Nice! One or two more and you can go have a much-deserved rest! Test him again in about 30 minutes.141.
I will do my best.. This is when i normally sleep, I work nights. He is acting pretty normal which is good, drinking water.. I feel pretty confident he is out of the woods. I wil monitor thru out sleep. I will update when i can. Thank you for everyones help.Nice! One or two more and you can go have a much-deserved rest! Test him again in about 30 minutes.

192! He is doing well.. No food til nowI'm guessing your getting some much-needed sleep; I will check back in later.![]()
Years ago I had a beloved Springer Spaniel who somebody shot and I couldn't get him to the vet because we only had one car and my husband was at work. (We are very rural) The vet was about 20-25 minutes away. Two of their techs - I never even knew their names - volunteered to come and get Alfie and take him back to the vet. They came right away and picked him up and never charged me or even asked for gas money. I will never forget their kindness. Unfortunately, our Alfie didn't make it, but not for lack of trying on the part of many people!Glad you had these amazing members to help you! I don't know how much I could have helped, I had logged off a little before you posted. Hypo kit is definitely a great idea. I got one together shortly after Maury was diagnosed, even with his preshots staying in 400-500 range, because I live alone. Hope you got some rest in between.
Ironically, I was thinking this morning that it is a shame we don't have a Pet 9-1-1 that you can call in emergencies and will come to you if you can't get to them.![]()
and thank you!This episode contains disturbing content. May not be suitable for all viewers.wow what a episode--all of you are amazing!
Thanks but this is 7hrs away from me. Closest would be to portland but my car isnt reliable i could not drive him there.Was this of any help? When I looked at your profile/location (usually Google Maps pops up) I just did what I could. Please don't thank me, it took 5 minutes. Like Yong said, there has to be a better way. I have a fridge magnet for pet poisonings BUT FIRST you have to wait (Your call is important to us) and then have your Visa ready for a $100 "donation".
Washington State University Veterinary Teaching Hospital Main Hospital
Switchboard & Emergencies: 509-335-0711
The sun will shine tomorrow and someone will be on the pillow with you.
Cynthia and Dickson
That is wonderful they did that for you.. Sad story though. I very much wish they would do something like that here... Its so small.Years ago I had a beloved Springer Spaniel who somebody shot and I couldn't get him to the vet because we only had one car and my husband was at work. (We are very rural) The vet was about 20-25 minutes away. Two of their techs - I never even knew their names - volunteered to come and get Alfie and take him back to the vet. They came right away and picked him up and never charged me or even asked for gas money. I will never forget their kindness. Unfortunately, our Alfie didn't make it, but not for lack of trying on the part of many people!
Ive been adjusting his dosage for two years basically by myself and with help from this amazing site. I need to find the chart i used before (for vetsulin) but i dont know how. I write stuff down by hand i dont use computers for it.. Ive never experienced anything like this so i am now second guessing my ability. Going to the vet to make sure he is a ok and to see what they say.. I usually give him a much lower dose than what they tell me. Recently his bs # went from 200s to 400s for no reason i could figure out.. Still figuring out correct dosage for this abrupt change.I think the expert could help with dosing much better than a vet but not without data.
Marje will help with ss
You can do the spreadsheet we use right on your phone using Google Sheets. The higher number is a bounce, but I wouldn't skip a dose! Just back it down a bit. What was his preshot reading and what was the dose you gave him?Ive been adjusting his dosage for two years basically by myself and with help from this amazing site. I need to find the chart i used before (for vetsulin) but i dont know how. I write stuff down by hand i dont use computers for it.. Ive never experienced anything like this so i am now second guessing my ability. Going to the vet to make sure he is a ok and to see what they say.. I usually give him a much lower dose than what they tell me. Recently his bs # went from 200s to 400s for no reason i could figure out.. Still figuring out correct dosage for this abrupt change.
It's quite possible that Miel has been dropping to some unaccustomed numbers and bouncing which is likely the reason you got that high pre-shot number today. Mammals all have a built in defense system that works to prevent hypoglycemia and in diabetics, that system tends to jump into action prematurely because the body is used to higher BG levels and thinks even normal numbers are too low. I agree with Janet. Skipping shots is not necessary but a reduced dose definitely is.Recently his bs # went from 200s to 400s for no reason i could figure out..
