Continued Dosing Advice/Sir Maximus

Well… he may be doing a little bit of a bounce from the blue last night. He could have dropped a little bit after your last test. We can’t be sure. I don’t like how wonky his numbers have been since the rabies shot on Monday. He may just need a little more time. Let’s give him a few more cycles to settle and then see if he needs a change in dose. He has had a few good nadirs — but that red this morning was almost a black again. I hate that. I expected him to have a better cycle yesterday with the AMPS of 245. He’s been frustrating lately. Is anything different with regard to his food? Be sure not to give food after +6 (unless he needed it to raise a low BG, of course, or an LC treat when you test him.)
 
Well… he may be doing a little bit of a bounce from the blue last night. He could have dropped a little bit after your last test. We can’t be sure. I don’t like how wonky his numbers have been since the rabies shot on Monday. He may just need a little more time. Let’s give him a few more cycles to settle and then see if he needs a change in dose. He has had a few good nadirs — but that red this morning was almost a black again. I hate that. I expected him to have a better cycle yesterday with the AMPS of 245. He’s been frustrating lately. Is anything different with regard to his food? Be sure not to give food after +6 (unless he needed it to raise a low BG, of course, or an LC treat when you test him.)
His food is the same he usually gets a snack at +2 +4 and either +5 or +6 and his treats our Pure Bites Chicken for glucose checks. He has had a few good cycles and got under 90 a few times, hopefully he balances out. Wonky Sir Maximus is gonna be his new name:)
 
Hi Suzanne just got back from work, ya that's pretty good for how deep he is in cycle. I wonder what his iow was today. He must of heard you. Hope he remains low up to pre shot test.
 
I see the 99. Don’t panic. It’s still considered flat when compared to his PMPS. Just keep a close eye on him. And remember that anything over 50 is acceptable. We would not want to start seeing a huge drop from PMPS though.
 
I see the 99. Don’t panic. It’s still considered flat when compared to his PMPS. Just keep a close eye on him. And remember that anything over 50 is acceptable. We would not want to start seeing a huge drop from PMPS though.
Looking over my last cycle when he dropped i tried to follow your notes. I went with LC/MC to slow him down but he still dropped to 99 so i gave him another tsp of MC to try and slow him down more in case he has a deep drop when that insulin kicks in. I'm trying my best to keep calm and have ice in my veins but i just haven't had enough experiences on how to manipulate the curve with a double whammy bounce drop with the insulin.
 
yes the insulin will kick in, but you gave a 1/3 token dose … so paws crossed for everything to go well.
Thank you so much... Quick question if he drops below 90 should i reduce the dose tomorrow morning or is this one of those cases leave it alone because he is coming off a bounce. Also even tho shot was 30 minutes late can I go back to normal shot time at 8Am?

It didn't look like he dropped that much yesterday and the evening for the bounce but i guess he did just enough. Seems like his body needs to still get used to low numbers before going into protective mode and then to the bounce.
 
I think it will be fine to shoot at 8 a.m. tomorrow morning as long as his number is shootable. I hate to say yes to reducing tomorrow, but if you still want to follow SLGS he will earn a .25 unit reduction if he drops below 90.

Edited this post above to say if he drops below 90 (not 99)!
 
Last edited:
I think he’s spent the last six cycles before this morning’s bouncing off of the 161 on the evening of 2/9 (I think it was 2/9). He’s hardly had any good numbers since then… until today.
 
I think he’s spent the last six cycles before this morning’s bouncing off of the 161 on the evening of 2/9 (I think it was 2/9). He’s hardly had any good numbers since then… until today.
I think it would be best to keep at the same dose. I want to see some consistent numbers that our good and then when he drops below 90 we can reduce the dose. Does that sound like a decent plan?
 
Now, you still may want to consider switching dosing methods to MPM so you can adjust his doses more frequently if needed and also to hold onto doses that are working well for him.
 
Now, you still may want to consider switching dosing methods to MPM so you can adjust his doses more frequently if needed and also to hold onto doses that are working well for him.
Hmm not quite sure if
Now, you still may want to consider switching dosing methods to MPM so you can adjust his doses more frequently if needed and also to hold onto doses that are working well for him.
Not sure what you mean by this? yes getting ready to test now.
 
I've been following what's been going on with Sir Maximus tonight. Glad you are in the clear! I think I'm going through the same thing right now with Liberty, trying to figure out what to do. This is still new to me!
 
I've been following what's been going on with Sir Maximus tonight. I think I'm going through the same thing right now with Liberty! Just learning!
Hi Julie i was just looking at Liberty's chart and i do see some similarities. Liberty is taking a little less insulin than Sir Maximus. If you have any questions feel free to ask me anytime. I'm no expert but I have learned a lot by reading others posts and their experiences everyday just like what your doing. I hope you gained some good information this evening. It can be really nerve wracking managing the insulin with the food at low numbers. Also Suzanne is the best! She always guides me thru and is so helpful. I also look back on my posts a lot to see what i did in certain situations and what was recommended to me. I hope you get Liberty on the right track soon. Hang in there it takes time and a lot of patience.
 
Thank you! I just wasn't sure if he was going to keep dropping tonight, so I probably panicked a little. BG came up with food (I gave 1Tbsp instead of tsp, oops). I probably will keep checking tonight. Doubt I'll sleep. I'm sure at some point this gets easier!
 
Back
Top