Allie & Cloud
Member
its 2 am and he's at 114 BG. any theories about his insulin dosage? what could possibly be making this go horribly Horribly wrong?
That I'm afraid is a rare animal. There are a few but to be honest, I've seen a lot of nonsense come out of vets who supposedly have had their own diabetic cats!. You need a vet who will work with you as a partner but you need to take control of the diabetes because you are the one who knows your cat best, and are holding the needle. Once you have lots of data, it becomes much easier to handle. Your vet had Cloud on too much insulin and it becomes impossible to know how much of any BG reading is due to bouncing as opposed to a naturally occurring high BG. In the best case scenario, you start with a low dose of insulin and work up slowly so you don't miss the ideal dose AND you home test rather than have curves done at the vet to determine what that proper dose is. A lot of vets don't think people can home test their cats so they don't even suggest it but that means that the vet is prescribing insulin based on stress elevated BG numbers obtained in the clinic.better vet thats insulin smart / diabetic smart.
I just got a notification that the file was in the owner's trash.I took a copy to be on the safe side!
.
Thanks for the advice! I'll be testing and I'll give him the 0.25 if it's like 250 or above. Crossing fingers for good luck!That's Ok. You got one heck of a surprise last night and while his pre-shot is higher this morning, it's not gone way way up so I still think since we now know 1u is too much that skipping the shot this AM knowing you cannot monitor is a good decision. He may be more sensitive to insulin right now and we don't want him all of a sudden dropping again while you are at work. There is likely some degree of bouncing in that 296 which could break at any time. I'll try to check in tonight just before shot time but I can't guarantee since that'll be 01:00 to 01:30 my time! I think you should be safe giving 0.25u as long as the pre-shot is 200 or more. If he happens to come down below that, please post for suggestions in Health forum or skip the shot again if you don't get a response. No telling how many folks might be on the board at that time of the night/morning.
I plan to! He loves that stuff! He's put up with so much and been so good I just want his BG levels to be ok. But I'm sure he'll appreciate a new big pack stash of fishy goodness~Make sure you put tuna on the grocery list for Cloud!![]()
I'm curious but why LESS for a higher BG then more?200-270 I'd do 0.25
270+ I'd do 0.5
Actually, Janet has suggested more for the higher range (above 270) - half a unit. She's suggested a quarter unit for the lower range of 200 to 270.I'm curious but why LESS for a higher BG then more?
Huh? 0.5 is more than 0.25. I think you read that wrongI'm curious but why LESS for a higher BG then more?
I'll need to learn these numbers better then. I operated thinking it went in 100s I'm sorry is I sound really ill equipped intelligence wise math was never easy for me. I thought 0.25 would be like one quarter of a whole shot. Like 1/4 is just one price of a whole 4 cups if that makes sense. I'm going to go research this better now while I have down time.Huh? 0.5 is more than 0.25. I think you read that wrong
No problem! Just ask any time you aren't clear on anything. We can always find other ways to convey information.I'll need to learn these numbers better then. I operated thinking it went in 100s I'm sorry is I sound really ill equipped intelligence wise math was never easy for me. I thought 0.25 would be like one quarter of a whole shot. Like 1/4 is just one price of a whole 4 cups if that makes sense. I'm going to go research this better now while I have down time.
Linda saved my furbutt. I have nothing but respect for how much knowledge she has.Lots of excitement overnight! And that was just on 1.0U, thinking of where he was 9 days ago. Glad Linda was here with you, you did very good!