Basic's Mom
Member Since 2023
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-10-5-97-dosing-question.285859/#post-3145562
I've been giving Base reductions. He is down to 3.75 U (which is a lot, but less than he once needed).
This evening his preshot was 56. I checked it twice (same result) and myself to make sure the meter was working. I didn't give him his shot though. I'm afraid that he was even lower at his nadir, but I haven't tested all day. I'm in the process of moving. He has never had a preshot this low. I have already fed him. I know we typically don't, we stall and wait to see what the BG will do. However, he isn't a cat that is waiting for food. He starts letting me know it is feeding time a couple hours before and it is worse since his diet started a few months ago. He isn't losing weight. I am not comfortable dropping his calories much more than 300 because he is a big cat. My female is between 9-10 lbs and she gets 200 calories a day. Base weighs 22. While he is overweight, he is a big cat (tall & long).
Should I give him his full dose or give him another reduction, making his new dose 3.5 U?
Thanks in advance for the help.
@Bandit's Mom @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee
I've been giving Base reductions. He is down to 3.75 U (which is a lot, but less than he once needed).
This evening his preshot was 56. I checked it twice (same result) and myself to make sure the meter was working. I didn't give him his shot though. I'm afraid that he was even lower at his nadir, but I haven't tested all day. I'm in the process of moving. He has never had a preshot this low. I have already fed him. I know we typically don't, we stall and wait to see what the BG will do. However, he isn't a cat that is waiting for food. He starts letting me know it is feeding time a couple hours before and it is worse since his diet started a few months ago. He isn't losing weight. I am not comfortable dropping his calories much more than 300 because he is a big cat. My female is between 9-10 lbs and she gets 200 calories a day. Base weighs 22. While he is overweight, he is a big cat (tall & long).
Should I give him his full dose or give him another reduction, making his new dose 3.5 U?
Thanks in advance for the help.
@Bandit's Mom @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee
Last edited: