How to insert a date line on the spreadsheet?

Janet & Mia

Member Since 2026
Just tested Mia .. 52. Tested again .. 55. Tested because she was lying by the water dish and drinking, which seemed odd. Expecting high BG, but got low numbers. Acts normal .. alert, perky. Can this be hypoglycemia?
 
Hi Janet, when using a human meter we don’t consider hypo until under 50 but I would suggest to monitor her closely. Do you have medium carb/high carb/syrup available if she goes lower?
 
Got worried, so I did give her a bit of Karo syrup and a 1/2 can of fancy feast gravy lovers. May have jumped the gun. Her BG went up to 67 (30 minutes ago).How often should I test her today, due to this?

BTW, as careful as I always am checking every cat food, I totally messed up on buying the Karo syrup. After giving it to her, I noticed the smaller print on the label said ‘light’ with ‘almond flavor’. The ingredients listed ethyl alcohol, part of the vanilla bean extract process. I was horrified, due to the toxicity of alcohol and cats .. hopefully, AI is correct and the amount given is so tiny as to not be a problem. I’m grateful I discovered this before I might need a healthy dose to treat her! Don’t know if I’m the only person that unaware, or if this might be helpful information to any other newbies buying Karo syrup.
 
Got worried, so I did give her a bit of Karo syrup and a 1/2 can of fancy feast gravy lovers. May have jumped the gun. Her BG went up to 67 (30 minutes ago).How often should I test her today, due to this?

BTW, as careful as I always am checking every cat food, I totally messed up on buying the Karo syrup. After giving it to her, I noticed the smaller print on the label said ‘light’ with ‘almond flavor’. The ingredients listed ethyl alcohol, part of the vanilla bean extract process. I was horrified, due to the toxicity of alcohol and cats .. hopefully, AI is correct and the amount given is so tiny as to not be a problem. I’m grateful I discovered this before I might need a healthy dose to treat her! Don’t know if I’m the only person that unaware, or if this might be helpful information to any other newbies buying Karo syrup.
That’s ok, there’s a big learning curve with all this. When my cat first started seeing low numbers for the first time, I would test every 30 mins until the BG started to rise on its own without food.

Would you mind please filling in the spreadsheet so members can guide you better? You just put the BG from this morning before food and insulin in the AMPS column, put the amount of insulin you gave in the blue “U” column, then the +1, +2 ect is how many hours after insulin.

The spreadsheet helps members see what’s happening with Mia so they are able to give the best advice.

Here’s a link that explains it well.
How to use the spreadsheets

I have no experience with the karo issue so going to tag a few experienced members to see if they have any advice.

@Wendy&Neko
@Marje and Gracie
 
Karo isn't sold in Canada. No ethyl alcohol in the corn syrup I use. Lot of US people here have used karo. But we are talking drop sized doses, no more. Are you using a flavoured version of karo? Honey is another alternative for low numbers.

The point at which cat act hypoglycemic can vary from cat to cat. Here are the symptoms of a hypo: How to treat HYPOS - THEY CAN KILL! Print this Out!! The other possibility is that your kitty has been in higher numbers for a while and just feels uncomfortable in these low normal numbers. However, without data in the spreadsheet, I can't help more.
 
Thanks for explaining the entries in the spreadsheet. I didn’t plan to do a full curve until tomorrow, due to schedules. I only have one entry yesterday (testing the process), and no baseline for today. Started testing today when she looked off and stayed home to keep testing until I knew she was ok. I’ll enter it all, but that is why it is so erratic and not complete.
 

I’m linking your previous posts for continuity

Newly Diagnosed Numbers/Dose

Did I ruin my Lantus tonight?

Window between meal and shot?


For Mia’s safety, please be sure you always grab a BG test before feeding and giving insulin. Testing beforehand is the only way to know if it’s safe to give insulin.
I know you mentioned you weren’t sure which dosing method you wanted to follow, but I’m going to add this link for you to review when you have a chance to look it over. It goes over what you should do for lower pre-shot numbers as well as lots of helpful information. I personally started with SLGS then switched to TR (because my kitty only eats wet food).
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

I am not even close to being experienced enough to offer any dosing advice, but I do find it interesting how Mia reacted today considering you are only giving 1 shot a day. Interested to hear others thoughts.
 
I’m giving two shots in a 24 hour period. I’ll check to see if I made a mistake on my signature. So, you’re saying I should test am and pm every day (before feeding)? I’m trying to get Mia (and me) accustomed to the ear sticks .. she doesn’t bleed on many of them, and it pains me to keep trying past a couple of jabs.
 
