Help. About to do my first ever ProZinc Injection

Kili

Member Since 2023
Hello to everyone out there...

Recently, my dear cat Ottie (16.5 years old) has been diagnosed with CKD early stage 3.
To add to this, we have also received news that Ottie has also got diabetes. Ottie is special in the way that he is my first ever cat/pet that I have had since he was 7 weeks old. Unfortunately, that makes me inexperienced.

Since his diabetes diagnosis... I have read up much as I can, but unfortunately need more advice when it comes to the actual practicality. I initially created a thread here, but someone suggested for ProZinc advice, I should post in this section as well.

So for my question... Thanks in advance for your help.

Can anyone advise. My glucometer is AlphaTrak 2.

I have not administered any ProZinc insulin yet. Trying to get a idea of Ottie's readings... Very scared of hypoglycemia.
Ottie rarely has a big meal, and grazes throughout the day. He struggles to eat 1/3 of a pouch of wet food in one go. He eats about 1/4 pouch every 2 hours.
He has around 3-4 pouches a day in total. Not sure if it's because the food is not quite as tasty... but he needs a lot of encouragement to eat compared to before.
His diet mainly consists of Blink in jelly... but he's not 100% fond of it, so I mix it with Sheba fine flakes which so far seems to go down well. Because I'm unsure of the phosphourous levels and sodium levels in Sheba, I mix it with Blink which I have more detail on. I am feeding him Blink because so far, it seems low in sodium as well as phosphorous (for his ckd). Both Blink and Sheba, I believe has less than 5% carbs.

So far, have completed 3 readings. (just got all my kit only yesterday)
NO INSULIN GIVEN YET. READING BELOW ARE ALL WITHOUT INSULIN.
17:00 the reading was 9.7 mmol/L (my first ever reading. This was very hard.)
20:44 the reading was 12.6 mmol/L
23:20 the reading was 12.7 mmol/L

So... in summary...
16:00 food
16:54 9.7
17:00 treat
17:10 food
20:44 12.6
21:15 food
22:15 food
23:20 12.7
23:22 food

My vet suggested 1 unit of ProZinc twice daily. Is this the right dose? When is the reading too low for injection? When should I consider missing injection because BG is too low?
My vet also said as long as he's had about 1/3 of a pouch, it's sufficient to inject ProZinc. Is this true?

I'm sorry about all these questions... but in all honesty, I'm scared of everything that can go wrong. Thank you all for your patience and experience.
 
Last edited:
Hi there! I’m on vacation, but I thought I would check in and see what was going on … and I saw your post. I will be happy to help. Let me get right back to you in a minute.
 
His numbers that you have recorded aren’t super high. So that’s good. Multiple small meals throughout the day, particularly in the early portion of the 12 hour insulin cycle is actually the way to go fpr a diabetic cat. It helps stabilize blood glucose and prevent steep drops. With ProZinc it’s okay for him to eat a small meal at shot time and it’s really good if he eats another small amount at about +2 (two hours after the shot) and so on. ProZinc onsets at about +2 in many cats so it’s good to get a test at +2 to see how much he has dropped.

I am really glad you are aware of feeding him low phosphorus food for the CKD. I feed some of the Weruva BFF PLAY pates because they lower end phosphorus foods. Do you have any blood work that you can share? Are you aware of anti-nausea medication like Cerenia and Ondansetron? How about sub-q fluids? Are you at that point?
 
It would really help us to help you if you could get a spreadsheet set up to track BG. Ask all kinds of questions.

With the BG readings you have gotten so far, I am a little uncomfortable with you starting at 1 unit. I would probably start at .5 unit. Do you have the U-40 syringes with half unit markings?
 
16:00 food
16:54 9.7
17:00 treat
17:10 food
20:44 12.6
21:15 food
22:15 food
23:20 12.7
23:22 food
00:30 food
02:20 food
==========================
05:00 treat
05:05 food
05:15 food
05:25 food
07:10 food
10:10 food
10:20 food
11:09 9.2
11:41 ProZinc 0.5 units injected.

11:50 food

I have started on 0.5 unit, but I am not sure whether this amount does anything. It is so small in quantity, that I actually found it hard to measure.
I have not figured out how to do spreadsheet, and then get it linked up on googlesheets yet.
 
05:00 treat
05:05 food
05:15 food
05:25 food
07:10 food
10:10 food
10:20 food
11:09 9.2
11:41 ProZinc 0.5 units injected.