Youve never seen seizure? Their body just flips out and then goes rigid. Then he made some horrible meowsI need to know more on what constitutes a seizure. Rigidness? Blocked airway? Timeline? It's like a "broken bone" which could mean anything from a hairline fracture to a compound fracture. It's all the things I DON'T know that scare the crap out of me along with myths, misconceptions, bad advice etc.
I do know there is a spreadsheet ppl have been trying to convince me to use it for a while.. I just dont work well that kind of stuff. I write it by hand. Today i started dosing again.. His bs was 474. I reduced dose to one unit from 2.25 Gonna see how that goes.You can do the spreadsheet we use right on your phone using Google Sheets. The higher number is a bounce, but I wouldn't skip a dose! Just back it down a bit. What was his preshot reading and what was the dose you gave him?
Good to know, thanks.. I dropped my dose to 1 unit today we'll see....So glad to hear Miel is doing Ok after that scare.
It's quite possible that Miel has been dropping to some unaccustomed numbers and bouncing which is likely the reason you got that high pre-shot number today. Mammals all have a built in defense system that works to prevent hypoglycemia and in diabetics, that system tends to jump into action prematurely because the body is used to higher BG levels and thinks even normal numbers are too low. I agree with Janet. Skipping shots is not necessary but a reduced dose definitely is.
If you could set up a spreadsheet and post some of the recent data you have been getting, I'm sure we can help you figure out how to best help Miel and keep him safe.
Yea i wanted to play it extremely safe which is why i went that low. I dont test everyday, hes been doing so well i didn't feel it was necessary.. I will be more vigilant now of course.. I will test again in a little bit.I don't know what mid cycle tests you are currently taking if any but I would suggest that you test Miel about 2.5 to 3 hours post shot to see what his reading is. This will give you a good idea of how fast he is dropping and whether you need to monitor further through the cycle. We normally only changes doses by 0.25u to 0.5u each time but given his recent hypo event, I can well understand your desire to prevent any repeat episode.
I don't want to pressure you but the spreadsheet is extremely simple to use. You simply enter your readings and it automatically colour codes them which can be extremely helpful when it comes to looking for patterns over time and those patterns are what gives you clues as to how to adjust doses. Setting the spreadsheet up can be a little tricky but if you want to try it, we can have someone set it up for you. The spreadsheet would only be available to the folks on this forum who have the URL and with that data available, we can assist you to get Miel better regulated and prevent any more terrifying and exhausting vigils.![]()
I've seen two in humans, one a Grand Mal and one in someone who was shutting down, cancer everywhere. If it happens to me I need to know if the airway is blocked, what I should or should not do. That brings back an awful memory, I'll swear to the day I die I saw someone's facial bone structure change that night.Youve never seen seizure? Their body just flips out and then goes rigid. Then he made some horrible meows
it was one of the worst things ive ever seen... I thought he was dead.. But he was clearly breathing.. But catatonic, excuse the pun.I've seen two in humans, one a Grand Mal and one in someone who was shutting down, cancer everywhere. If it happens to me I need to know if the airway is blocked, what I should or should not do. That brings back an awful memory, I'll swear to the day I die I saw someone's facial bone structure change that night.
We take so many things for granted, "a seizure is a seizure" but there has to be more to it than that. Frothing at the mouth, rigid limbs, pupils dilated, rapid or slow breathing. I'm not complaining, I clearly need more education and I just get the brush-off from vets, "Not likely to happen". I'm NOT prepared. We were told Border Collies are at risk for Epilepsy, "Goodbye". It's annoying that people think we either don't care or cannot digest such complicated medical information, like a diabetic cat. Kind of insulting actually.It was
it was one of the worst things ive ever seen... I thought he was dead.. But he was clearly breathing.. But catatonic, excuse the pun.
