Bouncing numbers kinda worried

Status
Not open for further replies.
I see Cloud went full tilt boogey to green last night. While 70 is a great number it is also a bit lower than I recommend having him go when you cannot monitor him and because that low number at this point in time is likely to set off another bounce. I'm glad you checked him again to catch that lower reading and hope you gave him some food to boost his BG back up a bit and slow down the drop. You'll likely have a higher AMPS again this morning which is totally expected and nothing to worry about.

Cloud dropped more than 50% of his pre-shot last night so if I were you, I'd definitely reduce his dose today to 1.5u because you will be at work and unable to monitor him and he's still coming down too fast/much to stop the bouncing. Ideally the goal at this point should be to try to keep Clouds' BG at 90 or above just to be safe.
 
Indeed! Very glad Cloud's momma was open to our thoughts :) and he's earning himself another reduction :cat:.
I like aiming for nadir of 90 for when you are not home, trapnurse, and as he doesn't get pushed too low for nadir, we might see less bouncing and the preshots gradually coming down on their own :D. Wow, that was a run-on sentence, don't tell my old English professor o_O

ETA: It doesn't look like Cloud spends a lot of time on the trampoline (anti-jinx), so that's good!
 
Updated spreadsheet, I'm literally blown away with how much more this place and all of you have helped me with cloud! My vet well.... he's good for other things but he never seemed to grasp what's going on here. Maybe lack if diabetic patients? But thank goodness I found you guys, I'd be out of my mind by now if not.
Whooohoo! Love that preshot!
 
Updated before work he was at 147 i have high hopes for his pre shot though I'm curious if I still give 1.5 or 1 if he's at 140 or about still.
 
Updated before work he was at 147 i have high hopes for his pre shot though I'm curious if I still give 1.5 or 1 if he's at 140 or about still.
It has lots of time to go up. I would be very surprised if it were 140 at preshot. If it's under 200 post for advise. If it's close to 200 we may suggest a reduced dose. If it is indeed 140 we would say to stall without feeding for 30 min and retest. From that you would skip if still low or shoot a reduced amount if it's going up. .
 
Last edited:
It has lots of time to go up. I would be very surprised if it were 140 at preshot. If it's under 200 post for advise. If it's close to 200 we may suggest a reduced dose. If it is indeed 140 we would say to stall without feeding for 30 min and retest. From that you would skip if still low or shoot a reduced amount if it's going up. .
I am nearly able to go home, currently onbraak got to read updated alerts. I'm hoping he didn't just shoot down while I was at work. he still had some food left from his breakfast serving this morning when I left so here to hoping but this advice really does help. I'll update spreadsheet asap. In maybe tops 30 minutes.
 
Report back! updated spread sheet he's in the 200's and I feel confident about this at least! Im getting a grip on this so i can leave for work with out worrying about coming home to worst case scenario. :joyful:
Im hoping his blood sugar doesnt drop to 70 like it did last time. I can stay up fairly late but i try to sleep by midnight or 2 at the very latest.
 
Last edited:
Not sure why you decided to give him 2u again tonight but assume it was because of the higher PMPS??? If you stick with the same dose (1.5u) then it should smooth out the bouncing and actually bring the pre-shot numbers down. When you change the dose around like that while trying to find the best dose, it can muddy the waters and actually slow the process down rather than speed it up. Sliding scales can work with a regulated cat, but you are still in the early days and I think that will just confuse the situation more than necessary. I'd hold the 1.5u for a few days unless the pre-shot is too low or his nadir is lower than ideal.
 
I think I read your advice wrong. I thought you meant to just give him a lowered dose that one time because of the crazy low readings. I'm sorry. Ill will reduce it to 1.5 in the morning and stick with that from now on. I'm pretty sure I just got confused is all. hopefully this wont throw him Off too much! Sorry!! :arghh:
 
I think I read your advice wrong. I thought you meant to just give him a lowered dose that one time because of the crazy low readings. I'm sorry. Ill will reduce it to 1.5 in the morning and stick with that from now on. I'm pretty sure I just got confused is all. hopefully this wont throw him Off too much! Sorry!! :arghh:
The pmps was close to 300... I think the 2 units will be fine. :). Much better numbers recently! I have high hopes for your kitty. 70 wasn't a dangerous number. A little low for the preshot, but safe overall.
 
