Evie's numbers continued

Her PMPS is 114, should I try another no shot cycle?
I am worried about shooting that low overnight, but I also don't want to lose the good glucose levels we've had today.
 
She was 161 this morning. I gave her 0.2U.
I based my decision off the fact that two days ago I shot 0.2U when she was 142.
During that cycle she hit some greens and I was still managing that dip with some MC food.

Yes 161 is higher than 142 but since then her body has been trying to self regulate and I'm thinking that could continue despite being given insulin. I don't want to cause a hypo.
She also seems to be more responsive to insulin during the daytime cycle too.

Hope that decision seems reasonable. It was made at 5:30am so maybe not :smuggrin:
Please let me know what you think so I can keeping learning.
 
Last edited:
She was 161 this morning. I gave her 0.2U.
I based my decision off the fact that two days ago I shot 0.2U when she was 142.
During that cycle she hit some greens and I was still managing that dip with some MC food.

Yes 161 is higher than 142 but since then her body has been trying to self regulate and I'm thinking that could continue despite being given insulin. I don't want to cause a hypo.
She also seems to be more responsive to insulin during the daytime cycle too.

Hope that decision seems reasonable. It was made at 5:30am so maybe not :smuggrin:
Please let me know what you think so I can keeping learning.
Well that’s how much I would have given her. I’ve been considering the .2 units as her new dose after her last few days. And I see now that she’s having a beautiful cycle today again with the .2 units so I think it’s working.
 
At least you are at +4 (not +2). Just keep her above 50. I just got up and thought…. I wonder how Evie is doing? And wow! Did I ever send you the photos of how to draw a .1 unit and a drop dose, etc.? There are photos in the sticky notes.
 
Did I ever send you the photos of how to draw a .1 unit and a drop dose, etc.? There are photos in the sticky notes.

That's right... she has earned another drop on her dose.
I have no idea how I am going to accurately measure 0.1U in my syringes, it's the most ridiculously small amount.
I will look for those photos in the sticky notes.

Do you think I should try get those u40 syringes for the 0.1U dose and lower? Is it easier to measure tiny doses in that syringe?
Remember I met another diabetic cat mom in my town that has some of those u40 syringes for me if I want them.
 
My U-40s have larger markings/ more space between the markings (they’re the kind with half unit markings.). I don’t know if I could draw a small enough amount on them. But with the U100 you would draw the syringe back to the .25 mark on your U-100 syringe in order to give her .1 units of ProZinc (according to the conversion chart. )
 
The first marker line on a U40 is 0.5units - so a lot of doses to eyeball between the zero & the first marker line (0.1, 0.2, 0.3, 0.4) using a U40 syringe.

The first marker line on a U100 syringe using the conversion chart is 0.2U - so only one dose to eyeball between zero and the first line - 0.1unit.

Make sense?
 
Makes sense, see my picture here:
 

Attachments

  • IMG_8710.jpg
    IMG_8710.jpg
    25 KB · Views: 199
I see you got her up to 61. You are doing great!
I got some proper medium carb food this week.
I didn't even give her that much at all but she already climbed to 71 in 45 mins.

Do you think she will be ok if I test at +6, feed her a big meal and then leave the house for a few hours?
I really wanted to go out for lunch and have some human interaction for a change.
I've been babysitting Evie closely for the last 10 days.
 
I got some proper medium carb food this week.
I didn't even give her that much at all but she already climbed to 71 in 45 mins.

Do you think she will be ok if I test at +6, feed her a big meal and then leave the house for a few hours?
I really wanted to go out for lunch and have some human interaction for a change.
I've been babysitting Evie closely for the last 10 days.
And Charlie is going out with you?
 
You can get a 5.5 to see if she’s flat or climbing. Then at +6 you will be able to decide what to feed her - regular LC or MC.
 
And Charlie is going out with you?
Yep. So probably not a great idea maybe. It's ok, Evie comes first.
I will check at +5.5 and +6 and make a call from there.
I guess my real question is, after I pop up her glucose from that almost hypo could she still hypo in that second half of the cycle or is the dip now done?
 
Evie is starting to look a bit like Jess did at times. Pancreas really kicking in by +3 along with the insulin starting to work and getting a fast early drop and then bounce to blues for the PM cycle.

I'd try to slow her down early - with Prozinc, you want the +2 to be about the same as PS (allowing for meter variance)

I'd look a the percentage of the drop, and if 30% or more would give some 10% carbs early to get Jess to slow down and flatten out a bit - more often than not it helped her stay green longer and not bounce as much.

