Boris - NEW to Lantus

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patti and Merlin

Member Since 2009
Hi everyone. I'm usually known as Patti and Merlin(an acrokitty who is now at the Bridge). We adopted Boris - 15 yrs old - a known diabetic in January of this year. He came with Vetsulin. LONG story short - we weaned him off insulin within 2 weeks. But about 1 month ago he became ill (he's maine coon and only 7# - came to us in pretty bad shape). He's now on Prednisolone for cholangiohepatitis, Ursodial, Denamarin. He is MUCH improved! BUT needless to say - he is back on insulin and the prednisolone is here to stay for awhile. We've been limping along with the Vetsulin as we had hoped the need was temporary. (used a sliding scale we were used to with Merlin altho he was on PZI). Boris' BG's have been for the most part kept in the 100's with preshots the highest of 250's.

Tonite we are transitioning to Lantus. He weighs 3.5kg. The vet (long story) is not my favorite but willing to work with me and has left dosing for the most part up to me. If I figure it out according to The tilly protocol that's written and Dr Rand - Boris should get 0.25u/kg bid. So about 0.75units bid.

Soo - do I really start there - or should I start with just 0.5 units bid or go to 1 units bid. This Lantus is a learning experience for me

Boris is on an all canned food diet. We hometest like crazy. We'll most likely be giving his insulin at 9 and 9 as that works for our work schedules. I'm working on setting up a spreadsheet - so far it's named - can't seem to get the link yet ..... I'm computer delayed!

Please if you could help me - it would be greatly appreciated. I'm more comfortable in the land of hi dose - not this! THANKS SO MUCH!!!
 
welcome to LL, Patti!

The protocol actually calls for starting at 0.25 units per kg of ideal weight. With that in mind, I would think 1u would be a decent starting dose, especially if you test a lot. I know you have been using a sliding scale for Vetsulin, but what would you say was an average dose for him?

Spreadsheet link works fine for me...

I know what you mean about needing to get used to something different. Lucy wasn't a low dose cat by any means, and Jazzy isn't very high dose for an acro, but it's still hard to get used to shooting 10.5 units when she's blue. :shock: It's also weird for me to see flat curves (Lucy didn't do flat) and not to aim for green. It's a whole different ball game.
 
Ohhhh thank you Libby.

Boris was needing on avg about 2.4 units Vetsulin/day. We tested alot as it was a learning thing too with that insulin but I knew it was a shorter acting one too. (Merlin had been on it for a brief time so I also had an idea about how quick it worked.) I would thin Boris SHOULD weigh about 10# at least but like I said - he wasn't in the best shape when we got him - skinny, matted, no hometesting.

Typically my DH is up late to test till about 1am and I'm up early (due to our work schedules) so we can get alot of tests in. I'll be reading alot more.

It's "funny" for Joe and me - Merlin's smallest dose was 10units on his sliding scale. We've been giving Boris - 0.8 units roughly tid. @-) We keep checking to make sure it's really correct! :shock:

THANK YOU sooo much. And give your Lucy and Jazzy big hugs!

We'll be giving 1 unit tonite @ 9pm PDT. nailbite_smile
 
Welcome Patti!

Aside from starting dose, which Libby suggested, is sounds like you're good to go. I'm sorry to hear that Boris has had such a rough time. How's he doing now? Has he started to gain any weight back? I would think an adult Maine Coon should weigh in more than 10#. My 1.5yo Norwegian Forest Cat is over 13# and the breed is a little smaller than Maine Coons.

Please let us know how we can help.
 
hi pattie! welcome to the group!
how's boris feeling these days? poor guy. sounds like he's been through a lot. he's lucky to have found you...
 
Oh thank you - all of you!

Actually he is doing good - ever since - I hate to say it - since being put on the Prednisolone and Ursodial. He eats like a champ. In the last month we've gotten him to gain .6 lbs. We'd been trying everything the last 8 months before that to get him to gain weight. He'd eat but not gain weight. He's a happy guy and loves to purr. VERY affectionate. Lets me test him no problem. He's part of the "B" team - Boris and Barney - steals food whenever they can. We had to get him shaved the 2nd month of having him. The matts were just too awful - but now his fur is growing in nice and long and he's gradually letting me comb him without biting me all the time! :twisted: We LOVE him to death. As far as his weight - I figured 10# for a starting goal - I'd be thrilled! :-D Right now I feel I just have alot of learning to do with the Lantus. It took me....well I won't say how long it took me to make the spreadsheet! :?
 
hey, if it takes prednisolone and ursodiol... so be it. alex has been on ursodiol and denamarin for months now. i think they've made all the difference in the world for her. i'm just curious... did your vet mention anything to you about the possibility of ursodiol depleting the body of taurine? mine did, but i haven't heard anyone else using ursodiol mention it. i'm supplementing with a pinch of taurine daily (just in case). lol!
 
Hi Patti--What a great bean you are to have found this dear Boris! Sounds like a sweet heart--
Just to say that-- forget what you know about other insulins, lantus is different--Jill posted a great thing tonite No Tickee No Washee, which is for the newbies to read & would be great for you to read too...Much dosing info is in there & please dont forget to read the other stickies at the top of the forum page.
As you have experience on the fdmb, you are at an advantage.. I just can see that Boris will flourish under your care-
Many Hugs & Welcome to Lantus Land!!
 
Oh I'll be a reading BIG time. Have read all the stickies at the top but will reread them again!

And will check out the no tickee....:)

Jill - haven't heard about needing the extra taurine due to the Ursodial but it sure wouldn't hurt would it!? He's also on Denamarin too. Our Simba was VERY ill with very elevated liver tests in February and is on all the same things too. Also his vet (a specialist) had us add Vit B12 injections so I added that to Boris too. I have a huge bottle so figured it couldn't hurt him either as it's a water soluble vitamin. Anything to help his health. I keep meaning to get some xobaline as his back legs seem a little weak.

Sooo his first 1 u of Lantus is given. He was 228 PS = pretty typical of him when we let him go too long on the Vetsulin. I hadn't given him a dose of that since early this afternoon. And we are on our wayyyyyyy....... :-D
 
I'm going to presume you've seen this, but just in case: Waltham symposium: Feline Cholangiohepatitis.

It sounds like Jill's vet is on top of the pharmacology of Urodiol. Apparently, it's conjugated with either taurine or glycine in the liver and then excreted into the bile. So, it sounds like taurine is bound to the drug and it could deplete bioavailable taurine. The info is in the pharmacokinetics section of this description of the FDA information.
 
Hi Pattie

just wanted to welcome you and Boris to Lantus Land!
Sorry you have to be here, but you are in excellent hands - or paws :lol: :lol:
HELLO_KITTY_WAVE_ANI-big4533205.gif
 
Hi Patti. Sorry to hear about Boris's condition. I wasn't aware. He is certainly is in the very best hands with you and Joe.

Good luck with the Lantus. I think you and Boris will like it.
 
hi, Patti & Boris-


welcome to LL! it is a fun and mysterious place, jam-packed with experience and support...Binks and I love it here...

celi & binks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top