Hester Sue's numbers

Morna & Hester Sue

Member Since 2026
Hi All. Hester Sue and I are getting the hang of BG testing. I got a few of the half-unit syringes. I have been reading the basics and dosing methods, but my brain is mush.

Her BG at 8:30PM was 91. I have been giving Hester Sue a half unit of the Glargine every 12 hours for the past few days. I am not sure I can get a .25 dose measured correctly. Would you try for .25 or skip this evening's dose?

She seems to have recovered well from her near-death experience on Sunday.

I posted this on my original question from last Sunday, but, see that the protocol is to have a new post for each day if needed.

Her levels since I have begun testing (and due to my own schedule i can't be as regular about it as I would like) range from 245 to this 91. If it would help to have times, levels and doses I can relate that. I do not have it online am using a notebook right now.


Separately, I see the info for cats in the area below people's posts. How do you enter that info? I am sure i am not using this board to the best advantage. I am not a computer savvy person, but i will see if a friend can help me set up the spread sheet.

Thanks again for your patience with these questions.
 
Last edited:
Her BG now, at 10:50 is 130.

her usual times for insulin are about 8:30am and pm.

Should i have given her the half-unit at 8:30? Should I try for .25 now, or wait until morning?
 
Hi Morna - sorry that you didn’t get a response in time. I hope Hester’s shot went ok.

This thread has a lot of the information you asked about setting up a spreadsheet and signature at the bottom.

Sticky - New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

For measuring out the dose, have you tried using calipers? I’ve found them really helpful for quarter doses as I agree that they’re really hard to eyeball.

Info - Dosing with calipers updated w/videos
 
Hi Morna - sorry that you didn’t get a response in time. I hope Hester’s shot went ok.

This thread has a lot of the information you asked about setting up a spreadsheet and signature at the bottom.

Sticky - New? How You Can Help Us Help You!

For measuring out the dose, have you tried using calipers? I’ve found them really helpful for quarter doses as I agree that they’re really hard to eyeball.

Info - Dosing with calipers updated w/videos
Thanks. I ended up not giving her any insulin last night, but probably should have. Calipers are on my list, and better syringes.

Her BG levers were 130 at 10:46pm, 134 at 1:18am, then 193 at 8:24am. i gave her .5u of gargine at 8:30. Her BG just now at 11:12 was 54.

This is all new and rather a lot to figure out. I tried to look at the how to set up a spreadsheet and had a full on panic attack. To say this is not my skill set would be a serious understatement. I do have a friend who is pretty amazing at computer stuff, but rather hates Google spreadsheets, but is willing to help me. But probably not before Monday afternoon.

Meanwhile, now i need to look up what to do about the 54 reading just now. I really thought a half unit would not yoyo her so much,

That said, her fur texture is much better than it was before we started her on insulin.
 
Last edited:
Thanks. I ended up not giving her any insulin last night, but probably should have. Calipers are on my list, and better syringes.

Her BG levers were 130 at 10:46pm, 134 at 1:18am, then 193 at 8:24am. i gave her .5u of gargine at 8:30. Her BG just now at 11:12 was 54.

This is all new and rather a lot to figure out. I tried to look at the how to set up a spreadsheet and had a full on panic attack. To say this is not my skill set would be a serious understatement. I do have e friend who is pretty amazing at computer stuff, but rather hates Google spreadsheets, but is willing to help me. But probably not before Monday afternoon.

Meanwhile, now i need to look up what to do about the 54 reading just now. I really thought a half unit would not yoyo her so much,

That said, her fur texture is much better than it was before we started her on insulin.
Actually it sounds like it was for the best that you skipped if she’s at 54 now. If you’re using a human meter, below 50 is considered action level.

If it were my cat Moonie, I’d feed her now if she’s dropping so quickly. Do you have any higher carb food on hand in case she goes lower?

I’m going to tag an experienced moderator so that she can help with dosing questions. Hopefully she’ll be able to weigh in and help you. @Wendy&Neko

I’m happy to help you set up the Google spreadsheet too if your friend isn’t able to do it.
 
Actually it sounds like it was for the best that you skipped if she’s at 54 now. If you’re using a human meter, below 50 is considered action level.