11:50 food
12:55 food
13:50 4.8
13:55 food

I'm surprised that with only 0.5 units, after +2hrs post insulin injection, Ottie's BG dropped to 4.8. I hope it doesn't go lower.
 
That's too low too fast. Feed a tsp of HC (High Carb food) and test again in 20 minutes please.

Are you using a human meter or pet meter?

I am using AlphaTrak 2 meter.

So you're saying that it's too fast? Oh no... What am I going to do?
 
The reading 40 mins later is 10.3

05:00 treat
05:05 food
05:15 food
05:25 food
07:10 food
10:10 food
10:20 food
11:09 9.2
11:41 ProZinc 0.5 units injected.

11:50 food
12:55 food
13:50 4.8
13:55 food
14:10 Panicked and gave him more food
14:30 10.3
 
I’m glad I saw your post last night and persuaded you not to shoot a full 1 unit. 4.8 (86) is a very safe number. We don’t want him to drop below 50 (2.7). No wait…. you said you are using an alpha trak meter so we don’t want him to drop below 68 (3.7). So he was in a safe number, but you did right to feed him. At 4.8 I probably would have tried kist some medium carb food (something above 10 percent carbs- around 15 percent) and I would have retested in 20 minutes to see if his glucose was rising.

One thing that I notice is that it looks like you are feeding him right up until your preshot tests. We always advise that new people do not feed their cats for two hours prior to the morning and evening preshot tests. This is so that we can have a “fasting” glucose test where we know the BG level without the influence of food. Food will elevate the BG and make it look higher than it is when fasting. So you cannot get an idea of whether it os safe to shoot the full dose, if a reduced dose may be warranted, or if it would be advisable to skip the shot. This is most important for people who are new to insulin and who don’t have a lot of data on how their cat responds to insulin and to food/carbs. So not feeding for two hours prior to the preshot tests is a safety precaution.
 
@Kili I'm sorry, I didn't mean to scare you, but, that was an awful steep, early drop and I couldn't stay with you to explain and to help you steer the cycle. Our number one concern around here is keeping kitty safe.

Normal numbers on a pet meter are between 68 (3.7) and 150 (8.3) and as Suzanne said, we want to keep them above 68 (3.7) on a pet meter.

Prozinc onset is around +2 (2 hours after you give insulin) and for most cats using Prozinc we expect the lowest point (nadir) in the cycle to be around +6 (6 hours after you gave the shot) - you still had a long way to go until the action of the insulin reached it's peak. To see a drop like you had today for the first time, so early in the cycle when the insulin is just starting to work is an early warning to feed higher carb food and keep a close eye on the cycle.

He earned a reduction by going under 90 (5.0). His 'normal' dose going forward when he's high enough to shoot should be reduced to 0.25 units.

He may have had an extreme response to his very first shot - we won't know if this was the case until you gather the data for us to see and reducing the dose is the safer way while we learn how he responds.
 
Also, could you please confirm that you are using U-40 syringes? And do they have half unit markings?

I can confirm that I am using U-40 syringes, and they do have half unit markings.

To make things clearer, I omitted the times Ottie had food.
Many grazings of food inbetween these times below.

11:09 9.2
11:41 ProZinc 0.5 units injected.
13:50 4.8
14:30 10.3 (panicked, fed him lots)
16:35 8.4

Is there no spreadsheet to copy from that is in mmol/L?
 
Last edited:
@Kili
Normal numbers on a pet meter are between 68 (3.7) and 150 (8.3) and as Suzanne said, we want to keep them above 68 (3.7) on a pet meter.

Prozinc onset is around +2 (2 hours after you give insulin) and for most cats using Prozinc we expect the lowest point (nadir) in the cycle to be around +6 (6 hours after you gave the shot) - you still had a long way to go until the action of the insulin reached it's peak. To see a drop like you had today for the first time, so early in the cycle when the insulin is just starting to work is an early warning to feed higher carb food and keep a close eye on the cycle.

He earned a reduction by going under 90 (5.0). His 'normal' dose going forward when he's high enough to shoot should be reduced to 0.25 units.

My biggest confusion from the beginning has been the same... How do I know when his BG is too low that a shot is not warranted?
Also, it's not clear what the desired range is since everyone has a different range. Ottie seems to be on the borderline, but again not sure.
My vet tells me to maintain dose of 1 unit for a week, and then do a curve. If I did that... Ottie would have already crashed once.