Hi. I just tested Mia at the 12 hour mark. She registers 88, so I don’t know whether to feed her and give her the regular 1 unit of Lantus .. or is that too low? My vet wanted me to drop her to 1 unit once per day two weeks ago, but I kept her on the 12 hour schedule. At that time, her two week curve at the dr’s office was low to mid 100’s. Never tested her at home until today, so she may have been lower all this time. She will get 1/2 can duck pâté for dinner now. Should I give her .5 instead? @Marje and Gracie
 
OVERDUE on dosing … don’t know what to do with dosing when she is at 88 pre meal, so haven’t fed/dosed her yet. Anyone still up and able to advise? Thank you.
 
Hi Janet, I'm jumping in to just say - we're friends and we talked on the phone tonight after she didn't get an answer here.

I suggested Janet skip Mia's shot tonight and get a good night's sleep and regroup in the morning.

You're doing great, Janet!
Julie …so great to see you! Thanks for helping Janet out.

Janet….I see you’ve decided to do TR which is great so you will shoot 1u this morning unless she’s below 50 as we never shoot below 50.

We do advise new members not to shoot below 150 without assistance and I’m sorry none of us was around to help with that. This post will help you for next time.

This post will help you get started in the basics.

If you work, this post explains how to do TR while working.

A big tip is changing your subject line to let members know you need help. If you click on the three dots above your first post, select “edit thread”, then you can change your subject line to something like “Low PMPS need help please” or something to catch our attention as Sundays, particularly, can have less experienced volunteers in the board to help out and we triage who seems to need help first.

I’ve removed the “?” from your subject line for now as we ask members to do that as soon as their question is answered.

The learning curve is steep at first but you will be amazed at how much you know in two weeks so please hang in there and keep posting.

If you can tell me what time you shoot & your time zone. I will watch for you this morning.
 
when using a human meter we don’t consider hypo until under 50
I just want to address this. Under 50 is not the definition of “hypo”. Long-term diabetics (diabetic more than one year) don’t earn reductions until they drop below 40. “Hypo” is not tied to a specific number but to symptoms. A cat can be at 45 and if it has symptoms, then is a hypo. And while we do not like cats to be below 30 ever, it does happen (hallow ed to my Gracie) but if there are no symptoms, it’s still not a hypoglycemic event.
 
Julie …so great to see you! Thanks for helping Janet out.

Janet….I see you’ve decided to do TR which is great so you will shoot 1u this morning unless she’s below 50 as we never shoot below 50.

We do advise new members not to shoot below 150 without assistance and I’m sorry none of us was around to help with that. This post will help you for next time.

This post will help you get started in the basics.

If you work, this post explains how to do TR while working.

A big tip is changing your subject line to let members know you need help. If you click on the three dots above your first post, select “edit thread”, then you can change your subject line to something like “Low PMPS need help please” or something to catch our attention as Sundays, particularly, can have less experienced volunteers in the board to help out and we triage who seems to need help first.

I’ve removed the “?” from your subject line for now as we ask members to do that as soon as their question is answered.

The learning curve is steep at first but you will be amazed at how much you know in two weeks so please hang in there and keep posting.

If you can tell me what time you shoot & your time zone. I will watch for you this morning.
Hi, Marje .. thank you. I’m about to test her BG. I shoot at 9:30 am.
 
167 .. it’s so hard to get her blood & requires several pokes each time .. since she is higher, seems ok to shoot within 30 minutes this time and test closer next time?
Why don’t you shoot at 9:15 this morning? That will be fine and you can shoot at 9:30 tonight.

It’s fine to give her 1u.

Here are some testing tips. One thing I often find new members do is they use too small of a lancet to start. At this point, 28g is best until her ears learn to bleed and then you can switch to 31g. Also, be sure the bevel is up. Don’t reuse a lancet. If you have to poke again right away, get a new one. Warming her ears will also help.
 
And please be sure to test her no later than +2.😊
Why don’t you shoot at 9:15 this morning? That will be fine and you can shoot at 9:30 tonight.

It’s fine to give her 1u.

Here are some testing tips. One thing I often find new members do is they use too small of a lancet to start. At this point, 28g is best until her ears learn to bleed and then you can switch to 31g. Also, be sure the bevel is up. Don’t reuse a lancet. If you have to poke again right away, get a new one. Warming her ears will also help.
Appreciate the tips nd all the help. 🤗
 
Appreciate the tips nd all the help. 🤗
I just saw Mia is at 147 at +2. With Lantus, in the +2 is similar to or lower than the PS, you very likely will see more lower numbers during the cycle. I would not go longer than +4 to test again but a +3 would be best so you can see how fast she is dropping now that she has onset.
 
