Buddy's SS up and going 6th part about dosing

Status
Not open for further replies.
When you get an unusually low pre-shot number, I think it's usually recommended to wait 20 minutes without feeding, and retest to see if the number goes up. Hopefully Kris will be here soon to give a better recommendation...
 
When you get an unusually low pre-shot number, I think it's usually recommended to wait 20 minutes without feeding, and retest to see if the number goes up. Hopefully Kris will be here soon to give a better recommendation...
I have already gave him something to eat.
 
@Rachel, This is Teresa, when I took Buddy's PMPS it was 204. I do not know what u to give him, plus since he taking meds for UTI he could drop even more. If you are out there let me know.
 
@ShipsCat, This is Wolfey I took Buddy's PMPS is number is 204. I do not know what dose to give him, plus he is being treated for an infection and that could cause him to drop lower.
 
How much did you feed him? To get an accurate reading you should wait 2 hours after he eats to retest. If it was just a low-carb snack you should be ok going by the number you already got.

As far as dosing, you were in high 200s on 2u a few days aga. If you're home to monitor a skinny 2u should be ok. If you're not going to be home I'd go down a bit more - 1.8u if you have u100 syringes, 1.75u if you don't.
 
Last edited:
@ShipsCat, This is Wolfey I took Buddy's PMPS is number is 204. I do not know what dose to give him, plus he is being treated for an infection and that could cause him to drop lower.
Hi Teresa,

Just finished my dinner and doing my cats' routine. This drop might be because the antibiotics are helping his UTI. I see on your SS that you gave 1.5 u on a PS of 225 on Feb 22. Your BG isn't that much lower tonight. Why not try 1.5 u and monitor this evening.?
 
How much did you feed him? To get an accurate reading you should wait 2 hours after he eats to retest.
I am not for sure what time he stopped eating, because he was in the kitchen and I was in another room. He did eat, guess I was not thinking when I feed him. He ate probably 1tea. of FriskiesFlakedTuna with Egg and some YA.
 
I am not for sure what time he stopped eating, because he was in the kitchen and I was in another room. He did eat, guess I was not thinking when I feed him. He ate probably 1tea. of FriskiesFlakedTuna with Egg and some YA.
Are you at your normal shot time? You can either wait and retest or test right now and give a lowered dose (1.5 u?). It depends on whether you want to keep your schedule as is or not. I think 1.5 u should be OK but test at +2 to see what he's doing.
 
Are you at your normal shot time? You can either wait and retest or test right now and give a lowered dose (1.5 u?). It depends on whether you want to keep your schedule as is or not. I think 1.5 u should be OK but test at +2 to see what he's doing.
I appreciate your post to me, I was doing his PMPS a little early his normal time is about 7:30. Even if I wait, I could get him back on schedule tomorrow.
 
1.5u is a better choice than what I suggested :cat: I'm glad Kris was around!

I was just doing a quick scan of your ss and didn't see the dose on the low 200. And so far I don't have any personal experience with dosing while a cat is on antibiotics either.
 
1.5u is a better choice than what I suggested :cat: I'm glad Kris was around!

I was just doing a quick scan of your ss and didn't see the dose on the low 200. And so far I don't have any personal experience with dosing while a cat is on antibiotics either.
The slightly higher doses might work too but I know that Teresa wants to be cautious, especially with the antibiotics possibly causing lower BGs by healing the UTI.
 
Hi Teresa! Sorry I was just walking in the door when you posted...didn't see it til just now. Glad Kris was around!

They do sometimes give pain meds for a UTI...depends on the vet and the cat. I usually request it because cats are good at hiding their pain and I want them to feel better ASAP and not associate the box with pain. I think Buddy should be fine, though...usually the pain meds are only for the first 2 or 3 days so Buddy is almost at that mark.
 
Hi Teresa! Sorry I was just walking in the door when you posted...didn't see it til just now. Glad Kris was around!

They do sometimes give pain meds for a UTI...depends on the vet and the cat. I usually request it because cats are good at hiding their pain and I want them to feel better ASAP and not associate the box with pain. I think Buddy should be fine, though...usually the pain meds are only for the first 2 or 3 days so Buddy is almost at that mark.
All docs are so funny about pain meds now a days. I know they hide pain too well .
 
Hi Teresa,

Just finished my dinner and doing my cats' routine. This drop might be because the antibiotics are helping his UTI. I see on your SS that you gave 1.5 u on a PS of 225 on Feb 22. Your BG isn't that much lower tonight. Why not try 1.5 u and monitor this evening.?
Kris, you always have an good reply.
 
