Dental

Glassgoblin

Member Since 2018
Electra had her dental appointment today, and had to have two teeth extracted. Looked like there may have been some re-absorption and bone loss in the middle of the teeth (one looked worse than the other, which is probably not unusual). She had a bg of 145 before we went in this morning, and then 141 on her blood test before surgery. And she has been resting since we got home this afternoon (drank, ate a tiny amount of wet food and used litter box also). I am going to wait until she comes out from under the bed, and not stress her by grabbing her, and then I can give her second half of the daily gabapentin, maybe test her and if she eats will give a smaller dose of Senvelgo. If we skip today I think she would be fine though.

I added her blood test results to our spreadsheet, but all her tests were normal. She is looking good for the moment, and just was wondering if anyone had advice on the post dental when being treated for diabetes- she had teeth cleanings and even extractions before, but that was all before becoming diabetic.
 
She had a bg of 145 before we went in this morning, and then 141 on her blood test before car games. And she has been resting since we got home this afternoon (drank, ate a tiny amount of wet food and used litter box also). I am going to wait until she comes out from under the bed, and not stress her by grabbing her, and then I can give her second half of the daily gabapentin, maybe test her and if she eats will give a smaller dose of Senvelgo. If we skip today I think she would be fine though.
In my experience with diabetic cats after dental work, appetite can be a bit inconsistent for 24–48 hours, so frequent glucose checks are really helpful until they're back to eating normally. I also found that warming wet food slightly made it easier for them to eat after extractions. Keep an eye out for any excessive drooling, swelling, or refusal to eat beyond the first day, but from what you've described, Electra seems to be recovering well so far. I hope she feels much better once those painful teeth have healed.
 
In my experience with diabetic cats after dental work, appetite can be a bit inconsistent for 24–48 hours, so frequent glucose checks are really helpful until they're back to eating normally. I also found that warming wet food slightly made it easier for them to eat after extractions. Keep an eye out for any excessive drooling, swelling, or refusal to eat beyond the first day, but from what you've described, Electra seems to be recovering well so far. I hope she feels much better once those painful teeth have healed.
Her blood glucose has been pretty steady, and I did get her meds into her this morning with a little grumbling (dental meds, no Senvelgo yet) but she hasn't eaten as much as usual- she loves the dry food the most and I think I will soften some and put it out for her later. She is social, and alert, and drinking well though. Vet is going to call today to check on her, and I will see how she does this afternoon with food and numbers again. We have been on the cusp of stopping the Senvelgo to see if she is going into remission, and her numbers at the Vet were in the normal range for their tests (they got a 154 in the afternoon on Alphatrak but don't have it written on her papers and didn't give the time so I didn't add it to spreadsheet), we just wanted to get past the dental work first.
 
Skipping her dose again tonight- she ate twice that I saw this afternoon/evening but her two tests were still lower. The gabapentin makes her a little wobbly, and she has one more onsior pill to take tomorrow. Sleeping a lot, but it has been only one full day since surgery.
 
Skipping her dose again tonight- she ate twice that I saw this afternoon/evening but her two tests were still lower. The gabapentin makes her a little wobbly, and she has one more onsior pill to take tomorrow. Sleeping a lot, but it has been only one full day since surgery.
I hope all is well going well.
 
I hope all is well going well.
I think she is doing okay; she is not a fan of the gabapentin, but only a couple more days. Her bg went up into the 140s again so I started tiny doses, and she has continued getting good numbers. I am sure we will need to do a followup appointment in a couple weeks to check healing, talk allergies since that med still hasn't helped, and see about stopping the Senvelgo. If 140-150s didn't bother them at the dental, I am not sure I need to worry too much, and will just keep testing and documenting.
 
I think she is doing okay; she is not a fan of the gabapentin, but only a couple more days. Her bg went up into the 140s again so I started tiny doses, and she has continued getting good numbers. I am sure we will need to do a followup appointment in a couple weeks to check healing, talk allergies since that med still hasn't helped, and see about stopping the Senvelgo. If 140-150s didn't bother them at the dental, I am not sure I need to worry too much, and will just keep testing and documenting.
Looking at Electra's spreadsheet--I am so hopeful! Thank you for sharing your journey. I will keep watching for official good news!
 
Looking at Electra's spreadsheet--I am so hopeful! Thank you for sharing your journey. I will keep watching for official good news!
I hope we are going in that direction. Tonight we skipped the dose again, but if the tests were right she had a big drop with no meds from first to second test (171 to 97 in about 75 minutes), but she has been eating, drinking, acting normal and just tested again and she is only slightly lower after 3 hrs.
 
I think she is doing okay; she is not a fan of the gabapentin, but only a couple more days. Her bg went up into the 140s again so I started tiny doses, and she has continued getting good numbers. I am sure we will need to do a followup appointment in a couple weeks to check healing, talk allergies since that med still hasn't helped, and see about stopping the Senvelgo. If 140-150s didn't bother them at the dental, I am not sure I need to worry too much, and will just keep testing and documenting.
I know this thread is a few weeks old but I just wanted say something. My cat Inky is on Bexacat and also on gabapentin for vet visits and travel, and my trick to getting her to take the pills is to use the Churu treats. I give her a small taste of it, and then while holding the pill in my fingers, squeeze some of the churu onto the pill, and she licks it up and swallows the pill. This is how she takes her bexacat and her gabapentin, it is quick and it's relatively mess-free other than getting a bit of churu on your fingers sometimes. if you dont want to give her the whole churu each time, you can use a chip clip on the end to seal it for later. It took me forever to figure out how to get her to willingly take the pill so I just wanted to share in the hopes it might help someone else :)
 
I know this thread is a few weeks old but I just wanted say something. My cat Inky is on Bexacat and also on gabapentin for vet visits and travel, and my trick to getting her to take the pills is to use the Churu treats. I give her a small taste of it, and then while holding the pill in my fingers, squeeze some of the churu onto the pill, and she licks it up and swallows the pill. This is how she takes her bexacat and her gabapentin, it is quick and it's relatively mess-free other than getting a bit of churu on your fingers sometimes. if you dont want to give her the whole churu each time, you can use a chip clip on the end to seal it for later. It took me forever to figure out how to get her to willingly take the pill so I just wanted to share in the hopes it might help someone else :)
I do something similar with one of my other cats. Calypso has Feline Hyperesthesia Syndrome and is on fluoxetine (once) and gabapentin (twice) daily. We get the gabapentin in capsules so I just put each one into a little jar to separate doses and then mix it into a churu on a kitty plate. She licks the plate clean, and on days when she is slow I sometimes use a finger to scoop it off the plate and she is more willing to lick my finger. (she sometimes hates plates) I wish Electra wanted treats as that would have been convenient, but she refuses churu. I did get a tiny amount of dashi or churu and just syringed it with the meds into her mouth some mornings though. For actual pills I swear by gelatin capsules; I can easily get the pill down the throat and she doesn't have to taste it at all. I just have to do the work in advance and get the pills split and in the capsules, which I do every couple weeks as needed. I follow that with the churu/gaba to make sure she doesn't have the pill hidden to spit out later.
 
Back
Top