consistantly high bg despite increase dose

The Admiral and Ashes

Member Since 2020
hello, we're still pretty new to this whole diabetic diagnosis. (it's only been 3 months) any advice is greatly appreciated.

schmit has come back from the brink after diagnosis and being started on insulin at the end of October. but, he is not having great numbers at all. mostly he's in the upper 200-300's we've had less than a handful of days in the blue/green. he is no longer critical, he's also not well.

i increased his 1u to 1.25, waited too long to increase to 1.5 because i am nervous without a vet to consult. he's been on 1.5 for 4 days so far.

last night his pmps was 151. that's the first time it's been below 200's in almost 2 weeks! we did a happy dance, but at +2 it was 367. gah! that's a big jump in 2 hours
this morning's amps he was up at 337 again.
is this considered a "bounce"? or should i increase the dose again for a few days? or wait a few more days to see where it goes?

he's been a little less ravenous this week and lording over the water dish a little less than he was which makes us hopeful. however, he's still peeing enough for a full grown man and soooo many times a day.

thank you all!
 
Hi! Hang in there :bighug: You are doing great so far in helping him to get better.

Looking at your SS, your data so far suggests that sometimes you might be missing some blues or better numbers. 2 examples are 1/10 and 1/18, where you saw a +2 lower than your preshot BG, but no follow up test in that cycle. A +2 that is the same or lower can indicate (but not always) that kitty may have an active cycle where more monitoring may be warranted. In those cases, you may want to get another test in to see how low the dose is taking him.

You can do this on the am cycle too, if it is possible, where you have less data sometimes.

You’ll get there! :)
 
thank you for the info and encouragement!!
we're working on re-arranging things so we can get better testing time coverage. i got a +2 for him today. amps 337 +2 329
hopefully i can get a +4 also.
 
I would imagine that given how rarely he sees a blue number, that he definetely got a big bounce after that, which are the pink numbers.

Hercules is a big bouncer and we are at this dance for 7 months now. He use to just sniff a blue number and jump into the reds and blacks. So schmitt is better if hanging on the pinnks... It look like (anti jinx) he is only starting to reduce his bounces now. Many cats are not as bouncy as hercules, and hopefully schmitt will get the hang of lower numbers faster than hercs!

It is important to know whether it is a bounce or a dose increase required and for a newbie like me there isn't enough data to be sure. Hopefully some with more experience will come along soon.
 
Great! Given where your +2 is, you could push out the next test to somewhere more mid cycle, if you prefer. A +6 maybe since you haven’t had data there in a few days.
 
Hello and welcome Ashleigh and Schmitty. There is lots of good information in the Sticky Notes on the top of this forum. Make sure you take the time to read them. Your spreadsheet says you want to follow the TR dosing method, which is great. Could you add "TR" to your signature? That'll make it faster for us to help you.

Typically if your tests mid cycle are higher than the preshots, the chances are it's a bounce. Other possibilities are fur or missed shots, getting into higher carb contraband. If you eliminate those possibilities, it's the more likely bouncing.
 
Back
Top