You're welcome!

I'm really not familiar with how antibiotics might affect insulin need, so it's great to have people with more experience. Also I'll never be upset when someone follows different advice than I gave. It's your cat and you know him best! :cat:
 
You're welcome!

I'm really not familiar with how antibiotics might affect insulin need, so it's great to have people with more experience. Also I'll never be upset when someone follows different advice than I gave. It's your cat and you know him best! :cat:
I am happy when someone answers my post. I like to get several different points of view, I do not have much experience with this and everything helps me.
 
This morning Buddy is at 191, I am going to wait 20 minutes with no food and take again. If this does not work, I will be begging for help.
 
I see you were brave last night and woke up to a lovely blue PS this AM. Good for you for taking a risk! What dose are you thinking of for today? Can you monitor?
 
I waited 20 minutes and took again it was 157. I have another monitor of the same kind, took it again it was 175. Buddy is running after me and Mother wanting someone to feed him.
Well, he's staying fairly level at a lovely number. You have some choices:
  1. don't shoot at all;
  2. stall again for 20 minutes up to a total of 60 minutes, testing after each 20 min chunk, until you see if he's going up then give a reduced dose;
  3. shoot a very low dose (maybe 0.5 u?) right now and feed him;
  4. feed him, wait about 45 minutes, retest and then shoot a reduced but slightly higher dose (maybe 1 u?);
I've done all three things with Teasel before. The least ideal option is no insulin at all. You don't want to lose momentum.
 
Last edited:
@Kris & Teasel,
I waited
Well, he's staying fairly level at a lovely number. You have some choices:
  1. don't shoot at all;
  2. stall again for 20 minutes up to a total of 60 minutes, testing after each 20 min chunk, until you see if he's going up then give a reduced dose;
  3. shoot a very low dose (maybe 0.5 u?) right now and feed him;
  4. feed him, wait about 45 minutes, retest and then shoot a reduced but slightly higher dose (maybe 1 u?);
I've done all three things with Teasel before. The least ideal option is no insulin at all. You don't want to lose momentum.
I know he needs some insulin. I waited another 20 minutes, took readings with both monitors and got 186 and 183. He does not seem to be going up. Do you think his meds for UTI are the reason his numbers are lower.
 
@Kris & Teasel,
I waited
I know he needs some insulin. I waited another 20 minutes, took readings with both monitors and got 186 and 183. He does not seem to be going up. Do you think his meds for UTI are the reason his numbers are lower.
What do you think of trying 0.5 u? You can monitor today, right? The test at +2 is a good one to give an idea of what he'll do. Yes, I think that treating the UTI is helping.
 
What do you think of trying 0.5 u? You can monitor today, right? The test at +2 is a good one to give an idea of what he'll do. Yes, I think that treating the UTI is helping.
I feed him, for all his begging he ate very little. I was waiting 45 minutes to retest. But if his numbers have not come up a lot, I will give him .5 u. I appreciate your help, you know more about all the things that have been going on with Buddy.
 
Yes, that's a good plan, Teresa. He might have gone lower last night and now he's starting a bounce.
Buddy has been eating Friskies Flaked Tuna with Egg and YA for several days. With the Friskies he is eating 1 can a day, at one time he was eating 3 cans of Royal Canin a day. After his surgery he had went down to 2 cans a day of Royal Canin. I believe that Royal Canin has more carbs in 2 cans than 1 can of the Friskies. I don't know about the carbs in YA, it is advertised as no carbs. The YA I have says ZERO carbs. He has not had any Royal Canin since he started eating the Friskies. I wonder if this plays a part in his BG being lower.
 
Buddy has been eating Friskies Flaked Tuna with Egg and YA for several days. With the Friskies he is eating 1 can a day, at one time he was eating 3 cans of Royal Canin a day. After his surgery he had went down to 2 cans a day of Royal Canin. I believe that Royal Canin has more carbs in 2 cans than 1 can of the Friskies. I don't know about the carbs in YA, it is advertised as no carbs. The YA I have says ZERO carbs. He has not had any Royal Canin since he started eating the Friskies. I wonder if this plays a part in his BG being lower.
Yes, this could be a part of it.
 
By changing his food you have decreased his carb intake quite a bit. That can really help with his blood sugar.

Great numbers this morning by the way :)
 
By changing his food you have decreased his carb intake quite a bit. That can really help with his blood sugar.

