Chuck's bouncy journey.

Status
Not open for further replies.

StephG

Very Active Member
Ok so PMPS is 564!! He got ONE piece of dog kibble when I fed the dog at 1. It dropped off the scoop when I was feeding her and he swallowed it whole! I can't believe he went up that much from that one piece. He was 219 at +6.5! I was expecting YELLOW or possible low red this evening.
Oh well. My question now is do I shoot for a 564 or a bit lower? I was thinking 4 units. But 4 days ago we shot a 4.25 on a 500BG and he got into beautiful blues.
Let me know what you think!
 
150 +4... Looks like it might be a repeat of the night before last. I will check in an hour and see where he's at- maybe check in 30 minutes. He went down 150ish from +2 to +3 then only 75 from +3 to +4... here's to hoping he only goes down 40 ish from +4 to +5... then 20 then 10...
Either way I'll keep an eye on him and steer with food if needed. I'll keep his SS updated. He's itching his ears a lot which is normal for him... He still thinks he's starving.
 
103 +4.5! *loses mind* I gave him half an ounce of his normal food. I will check again in 20 minutes to a half hour.
 
So I wanted to share how I can tell Chuck is still "with it"... For years now he has LOVED to pull a few pieces of my hair with his claws and then chew on it til he bites the strand in half. Any time of day or night- he'll do it when the mood strikes! He will go nuts trying to get to my hair if I pull on one of my curls and single out a few pieces.
12555555555555555555555555555555555556522222222222222222222222222222223 (Chuck says HI! Jumped on my keyboard!)
He reacts the same way every time so I know if he ever ignores that- he's in trouble.
 
85 +5.5! Hopefully he doesn't spike now. Didn't get as much as he did the other night. I'll check him again in a half hour.
 
I just realized I had the time .5 early. So he was 85 at +6. I adjusted his SS too. *it's been a long day*

+6.5 82... looks like he might surf!
 
So I wanted to share how I can tell Chuck is still "with it"... For years now he has LOVED to pull a few pieces of my hair with his claws and then chew on it til he bites the strand in half. Any time of day or night- he'll do it when the mood strikes! He will go nuts trying to get to my hair if I pull on one of my curls and single out a few pieces.
12555555555555555555555555555555555556522222222222222222222222222222223 (Chuck says HI! Jumped on my keyboard!)
He reacts the same way every time so I know if he ever ignores that- he's in trouble.
Ah, those endearing cat habits that can drive you crazy but are also excellent tests of how they're feeling. What is it with cats and keyboards??
 
AMPS was only 238. Had to play it safe because I can't be here after +2 to monitor. +2 385. Only up 150 so far vs his 300 spike with no insulin. Hopefully he doesn't bounce or go too high from the low dose. I'll be curious all day. I might sneak home around +7 to get a reading. Depends on how crazy today is...
 
Oh and I bought delectables squeeze ups... chicken flavored. GA adds up to 101% haha. So zero carbs that I'm aware of. He loves it. My question is: Can I puree or shred cuts of meat myself and feed as a zero carb snack? Like chicken, pork, ground beef, steak? Are they all zero carb? Someone suggested baby food, meat only- no gravy. But I haven't looked at the Nutrition facts to see if they have carbs. Cheaper to cook and shred/chop/puree myself. Just looking for something I can give him around 6 hours when he is putting on his "I've never been fed before in my life" act.
 
PMPS 523. 0.75 isn't enough. Maybe I'll try 1.25 next time he's in the mid 200's. He had no access to food so the spike is either some bouce from yesterday or just from not enough insulin. Gave 3.5 units tonight. Will monitor him. Seems like his body likes 3.5 units. (knock on wood) I'm going to bake some chicken for him and freeze it for treats/snacks. His potty issues have seemed to resolve since switching him to the pate instead of the tuna and egg bits flakes and giving half oz pumpkin every night.
 
UGH. At +2.5 Chuck got into Kitty's food. Not sure how much he ate. I was standing there watching and then the dishwasher attachment started to fall off and was spraying water everywhere. I got distracted by that and when I got it back on I checked on kitty and Chuck was happy as a pig in shht eating a snack! :mad::banghead: When does this insatiable appetite go away?! Do you think I'm not feeding him enough? 4oz every meal should be plenty!
 
Well, $&£%. They do seem to settle down in terms of how much they want to eat, but some cats never lose their taste for the high carb dry. Yes, 4 oz per meal should be plenty.

You will get him back. Maybe figure it's a night off?
 
Lucky for me- I've got both of them off dry food now. Kitty hasn't had dry in a week or so now. He got into the friskies whitefish platter (I think that's what it's called) pate. So hopefully he won't go up too far. Definitely a night off from worry about hypo. I will check again at +4 or +6.
 
