Help with dosing - 6/2 Napoleon's first low AMPS 131

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole and Napoleon

Member Since 2010
Napoleon's AMPS was 131 this morning. I waited 30 minutes to see if it was rising and it was 151 then. I fed him and gave him .5u to be safe cause I am not sure how he reacts to Lantus yet and did not want him to hypo. At +3 this morning he is 458. Did I do the right thing not doing him with his full 2u? Could this be some rebound or is it safe to assume now that when his numbers are a little on the lower side I can give him full dose? I read the stickie about dosing with lower numbers and followed the advice on there. Thanks!
 
Re: Question - Napoleon's first low AMPS 131

Just saying hi and great job...sorry no help on doses :-|
but great work.

Heidi and doodles >"<
 
Re: Question - Napoleon's first low AMPS 131

Hi Nicole, put a big sign in front of your post..like the question mark or the exclamation mark or write "HELP" as I know this truly is a BIG CHANGE for you and nap. it does need looking at.
I am amazingly happy with that amps though.
 
Re: Question - Napoleon's first low AMPS 131

best i can tell (a lantus no nothing) is you were building your shed and stopped. lantus is soooo different than pzi. you are not supposed to "earn" a dose reduction until your cat hit a 50 bg...no matter what his amps or pmps are.
 
Re: Question - Napoleon's first low AMPS 131

Hi Nicole, I am not really a help on doses either. I just wanted to say that that is a great # for Napoleon, and I remember how scary the first low # can be. You will get back on track from the BCS dose (Big Chicken S**t) and everything will be fine. If you don't get an answer as far as dosing, change your subject to "6/2 Napoleon AMPS: 131/Dose question" to try to get more experienced eyes on your post.

Keep up the good work!! :)
 
Re: Question - Napoleon's first low AMPS 131

Just wanted to say Nicole is offline but her +3 or 4 was in the 500's :sad:
 
Thanks everyone! Changed the title and put a question mark. I probably have to get out of the PZI mindset that I am used to. I have heard of shoot low, stay low with Lantus and wondering if that is something I should be comfortable with. I guess with his numbers after this little dose it is.....
 
It is best if you are able to shoot the full dose. That being said, if you won't be home to monitor or you don't have enough data to feel comfortable doing so, then there are other options, one of which you availed yourself of.

When you shoot on a lower PS than you have ever done before, you need to be able to get a +1 and +2 in order to see where the cycle is going. As you did, you should also be sure the # is rising. I personally like to see 2 rising #s in a row before shooting because then you know it is really rising and not just meter variance. You can test every 15 minutes if you are delaying your shot rather than waiting 30 minutes or an hour, just so you can make a quicker decision on shooting (if so, how much, etc.).

That is about all the help I'm qualified to give, but hopefully someone will be along soon with some more concrete answers for you.
 
Thanks Sarah for information.

I was scared that I may have set him back now by not shooting the full dose. He seems to have come down by himself from the 500 number earlier. Looking forward to giving him the full dose tonight :-)
 
Hi Nicole
You are doing a great job testing Napoleon.
The first low pre shot number is always the scariest. I remember when Max had a number like that I sent out a 911 panic. Now I was shooting 6u of lantus at that time so I was kind of freaked out.

Don't worry about the BCS this morning. Napoleon will get back on track.
If you are worried about "shooting" you can alway post on the board and ask for help n deciding what to do. Sometimes you just have to go with your gut. After all, Napoleon is your kitty and you are the one holding the syringe.
Now if you are home to monitor and able to get lots of tests and feedings if he goes low then different choices could be made.
You do have a hypo kit prepared??
 
Thanks D and Randi.

I'm glad to know I didn't send all of this back by not shooting his full dose this morning. Next time I will shoot I think since I was able to see his reaction today. I do have my kit prepared, Karo, etc. :-) Hopefully I will never have to use it, but I am glad to have it just in case.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top