With the help of some people here, I have done 0.5 units of ProZinc. I'm not sure how you would even do 0.25 units. It was really hard just measuring 0.5 units because it's so small.
And by the looks of things in this forum... we keep adjusting the insulin according to the BG readings... So how do you even judge that?
 
How do I know when his BG is too low that a shot is not warranted?
For new members with no data just starting out we say for anything under 200 to stall without feeding and post and ask for help.

For members with a little more data and we can see how kitty responds to insulin our protocols suggest 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) as the decision point pre-shot test. (Sometimes called the shoot/no shoot threshold). It's really to make you stop and think about your next step for the cycle, and if you should stall and not feed and retest, give a token dose, or skip the shot.

With time, that decision point pre-shot test BG threshold can and should be lowered.

we keep adjusting the insulin according to the BG readings... So how do you even judge that?
Skipping a shot or giving a token dose or reduced dose because the preshot test is lower than you've shot before or you are new to giving insulin and using the 200 or 150 shot/no shot decision is not the same as his 'normal' dose.

His 'normal' dose is determined by the lowest point in the cycle or nadir. Anytime he drops below 90 during a cycle his 'normal' dose for the following cycles (if he's high enough to shoot) gets reduced by 0.25 units.

Same for increases, you hold his normal dose for a week and if he's not seeing any nadirs below 150 we increase by 0.25 units.

All this (shoot/no shot & dose increases/decreases) is explained in further detail in the yellow sticky note pinned at the top of the Prozinc ISG:
PROZINC DOSING METHODS

For new members starting out we recommend following the SLGS (Start Low Go Slow) dosing protocol.
 
And actually since we are talking about SLGS, Ottie has earned a reduction to .25 units. If you have the syringes with the half unit markings, draw the insulin to where the plunger is between the zero line and the half unit mark. It is small so you may need magnifying glasses to see it. So Ottie’s new dose going forward would be .25 units. You will hold this dose for one week (unless he again drops below 90). Also, if his preshot number is below 200 you can follow the steps Shelley has talked about.
 
There are instructions in the document I linked for how to set up a spreadsheet for the world format. Then you can enter your world numbers on the world tab of your spreadsheet and it will automatically populate the U.S. numbers for you We will usually talk in terms of U.S. numbers on this Board though, because it’s just the convention.
 
This link is really helpful with lots of information about drawing and dosing insulin. Scroll down to the photos where you can see a photograph of how to draw .25 units. Hopefully, this will help you!

sorry — see link in post below this one.
 
Out of curiosity, I measured 0.25 units tonight, and squirted it on my hand for reference. 0.25 unit is literally just a single drop of insulin.

I'm not sure whether a single drop of insulin will have some effect... but as discussed here, I administered 0.25 unit of Prozinc tonight.
 
Y
Out of curiosity, I measured 0.25 units tonight, and squirted it on my hand for reference. 0.25 unit is literally just a single drop of insulin.

I'm not sure whether a single drop of insulin will have some effect... but as discussed here, I administered 0.25 unit of Prozinc tonight.
You should try the .25 dose.
 
Now I wonder what you guys think...
Ottie went below 5 twice in a row... Do you think for tonight... Is it best to not shoot tonight... Give poor little Ottie a rest and then shoot 0.25 IU in the morning?

OR reduce to 0.1 IU and still shoot tonight. I don't know how I would handle a 3rd hypo event in a row...
 
I don’t see 2 hypos in a row on the spreadsheet but maybe it was before the spreadsheet was started. But I sure do see the 45 on his SS for today! So he has earned a reduction to the .1 unit dose that we sent you photos for. I’m sorry for all of your stress, but I’m excited for Ottie. Since you have skipped tonight’s dose, then try the .1 unit dose for tomorrow and keep doing your excellent job of monitoring.
 
Just for me trying to figure out how he ended up at 45 today at +4, can you please tell me what and when he ate leading up to the lime green 45. He should have been eating snacks of low carb wet food every hour or so between shot time and +4. When he hit the lime green 45, what did you feed him?
 
Is it best to not shoot tonight... Give poor little Ottie a rest
I think you made the right decision for tonight - gives you and Ottie a break and time to catch your breath and sort things out - that thread in the Main Forum is like the wild west!

You were right on the cusp of 200 & he could be artificially higher from a bounce going on from that lime today. You're also using a pet meter that reads a little higher than a human meter that our protocols were written for. What I'm getting at, for new members just starting out we lean towards no shot when the pre-shot BG test is 200 (or lower) until you can collect a little more data for us to see how he responds to insulin then that no shot threshold is lowered as you gather the data - it's absolutely fine you skipped the shot tonight.