Great numbers this morning by the way :)
I appreciate you checking in, I need all the help I can get. Buddy had surgery in February, he frequently had pancreatitis for several years. One morning he was very sick, painful to the touch and running a temperature. I took him to the vet he removed the tail of his pancreas, his spleen, inflamed tissue and inflamed fat surrounding the pancreas. He may be still getting over his surgery and with the diet change maybe it will all make his diabetes better. Plus hopefully getting rid of a UTI.
 
I gave Buddy his shot @10:42 a.m. How early do you think it would be safe to give him his PMPS shot. I know a vet that goes only 10 hrs. before a shot. Just wondering what you think.
I generally use one hour as my guide for being off schedule. Would 9:42 PM work for you, then you could go to 8:42 AM tomorrow?
 
I generally use one hour as my guide for being off schedule. Would 9:42 PM work for you, then you could go to 8:42 AM tomorrow?
I could make it work for Buddy's sake. He has had enough problems without me causing him any. I have an appointment tomorrow, I will be gone right when Buddy is at this lowest level. He loves his dry food, maybe if I leave some out that would keep him from BG getting low.
 
I ordered U-100 syringes and I just got them. The ones I received have markings at 10,15,20.25 & 30. I don't understand how to us them, if you use 2.0 u-40 insulin, you would need to draw up to 5.0 in a u-100 syringe. This syringe only goes to 30. The syringes I have are CAREPOINT VET u-100 3/10cc 31G x5/16. If anyone has these please tell me how to use them.
 
I haven't used those specific syringes, but they should work with the conversion chart. They sound like the correct kind.
 
I ordered U-100 syringes and I just got them. The ones I received have markings at 10,15,20.25 & 30. I don't understand how to us them, if you use 2.0 u-40 insulin, you would need to draw up to 5.0 in a u-100 syringe. This syringe only goes to 30. The syringes I have are CAREPOINT VET u-100 3/10cc 31G x5/16. If anyone has these please tell me how to use them.
These are the correct syringes, Teresa. Yes, if you need 2 u of ProZinc (U40) you would draw up to the 5 mark on the U100 syringes. Do they have half unit marks on them?
 
These are the correct syringes, Teresa. Yes, if you need 2 u of ProZinc (U40) you would draw up to the 5 mark on the U100 syringes. Do they have half unit marks on them?
I have not opened any of the packages because I thought they were the wrong ones. I believe that the cap is covering a 5 mark. I do not see a half unit mark, but I think that there is either 4 or 5 marks between each unit. How would you draw up 3.0 U-40 insulin, the conversion chart says 7.5 for u-100 syringes, but they only go to 30. Is the 30 u-100 what you would use for 12.0 u-40 insulin. Sorry, I am so stupid.
 
I'm a bit confused I think Teresa...sorry I'm kind of slow in the mind today. The man had a wisdom tooth extraction and I'm exhausted from worrying!

If you have 30 available on the syringe, 7.5 should be something you can get, right? I think I'm just misunderstanding your question....
 
Psht. I could tell you some stories about a stupid person....me. TRUST ME, you won't even compare. ;)

It's good to double check and make sure you've got everything right and there really ARE no dumb questions when it comes to our babies safety! :bighug:
 
I'm a bit confused I think Teresa...sorry I'm kind of slow in the mind today. The man had a wisdom tooth extraction and I'm exhausted from worrying!

If you have 30 available on the syringe, 7.5 should be something you can get, right? I think I'm just misunderstanding your question....
I think I was expecting the mark for 7.0 on u-100 syringes to be bigger than a little mark between 5 & 10
Who is the man.
 
Ahhh I gotcha! My boyfriend...he's doing well, but I always worry when surgery happens!
Hope your boyfriend is doing well. Did you read my post about the u-100 syringes. Did what I said make any sense, because I'm still not sure about these syringe. I cannot use these until I am sure about them.
 
I believe they are the right ones Teresa. From what I recall the marks weren't that big.
 
I looked at the pkg again and it says Half Unit Markings. I am stupid.
Sounds like the right syringes, Teresa. Don't worry about the 30 mark. You'll never need it to dose Buddy - that would be a very high dose indeed. Be sure to use the chart to draw up doses but a quick way to remember is that whatever dose you want in ProZinc, you need to draw up 2.5 times that on the U100. To use your example, if you want 3 u of ProZinc (U40), you draw up 3 x 2.5 = 7.5 on the U100 syringes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top