I might suggest 1.75 in those higher 200's, and 1.5 in the lower 200's. I'm interested to see what the amps is.
 
I will start on the 1.5 tomorrow and keep an eye on his levels. I am staying up late to watch his glucose till at least an hour now. Then if I wake up middle of the night I'll do it again. I just wish I had read mr.worfmens advice better!
 
I will start on the 1.5 tomorrow and keep an eye on his levels. I am staying up late to watch his glucose till at least an hour now. Then if I wake up middle of the night I'll do it again. I just wish I had read mr.worfmens advice better!
No biggie..... 2 will be fine. It's a marathon go to sleep if it's late. Lol she was suggesting lower to even out bounces, not that 2 was unsafe at this point.
 
NO apologies required. :) Cloud is your cat and you need to do what you are comfortable with. Cloud never reached any dangerous levels on 2u so you made a sound decision. My suggestion was more about trying to keep those pre-shots down and keep the drops from being quite so dramatic until Cloud gets more used the lower numbers and to offer that little extra piece of mind when you can't monitor to be sure he doesn't drop any lower than 70. You made a decision based on what you saw and understood and Cloud is fine so all is good!:D
 
Yeah a green BG! It's early in the cycle though so if you just took that reading I would give Cloud a small snack of low carb food to slow any further drop. Are you home to monitor the rest of this cycle today? If not then at what point in the cycle do you have to leave for work?
 
Yeah a green BG! It's early in the cycle though so if you just took that reading I would give Cloud a small snack of low carb food to slow any further drop. Are you home to monitor the rest of this cycle today? If not then at what point in the cycle do you have to leave for work?

I'm leaving for work in ten minutes but I gave him some more wet food. He's at 67 now. I'm not sure if this is good or bad but he's seeming to need less and less insulin?
Also not sure if it has any effect on his insulin or diabetes condition but it is in the hundred degrees outside for the next week and a half here. It's 80 in my apartment and too expensive to run ac but we leave the fans on high. Cloud seems to be eating quite a bit of his food though if that's a good sign?
 
Ok before you go to work, please put down some high carb food with a bit of honey or karo syrup mixed in and get his numbers up a bit. 67 on Novolin N is cutting it close and you don't want him dropping anymore while you are gone. The honey/karo will raise BG quickly and the high carb food will last longer. Also leave some more food out for him so he has something more to eat if he needs it. We will need to reduce again tonight. Will post suggestion but want to get this off now.
 
@Kris & Teasel I don't see Trapnurse online now so I hope she left some food for Cloud. I wanted to get my note off quickly. Now I am worried about Cloud! :nailbiting:You're so right about not shooting if he's below 200 and needing more data but I think it's safe to say even at 200 I think the dose should be reduced to 1u to keep Cloud safe.Thoughts?
 
@Kris & Teasel I don't see Trapnurse online now so I hope she left some food for Cloud. I wanted to get my note off quickly. Now I am worried about Cloud! :nailbiting:You're so right about not shooting if he's below 200 and needing more data but I think it's safe to say even at 200 I think the dose should be reduced to 1u to keep Cloud safe.Thoughts?
Yes, I agree that the dose should drop to 1 u after today's results. Also, no shot tonight if BG is below 200.
 
I can be on here at work my room mate is at home I can contact him to give him some more high carb crunchy food now with a bit of honey over it. So 1 unit tonight if above 200 and none at all if below? Or less then 1?
 
If my room mate would answer the phone that'd be great but he's not so I'm crossing my fingers he's not ignoring me. Also you can call me Allie! I just thought we were supposed to go by the username !
 
What name you use is entirely up to you Allie but most of use our first names and it just makes it a bit easier in the long run. I'm Linda BTW.:D I take it you are a nurse? If so we have that in common although I am long retired. Cloud is doing beautifully but we need to keep him safe. We kind of virtually adopt all the kitties who cross our path here so forgive us if we get a bit frantic when kitty throws a low number at an inconvenient time.
Probably a stupid question but any chance your roommate can test Cloud?
 
Cloud won't let him touch him very much and goes into full out run and hide when he tries to do sadly no. But he's leaving for work soon. And no actually it's a username relating to a favorite horror video game as a child :oops:.
Room mates currently trying to get him to eat a bit of honey. But it's stressful on both parties. He got him to eat one treat drizzled with honey.
I'm actually a security gaurd going into phlebotomy.
 
