? 8/31 - Leo - Diarrhea

Tresa, I'm noticing that you have as your dosing method on your ss "3 units per the vet." The dosing method isn't the number of units of insulin the cat receives; it's the method you follow to make changes in the dose according to Leo's response to the insulin. I posted some stickies for you on this yesterday. Here on the board, most of us follow Tightly Regulated (TR) or Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) methods; some follow custom dosing, but all of those dosing methods direct how much insulin we administer and when we adjust the insulin dose up or down, based on our cats' blood glucose numbers. If you do not give reductions when a cat is telling you he's getting too much insulin, you will definitely run the risk of a hypo episode.

Leo has experienced a lower number of 52 @ +7, which suggests that 3 units might be too much for him and that you might need to take a .25 reduction at the next shot.

I'm going to tag a couple of people who can answer your question about diarrhea, but who can also give you some dosing advice, especially since he's gone a bit lower this cycle.

@tiffmaxee @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
Just so you have this handy, this is the information on dosing methods that Mary was referring to. To fill in a bit more information, the Tight Regulation (TR) Protocol is a research based method that was developed by a leading veterinary researcher from University of Queensland. Jacqui Rand, DVM has done a great deal of research on the use of Lantus with diabetic cats. Her results were published in a leading veterinary journal. Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) was developed here. It's a dosing method that is used with several different types of insulin. TR is a more aggressive method. Both strategies have had success with getting cats into remission.

Regardless of which dosing method you choose, there is a cut point for when you reduce the dose. With TR, if your cat is within the first year of diagnosis, you reduce if numbers drop below 50. Since Jude is more than a year past his diagnosis, the dose reduction point is if numbers drop below 40. With SLGS, you drop if the numbers are below 90.

From your signature, it looks like you're following TR. However, that information isn't consistent with your spreadsheet. Could you clarify?

@Mary & Jude - if Tresa is following TR, Jude's numbers would need to drop below 40 to qualify for a dose reduction.


If Jude's diarrhea doesn't clear up, my most recommended remedy is a probiotic, S. boulardii. It is great with clearing up diarrhea.

(I crossed out information. Mary caught that I was looking at the wrong spreadsheet. It's been one of those days..... And thank you, Mary.)
 
Last edited:
Just so you have this handy, this is the information on dosing methods that Mary was referring to. To fill in a bit more information, the Tight Regulation (TR) Protocol is a research based method that was developed by a leading veterinary researcher from University of Queensland. Jacqui Rand, DVM has done a great deal of research on the use of Lantus with diabetic cats. Her results were published in a leading veterinary journal. Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) was developed here. It's a dosing method that is used with several different types of insulin. TR is a more aggressive method. Both strategies have had success with getting cats into remission.

Regardless of which dosing method you choose, there is a cut point for when you reduce the dose. With TR, if your cat is within the first year of diagnosis, you reduce if numbers drop below 50. Since Jude is more than a year past his diagnosis, the dose reduction point is if numbers drop below 40. With SLGS, you drop if the numbers are below 90.

From your signature, it looks like you're following TR. However, that information isn't consistent with your spreadsheet. Could you clarify?

@Mary & Jude - if Tresa is following TR, Jude's numbers would need to drop below 40 to qualify for a dose reduction.
Sienne, Just to clarify, my Jude is over a year into his diagnosis, but Leo is not (dx 8/13/25). Tresa hasn't selected a dosing method at this point or at least not one I'm clear on.
 
I suggested that 3 units might be too much insulin and I still feel that might be the case but without a dosing method or a known reduction number it might be fine since there hasn’t been a drop under 50 and there wasn’t another skip. Has there been a food change that’s causing the diarrhea? Looks like he might starting a bounce from the 52. If tge bg falls under 50 I would definitely reduce.
 
Also, Tresa, which syringes are you using? They should have half unit markings. WHEN you do make adjustments (and I'm not suggesting a dose increase/decrease), we typically take those in .25 unit increments, and the syringes with half unit markings help to measure those finer doses. You had mentioned yesterday that 2 units was too low, so Leo was increased to 3 units. Just know that there are increments between 2 and 3 that Leo might need to adjust to as he continues his treatment. How to "Shoot" Your Cat
 
I suggested that 3 units might be too much insulin and I still feel that might be the case but without a dosing method or a known reduction number it might be fine since there hasn’t been a drop under 50 and there wasn’t another skip. Has there been a food change that’s causing the diarrhea? Looks like he might starting a bounce from the 52. If tge bg falls under 50 I would definitely reduce.
I gave him2.75 for his PM dose
 
Also, Tresa, which syringes are you using? They should have half unit markings. WHEN you do make adjustments (and I'm not suggesting a dose increase/decrease), we typically take those in .25 unit increments, and the syringes with half unit markings help to measure those finer doses. You had mentioned yesterday that 2 units was too low, so Leo was increased to 3 units. Just know that there are increments between 2 and 3 that Leo might need to adjust to as he continues his treatment. How to "Shoot" Your Cat
I have the syringes with the half unit markings. I gave him 2.75 this dose
 
Just so you have this handy, this is the information on dosing methods that Mary was referring to. To fill in a bit more information, the Tight Regulation (TR) Protocol is a research based method that was developed by a leading veterinary researcher from University of Queensland. Jacqui Rand, DVM has done a great deal of research on the use of Lantus with diabetic cats. Her results were published in a leading veterinary journal. Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) was developed here. It's a dosing method that is used with several different types of insulin. TR is a more aggressive method. Both strategies have had success with getting cats into remission.

Regardless of which dosing method you choose, there is a cut point for when you reduce the dose. With TR, if your cat is within the first year of diagnosis, you reduce if numbers drop below 50. Since Jude is more than a year past his diagnosis, the dose reduction point is if numbers drop below 40. With SLGS, you drop if the numbers are below 90.

From your signature, it looks like you're following TR. However, that information isn't consistent with your spreadsheet. Could you clarify?

@Mary & Jude - if Tresa is following TR, Jude's numbers would need to drop below 40 to qualify for a dose reduction.


If Jude's diarrhea doesn't clear up, my most recommended remedy is a probiotic, S. boulardii. It is great with clearing up diarrhea.

(I crossed out information. Mary caught that I was looking at the wrong spreadsheet. It's been one of those days..... And thank you, Mary.)
Where do I find the S. Boulardii?
 
You can get it from any health food store or even Amazon. I bought it at Whole Foods. Get it with moss if possible but not necessary.
 
Back
Top