My former vet is the one who diagnosed Squallie's FD: she started him at 5U twice a day and then upped it to 6U just two days later. I had no idea that that was a whopping huge dose! She told me not to test him, and if he had a hypo "I'd know." Well, no, I wouldn't, and she wouldn't give me any details, just kept telling me I'd know. SO many reasons why she's my former vet!We take so many things for granted, "a seizure is a seizure" but there has to be more to it than that. Frothing at the mouth, rigid limbs, pupils dilated, rapid or slow breathing. I'm not complaining, I clearly need more education and I just get the brush-off from vets, "Not likely to happen". I'm NOT prepared. We were told Border Collies are at risk for Epilepsy, "Goodbye". It's annoying that people think we either don't care or cannot digest such complicated medical information, like a diabetic cat. Kind of insulting actually.
On Sunday I thought of everything else that could have gone wrong; power failure, no internet, computer or phone craps out, cat chewed through a cable, the one member who you knew you could count on had a family emergency. I just watched the whole thing unfold in front of me in awe.
Ick thats horrible.. I constantly bite my tongue when talking to vets, occasionally ill glean some decent info from them that ive never heard before, but it's rare. Miel's nadir today is 288. High but much better than hypo! Ill slowly raise dosage when i feel its time.My former vet is the one who diagnosed Squallie's FD: she started him at 5U twice a day and then upped it to 6U just two days later. I had no idea that that was a whopping huge dose! She told me not to test him, and if he had a hypo "I'd know." Well, no, I wouldn't, and she wouldn't give me any details, just kept telling me I'd know. SO many reasons why she's my former vet!
The problem is that vets get very little training in school regarding feline diabetes. They also don't see a whole lot of diabetic cats, they see more diabetic dogs, and I think they carry over some of the methods used with dogs when it comes to dealing with cats. But cats are a whole different ballgame, and the treatment, while still involving insulin, is vastly different. That's part of the benefit of FDMB; here, there are people who live with FD every day of their lives, some for years, and sometimes, they know a lot more than the vets because of that.Ick thats horrible.. I constantly bite my tongue when talking to vets, occasionally ill glean some decent info from them that ive never heard before, but it's rare. Miel's nadir today is 288. High but much better than hypo! Ill slowly raise dosage when i feel its time.
I casually mentioned this site to a tech and the "Once a week some vet says "Don't bother to test"" She was not the least bit surprised. She knows I have a friend with a diabetic dog who has her dog pee on the strip instead of using a meter. It's not the blood thing or the cost, some people could find out their vets are war criminals and it wouldn't change their mind. Last night on the news was another story about chiropractors who can cure cancer. I've gone to chiropractors for 40 years. Like anything else, if something doesn't seem right, leave and don't come back.SO many reasons why she's my former vet!
Yea the vet i talked to was like.. Well one seizure is ok! If its more than one then its a problem, i kinda tuned out after that ...why is the spreadsheet better than doing by hand? Im an old fashioned gal really. Also i have to get in the habit of testing more frequently now with this scare.. Sigh.. He was just doing so well!!!The problem is that vets get very little training in school regarding feline diabetes. They also don't see a whole lot of diabetic cats, they see more diabetic dogs, and I think they carry over some of the methods used with dogs when it comes to dealing with cats. But cats are a whole different ballgame, and the treatment, while still involving insulin, is vastly different. That's part of the benefit of FDMB; here, there are people who live with FD every day of their lives, some for years, and sometimes, they know a lot more than the vets because of that.
We could better help you if we could convince you to set up a spreadsheet, lol! It really isn't as difficult to work with as it may seem - I was terrified of it and put off setting it up for quite a while. Now I don't know what I'd do without it! Once the sheet is set up, it's just data entry, recording shots and test results. I'm not technically-minded at all, so someone set mine up for me. If you'd like someone to set one up for you just sing out, there are lots of folks here who will be glad to do it.![]()
The spreadsheet we use here is viewable by all members so if you come here with a question we can look at your kitty's BG history to see what's going on. We need to see patterns over time and BG numbers in context. It's hard to make judgments or give advice when you post only a few recent readings and want help.Yea the vet i talked to was like.. Well one seizure is ok! If its more than one then its a problem, i kinda tuned out after that ...why is the spreadsheet better than doing by hand? Im an old fashioned gal really. Also i have to get in the habit of testing more frequently now with this scare.. Sigh.. He was just doing so well!!!

You sound like me, I need to hold things in my hands.I have all of Maury's results on paper because I like physical hard copies too .![]()
