8-27-20 New member and feeling overwhelmed

Status
Not open for further replies.

OlivesMom

Member Since 2020
Hi everyone! My cat, Olive, was diagnosed on the 14th and it's been a nightmare since. We rescued Olive 8 years ago and uncertain as to her real age. We are thinking about 13 now. She was 18 pounds when we adopted her and fearing diabetes, we put her on a slow feeder that gave her 5 portions of food a day working around the clock. This brought her weight down to about 13 pounds over the years. We were told feeding small meals often would help with her metabolism.
It was her constant water intake and peeing frequently that alerted us something was up, but we'd just lost our 19 year old cat a few months before and we thought Olive's distancing herself from us and then her drinking more was from anxiety at the loss of our other cat. When she stopped wanting to eat her kibble we KNEW something was wrong because she had always been the kind of cat who ate anything and wanted more. A week later she was diagnosed diabetic and was now at 10 pounds.
They had her start on one unit of Lantus twice a day (Her first dose was given that night at 9pm) and I started keeping a notebook handy to jot down the numbers. The next morning at her 2nd dose, her numbers went to 76 midway between insulin shots. Same things happened the following day when she now dipped to 55 and showed signs of not doing so well so I offered her food. The vet had us feeding her twice a day, at 9am and 9pm and since the vet's office was closed at the time I took her BG, I was fearful of another hypoglycemic drop and didn't give her any insulin that night until I could talk to the vet in the morning. As luck would have it our vet wouldn't be back for days and the so another vet told us to continue with the one unit of insulin twice daily for a few days until our vet was back in. Against my better judgement I listened and gave her the shot that morning at 9 and by 1:30pm she was throwing up, looked bad, and her BG was at 65. I gave her some food and the numbers steadily went up over the day but I just couldn't give her another shot knowing she was going to continue to go so low.
Olive had spent her life with us eating RAWZ dry kibble and in the mornings I would offer her whatever healthy canned food we had on hand so I could mix her Cosequin/probiotics/enzymes into it. She'd only get about a tablespoon of wet food each day (usually RAWZ pate or the equivalent). Within a week of diagnoses we started switching her over to raw food. She liked it and did well so had her completely switched over to raw by the end of the first week.
When I finally did touch base with my vet, she said she wanted to try Olive on a curve for a week without insulin to see how her numbers went but that she didn't want to see her go above 500. I got into a panic a few days in when her BG reached over 525 and despite the fact we were told you can't give a cat half a unit of insulin, my syringe allowed for half units (I have the walgreens version) and I decided to give her half a unit. Six hours later she was at 94 and 12 hours later at the 9pm feeding she was at 192. I didn't offer anymore insulin at that time and by morning, 12 hours later, she was at 572. Got her to run around and even without the insulin she dropped to 60 by 3pm midway though day.
Since then, I figured I was messing her system up by not being consistent, so decided to go back to the original plan which was to go a week without insulin and test frequently to get a good snapshot of her numbers. It's been a scary time and I'm spending my days with high anxiety and my nerves are shattered.
A diabetic friend of ours suggested we feed Olive more frequently because she was used to eating 5 times a day and so we went to feeding her 3/4 of a cup of raw food into 4 smaller meals: 1/4 cup at 9am, 1/8 cup at noon, 1/4 cup at 3, and 1/8 cup at 9pm. Her BG is still off the charts, but feeding her this way has shown a pattern of making her BG levels lower than at night. Night is a nightmare time as her levels will rise to 500 and a few times closer to 600 by 9am the next morning. I have been getting up at the midway point around 3-4am every night to check her levels and then get her to play and run around. But despite this, her BG is still way high by morning.
She's been on the raw diet now for just under 2 weeks along with probiotics and enzymes given every meal. (I had only been giving her a portion of the amount needed and only once a day) I spoke to the creator of these supplements who holds a masters in holistic approaches to diabetes and Dr. J said that by switching Olive to raw and giving her these supplements in every meal, that it was going to take time for Olive's body to find its balance. He said it could take a good two months for these changes to happen but to look at the whole body approach this way "You are replanting Olive's garden and it's going to take time for things to grow and evolve."
In the meantime, I'm a nervous wreck. Clinically, Olive is acting like her old self again since switching to the raw diet. Last night, for the first time in I don't even know how long, she actually kept running through the house as I played a string chasing game with her. It was like she was a kitten again. She is now moving more than ever, and is once again spending her time around us instead of hidden in another room. You can't begin to tell by her actions that her BG levels are so high.
I keep trying different things to see how it will effect her numbers. Just when I thought I saw a pattern develop, she shocked me again. She was at 249 at 9pm last night before her last snack of the day. By 4am she was at 464. So instead of the 15 minutes of play I've been giving her at that time of the morning, I decided to see if she'd want to play longer. To my shock she started running after her toy and chasing it, and swatting at it, and before I knew it 45 minutes had elapsed. I thought for sure this would bring her numbers down by 9am, but to my utter shock she was at 569. I rechecked her instantly and the numbers jumped to 580. I checked her again before the noon feeding and she was at 498. So I'm on here hoping somebody can help me figure this out. I love Olive so much and I'm at a loss at this point. I would like to see how she does at 1/4 unit of insulin, but I've already rocked the boat this week by not getting an uninterrupted BG curve. It would seem to me that she does far better during the day than at night and the only change there is the fact she's not eating for 12 hours. I think this is a major player in a cat who has spent her life eating around the clock in a timed feeder. She was eating about every 4 1/2 hours with that.
I'm confused by the terminology I'm reading on here. But I think I'm correct in saying that if the BG levels stays high for long periods of time, which is the case with Olive, that a bounce can happen, which is what I've seen happen during the times when her BG has actually reached a somewhat good level. I just don't know what to do. I want to allow her body to find balance after adjusting to the total diet change, but her BG levels get so high it scares me. But not as much as her dips were doing while on the insulin.
Our vet told us she's not real knowledgeable in feline diabetes and has ZERO clue about raw diets. She wants us to put Olive on the Diabetic food from Hills/Purina, and so forth. She's a great vet, but Olive is out of her wheelhouse and we need HELP. Any thoughts from this group would be welcome. Thanks everyone for taking the time to read this.
 