And I agree with Suzanne, the next time he's high enough to shoot your new dose is 0.1 units.
 
Just for me trying to figure out how he ended up at 45 today at +4, can you please tell me what and when he ate leading up to the lime green 45. He should have been eating snacks of low carb wet food every hour or so between shot time and +4. When he hit the lime green 45, what did you feed him?

On this topic... Ottie was grazing since 3am all the way to 8am when he had his 0.25U shot. So he ate quite a bit (for his standard) prior to the shot. Post shot after 8am, he had some food, but the volume he was eating dropped... and it was hard to get him to eat anything. I feel that this is the main problem... Esp during the morning/lunch... He doesn't want to eat as much. Less problem at night, where he has more of an appetite.

03:30 Food
04:05 More Food
05:10 Food
06:00 Food
06:20 Food
07:42 11
07:48 Food
08:00 Food
09:40 Food (did not finish food from 0800, added a little more on top)
10:00 Food (added on top of last batch... still did not finish)
09:50 7.3
At this point, I thought he was just full, and didn't want to eat.
12:00 2.5 (pure panic erupted... I tried desperately for him to eat... He refused)
Then I bought out the carb rich food that he loved. Luckily... he hoovered that down.
Ottie appeared normal on the surface... just refused to eat, until something more tasty came out.

You can see that my sheer panic boosted his BG from 2.5 to 9.9. I obviously gave him more than he needed... but at the moment, I am not sure how much I need to give to bring him out of the danger zone.

Today was really emotionally draining... I know it sounds stupid, but I'm quite traumatised by the experience of hypo. Hypo is something that I have been really scared of, since this diabetes journey started.
 
I don’t see 2 hypos in a row on the spreadsheet but maybe it was before the spreadsheet was started. But I sure do see the 45 on his SS for today! So he has earned a reduction to the .1 unit dose that we sent you photos for. I’m sorry for all of your stress, but I’m excited for Ottie. Since you have skipped tonight’s dose, then try the .1 unit dose for tomorrow and keep doing your excellent job of monitoring.

Because I am new, I considered anything below a 5 a hypo situation.
Ottie has to be dealt with quickly when his numbers are below 5, because within another hour... it would drop to 2.5 or below.

The hypo event yesterday, I did not test at +3hrs where I reckon the number would have been below 5 (from prior days)... and tested at +4hrs and his number was 2.5.
So for me, the danger zone with Ottie is potentially at +3 to +4 hrs after the shot. The fact that Ottie is on a low carb diet, he needs to consume at least 3/4 of a pouch to get his BG stable. Prior to being diabetic... it didn't matter much because he would just sleep most of the day, and be up at night. But now with the morning shot, he has to be woken up and encouraged to eat.

The main issue I have is that during the day... post AM shot, Ottie does not want to eat. And since he is a grazer... he needs to eat, but refuses. He is more willing to eat at night...
Ottie gets round-the-clock care as he needs to be fed every 2hrs. Leaving food out is not an option because Ottie does not like it when food is left out. He wants it fresh from the packet only.
 
Last edited:
It’s not stupid at all to be afraid of hypos. I understand that fear. 90 (5) is nowhere near hypo territory and in fact is a very desirable number. My non diabetic cats actually spend a lot of time in the 40s (lime green) and 50s (I test them) except the one on steroids and he runs a little higher (in the 90s sometimes.). That doesn’t mean we don’t take seriously any number under 50 — which is still a safe number, but because of the influence of the insulin which can push the blood glucose too low we must be cautious and take action with karo syrup or honey or quite high carbs when they drop below 50 (2.7). You are doing well. There is a lot to learn in the beginning. It is very overwhelming and we are so worried about our cats that it just takes a lot out of us mentally and emotionally.
 
On this topic... Ottie was grazing since 3am all the way to 8am when he had his 0.25U shot. So he ate quite a bit (for his standard) prior to the shot. Post shot after 8am, he had some food, but the volume he was eating dropped... and it was hard to get him to eat anything. I feel that this is the main problem... Esp during the morning/lunch... He doesn't want to eat as much. Less problem at night, where he has more of an appetite.

