Buddy's SS up and going 6th part about dosing

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sounds like the right syringes, Teresa. Don't worry about the 30 mark. You'll never need it to dose Buddy - that would be a very high dose indeed. Be sure to use the chart to draw up doses but a quick way to remember is that whatever dose you want in ProZinc, you need to draw up 2.5 times that on the U100. To use your example, if you want 3 u of ProZinc (U40), you draw up 3 x 2.5 = 7.5 on the U100 syringes.
@Kris & Teasel, I have checked Buddy 1 time he is @250 and he has not ate. I will be gone in the afternoon, so I must be extra careful with the dose. I think that I was expecting the syringes to be bigger so there would be more space between lines. I get it about the 2.5 times, I did not realize that you would be counting each little line. I don't know hat I expected just that I must be careful.
 
@Kris & Teasel, I have checked Buddy 1 time he is @250 and he has not ate. I will be gone in the afternoon, so I must be extra careful with the dose. I think that I was expecting the syringes to be bigger so there would be more space between lines. I get it about the 2.5 times, I did not realize that you would be counting each little line. I don't know hat I expected just that I must be careful.
Maybe give 2 u? Is he often a slow eater in the AM? By afternoon you should know what the dose will do. If 2 u feels too high for your comfort level, try 1.75 u. I'd wait on using the new syringes until you've practiced a bit - see below.

Here's something to do to get used to those syringes: mix up a little water and food colouring and practice drawing up different doses until you feel more confident. Some people buy a cheap pair of drugstore reading glasses in a higher magnification than they need to wear when measuring doses.
 
Maybe give 2 u? Is he often a slow eater in the AM? By afternoon you should know what the dose will do. If 2 u feels too high for your comfort level, try 1.75 u. I'd wait on using the new syringes until you've practiced a bit - see below.

Here's something to do to get used to those syringes: mix up a little water and food colouring and practice drawing up different doses until you feel more confident. Some people buy a cheap pair of drugstore reading glasses in a higher magnification than they need to wear when measuring doses.
I am afraid of 2u since I will be gone, but I will do 1.75. Thanks for the tips on the new syringes.
 
Buddy is @273 this morning, I believe that we must be getting a little better control of his diabetes. I am going to give him 2.25u and see how he does. I see that Kris is already helping someone. I don't know what I would have done without her. Really I still depend on her help.
 
Buddy is @273 this morning, I believe that we must be getting a little better control of his diabetes. I am going to give him 2.25u and see how he does. I see that Kris is already helping someone. I don't know what I would have done without her. Really I still depend on her help.
Hi Teresa,
Thank you for the kind words. :) I like the 2.25 u dose for today. I think you can get an idea of how it's working with just a couple of tests between +3 and +8 - easier on Buddy's ears.
 
You are welcome. But that is the truth.
I did not get to test Buddy at +8, I was not thinking and let him eat. I have been thinking about the Prozinc 2.4U that would be 6.0, the line just below the big 5. I just realized that these little bitty syringes have 1/2 u marks also.
 
I did not get to test Buddy at +8, I was not thinking and let him eat. I have been thinking about the Prozinc 2.4U that would be 6.0, the line just below the big 5. I just realized that these little bitty syringes have 1/2 u marks also.
Yes, the half unit marks are important. Make sure you've had a good look at the U100s before you use them.
 
Hi Teresa,
I like that the PSs are lower. That run of yellows could be a sign that he's ready to give you nicer numbers. An experienced person on another forum said that and I paid attention. Stick with the 2.25 u today and aim for a couple of mid cycle tests. Has Buddy been feeling well?
 
Hi Teresa,
I like that the PSs are lower. That run of yellows could be a sign that he's ready to give you nicer numbers. An experienced person on another forum said that and I paid attention. Stick with the 2.25 u today and aim for a couple of mid cycle tests. Has Buddy been feeling well?
Buddy threw up this morning, nothing major. I did give him something for nausea and a fur ball pill. He has been eating some, but he seems to be staying away from the canned (Friskies Flaked Tuna With Egg) and eating more YA. When things are going better I would like to give him 2.4 at AMPS and maybe a little lower dose at PMPS. I will watch the yellows. Buddy thinks every time that I test him that means he gets to eat. Naturally he wants to eat, then go to the litter box, and then come back & eat some more. After all this a lot of time has passed and of course wait 2 hours to test.
 
Hi Teresa,
If he's eating well and you're at home to monitor you might consider increasing his dose tomorrow AM. If you've figured out the U100 syringes you could try 2.4 u.
 