A fast drop is a fast drop, no matter if they start from a pink or a blue. Here's a document written by Deb & Wink about what the +2 test can mean.
Why the +2 is Important
 
Yes. We need to get those nighttime blues down, if possible. That’s very helpful. Evie did eat snacks at +2 and +4 (+4 being the first MC, if I am reading the SS correctly.). So you are suggesting a formula to give MC earlier if certain parameters are met (the % drop)
 
It looks like she’s surfing. I think y’all could feed her and go out to lunch. What do you think?
We did go after her +12.5 test. I actually popped home halfway through lunch just to double check her because she was meowing a lot - we have a baby monitor type camera to check on the cats and it alerts you to 'baby crying' when they meow :D I noticed she sometimes meows a lot when she is getting low so I wasn't taking any chances and rushed home. Anyway, this time round she was just being a pain in the arse and still coasting that green just fine.
I gave her a little more food as a precaution and left again but she seems to have managed that ok with a good PMPS this evening.
I gave her the reduced unit of 0.1U so let's see how she does tonight.
I will also read your previous posts above shortly, just wanted to update.
 
When was the last time you gave food? And it was MC? What percent?
I bought some proper MC food this week.
I gave her 2x teaspoons of 15% food + a small squeeze of liquid snack 12%, mixed with a tablespoon of low carb food and that seemed to bring her out of that +4 drop ok.

Evie is starting to look a bit like Jess did at times. Pancreas really kicking in by +3 along with the insulin starting to work and getting a fast early drop and then bounce to blues for the PM cycle.

I'd try to slow her down early - with Prozinc, you want the +2 to be about the same as PS (allowing for meter variance)

I'd look a the percentage of the drop, and if 30% or more would give some 10% carbs early to get Jess to slow down and flatten out a bit - more often than not it helped her stay green longer and not bounce as much.

A fast drop is a fast drop, no matter if they start from a pink or a blue. Here's a document written by Deb & Wink about what the +2 test can mean.
Why the +2 is Important

I will add a +2 test and try to slow down the drop following this advice and see if I can prevent night time bouncing / get some PM greens for a change.

It should be noted that I used to let Evie eat a bit before shooting insulin 15-30 mins later - that usually popped up her +2 reading higher than PS.
So that dramatic drop used to be later in the cycle around +4/5. You can see this consistently on the spreadsheet until two days ago when I made the change to try test, feed, shoot in quick succession. I have noticed her +2 is now between 30%-50% lower than PS as she isn't getting the initial food bump she used to. A fast drop is still a fast drop as you say - neither way has helped the night time flat blues.
 
Last edited:
Ok, so now today she dropped into green on the +2 PM cycle.
As mentioned above I haven't done anything different so far except change to feed & shoot in quick succession.
 
Ok, so now today she dropped into green on the +2 PM cycle.
As mentioned above I haven't done anything different so far except change to feed & shoot in quick succession.
She's certainly on a mission and not giving us much of a chance to figure her out!

It's spooky how they seem to 'hear' us sometimes, like threatening a dose increase and the next cycle they pop a perfect nadir, or with Evie, talking about wanting to get the PM blues down - it's almost like she heard and said I'll show youz!!

I learned with FD to expect the unexpected - Evie's doing good, fast yes, but good and so are you!:)
 
it's almost like she heard and said I'll show youz!!
I say this to Charlie all the time :smuggrin:

And also, that green didn't last long.
This cat just doesn't seem to react that much to insulin in the night time cycle.

PS. I just want to say again Shelley & Suzanne, thank you both so much for your input with Evie.
I appreciate it so much and I really could not do this alone.
 
I say this to Charlie all the time :smuggrin:

And also, that green didn't last long.
This cat just doesn't seem to react that much to insulin in the night time cycle.

PS. I just want to say again Shelley & Suzanne, thank you both so much for your input with Evie.
I appreciate it so much and I really could not do this alone.
Aaawwww. Thanks. I have really enjoyed watching Evie’s progress over the last couple of months. And you have been a joy to work with because you have really tried to follow all of the rules and suggestions here. But sometimes the cats just make it fun for us to watch!

You’ve been under stress, I know, but I bet you are excited too. Evie never gave us much time to settle into a routine or get “set in our ways,” did she?
 
Back
Top