03:30 Food
04:05 More Food
05:10 Food
06:00 Food
06:20 Food
07:42 11
07:48 Food
08:00 Food
09:40 Food (did not finish food from 0800, added a little more on top)
10:00 Food (added on top of last batch... still did not finish)
09:50 7.3
At this point, I thought he was just full, and didn't want to eat.
12:00 2.5 (pure panic erupted... I tried desperately for him to eat... He refused)
Then I bought out the carb rich food that he loved. Luckily... he hoovered that down.
Ottie appeared normal on the surface... just refused to eat, until something more tasty came out.

You can see that my sheer panic boosted his BG from 2.5 to 9.9. I obviously gave him more than he needed... but at the moment, I am not sure how much I need to give to bring him out of the danger zone.

Today was really emotionally draining... I know it sounds stupid, but I'm quite traumatised by the experience of hypo. Hypo is something that I have been really scared of, since this diabetes journey started.
The real problem here, as I see it, is that he was grazing right up until shot time, as you say. This gives you a food-inflated preshot number (yes, even with low-carb food the preshot number will be inflated) and you cannot know if it’s safe to shoot at all, or if a reduced dose should be shot or if a skip is in order. Remember? We mentioned this before, but as I said in my last post, there’s a lot of new information to take in at the beginning.

For new people, it really is a VERY important safety measure to not feed them food for two hours prior to the preshot test. Let me look at his spreadsheet and add a bit more to see if it helps.
 
Okay so yesterday morning your preshot was 198, which is already borderline as to whether you shoot or not (for new people, that is) and that 198 preshot test was elevated by the food he had been grazing on right up until shot time. We don’t know what his fasting glucose number would have been. Later on, as we find out how he responds to food and carbs, it won’t be as much of a big deal.

The time when you need him to be hungry is during the first portion of the cycle right up to approximately +6 (this can vary by cat, of course, which os why I said approximately +6.). Feeding controlled amounts of food at +2, +3 (in some cats even +1 is helping) etc. is really beneficial and helps to prevent steep drops in BG.
 
Ottie has to be dealt with quickly when his numbers are below 5, because within another hour... it would drop to 2.5 or below.
The recommendation to feed a teaspoon or two of low carb wet food would be given when he hits 90 (5). A lot of the time this amount of food will help them stay steady in green numbers. Most likely it would keep him hovering in the 90s, which is desirable. If you find this not to be true for Ottie, then you adjust the carbs upward gradually. For example, if you fed him a 3 percent carb food and that didn’t stabilize his BG, the next time you would try something a little higher like a 6 percent or an 8 percent. Anything below 10 percent carb is still considered low carb and some cats do better with a few more carbs, while still keeping things under 10 percent for normal daily consumption.
 
Post shot after 8am, he had some food, but the volume he was eating dropped... and it was hard to get him to eat anything. I feel that this is the main problem... Esp during the morning/lunch... He doesn't want to eat as much.
You are right about this being the main problem. You need to keep him from getting too full so that you can help to steer his numbers up until nadir. Also, if he does get into a situation where he drops below 50 (2.7) you definitely want to keep him hungry. We give small amounts (teaspoon) of high carb food and/or karo syrup/honey at 20-30 minute intervals while we test to make sure that the BG comes up. I remember panicking and feeding my cat an entire can of Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers food the first time he dropped to 68! This was the wrong thing to do, but I didn’t know it at the time as I hadn’t joined this Board yet. What I should have done was to give him some of the gravy from the food (that’s where the carbs are) and tested again in 20 minutes. If I had needed him to stay hungry if his numbers had continued to drop, I would have had no alternative but to keep syringing in karo/water because he was full after eating the full can.
 
Oh, one question- did you draw that .1 unit dose this morning using a U-100 syringe (drawing to the .25 on the U-100?). I hope you were able to find the U-100s
 
I see Ottie is now at 148 (your last test). Please keep feeding small amounts (teaspoon or so) of low carb food ever hour until +6.
 
Oh, one question- did you draw that .1 unit dose this morning using a U-100 syringe (drawing to the .25 on the U-100?). I hope you were able to find the U-100s

I did 0.1U using the U40 syringe... as that is all I can get hold of for now. I spent the evening with a syringe and water practicing drawing 0.1U. I compared 0.1U drop with 0.25U drop from the syringe to make sure that the drop is actually smaller.

I cannot be precise that it is definitely 0.1U... but I can be certain that it is around half the size smaller than the 0.25U from the practice that I have been doing all evening.
 
I see Ottie is now at 148 (your last test). Please keep feeding small amounts (teaspoon or so) of low carb food ever hour until +6.

