Help.. Seizure

Status
Not open for further replies.

mirnta

Member Since 2015
Emergency. Cat had seizure. Gave him honey and he ate is walking around now. No vets open on sunday in my area. Help. What do i do?
 
Last edited by a moderator:
I don't have any experience with that, so I don't think I'll be much help, but hopefully someone with some expertise will come along soon. What's his BG number right now?
 
Also, are you in a city? There might be a 24 hour animal hospital, or some vets leave an emergency number on their voicemail. Is there anyone with you who can try to track someone down?
 
Get another BG reading ASAP and post here. Honey will wear off quickly. What kind of food and how much did you give Miel? When was last insulin shot (how many hours ago)?
 
Ok please get a BG reading ASAP. You may be just around the lowest part of the cycle but without any past data that's impossible to say so you are going to have to monitor for a bit. Do you have any canned food with gravy? You may need to steer Miel for a bit and dry kibble will be filling. Better to use something with some higher carbs and less filling to get BG up and keep it there.
 
Ok that number is safe for now (assume you are still using Relion Prime) but the honey will wear off. You need to get some higher carb food into him. If no canned food with gravy, do you have any canned food?
 
No emergency vet in area. Small town. On call only just talked to her she said no more insulin til i get him in on monday. Lots of food and honey.
 
Ok that number is safe for now (assume you are still using Relion Prime) but the honey will wear off. You need to get some higher carb food into him. If no canned food with gravy, do you have any canned food?
Yes i do. I will give it to him now.
 
I have only slept a couple hrs... Afraid.. How long should monitor.. Dont want to passs out.
 
Can you be more specific about when you gave the shot? The difference between 3 and 4 hours makes a bit of a difference as to guessing when the nadir is/was. Did you check BG before giving the shot? If so what was that reading? Miel will need to be monitored for at least another couple of hours and possibly longer. You need to get at least 3 readings that are safe and high enough to ensure no further hypoglycemia that are less food/honey influenced. In other words, you want to know that Miel can maintain a safe BG without needing more food or honey. Take another reading in about 15 minutes and post.
If you think you are going to fall asleep, then set an alarm to wake you up.
 
Can you be more specific about when you gave the shot? The difference between 3 and 4 hours makes a bit of a difference as to guessing when the nadir is/was. Did you check BG before giving the shot? If so what was that reading? Miel will need to be monitored for at least another couple of hours and possibly longer. You need to get at least 3 readings that are safe and high enough to ensure no further hypoglycemia that are less food/honey influenced. In other words, you want to know that Miel can maintain a safe BG without needing more food or honey. Take another reading in about 15 minutes and post.
If you think you are going to fall asleep, then set an alarm to wake you up.
I cannot remember exact time. It fluctuates a little bc of my schedule... It was 2-3 am. I did not check beforehand.. His numbers have been high so there was no fear at all... Bs has usually been above 400.
 
Understood. So I think it best to assume the shot was 3 hours ago and go from there. That means that Miel will need to be monitored at least another few hours. You can abort the cycle quicker if you have high carb food available. What food did you last feed and how much? Was it high carb?

Take some deep breathes. Miel will be fine as long as we get the BG up and keep it there.
 
Understood. So I think it best to assume the shot was 3 hours ago and go from there. That means that Miel will need to be monitored at least another few hours. You can abort the cycle quicker if you have high carb food available. What food did you last feed and how much? Was it high carb?

Take some deep breathes. Miel will be fine as long as we get the BG up and keep it there.
He ate some of his young again crunchies and has been eating some wet food now. It is friskies pate. Nothing high carb. Will recheck now.
 
Vetsulin can cause a steep, sudden drop anywhere from 1 1/2 - 6 hours post-shot, and then usually has a milder drop later in the cycle, around +6 - +8. Without a spreadsheet it is impossible to tell how Miel reacts to the insulin and when his nadir is.

Do you have any high-carb treats? Sometimes a few HC treats will help, if you don't have any HC food.
 
Vetsulin can cause a steep, sudden drop anywhere from 1 1/2 - 6 hours post-shot, and then usually has a milder drop later in the cycle, around +6 - +8. Without a spreadsheet it is impossible to tell how Miel reacts to the insulin and when his nadir is.

Do you have any high-carb treats? Sometimes a few HC treats will help, if you don't have any HC food.
I have no treats. I write it out by hand. This is the first time anything like this has happened.
 
That 78 may very well be honey influenced so don't feed anymore food or honey unless Miel start showing signs of hypo. Re-test again in 20 minutes and post here.
@Squalliesmom @Nan & Amber Glad to see you folks around. Can't stay too much longer. Will one/both of you be able to monitor Mirnta and Miel for a while?
 
That 78 may very well be honey influenced so don't feed anymore food or honey unless Miel start showing signs of hypo. Re-test again in 20 minutes and post here.
@Squalliesmom @Nan & Amber Glad to see you folks around. Can't stay too much longer. Will one/both of you be able to monitor Mirnta and Miel for a while?
He ate a bunch of wet food. He is more alert but still a little dazed. He is laying down.
 
Please do get retest in 20 mins as MrWorfMen's Mom suggested.

