Info Daylight Savings Time Starts Sunday March 14th

Wendy&Neko

Member Since 2012
Moderator
images



For most of us in North America, it’s almost time to Spring Forward. This is rather inconvenient for those of using insulin because we try so hard to stick to a 12-hour schedule.

If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 11 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will potentially cause lower BG’s for most cats, as it will increase the overlap between shots. Remember, if the insulin you use can increase overlap between shots, shooting early is equivalent to a dose increase, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might drop your cat into lower numbers unexpectedly.

If you don’t want to have a +11 in the mix, you can move your shot time a little over a few days minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 times during the week to move your shot time by15 minutes. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

Example: regular time is 7:00
Thursday AMPS at 7:00
Thursday PMPS at 6:45
Friday AMPS at 6:45
Friday PMPS at 6:30
Saturday AMPS at 6:30
Saturday PMPS at 6:15 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
Sunday AMPS at 7:15, which is the “old” 8:15
Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning

Option B (move in 30 minute increments): pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time by 30 minutes. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

Example: regular time is 7:00
Friday AMPS at 7:00
Friday PMPS at 6:30
Saturday AMPS at 6:30
Saturday PMPS at 6:00 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

(Please bump until Sunday, March 14th)
 
The other threads are locked. I'm seeing if there's a means for us to hide the other threads since one is for DST ending and the other has the incorrect date (for this year) in the subject line.

Please keep this thread bumped.
 
The other threads are locked. I'm seeing if there's a means for us to hide the other threads since one is for DST ending and the other has the incorrect date (for this year) in the subject line.

Please keep this thread bumped.

I am just now seeing this thread. I came yesterday evening because the subject came up in the facebook group and I first found the Fall back and had shared it but then I found the Spring forward, so I deleted Fall and pasted Spring with link to the thread where I found it. I left out the year and pasted the rest with instructions ---
I thought to bump those in forum, in case others were seeking the information. That is how they got drug up :D
 
Back
Top