The Admiral and Ashes
Member Since 2020
hello, we're still pretty new to this whole diabetic diagnosis. (it's only been 3 months) any advice is greatly appreciated.
schmit has come back from the brink after diagnosis and being started on insulin at the end of October. but, he is not having great numbers at all. mostly he's in the upper 200-300's we've had less than a handful of days in the blue/green. he is no longer critical, he's also not well.
i increased his 1u to 1.25, waited too long to increase to 1.5 because i am nervous without a vet to consult. he's been on 1.5 for 4 days so far.
last night his pmps was 151. that's the first time it's been below 200's in almost 2 weeks! we did a happy dance, but at +2 it was 367. gah! that's a big jump in 2 hours
this morning's amps he was up at 337 again.
is this considered a "bounce"? or should i increase the dose again for a few days? or wait a few more days to see where it goes?
he's been a little less ravenous this week and lording over the water dish a little less than he was which makes us hopeful. however, he's still peeing enough for a full grown man and soooo many times a day.
thank you all!
schmit has come back from the brink after diagnosis and being started on insulin at the end of October. but, he is not having great numbers at all. mostly he's in the upper 200-300's we've had less than a handful of days in the blue/green. he is no longer critical, he's also not well.
i increased his 1u to 1.25, waited too long to increase to 1.5 because i am nervous without a vet to consult. he's been on 1.5 for 4 days so far.
last night his pmps was 151. that's the first time it's been below 200's in almost 2 weeks! we did a happy dance, but at +2 it was 367. gah! that's a big jump in 2 hours
this morning's amps he was up at 337 again.
is this considered a "bounce"? or should i increase the dose again for a few days? or wait a few more days to see where it goes?
he's been a little less ravenous this week and lording over the water dish a little less than he was which makes us hopeful. however, he's still peeing enough for a full grown man and soooo many times a day.
thank you all!
You are doing great so far in helping him to get better.