I’m sorry .. didn’t get back to messages until now. Will take the +3 advice on the next curve. Thank you for tracking us and sharing your knowledge. I just gave Mia her prednisolone pill in one tablespoon of her food. Took her BG first. How long would be best to wait to test again and see how that affected her? Or, is that necessary?

Her post two week numbers looked so good (on AlphaTrak) .. why would they drop so low then get higher than the beginning now? I forgot this first curve was done on 7/24 .. should it be put on the spreadsheet? This was the result:
IMG_0517.jpeg


Should I just keep the regular 1 unit twice daily based on what happened on 8/16 and today’s BG readings? My vet is out until Wednesday, so no asking him.
 
I’m sorry .. didn’t get back to messages until now. Will take the +3 advice on the next curve. Thank you for tracking us and sharing your knowledge. I just gave Mia her prednisolone pill in one tablespoon of her food. Took her BG first. How long would be best to wait to test again and see how that affected her? Or, is that necessary?

Her post two week numbers looked so good (on AlphaTrak) .. why would they drop so low then get higher than the beginning now? I forgot this first curve was done on 7/24 .. should it be put on the spreadsheet? This was the result:
View attachment 79957

Should I just keep the regular 1 unit twice daily based on what happened on 8/16 and today’s BG readings? My vet is out until Wednesday, so no asking him.
Lantus works off an insulin depot. Cats are not like humans (who can do fine with Lantus once a day). Cats’ metabolism is faster so they need insulin twice a day (generally every 12 hours).

Consistency works best for the Lantus depot so if you are just shooting once a day, the depot is in constant flux. Every time you skip a shot, it drains the depot and then the next shot starts to refill it, then you drain it so she can’t maintain enough insulin to keep her BG more consistent.

Yes I would shoot 1u twice a day unless she drops below 50 and the you will reduce the dose to 0.75u.

Since you haven’t shot a number under 150, if you get a BG of under 150 at PMPS, don’t feed her and please post before shooting to see if someone is available to help you.

Your shot time is late for many so there might not be too many people on the board but use a title such as “need help shooting” to get attention.

I wouldn’t worry about testing until about +11.5 or +11.75. I’m not sure how long it takes for steroids to affect the BG. You can test sooner if you want but if you are having problems getting blood, it might be best to not poke her too much since the priority is knowing her BG before you shoot.
 
It’s 147
She’s close to 150. Do you feel up to shooting with 1u. You’ll need to get a +2. She might drop lower. Do you have a hypo toolkit?

Normally if you really shooting your first number below 150, we stay up with you but I cannot tonight and she’s closer to 150.

Would you be comfortable if she came down lower? You’d need to feed her high carb food if she comes down.
 
I do have honey and high carb wet food, but I would rather keep her from going low overnight .. I will not be able to stay up with her.
 
If I gave her .5, would that be of any help? I’m thinking of the vet’s wanting 1 unit daily ..do her numbers look like .5 twice a day might be appropriate?
 
If I gave her .5, would that be of any help? I’m thinking of the vet’s wanting 1 unit daily ..do her numbers look like .5 twice a day might be appropriate?
Her numbers warrant 1u twice a day now. You could shoot 0.5u on a one-time basis tonight but you’d still need to get a +2 and might need to test again after that if her +2 is similar to or lower than her PMPS.
 
If I have to test at +2 either way … do I have to test until her number is higher than her PMPS? I’m so exhausted .. think I’ll do .5.
 
If I have to test at +2 either way … do I have to test until her number is higher than her PMPS? I’m so exhausted .. think I’ll do .5.
If at +2, she’s the same or a bit lower, test no later than +4. If she’s still coming down but not fast, you’ll want to test again…sooner if she’s approaching 100 or by +6 if she’s not. If she’s flat and high green or more at +6, you can let her go.

You’d can always post here for help with a title like “need help low numbers” and someone might be on.

If she’s coming down at +2, you can feed her some HC and retest at +3.
 
I need to insert a testing date which precedes the first date line on my spreadsheet. How do I do that? Thanks!
 
I did.. glad I made an appropriate decision. Whew! I just deleted the post before your message rolled in ..Thanks for checking in! I will test her throughout the day to make sure she’s doing ok.
Be sure you start with a +2 test.

I need to insert a testing date which precedes the first date line on my spreadsheet. How do I do that? Thanks!
Right click on the number of the first line of data on the SS. Select “insert one above”.

If you need help, PM me and I can do it for you.
 
Back
Top