Janet & Mia
Member Since 2026
Just tested Mia .. 52. Tested again .. 55. Tested because she was lying by the water dish and drinking, which seemed odd. Expecting high BG, but got low numbers. Acts normal .. alert, perky. Can this be hypoglycemia?
That’s ok, there’s a big learning curve with all this. When my cat first started seeing low numbers for the first time, I would test every 30 mins until the BG started to rise on its own without food.Got worried, so I did give her a bit of Karo syrup and a 1/2 can of fancy feast gravy lovers. May have jumped the gun. Her BG went up to 67 (30 minutes ago).How often should I test her today, due to this?
BTW, as careful as I always am checking every cat food, I totally messed up on buying the Karo syrup. After giving it to her, I noticed the smaller print on the label said ‘light’ with ‘almond flavor’. The ingredients listed ethyl alcohol, part of the vanilla bean extract process. I was horrified, due to the toxicity of alcohol and cats .. hopefully, AI is correct and the amount given is so tiny as to not be a problem. I’m grateful I discovered this before I might need a healthy dose to treat her! Don’t know if I’m the only person that unaware, or if this might be helpful information to any other newbies buying Karo syrup.
Julie …so great to see you! Thanks for helping Janet out.Hi Janet, I'm jumping in to just say - we're friends and we talked on the phone tonight after she didn't get an answer here.
I suggested Janet skip Mia's shot tonight and get a good night's sleep and regroup in the morning.
You're doing great, Janet!
I just want to address this. Under 50 is not the definition of “hypo”. Long-term diabetics (diabetic more than one year) don’t earn reductions until they drop below 40. “Hypo” is not tied to a specific number but to symptoms. A cat can be at 45 and if it has symptoms, then is a hypo. And while we do not like cats to be below 30 ever, it does happen (hallow ed to my Gracie) but if there are no symptoms, it’s still not a hypoglycemic event.when using a human meter we don’t consider hypo until under 50
Hi, Marje .. thank you. I’m about to test her BG. I shoot at 9:30 am.Julie …so great to see you! Thanks for helping Janet out.
Janet….I see you’ve decided to do TR which is great so you will shoot 1u this morning unless she’s below 50 as we never shoot below 50.
We do advise new members not to shoot below 150 without assistance and I’m sorry none of us was around to help with that. This post will help you for next time.
This post will help you get started in the basics.
If you work, this post explains how to do TR while working.
A big tip is changing your subject line to let members know you need help. If you click on the three dots above your first post, select “edit thread”, then you can change your subject line to something like “Low PMPS need help please” or something to catch our attention as Sundays, particularly, can have less experienced volunteers in the board to help out and we triage who seems to need help first.
I’ve removed the “?” from your subject line for now as we ask members to do that as soon as their question is answered.
The learning curve is steep at first but you will be amazed at how much you know in two weeks so please hang in there and keep posting.
If you can tell me what time you shoot & your time zone. I will watch for you this morning.
If you test her now, which is fine, you’ll still have to test her within 15 mins of giving her shot. The BG can change even within 30 mins.Hi, Marje .. thank you. I’m about to test her BG. I shoot at 9:30 am.
Why don’t you shoot at 9:15 this morning? That will be fine and you can shoot at 9:30 tonight.167 .. it’s so hard to get her blood & requires several pokes each time .. since she is higher, seems ok to shoot within 30 minutes this time and test closer next time?
And please be sure to test her no later than +2.![]()
Appreciate the tips nd all the help.Why don’t you shoot at 9:15 this morning? That will be fine and you can shoot at 9:30 tonight.
It’s fine to give her 1u.
Here are some testing tips. One thing I often find new members do is they use too small of a lancet to start. At this point, 28g is best until her ears learn to bleed and then you can switch to 31g. Also, be sure the bevel is up. Don’t reuse a lancet. If you have to poke again right away, get a new one. Warming her ears will also help.
You’re welcome!Appreciate the tips nd all the help.![]()
I just saw Mia is at 147 at +2. With Lantus, in the +2 is similar to or lower than the PS, you very likely will see more lower numbers during the cycle. I would not go longer than +4 to test again but a +3 would be best so you can see how fast she is dropping now that she has onset.Appreciate the tips nd all the help.![]()
Lantus works off an insulin depot. Cats are not like humans (who can do fine with Lantus once a day). Cats’ metabolism is faster so they need insulin twice a day (generally every 12 hours).I’m sorry .. didn’t get back to messages until now. Will take the +3 advice on the next curve. Thank you for tracking us and sharing your knowledge. I just gave Mia her prednisolone pill in one tablespoon of her food. Took her BG first. How long would be best to wait to test again and see how that affected her? Or, is that necessary?
Her post two week numbers looked so good (on AlphaTrak) .. why would they drop so low then get higher than the beginning now? I forgot this first curve was done on 7/24 .. should it be put on the spreadsheet? This was the result:
View attachment 79957
Should I just keep the regular 1 unit twice daily based on what happened on 8/16 and today’s BG readings? My vet is out until Wednesday, so no asking him.
I’m up for a bit if you’ll post her PMPS. I’ll help you decide what to do.Ever so grateful .. again!
It’s 147I’m up for a bit if you’ll post her PMPS. I’ll help you decide what to do.
She’s close to 150. Do you feel up to shooting with 1u. You’ll need to get a +2. She might drop lower. Do you have a hypo toolkit?It’s 147
Miss you!@Marje and Gracie good to see you!!I told Janet she's getting the best help here! Thanks for helping here.
Her numbers warrant 1u twice a day now. You could shoot 0.5u on a one-time basis tonight but you’d still need to get a +2 and might need to test again after that if her +2 is similar to or lower than her PMPS.If I gave her .5, would that be of any help? I’m thinking of the vet’s wanting 1 unit daily ..do her numbers look like .5 twice a day might be appropriate?
If at +2, she’s the same or a bit lower, test no later than +4. If she’s still coming down but not fast, you’ll want to test again…sooner if she’s approaching 100 or by +6 if she’s not. If she’s flat and high green or more at +6, you can let her go.If I have to test at +2 either way … do I have to test until her number is higher than her PMPS? I’m so exhausted .. think I’ll do .5.
I did.. glad I made an appropriate decision. Whew! I just deleted the post before your message rolled in ..Thanks for checking in! I will test her throughout the day to make sure she’s doing ok.Hi Janet
Just saw her AMPS and hope you are planning to shoot 1u today.
Be sure you start with a +2 test.I did.. glad I made an appropriate decision. Whew! I just deleted the post before your message rolled in ..Thanks for checking in! I will test her throughout the day to make sure she’s doing ok.
Right click on the number of the first line of data on the SS. Select “insert one above”.I need to insert a testing date which precedes the first date line on my spreadsheet. How do I do that? Thanks!