He is eating. but not as much usual. I will be home tomorrow most of the time, might run out to pickup a few things. I have not looked any more at the U100 syringes, but I am pretty sure I know that I would want to go to the next line after 5 for 2.4 u. I had been thinking about trying to give him 2.4u. This afternoon I took a reading @2:00 p.m. and it was 209 and @7:30 p.m. he was at401. This must have been a bounce, maybe I should wait to see if this is going to continue to bounce before I change his dose.
 
He is eating. but not as much usual. I will be home tomorrow most of the time, might run out to pickup a few things. I have not looked any more at the U100 syringes, but I am pretty sure I know that I would want to go to the next line after 5 for 2.4 u. I had been thinking about trying to give him 2.4u. This afternoon I took a reading @2:00 p.m. and it was 209 and @7:30 p.m. he was at401. This must have been a bounce, maybe I should wait to see if this is going to continue to bounce before I change his dose.
When I was giving Buddy his shot, he moved and it pushed the needle some how and some of it squirted out on me. Now I don't know how much insulin he got.
 
I wouldn't try to re-shoot since you are not sure how much actually got in him. Just treat it as a fur shot and we'll see what his numbers look like tonight :). Let's see if our mentor's agree! Looks like he did something similar on 11 March.
 
Teresa - we call that a "fur shot" and it happens to all of us sometimes. The rule is that you don't try to re-shoot since there's no way of knowing how much he got already, and you could end up giving him too much. It means he'll likely be high tonight, but you just start again tomorrow.
 
I wouldn't try to re-shoot since you are not sure how much actually got in him. Just treat it as a fur shot and we'll see what his numbers look like tonight :). Let's see if our mentor's agree! Looks like he did something similar on 11 March.
On March 11, that was a bounce. But I guess this is a fur shot on another bounce. His reading was 401.
 
Teresa - we call that a "fur shot" and it happens to all of us sometimes. The rule is that you don't try to re-shoot since there's no way of knowing how much he got already, and you could end up giving him too much. It means he'll likely be high tonight, but you just start again tomorrow.
He was bouncing, his #401. I hate to see what his number will be in the morning.
 
Well darn! It happens, though. We've ALL been there (and some of us have tested, fed, drawn up the shot...and then gone to work leaving the syringe on the counter! Not naming any names...:facepalm:). No worries....you'll get him back.
 
Well darn! It happens, though. We've ALL been there (and some of us have tested, fed, drawn up the shot...and then gone to work leaving the syringe on the counter! Not naming any names...:facepalm:). No worries....you'll get him back.
Rachel, what worries me is his #401. In the morning will I give him the dose he would have got if this had not happened. I got Bud some FortiFlora, it helps, but it is expensive.
 
Does anyone know if I need to wait the full 12 hrs. before I give Buddy his am shot.
Hi Teresa,

Don't worry about the fur shot. We've all had them and the rule is to not give another one because you don't know if any insulin went in or not. Yes, you can give his AM shot earlier.
 
Kris, how should I dose him and how much earlier can I give him his am shot.
I suggest you give the increased dose of 2.4 u. That up to the 6.0 mark on the U100 syringe. It's wise to have the conversion chart beside you when you're using those syringes. I think you could give him his dose an hour earlier and not mess up the schedule much.
 
I suggest you give the increased dose of 2.4 u. That up to the 6.0 mark on the U100 syringe. It's wise to have the conversion chart beside you when you're using those syringes. I think you could give him his dose an hour earlier and not mess up the schedule much.
Kris, I really appreciate your reply. Buddy was bouncing tonight, his PMPS was #401 and if that wasn't bad enough we ended up with a fur shot. I had no idea what dose to give him, thankfully you answered my post.
 
Kris, I really appreciate your reply. Buddy was bouncing tonight, his PMPS was #401 and if that wasn't bad enough we ended up with a fur shot. I had no idea what dose to give him, thankfully you answered my post.
No problem, Teresa. The fur shot is just one shot. You'll have him back on track in no time.
 
I saw your note about your wet hand. Did it smell like insulin (strong Band-Aid like smell)? Nice yellow PS though.
I did not notice a smell, if this happens again I will know what to look out for. I washed my hands about a million times getting ready for his shot, it could be possible that I did not get my hands all the way dry.
 
I do not know what is going on with Buddy's numbes. Today at +2 he was @232, at +6 he was @325. I expected at +6 his numbers to be going down not up.
 
Could just be a weird cycle...squirrel syndrome or something. Just one number, one cycle. I wouldn't worry until it becomes a pattern.
 
I wanted to let you know that I got FloriFlora for Buddy. When he is not eating his canned food, I sprinkle some FortiFora on top and he will start eating.

Teresa, I'm so glad to hear that's working for him!

Hopefully tomorrow he'll have a better cycle. Hang in there!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top