?

I didn't realize how high of a dose Minnie is getting now! Is that all from illness/glucose toxicity or is she becoming a high-dose kitty?
 
Sorry I didn't get this tag! :arghh:

Some of the other members were talking about SLGS vs TR and someone mentioned that some people DO alter TR just a bit, like instead of reducing at 50, reducing at 60 or 70. Maybe that would work better for you rather than just going back to SLGS's 90 reduction?

I didn't realize how high of a dose Minnie is getting now! Is that all from illness/glucose toxicity or is she becoming a high-dose kitty?
It beats me! It could be either or both. I’m hoping it’s the toxicity, but when I first joined the forum she was at 9 units a day so...

But that 176 at amps today really makes me think I need to go down a bit from 5 to maybe 4.75. If I had lowered her at both those 60s last week, she’d be at 4.5. That kinda makes more sense to me. I like the modified TR idea.

She was at 342 pmps so I gave her 5 but I’m going to try to do 4.75 as of tomorrow. I’ll feel safer. It could be a failed reduction or not. We’ll see!
Thanks!
 
I got a nice 90 @+6 today :bighug:

I need to add a +6.5 column because I feel like that’s the time I test her most often. Although today was a true +6. She managed to steal one of Bobo’s Meow Mix soft treats, but I’m hoping it won’t affect the pmps too much. Anyway, I think for my peace of mind I’m going to lower her by .25 if I get anything between 90-60 again. Overnights are my biggest concerns. Her drop today was from 334 to 90 so that’s a huge drop, which is why I’m hesitant to shoot the full dose when I get anything under 300 at pre shots. Still she didn’t bounce which is excellent news :D
 
Last edited:
Hi
I got a nice 90 @+6 today :bighug:

I need to add a +6.5 column because I feel like that’s the time I test her most often. Although today was a true +6. She managed to steal one of Bobo’s Meow Mix soft treats, but I’m hoping it won’t affect the pmps too much. Anyway, I think for my peace of mind I’m going to lower her by .25 if I get anything between 90-60 again. Overnights are my biggest concerns. Her drop today was from 334 to 90 so that’s a huge drop, which is why I’m hesitant to shoot the full dose when I get anything under 300 at pre shots. Still she didn’t bounce which is excellent news :D
Hi Ale you wouldn't have to add a @+6.5 column, if you did test let's say at 6:30 you would just put in the 6 column. @+6.5 . and color code it manually.
She is looking good though :bighug::cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top