Is there anyone else with you now? Is there anyone who could run to the market and get some higher-carb food that might have a bit more staying power? DO NOT LEAVE MIEL UNATTENDED-- we can deal with the supplies you have on hand if there's no one able to run to the store while you monitor him.

@Squalliesmom @Nan & Amber Glad to see you folks around. Can't stay too much longer. Will one/both of you be able to monitor Mirnta and Miel for a while?

I can be around for a while-- I do have some errands to run today but can put them off until afternoon if necessary.
 
Please do get retest in 20 mins as MrWorfMen's Mom suggested.

Is there anyone else with you now? Is there anyone who could run to the market and get some higher-carb food that might have a bit more staying power? DO NOT LEAVE MIEL UNATTENDED-- we can deal with the supplies you have on hand if there's no one able to run to the store while you monitor him.



I can be around for a while-- I do have some errands to run today but can put them off until afternoon if necessary.
No i have no one to help me.
 
I haven't slept really at all yet... Trying to stay awake. Will set alarm in case.. How will i know when hes ok?
 
It's normal for him to be a little dazed after a seizure and I would highly recommend you take Miel to the vet on Monday or today if at all possible just to get him checked out. Seizures are serious. This episode of hypoglycemia will make Miel more sensitive to insulin so you are going to have to be careful dosing for the next few cycles. He has earned a dose reduction anyway. Going forward, it's vital to get a BG test before administering insulin to ensure it is safe to give the shot. With Vetsulin, you need to test, feed, wait 20-30 minutes and then give the insulin only if the BG is high enough to warrant a shot and right now unless his BG is 200 or more, I would consider skipping the shot unless Miel has any history of ketones or DKA in which case I would post here for some advice as to how much insulin to give.

@Nan & Amber Thanks Nan. I have to run out for a bit this morning and again this afternoon so can monitor but somewhat sporadically.
@mirnta - do you have any cold meats (human food) that Miel might eat? If you can get some high carb food into him, you can abort the cycle.
Monitoring is necessary at least until he is 6 hours post shot and can hold his BG at safe levels on his own without needing food or honey. Have you got another reading yet?
 
No i have no one to help me.

OK, no shopping trips then! What you have on hand is fine.

I haven't slept really at all yet... Trying to stay awake. Will set alarm in case.. How will i know when hes ok?

What we'd like to see is a couple tests with rising numbers WITHOUT food influence. So the 78 doesn't count-- we'll see where he is on the next test and then go from there. We may need to do several more rounds of feeding, waiting, not feeding, waiting until we get to the point where we're sure he's safe.
 
It's normal for him to be a little dazed after a seizure and I would highly recommend you take Miel to the vet on Monday or today if at all possible just to get him checked out. Seizures are serious. This episode of hypoglycemia will make Miel more sensitive to insulin so you are going to have to be careful dosing for the next few cycles. He has earned a dose reduction anyway. Going forward, it's vital to get a BG test before administering insulin to ensure it is safe to give the shot. With Vetsulin, you need to test, feed, wait 20-30 minutes and then give the insulin only if the BG is high enough to warrant a shot and right now unless his BG is 200 or more, I would consider skipping the shot unless Miel has any history of ketones or DKA in which case I would post here for some advice as to how much insulin to give.

@Nan & Amber Thanks Nan. I have to run out for a bit this morning and again this afternoon so can monitor but somewhat sporadically.
@mirnta - do you have any cold meats (human food) that Miel might eat? If you can get some high carb food into him, you can abort the cycle.
Monitoring is necessary at least until he is 6 hours post shot and can hold his BG at safe levels on his own without needing food or honey. Have you got another reading yet?
Im going in on monday. Nothing open today. No insulin til i get him in. I have no meat i am a vegetarian. I will stock up om stuff when i can.
 
OK, no shopping trips then! What you have on hand is fine.



What we'd like to see is a couple tests with rising numbers WITHOUT food influence. So the 78 doesn't count-- we'll see where he is on the next test and then go from there. We may need to do several more rounds of feeding, waiting, not feeding, waiting until we get to the point where we're sure he's safe.
I will trt my best i am deliriously tired and cant think straight anymore. He usually free feeds all day.
 
You want to see 3 increases in numbers that are not food influenced.

The good news is that he earned a reduction in insulin. (Albeit the hard way.).
 
When do i test again?

Test now-- it's been over a half hour since you posted the 78.

When you get the number, could you tell us what time zone you are in (I know you said you shot around 2-3am, I'm just trying to figure out how many hours ago that was).
 
Test now-- it's been over a half hour since you posted the 78.

When you get the number, could you tell us what time zone you are in (I know you said you shot around 2-3am, I'm just trying to figure out how many hours ago that was).
It is 745 am here. Pacific time. 93 new number
 
Great! When was the last time you gave him any food? Don't feed, now, and test him again in another 20 minutes or so.
I dont remember maybe 10 15 minutes ago.. If i dont respond right away i have fallen asleep. Have set alarm. Thank you.
 
Okay. That means the 93 you just got is still food-influenced. Test again in another 20 minutes. Set an alarm if you'reworried you'll fall asleep. We need to get three rising numbers that are not food influenced before we can call it safe for Miel.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top