9/2 Esca Dosing/Vacation question

Kirsta & Esca

Member Since 2022
Esca is on just a drop of insulin right now.
I am out of town already for a family issue and one of my husbands family members just passed, so he will be flying home on Saturday. We found last minute care for Esca, but she will not be present to test him throughout the day like we usually do.
He'll be tested twice a day, sometimes 3 - definitely AMPS and PMPS, and we're trying for midday with a friend.

My question is, since we are not there to check him, should we skip a dose for any preshot number other than 50? I am worried that if for any reason his PS is 60 he'll drop fast and no one will be there to check him regularly after his dose.

Additionally, I imagine he will be stressed with his parents being gone and two strangers coming in to check on him (so I imagine his numbers going up rather than dropping), but in this scenario, do I have the sitter increase his dose or stay the same since it would be due to stress? He will be with these "strangers" 8 days total.

I am hoping he keeps floating around where he has been, but just in case - any advice is appreciated!
 
How often is he going to be fed, apart from the preshot meals?
Do you think he will eat for your sitter?
Will you be in contact with your sitter during the 8 days?
I would leave out some higher carb food and honey/Karo in case it is needed with instructions on what to do.
I am heading to bed but I will tag @tiffmaxee so she can follow up with you.
 
He’ll be getting food in the auto feeder set to 4 hours, so eating will not be consistent apart from when he’s getting the AF refilled. He’s not on a feeding schedule normally anyway.

Yes I’ll be in contact with the sitter all 8 days.
I will definitely leave out his hypo kit, too.
 
How often are you feeding now? Have you counted the drops in your 0.10? There is a drop dose if there’s more than a drop in your 0.10. Since you are already away if you haven’t counted drops in your 0.10 it won’t help us though.
 
How often are you feeding now?
He’s free feeding. The auto feeder is filled in the AM and PM and he eats whenever he wants through the day. It turns for new food every 4 hours.

Have you counted the drops in your 0.10? There is a drop dose if there’s more than a drop in your 0.10. Since you are already away if you haven’t counted drops in your 0.10 it won’t help us though.
He’s on 1 drop. The plunger is pushed and released to just fill the needle, that’s all he gets! I thought it was the same thing, but I can change it on the SS if it’s supposed to recorded as something else.
 
Yes. 0.10 is more than a drop. We list a drop dose as drop. So his feeding won’t change. That’s good to know. He’s doing fine on a drop and not close to the danger zone. I think since you won’t be there I would say no shot if under 70 since you have shot 89. How does that feel?
@Bandit's Mom What do you think?
 
Oh got it - I’ll change it on the spread sheet and await what Bandit’s mom thinks too - but overall that sounds good to me. I’d definitely rather have him go high for a few days than worry about him dipping!
 
I agree. He is looking good on the drop dose and not going too low. If the sitter gets a lower preshot, she can always feed higher carbs with the shot or skip as Elise suggested.
 
Back
Top