Basic 3/24 AMPS 86 PMPS 56

Basic's Mom

Member Since 2023
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-10-5-97-dosing-question.285859/#post-3145562

I've been giving Base reductions. He is down to 3.75 U (which is a lot, but less than he once needed).

This evening his preshot was 56. I checked it twice (same result) and myself to make sure the meter was working. I didn't give him his shot though. I'm afraid that he was even lower at his nadir, but I haven't tested all day. I'm in the process of moving. He has never had a preshot this low. I have already fed him. I know we typically don't, we stall and wait to see what the BG will do. However, he isn't a cat that is waiting for food. He starts letting me know it is feeding time a couple hours before and it is worse since his diet started a few months ago. He isn't losing weight. I am not comfortable dropping his calories much more than 300 because he is a big cat. My female is between 9-10 lbs and she gets 200 calories a day. Base weighs 22. While he is overweight, he is a big cat (tall & long).

Should I give him his full dose or give him another reduction, making his new dose 3.5 U?

Thanks in advance for the help.

@Bandit's Mom @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee
 
Last edited:
Test again now, it's been 20 minutes, let's see where he's at. Do you know what his typical numbers bump is from dinner?

He has not earned a reduction. We go by what we see, not by what might have been.
 
I gave him his dose. I can't mess up the schedule.

Yes, I will monitor him closely this evening.

When I'm doing his reductions, should I hold them for a week to make sure the new dose isn't being influenced by the old? To get a complete picture of what each dose is doing or should I be giving them faster?

Again, tanks for your help.
 
Thanks for the link (reminder).

I don't know if he is heading toward OTJ or not, but I need to do my part for him to the best of my ability. We will just focus on lower his dose right now without extra added pressure. Neither of us need it.

Thanks again.
 
Back
Top