Teresa & KitKat
Member Since 2017
I love your way of thinking.We've all had our extra-derpy moments!
And the only stupid question is the one that isn't asked.
I love your way of thinking.We've all had our extra-derpy moments!
And the only stupid question is the one that isn't asked.
@Kris & Teasel, I have checked Buddy 1 time he is @250 and he has not ate. I will be gone in the afternoon, so I must be extra careful with the dose. I think that I was expecting the syringes to be bigger so there would be more space between lines. I get it about the 2.5 times, I did not realize that you would be counting each little line. I don't know hat I expected just that I must be careful.Sounds like the right syringes, Teresa. Don't worry about the 30 mark. You'll never need it to dose Buddy - that would be a very high dose indeed. Be sure to use the chart to draw up doses but a quick way to remember is that whatever dose you want in ProZinc, you need to draw up 2.5 times that on the U100. To use your example, if you want 3 u of ProZinc (U40), you draw up 3 x 2.5 = 7.5 on the U100 syringes.
Maybe give 2 u? Is he often a slow eater in the AM? By afternoon you should know what the dose will do. If 2 u feels too high for your comfort level, try 1.75 u. I'd wait on using the new syringes until you've practiced a bit - see below.@Kris & Teasel, I have checked Buddy 1 time he is @250 and he has not ate. I will be gone in the afternoon, so I must be extra careful with the dose. I think that I was expecting the syringes to be bigger so there would be more space between lines. I get it about the 2.5 times, I did not realize that you would be counting each little line. I don't know hat I expected just that I must be careful.
I am afraid of 2u since I will be gone, but I will do 1.75. Thanks for the tips on the new syringes.Maybe give 2 u? Is he often a slow eater in the AM? By afternoon you should know what the dose will do. If 2 u feels too high for your comfort level, try 1.75 u. I'd wait on using the new syringes until you've practiced a bit - see below.
Here's something to do to get used to those syringes: mix up a little water and food colouring and practice drawing up different doses until you feel more confident. Some people buy a cheap pair of drugstore reading glasses in a higher magnification than they need to wear when measuring doses.
Hi Teresa,Buddy is @273 this morning, I believe that we must be getting a little better control of his diabetes. I am going to give him 2.25u and see how he does. I see that Kris is already helping someone. I don't know what I would have done without her. Really I still depend on her help.
You are welcome. But that is the truth.Hi Teresa,
Thank you for the kind words.I like the 2.25 u dose for today. I think you can get an idea of how it's working with just a couple of tests between +3 and +8 - easier on Buddy's ears.
I did not get to test Buddy at +8, I was not thinking and let him eat. I have been thinking about the Prozinc 2.4U that would be 6.0, the line just below the big 5. I just realized that these little bitty syringes have 1/2 u marks also.You are welcome. But that is the truth.
Yes, the half unit marks are important. Make sure you've had a good look at the U100s before you use them.I did not get to test Buddy at +8, I was not thinking and let him eat. I have been thinking about the Prozinc 2.4U that would be 6.0, the line just below the big 5. I just realized that these little bitty syringes have 1/2 u marks also.
Buddy threw up this morning, nothing major. I did give him something for nausea and a fur ball pill. He has been eating some, but he seems to be staying away from the canned (Friskies Flaked Tuna With Egg) and eating more YA. When things are going better I would like to give him 2.4 at AMPS and maybe a little lower dose at PMPS. I will watch the yellows. Buddy thinks every time that I test him that means he gets to eat. Naturally he wants to eat, then go to the litter box, and then come back & eat some more. After all this a lot of time has passed and of course wait 2 hours to test.Hi Teresa,
I like that the PSs are lower. That run of yellows could be a sign that he's ready to give you nicer numbers. An experienced person on another forum said that and I paid attention. Stick with the 2.25 u today and aim for a couple of mid cycle tests. Has Buddy been feeling well?
When I was giving Buddy his shot, he moved and it pushed the needle some how and some of it squirted out on me. Now I don't know how much insulin he got.He is eating. but not as much usual. I will be home tomorrow most of the time, might run out to pickup a few things. I have not looked any more at the U100 syringes, but I am pretty sure I know that I would want to go to the next line after 5 for 2.4 u. I had been thinking about trying to give him 2.4u. This afternoon I took a reading @2:00 p.m. and it was 209 and @7:30 p.m. he was at401. This must have been a bounce, maybe I should wait to see if this is going to continue to bounce before I change his dose.