If it were my cat Moonie, I’d feed her now if she’s dropping so quickly. Do you have any higher carb food on hand in case she goes lower?

I’m going to tag an experienced moderator so that she can help with dosing questions. Hopefully she’ll be able to weigh in and help you. @Wendy&Neko

I’m happy to help you set up the Google spreadsheet too if your friend isn’t able to do it.
Thanks you. wendy,

I just retested and her numbers are slightly higher -- 59 at 1:05pm. IT was the 51 last night that had me looking for help -- I remembered 50 was the cut off level, and was not sure about 51, but since she'd had an episode already I was unsure of how to proceed. I did not want to risk another precipitous drop.

Yes, I am using a human meter -- the Contour Next Gen. I offered a little chicken baby food, which is pretty high carb, I suspect, with the corn starch in it, and half a small can FF grilled entree, which she mostly ignored. I am cooking down a hen i butchered last fall, and I put some of the broth over the food.

I am reading the FAQ page. I came on here last Sunday in a lather when i found her in a severe hypoglycemic state. So now i am trying to learn how to properly use the site. If Sally can't easily help with the spreadsheet I might take you up on the offer of help.
 
Thanks you. wendy,

I just retested and her numbers are slightly higher -- 59 at 1:05pm. IT was the 51 last night that had me looking for help -- I remembered 50 was the cut off level, and was not sure about 51, but since she'd had an episode already I was unsure of how to proceed. I did not want to risk another precipitous drop.

Yes, I am using a human meter -- the Contour Next Gen. I offered a little chicken baby food, which is pretty high carb, I suspect, with the corn starch in it, and half a small can FF grilled entree, which she mostly ignored. I am cooking down a hen i butchered last fall, and I put some of the broth over the food.

I am reading the FAQ page. I came on here last Sunday in a lather when i found her in a severe hypoglycemic state. So now i am trying to learn how to properly use the site. If Sally can't easily help with the spreadsheet I might take you up on the offer of help.
In case you haven’t seen it - this could be helpful too
HYPO LINKS - BE PREPARED JUST IN CASE!

As well as these food lists if you want to stock up on medium (11-19%) and high carb (20% or higher) foods for next time.

https://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf

https://www.bizave.com/foodlists/Main List.pdf

I’m sure Wendy and other experienced folks will get you advice on a dose that may work better. I’m guessing they’ll be able to help you better if you can share more data through the spreadsheet, but if you’re not able to do that, you may want to type the readings here with the doses - eg 9/12 1.5u AMPS 90, +3 115, 1.5u, PMPS 117, +3 76 etc
 
In case you haven’t seen it - this could be helpful too
HYPO LINKS - BE PREPARED JUST IN CASE!

As well as these food lists if you want to stock up on medium (11-19%) and high carb (20% or higher) foods for next time.

https://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf

https://www.bizave.com/foodlists/Main List.pdf

I’m sure Wendy and other experienced folks will get you advice on a dose that may work better. I’m guessing they’ll be able to help you better if you can share more data through the spreadsheet, but if you’re not able to do that, you may want to type the readings here with the doses - eg 9/12 1.5u AMPS 90, +3 115, 1.5u, PMPS 117, +3 76 etc
Thanks. I have read those links, and, even before seeing that, brought her back with honey. I did get some of the suggested foods to have on hand.
 
I have to go out to do cat care at a friend's place, then go set up for a dance. (Not staying for the whole dance, since I am not willing to leave Hester Sue and Sibyl alone that long at this stage.) So if anyone replies here, I may be a while responding. I do not have a smart phone, so I only do internet in the laptop.
 
Here's the link to your last post here, so others can read the background: Newly diagnosed cat; emergency today

Connie (and/or Parker) in post #3 linked the post that tells you how to set up a spreadsheet. Without seeing more of your blood sugar numbers in context in that spreadsheet, we won't really want to give much dosing advice. If you need help setting up the spreadsheet, let us know, we have people who can help with that.

If you want to try the 0.25 unit dose, here is a picture of what it looks like:

49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg


Note that it's more important that you be consistent then exactly accurate what you 0.25 units looks like.
 
Back
Top