Help! Messed Up Injection

Status
Not open for further replies.

lepick

Member Since 2010
I don't know what to do; I'm new to giving insulin injections (only 2nd full day) and on the pm shot (1 unit PZI) I messed up the injection and didn't shoot the plunger fast enough right when my kitty Xalli jumped. Liquid was on her fur, and I have no idea whatsoever if any was injected. Her PMPS was 300, and that was 25 mins ago before this all happened. Should I check bg in several hours and if it is not any lower then give her a shot before I go to sleep? If so, it also messes up the timing for the next injection tomorrow, which I guess would be OK except it then would put them 12 hours apart at noon and midnight. I also wouldn't be awake and might be worried about hypo symptoms that I might not see. And how would that impact feeding her? Or do I just forgo the insulin injection tonight and start over tomorrow?

Help! Any advice appreciated. Thank you in advance for any support. I feel like such a failure, and I know that is silly but it still doesn't make it any easier! Fun way to spend a Saturday night!

Lea, mom to Xalli (13 years)
 
hi lea,
this is'nt uncommon. we call it a fur shot and eventually every one has one.
the general rule is to not shoot again unless you feel absolutely certain that no insulin got into the cat.
what do you think?
 
No.....skip the insulin. You have no way of knowing if any did get into her and it won't hurt her to miss the p.m. shot......especially when there is a doubt in you mind. Just go back to the regular routine in the morning. We call it fur shots....it does happen.
 
Never give another shot if you give a fur shot. It isn't worth the risk of giving too much insulin. There have been times that I have given a fur shot and felt certain that he got almost no insulin, and his BG dropped as if I had given a full dose!

There's no reason to feel like a failure, everyone here has done it (or will) at one time or another. I did it on BOTH shots one day, and I was not new to giving insulin shots either! :oops: It happens, don't worry about it and just start fresh in the morning at your normal time.
 
Thank you, thank you! It is so comforting to know there are others out there going through these things. Thanks for the great advice!
 
agree with the advice about not giving any more insulin. just start fresh in the morning. but i wanted to also reiterate that it happens to all of us. anyone that's been here as long as I have knows about my infamous fur shot back in the beginning. i shot right thru Mousie. stuck the needle in, pushed the plunger, and then SPLAT! the insulin went all over the window on the other side of her! my fiance teased me with that one for days. kept saying "poor Mousie, she perforated you" :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top