Dental

Glassgoblin

Member Since 2018
Electra had her dental appointment today, and had to have two teeth extracted. Looked like there may have been some re-absorption and bone loss in the middle of the teeth (one looked worse than the other, which is probably not unusual). She had a bg of 145 before we went in this morning, and then 141 on her blood test before surgery. And she has been resting since we got home this afternoon (drank, ate a tiny amount of wet food and used litter box also). I am going to wait until she comes out from under the bed, and not stress her by grabbing her, and then I can give her second half of the daily gabapentin, maybe test her and if she eats will give a smaller dose of Senvelgo. If we skip today I think she would be fine though.

I added her blood test results to our spreadsheet, but all her tests were normal. She is looking good for the moment, and just was wondering if anyone had advice on the post dental when being treated for diabetes- she had teeth cleanings and even extractions before, but that was all before becoming diabetic.
 
She had a bg of 145 before we went in this morning, and then 141 on her blood test before car games. And she has been resting since we got home this afternoon (drank, ate a tiny amount of wet food and used litter box also). I am going to wait until she comes out from under the bed, and not stress her by grabbing her, and then I can give her second half of the daily gabapentin, maybe test her and if she eats will give a smaller dose of Senvelgo. If we skip today I think she would be fine though.
In my experience with diabetic cats after dental work, appetite can be a bit inconsistent for 24–48 hours, so frequent glucose checks are really helpful until they're back to eating normally. I also found that warming wet food slightly made it easier for them to eat after extractions. Keep an eye out for any excessive drooling, swelling, or refusal to eat beyond the first day, but from what you've described, Electra seems to be recovering well so far. I hope she feels much better once those painful teeth have healed.
 
In my experience with diabetic cats after dental work, appetite can be a bit inconsistent for 24–48 hours, so frequent glucose checks are really helpful until they're back to eating normally. I also found that warming wet food slightly made it easier for them to eat after extractions. Keep an eye out for any excessive drooling, swelling, or refusal to eat beyond the first day, but from what you've described, Electra seems to be recovering well so far. I hope she feels much better once those painful teeth have healed.
Her blood glucose has been pretty steady, and I did get her meds into her this morning with a little grumbling (dental meds, no Senvelgo yet) but she hasn't eaten as much as usual- she loves the dry food the most and I think I will soften some and put it out for her later. She is social, and alert, and drinking well though. Vet is going to call today to check on her, and I will see how she does this afternoon with food and numbers again. We have been on the cusp of stopping the Senvelgo to see if she is going into remission, and her numbers at the Vet were in the normal range for their tests (they got a 154 in the afternoon on Alphatrak but don't have it written on her papers and didn't give the time so I didn't add it to spreadsheet), we just wanted to get past the dental work first.
 
Skipping her dose again tonight- she ate twice that I saw this afternoon/evening but her two tests were still lower. The gabapentin makes her a little wobbly, and she has one more onsior pill to take tomorrow. Sleeping a lot, but it has been only one full day since surgery.
 
Skipping her dose again tonight- she ate twice that I saw this afternoon/evening but her two tests were still lower. The gabapentin makes her a little wobbly, and she has one more onsior pill to take tomorrow. Sleeping a lot, but it has been only one full day since surgery.
I hope all is well going well.
 
I hope all is well going well.
I think she is doing okay; she is not a fan of the gabapentin, but only a couple more days. Her bg went up into the 140s again so I started tiny doses, and she has continued getting good numbers. I am sure we will need to do a followup appointment in a couple weeks to check healing, talk allergies since that med still hasn't helped, and see about stopping the Senvelgo. If 140-150s didn't bother them at the dental, I am not sure I need to worry too much, and will just keep testing and documenting.
 
Back
Top