Info Daylight Savings Time Starts Sunday March 14th

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Wendy&Neko, Mar 7, 2021.

  1. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    [​IMG]


    For most of us in North America, it’s almost time to Spring Forward. This is rather inconvenient for those of using insulin because we try so hard to stick to a 12-hour schedule.

    If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 11 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will potentially cause lower BG’s for most cats, as it will increase the overlap between shots. Remember, if the insulin you use can increase overlap between shots, shooting early is equivalent to a dose increase, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might drop your cat into lower numbers unexpectedly.

    If you don’t want to have a +11 in the mix, you can move your shot time a little over a few days minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

    Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 times during the week to move your shot time by15 minutes. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    Thursday AMPS at 7:00
    Thursday PMPS at 6:45
    Friday AMPS at 6:45
    Friday PMPS at 6:30
    Saturday AMPS at 6:30
    Saturday PMPS at 6:15 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
    Sunday AMPS at 7:15, which is the “old” 8:15
    Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning

    Option B (move in 30 minute increments): pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time by 30 minutes. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    Friday AMPS at 7:00
    Friday PMPS at 6:30
    Saturday AMPS at 6:30
    Saturday PMPS at 6:00 (you will set your clock ahead overnight)
    Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

    (Please bump until Sunday, March 14th)
     
  2. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    bumping up the new one, the others are so last year!
     
  3. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
  4. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    The other threads are locked. I'm seeing if there's a means for us to hide the other threads since one is for DST ending and the other has the incorrect date (for this year) in the subject line.

    Please keep this thread bumped.
     
  5. LindyNova

    LindyNova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
  6. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
  7. Cherryl & Mouzer

    Cherryl & Mouzer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
    I am just now seeing this thread. I came yesterday evening because the subject came up in the facebook group and I first found the Fall back and had shared it but then I found the Spring forward, so I deleted Fall and pasted Spring with link to the thread where I found it. I left out the year and pasted the rest with instructions ---
    I thought to bump those in forum, in case others were seeking the information. That is how they got drug up :D
     
  8. JoyBee&Ravan

    JoyBee&Ravan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2018
  9. JoyBee&Ravan

    JoyBee&Ravan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2018
    My bump didn't work? :(
     
  10. Pamela & Amethyst

    Pamela & Amethyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
  11. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  12. Pamela & Amethyst

    Pamela & Amethyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
  13. Pamela & Amethyst

    Pamela & Amethyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
  14. Adrienne & Molly (GA)

    Adrienne & Molly (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2019
  15. Cherryl & Mouzer

    Cherryl & Mouzer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
  16. Howiesmom

    Howiesmom Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2020
  17. Marina & Chico

    Marina & Chico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2021
  18. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
  19. Pamela & Amethyst

    Pamela & Amethyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
  20. Jaime & Mowgli

    Jaime & Mowgli Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2021
  21. Cherryl & Mouzer

    Cherryl & Mouzer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2017
  22. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
  23. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Thanks for the info, Wendy!
     
  24. JoyBee&Ravan

    JoyBee&Ravan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2018
  25. Liz & Minnie

    Liz & Minnie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
  26. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
  27. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  28. Marj & Djoko

    Marj & Djoko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2020
  29. Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA)

    Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
  30. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    bumpity
     
    Marj & Djoko likes this.
  31. LindyNova

    LindyNova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    bumpity boo!
     
  32. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  33. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    To the top of the condo heap you go!!!! wheeeee.
     
  34. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  35. Gill & George

    Gill & George Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
  36. Abdullah

    Abdullah Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2020
  37. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  38. Diane and Kierra

    Diane and Kierra Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Thank you Wendy! :bighug:
     

Share This Page