I'm still not too experience with this part... but I may have fed him more than the small amounts. I will eventually get over the fear of hypo, and be more confident.
Whilst keeping the dosage at 0.1U, I am going to play with the volume of food I give Ottie to give him a smoother ride into +6. Today, I think I still overshoot with the food I gave him. I feared his numbers dropping and made sure he ate more +3hrs in. I willl dial it back tomorrow.

Today, as per your suggestion... I have not fed Ottie 2hrs prior to his AMPS, and only fed him after his injection.
 
That doesn’t mean we don’t take seriously any number under 50 — which is still a safe number, but because of the influence of the insulin which can push the blood glucose too low we must be cautious and take action with karo syrup or honey or quite high carbs when they drop below 50 (2.7).
As a reminder, with Ottie, using a pet meter, that take action number is 68 mg/dL (3.7mmol/L)

@Kili - just to let you know, I'm not around much during the week but will be popping in when I can (even if I don't post) to see how you're doing.
 
I have not fed Ottie 2hrs prior to his AMPS, and only fed him after his injection.
It's OK to feed with the insulin injection or immediately prior to it. In fact it's good that the cat has food on board when being given insulin.
The reason for withholding food for two hours before the pre-shot test is just so that test isn't food influenced.
So the sequence is - Test, Feed, Shoot.
Test to see if BG is high enough for that insulin dose.
Feed so that there's grub on board for when the insulin starts to work.
Shoot - inject insulin. ...Some folks give the shot while the cat is eating.
 
I'm still not too experience with this part... but I may have fed him more than the small amounts. I will eventually get over the fear of hypo, and be more confident.
Whilst keeping the dosage at 0.1U, I am going to play with the volume of food I give Ottie to give him a smoother ride into +6. Today, I think I still overshoot with the food I gave him. I feared his numbers dropping and made sure he ate more +3hrs in. I willl dial it back tomorrow.

Today, as per your suggestion... I have not fed Ottie 2hrs prior to his AMPS, and only fed him after his injection.
This is great. You are doing just fine. Thanks for trying to “take it all in” for Ottie. I can tell you love him very much. He is beautiful, by the way. I love his photo. And yes, as has been pointed out, you can feed him his breakfast (or dinner) right after, or even at the same time as his preshot test. We usually say to Test, Feed, and Shoot, all within a 10-15 minute span of time.
 
You had some lovely blue numbers today. I see he is blue already this evening. Just keep giving small snacks up until nadir (may+6? - we will soon figure out when his nadir is.). Here is what I really want to know. How is Ottie feeling and acting recently since you started insulin? I hope he is already feeling better, but some cats do need an adjustment period to get used to being in more normal numbers.
 
You had some lovely blue numbers today. I see he is blue already this evening. Just keep giving small snacks up until nadir (may+6? - we will soon figure out when his nadir is.). Here is what I really want to know. How is Ottie feeling and acting recently since you started insulin? I hope he is already feeling better, but some cats do need an adjustment period to get used to being in more normal numbers.

Just from today onwards (5 days since first injection)... Ottie is more himself, and doing things like he used to. Less mopy and sleeping. He also played a bit with me today, which made me cry to see him like his younger self. :arghh::arghh: This is all such an emotional journey. Seeing my baby get old is heart breaking... but I am focusing on cherishing every moment with him.

I am not sure if this is a one off (being more like his old self), but I hope not. Ottie is a very vocal cat... but he has been less so recently... I hope he comes back to being as vocal as before and talk to me more.
 
Last edited:
Just from today onwards (5 days since first injection)... Ottie is more himself, and doing things like he used to. Less mopy and sleeping. He also played a bit with me today, which made me cry to see him like his younger self. :arghh::arghh: This is all such an emotional journey. Seeing my baby get old is heart breaking... but I am focusing on cherishing every moment with him.

I am not sure if this is a one off (being more like his old self), but I hope not. Ottie is a very vocal cat... but he has been less so recently... I hope he comes back to being as vocal as before and talk to me more.
Oh this is really wonderful to hear that he has been like his old self. It is so hard to see our dear babies getting old and having health problems. I know.
 
I see you asked this in the Main Forum. I'm gonna answer here to keep my replies in the same place:
Coz it's such a small amount, can't help but always wonder whether I injected or not...

When administering those smaller doses - insert the needle in kitty, push the plunger to inject the insulin, with the needle still inserted pause for 10 seconds while still pushing the plunger & then pull the needle out still squeezing that plunger - gives the insulin time to absorb and less chance of that tiny dose being sucked back in the needle.
 
Back
Top