Re: 8/7 Need Help! shoot or not Bobby AMPS 112
Thank you Amy, Yes Bobby is a newly diagnosed, here some of what I put in our other post
jucova30 » Fri Aug 01, 2014 2:06 pm
Hi, our boy Bobby Brown (AKA Bobby B) has just been diagnosed with diabetes on 7/23/14. He was acting very lethargy, sleeping all the time and waking up only to eat and go to potty.
Last week we took to the vet and they did a full blood test, and results came back with a BG of 480, according with the Vet everything else looks OK. At the time of the diagnoses, Bobby was on a prescription dry/food ( Urinary SO) for almost 8 years.
After many tries we finally were able to get him to eat wet food ( It was really hard to make him eat wet food), right now he is in Wellness kitten formula 80% of the time and dry food from Blue Buffalo at night, I am feeding him every 2 hours on the clock during the day. We have started to see some difference now and he is more aware when he is awake; he is playing, jumping and acting mischievous, like normal cats.
Now the scary part comes, Bobby will start his insulin treatment (Lantus 1u x2 a day) this Monday at the vet office, next day will continue at home, vet also wants me to test and monitor him at home and try to avoid bringing him to the office, so his BG does not get to elevated.
by jucova30 » Wed Aug 06, 2014 11:13 am
Thank you for all the great advice! to everyone in this wonderful group, we got so much information that is getting harder to digest.
This is where we are now. Since yesterday Bobby is in a 100% wet diet ( wellness kitten formula), before he was for 10 days in a 90% wet diet (kibbles at night).
Today 8/6/14 is his first day in the Lantus 1 unit x 2times. When he was diagnosed with Diabetes on 7/23/14 his BG was 460, On 7/25 I changed his diet to mostly wet, then I did a BG test on 8/4/14 and BG was 282. Today 8/6 (24 hours of complete wet diet) BG was 232 at 6:40 am. (at home Relion Confirm)
7:10 vet office BG 243 (alphatrak ) they gave him 1 unit of Lantus. (I am scared )
11:20 vet office BG 253 (alphatrak)
Questions?
Since his BG dropped so much in 2 weeks duet to change of diet and he keeps dropping now that he is in a 100% wet diet. Should I started him with .50 unit and from there if he needed increase to 1 unit ?
I think I will ask the Vet. if we should give him .50 for his next shot, I am so nervous right now. what should I be looking for so his numbers don't get to low?
I hope this make sense, any advice will be greatly appreciated!
Yesterday 8/6/ for his last shot the vet reduced to .50 unit, because he was improving so much with diet.
Today I was able to test BG early, but now we failed many times, we are taking a small break to try again latter ( I think is because I am so nervous right now)
As now I am filling up the spreadsheet, now I have to figure out how to attach to my signature