Yeah I added up the numbers on the can and it looks like it might have LESS carbs than the 9Lives?! The list I saw lists higher % for carbs.
 
Strange numbers for Chuck this morning. I thought for sure the 1.25 would be enough to get him into the yellows. I know I got a tiny bit into his fur but I didn't think it was that much. He's been extra fussy in the mornings lately. Might help to leave him a treat out at night or give him a treat 3 hours before AMPS testing.
 
Looks like the dose is a little too little yet for that range OR today's cycle is a bounce from the late blue last night. It is so hard to know which. I think I'd stick with the 1.25 one more time before raising?
 
537 at +8. How early can I shoot? I don't want him spending much time in black and this early I'm afraid he'll get above 600. I figured he was having a late nadir but clearly that isn't the case this afternoon. 4pm would be 2 hours early. He's acting fine. Begging for food and snoozing between. *sigh* Can't wait to find that happy medium.
 
I'm thinking the same thing. More fur shot... +10 would be about the time I was thinking. Feed at 4, shoot at 415. +10 on the shot.
 
OY. PMPS 600+ reading "HI" on the meter. +1 still reading "HI". I feel awful. He's acting normal but I worry about DKA. Should I give another 0.5 unit of insulin? Or wait 2 hours to see how it's going?
 
DANG. 350 @ +2.15! I just don't get it. He was down to 370 at +2 two nights ago and tried going too low... I clearly don't understand how this insulin works in his body. I was nervous to go over 3.5 units but figured over 600 he would be FINE! He will be fine in the end but I might have to run to walmart to get more strips! Already!
 
I am going to guess the shot was more of a fur shot than you thought. His reaction tonight makes more sense. Big drop, but he has a long way to drop before he is near 50. A little snack of regular food?
 
Little turd! He's down to 260 at +3... Gave him another spoon of food and a fancy feast chicken chunk thing.
 
Yes, it may be a bumpy ride again. But you know what to do, Steph. And don't forget that you didn't like those high numbers today - got your wish. :p
That is TRUE!! Looking at the numbers and I think the two scoops of food has slowed him down. I'm going to check again in a half hour.
 
253 @ +6... The increase doesn't make sense to me... going up after holding steady for about 2 hours... Hopefully he doesn't spike much more beyond that. I'll be home all morning tomorrow so I'll be able to monitor if he's higher than usual. My brain is bouncing like an intense game of pong! lol Looks like I'll get better sleep than I thought I would but I still hope he doesn't go up too much. I'll have DH check him when he gets home. I guess it's possible he got some crumbs from the dog food. I usually sweep up any crumbs once April is done eating but I was eating dinner with DH while she ate... She finished the dish but there were crumbs on the floor and Chuck came out of the kitchen a few minutes after April. He's getting sneaky. I still can't get over his appetite. He'd be 20 pounds if he ate when he thought he needed to.
 
It does look like just a little bit of carbs really affect his numbers. That would be really hard when you have other animals in the house. Maybe take the night off, get some good sleep and start again tomorrow.
 
DH is having quite the time getting Chuck's bg reading in the mornings. I think he gets frustrated and then Chuck does too because all he wants is to be fed- not poked. So I told him before- if you can't get it then he will have to wait until I get up in the morning. No point in getting both of them mad. So AMPS was 486 @ 5:45. Gave 3 units at 5:55. +1 is 571. So not too bad so far. I will be able to monitor this morning so I'll get another reading at +3 to make sure he's not racing to the bottom.
 
You might want to try an experiment sometime (when things aren't frantic) to see if a few freeze dried meat treats have any significant effect on Chuck's BG. If they don't then maybe you could take the edge off his voracious appetite at AM test time by giving him a few before testing. It might also reinforce the idea in his Chuck brain that AM tests aren't so bad.
 
I baked him a whole chicken breast today. I'm going to cut it up and freeze it in 1 ounce or half ounce portions. Use them for treats.
PMPS is 422 at +11. I'll be leaving soon so I have to poke early. I'm thinking 3 units. 2.75 the one morning on 420BG was not quite enough but 3.25units on a 470BG was really nice. So I think I'll try 3 on a 422BG...
Thoughts? If anyone is on... I'll be home to monitor. at +2/+3 on.
 
Slow trip down tonight. Hopefully he gets to the blues but might not make it there. Just happy to see a slow decline and not have to worry about hypo.
 
Love the slow trip through the yellows. Another night of sleep for Steph?
Absolutely! Easy and maybe even a full night of sleep! I'll be at it again in the morning. I won't be home all day tomorrow from 6am-5pm. So I'll play it safe. But not safe enough to get him into the blacks again! *paws crossed*
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top