Suzanne & Darcy
Very Active Member
Oh wow! So wonderful! Evie is on a mission!
You’ve never shot anything that low.Her PMPS is 114, should I try another no shot cycle?
I am worried about shooting that low overnight, but I also don't want to lose the good glucose levels we've had today.
That's true. should we let her try self regulate then? It might be good to see what it looks like tomorrow at AMPS if she doesnt have insulin for two cycles in a row.You’ve never shot anything that low.
Well that’s how much I would have given her. I’ve been considering the .2 units as her new dose after her last few days. And I see now that she’s having a beautiful cycle today again with the .2 units so I think it’s working.She was 161 this morning. I gave her 0.2U.
I based my decision off the fact that two days ago I shot 0.2U when she was 142.
During that cycle she hit some greens and I was still managing that dip with some MC food.
Yes 161 is higher than 142 but since then her body has been trying to self regulate and I'm thinking that could continue despite being given insulin. I don't want to cause a hypo.
She also seems to be more responsive to insulin during the daytime cycle too.
Hope that decision seems reasonable. It was made at 5:30am so maybe not
Please let me know what you think so I can keeping learning.
Did I ever send you the photos of how to draw a .1 unit and a drop dose, etc.? There are photos in the sticky notes.
It's easier to measure finer doses with U100's (& the conversion chart, for anyone reading)Do you think I should try get those u40 syringes for the 0.1U dose and lower?
Yes. Too much space to eyeball on the u-40.The first marker line on a U40 is 0.5units - so a lot of doses to eyeball between the zero & the first marker line (0.1, 0.2, 0.3, 0.4) using a U40 syringe.
The first marker line on a U100 syringe using the conversion chart is 0.2U - so only one dose to eyeball between zero and the first line - 0.1unit.
Make sense?
I got some proper medium carb food this week.I see you got her up to 61. You are doing great!
And Charlie is going out with you?I got some proper medium carb food this week.
I didn't even give her that much at all but she already climbed to 71 in 45 mins.
Do you think she will be ok if I test at +6, feed her a big meal and then leave the house for a few hours?
I really wanted to go out for lunch and have some human interaction for a change.
I've been babysitting Evie closely for the last 10 days.
Yep. So probably not a great idea maybe. It's ok, Evie comes first.And Charlie is going out with you?
I saw it. Now I can’t see it.Makes sense, see my picture here:
Yes, it's worth a try & will take some experimenting with carb % and amount fed.So you are suggesting a formula to give MC earlier if certain parameters are met (the % drop)
We did go after her +12.5 test. I actually popped home halfway through lunch just to double check her because she was meowing a lot - we have a baby monitor type camera to check on the cats and it alerts you to 'baby crying' when they meowIt looks like she’s surfing. I think y’all could feed her and go out to lunch. What do you think?
I bought some proper MC food this week.When was the last time you gave food? And it was MC? What percent?
Evie is starting to look a bit like Jess did at times. Pancreas really kicking in by +3 along with the insulin starting to work and getting a fast early drop and then bounce to blues for the PM cycle.
I'd try to slow her down early - with Prozinc, you want the +2 to be about the same as PS (allowing for meter variance)
I'd look a the percentage of the drop, and if 30% or more would give some 10% carbs early to get Jess to slow down and flatten out a bit - more often than not it helped her stay green longer and not bounce as much.
A fast drop is a fast drop, no matter if they start from a pink or a blue. Here's a document written by Deb & Wink about what the +2 test can mean.
Why the +2 is Important
Here it is again.I saw it. Now I can’t see it.
She's certainly on a mission and not giving us much of a chance to figure her out!Ok, so now today she dropped into green on the +2 PM cycle.
As mentioned above I haven't done anything different so far except change to feed & shoot in quick succession.
I say this to Charlie all the timeit's almost like she heard and said I'll show youz!!
This looks like you have the right idea!Here it is again.
I didn’t know Evie was from the Bronx!down - it's almost like she heard and said I'll show youz!!
Aaawwww. Thanks. I have really enjoyed watching Evie’s progress over the last couple of months. And you have been a joy to work with because you have really tried to follow all of the rules and suggestions here. But sometimes the cats just make it fun for us to watch!I say this to Charlie all the time
And also, that green didn't last long.
This cat just doesn't seem to react that much to insulin in the night time cycle.
PS. I just want to say again Shelley & Suzanne, thank you both so much for your input with Evie.
I appreciate it so much and I really could not do this alone.