No food change. Just feeding him the pate. No other symptoms. He has been playing and tormenting his brother and sister last night and today.Here is yesterday's post for continuity: ? - 8/30- Leo - AMPS 153 and coming down slowly
Also, please change your date to reflect today's date: 8/31
Has Leo had a food change recently? Are there any other symptoms he's experiencing?
Sienne, Just to clarify, my Jude is over a year into his diagnosis, but Leo is not (dx 8/13/25). Tresa hasn't selected a dosing method at this point or at least not one I'm clear on.Just so you have this handy, this is the information on dosing methods that Mary was referring to. To fill in a bit more information, the Tight Regulation (TR) Protocol is a research based method that was developed by a leading veterinary researcher from University of Queensland. Jacqui Rand, DVM has done a great deal of research on the use of Lantus with diabetic cats. Her results were published in a leading veterinary journal. Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) was developed here. It's a dosing method that is used with several different types of insulin. TR is a more aggressive method. Both strategies have had success with getting cats into remission.
Regardless of which dosing method you choose, there is a cut point for when you reduce the dose. With TR, if your cat is within the first year of diagnosis, you reduce if numbers drop below 50. Since Jude is more than a year past his diagnosis, the dose reduction point is if numbers drop below 40. With SLGS, you drop if the numbers are below 90.
From your signature, it looks like you're following TR. However, that information isn't consistent with your spreadsheet. Could you clarify?
@Mary & Jude - if Tresa is following TR, Jude's numbers would need to drop below 40 to qualify for a dose reduction.
I gave him2.75 for his PM doseI suggested that 3 units might be too much insulin and I still feel that might be the case but without a dosing method or a known reduction number it might be fine since there hasn’t been a drop under 50 and there wasn’t another skip. Has there been a food change that’s causing the diarrhea? Looks like he might starting a bounce from the 52. If tge bg falls under 50 I would definitely reduce.
I have the syringes with the half unit markings. I gave him 2.75 this doseAlso, Tresa, which syringes are you using? They should have half unit markings. WHEN you do make adjustments (and I'm not suggesting a dose increase/decrease), we typically take those in .25 unit increments, and the syringes with half unit markings help to measure those finer doses. You had mentioned yesterday that 2 units was too low, so Leo was increased to 3 units. Just know that there are increments between 2 and 3 that Leo might need to adjust to as he continues his treatment. How to "Shoot" Your Cat
Where do I find the S. Boulardii?Just so you have this handy, this is the information on dosing methods that Mary was referring to. To fill in a bit more information, the Tight Regulation (TR) Protocol is a research based method that was developed by a leading veterinary researcher from University of Queensland. Jacqui Rand, DVM has done a great deal of research on the use of Lantus with diabetic cats. Her results were published in a leading veterinary journal. Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) was developed here. It's a dosing method that is used with several different types of insulin. TR is a more aggressive method. Both strategies have had success with getting cats into remission.
Regardless of which dosing method you choose, there is a cut point for when you reduce the dose. With TR, if your cat is within the first year of diagnosis, you reduce if numbers drop below 50.Since Jude is more than a year past his diagnosis, the dose reduction point is if numbers drop below 40.With SLGS, you drop if the numbers are below 90.
From your signature, it looks like you're following TR. However, that information isn't consistent with your spreadsheet. Could you clarify?
@Mary & Jude - if Tresa is following TR, Jude's numbers would need to drop below 40 to qualify for a dose reduction.
If Jude's diarrhea doesn't clear up, my most recommended remedy is a probiotic, S. boulardii. It is great with clearing up diarrhea.
(I crossed out information. Mary caught that I was looking at the wrong spreadsheet. It's been one of those days..... And thank you, Mary.)