Not familiar with the video game. Probably just too old! :woot: So you are heading into a medical profession! Close enough! :D Too bad your roommate can't test but that's OK. Get him to leave a good portion of food out for Cloud to munch on should he need it before he leaves for work. No need for the honey if he leaves enough food and we don't want to taint the food if Cloud doesn't like it with the honey on it!
 
Not familiar with the video game. Probably just too old! :woot: So you are heading into a medical profession! Close enough! :D Too bad your roommate can't test but that's OK. Get him to leave a good portion of food out for Cloud to munch on should he need it before he leaves for work. No need for the honey if he leaves enough food and we don't want to taint the food if Cloud doesn't like it with the honey on it!
The game is silent hill. The name refers to the bubble head nurses that always wait around the corner to ambus me! Creepy stuff. My room mate managed to get him to eat like 4 crunchy treats rolls in honey and left his wet food out for him if he gets hungry. Not sure why cloud dislikes him touching him but loves me. He has sneaky ways to make cloud do what he needs to though ( feeds then insulin. Sneak from back while he's eating if I am not home to give it. Or have been held after work. ) he should be okay now that he's eaten some honey drizzled treats though I think.
 
He's still got some room to drop before any problem would occur but you want to head them off early rather than later. The fact that he has food and has had some honey coated treats should keep him up. That was totally unexpected but it happens sometimes. Glad you have your roommate to help out. Will be looking forward to seeing what his PMPS looks like. He'll likely bounce again with that 67 so I would definitely decrease his dose to 1u for now. :)
 
updating spread sheet but he dropped to 40 BG after two hours after his shot of 1 unit. im at a loss here as you why he always goes crazy low....
addition:: i imeadiatly gave him honey and crunchy food. He'd not showing any signs of hypo he seems Okay. I jsut am getting really worried about how i could be going wrong with this. i don't want to keep Torturing him. Ill be staying up again tonight to try and monitor him.
 
He's at 40 now? Please give him some honey or karo syrup immediately. Do you have any high carb food available? If so follow the honey/karo with either the gravy off high carb food or a tsp of the food. If you have already done this, please retest again to see if he is coming up.
 
Cloud is obviously on a mission and you are going to have to monitor him very closely for awhile because he is no where near nadir. You need to get his BG up to 100 ASAP. Please post the next reading. Is there an emergency vet in your area?
 
He's at 96 now! just retested him. what does Nadir mean? and yes there is but im so broke from the last time I could never afford another vet.
 
Breathe! You didn't do anything wrong and you are NOT torturing him! He is throwing you curve balls and the fact that you caught him dropping means you can keep him safe! How long his shot now? Have you retested him? If so what was that reading and how long after his shot was it taken?
 
Seems unlikely you will need the ER vet if his BG is up now but that could just be a temporary rise due to sugary stuff so you are going to have to monitor and keep him there. Do you have any high carb wet food available? Right now you want to keep his numbers where they are and not push him up too far but the sugary stuff will wear off quickly. The crunchies will stick with him awhile though so that's a good thing. How long since his shot now?
 
its 1:45 am now. I gave him his shot at 11:30 Pm. it was 202. I gave him one unit. I checked him again in two hours after that at 1:30 and it was 40. I checked jsut minuts ago it was 96.
 
Seems unlikely you will need the ER vet if his BG is up now but that could just be a temporary rise due to sugary stuff so you are going to have to monitor and keep him there. Do you have any high carb wet food available? Right now you want to keep his numbers where they are and not push him up too far but the sugary stuff will wear off quickly. The crunchies will stick with him awhile though so that's a good thing. How long since his shot now?
I dont have any high carb wet food no. I have a lot of crunchy food. but he's not eating his wet food right now either. he might have a full tummy. I have dental crunchy treats they are what ive been using . I also have dry food thats ' grain free' but it always rose his bg.
 
Ok. Summary
Shot 11:30pm
+2 - 40
+2.25 - 96

How many of the crunchies did you give him? The trick is to give the cat something that is less filling so he will eat when you need him to. Will he eat a bit of the dry food? We want to keep his numbers up but not push them too high either. If you give him dry food just give a little.
 
I give him like 5 little crunchy treats. getting him to eat his wet food with out force feeding in this situation would be impossible. he'll have to want to eat..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top