On March 11, that was a bounce. But I guess this is a fur shot on another bounce. His reading was 401.I wouldn't try to re-shoot since you are not sure how much actually got in him. Just treat it as a fur shot and we'll see what his numbers look like tonight. Let's see if our mentor's agree! Looks like he did something similar on 11 March.
He was bouncing, his #401. I hate to see what his number will be in the morning.Teresa - we call that a "fur shot" and it happens to all of us sometimes. The rule is that you don't try to re-shoot since there's no way of knowing how much he got already, and you could end up giving him too much. It means he'll likely be high tonight, but you just start again tomorrow.
Hey, I need all the help I can get.Ooops....I didn't see Yong had already responded! Sorry for the double post!
Rachel, what worries me is his #401. In the morning will I give him the dose he would have got if this had not happened. I got Bud some FortiFlora, it helps, but it is expensive.Well darn! It happens, though. We've ALL been there (and some of us have tested, fed, drawn up the shot...and then gone to work leaving the syringe on the counter! Not naming any names...). No worries....you'll get him back.
Have you tried this, sounds like it might work.You could try a tiny sprinkle of Parmesan cheese.
Hi Teresa,Does anyone know if I need to wait the full 12 hrs. before I give Buddy his am shot.
Kris, how should I dose him and how much earlier can I give him his am shot.Hi Teresa,
Don't worry about the fur shot. We've all had them and the rule is to not give another one because you don't know if any insulin went in or not. Yes, you can give his AM shot earlier.
I suggest you give the increased dose of 2.4 u. That up to the 6.0 mark on the U100 syringe. It's wise to have the conversion chart beside you when you're using those syringes. I think you could give him his dose an hour earlier and not mess up the schedule much.Kris, how should I dose him and how much earlier can I give him his am shot.
Kris, I really appreciate your reply. Buddy was bouncing tonight, his PMPS was #401 and if that wasn't bad enough we ended up with a fur shot. I had no idea what dose to give him, thankfully you answered my post.I suggest you give the increased dose of 2.4 u. That up to the 6.0 mark on the U100 syringe. It's wise to have the conversion chart beside you when you're using those syringes. I think you could give him his dose an hour earlier and not mess up the schedule much.
No problem, Teresa. The fur shot is just one shot. You'll have him back on track in no time.Kris, I really appreciate your reply. Buddy was bouncing tonight, his PMPS was #401 and if that wasn't bad enough we ended up with a fur shot. I had no idea what dose to give him, thankfully you answered my post.
I knew he would. Nice for you too.Buddy made it through the night. First night in a long time that I haven't got up to test, sometimes testing twice.
That is the nice thing about fur shots - a better night's sleep. I hope you had a good rest!Buddy made it through the night. First night in a long time that I haven't got up to test, sometimes testing twice.
It was nice not to wake up to the clock in the middle of the night, but I did wake up early wondering about his BS. No problem so far with the U100 syringe, hopefully the 2.4u works out good for Buddy.I knew he would. Nice for you too.Any trouble reading the 2.4 u on the U100 syringe?
I did have a good rest, but I woke up early wondering about his BS. How is your fur baby today.That is the nice thing about fur shots - a better night's sleep. I hope you had a good rest!
He's OK. A bit bouncy from low numbers a couple of days ago. Par for the course for him.I did have a good rest, but I woke up early wondering about his BS. How is your fur baby today.
I could be wrong but I think Buddy is also bouncing. PMPS was 415.He's OK. A bit bouncy from low numbers a couple of days ago. Par for the course for him.
I agree. That red is a bounce from the nice blue.I could be wrong but I think Buddy is also bouncing. PMPS was 415.
I did not notice a smell, if this happens again I will know what to look out for. I washed my hands about a million times getting ready for his shot, it could be possible that I did not get my hands all the way dry.I saw your note about your wet hand. Did it smell like insulin (strong Band-Aid like smell)? Nice yellow PS though.
That would go over big, because we have a lot of bouncers.*Party rock anthem* All the kitties gonna bounce tonight!![]()
I think Buddy would like to go to a bouncing party.Could he have hit nadir a little earlier today? Or snuck some contraband? Maybe still a little bouncing?
I wanted to let you know that I got FloriFlora for Buddy. When he is not eating his canned food, I sprinkle some FortiFora on top and he will start eating.Could just be a weird cycle...squirrel syndrome or something. Just one number, one cycle. I wouldn't worry until it becomes a pattern.
I wanted to let you know that I got FloriFlora for Buddy. When he is not eating his canned food, I sprinkle some FortiFora on top and he will start eating.