Patti and Merlin
Member Since 2009
Hi everyone. I'm usually known as Patti and Merlin(an acrokitty who is now at the Bridge). We adopted Boris - 15 yrs old - a known diabetic in January of this year. He came with Vetsulin. LONG story short - we weaned him off insulin within 2 weeks. But about 1 month ago he became ill (he's maine coon and only 7# - came to us in pretty bad shape). He's now on Prednisolone for cholangiohepatitis, Ursodial, Denamarin. He is MUCH improved! BUT needless to say - he is back on insulin and the prednisolone is here to stay for awhile. We've been limping along with the Vetsulin as we had hoped the need was temporary. (used a sliding scale we were used to with Merlin altho he was on PZI). Boris' BG's have been for the most part kept in the 100's with preshots the highest of 250's.
Tonite we are transitioning to Lantus. He weighs 3.5kg. The vet (long story) is not my favorite but willing to work with me and has left dosing for the most part up to me. If I figure it out according to The tilly protocol that's written and Dr Rand - Boris should get 0.25u/kg bid. So about 0.75units bid.
Soo - do I really start there - or should I start with just 0.5 units bid or go to 1 units bid. This Lantus is a learning experience for me
Boris is on an all canned food diet. We hometest like crazy. We'll most likely be giving his insulin at 9 and 9 as that works for our work schedules. I'm working on setting up a spreadsheet - so far it's named - can't seem to get the link yet ..... I'm computer delayed!
Please if you could help me - it would be greatly appreciated. I'm more comfortable in the land of hi dose - not this! THANKS SO MUCH!!!
Tonite we are transitioning to Lantus. He weighs 3.5kg. The vet (long story) is not my favorite but willing to work with me and has left dosing for the most part up to me. If I figure it out according to The tilly protocol that's written and Dr Rand - Boris should get 0.25u/kg bid. So about 0.75units bid.
Soo - do I really start there - or should I start with just 0.5 units bid or go to 1 units bid. This Lantus is a learning experience for me
Boris is on an all canned food diet. We hometest like crazy. We'll most likely be giving his insulin at 9 and 9 as that works for our work schedules. I'm working on setting up a spreadsheet - so far it's named - can't seem to get the link yet ..... I'm computer delayed!
Please if you could help me - it would be greatly appreciated. I'm more comfortable in the land of hi dose - not this! THANKS SO MUCH!!!