Welcome, Olive and Mom.

Just having a read through of your post. It's going to take me a little while so I just wanted to say 'hello' to you in the meantime.

Back in a little while...


Mogs
.
 
WELCOME TO FDMB and am I GLAD you found us! We can definitely help. Hopefully that will lessen your stress. Its going to be ok Olive is in good hands and you both have found a safe place to land.
I'm going to tag some people to come help @tiffmaxee @Critter Mom @Diane Tyler's Mom I think you need quick "eyes".
Seriously these folks eat sleep breathe feline diabetes HOLD ON!
 
Oh my. I just read through your post quickly and the best thing I saw was that your vet admitted she doesn’t know much about FD. You will soon educate her.

Raw food is actually a good diet for fd as it’s low carb. The food she wants you to use is not necessary and there are many better choices. Feeding several meals spread out is what mist do here. Kudus to you. More kudos for home testing. You definitely prevented Olive from going hypo.

Are you still feeding any dry food? If so the method you would follow here is SLGS. IF NOT you can consider TR as well.

We need you to set up a spreadsheet. Mogs or JT will give you the directions. Fill in as many numbers as you have.

Which meter are you using?
 
Hello and welcome!

To start with, I think you should try to focus as much as possible on these two things:

Clinically, Olive is acting like her old self again since switching to the raw diet. Last night, for the first time in I don't even know how long, she actually kept running through the house as I played a string chasing game with her. It was like she was a kitten again. She is now moving more than ever, and is once again spending her time around us instead of hidden in another room.

So instead of the 15 minutes of play I've been giving her at that time of the morning, I decided to see if she'd want to play longer. To my shock she started running after her toy and chasing it, and swatting at it, and before I knew it 45 minutes had elapsed.

So, something you're doing is clearly helping her!

I think your instincts are good about returning Olive to multiple feedings per day. A lot of vets seem to recommend the two-meals-only plan, but it's not necessary with Lantus and most cats do better with frequent feedings.

Can you tell us, are you using a pet meter (such as the AlphaTrak2) to test blood glucose, or a human meter? It does sound as if Olive has been going too low. At this point, that is far more of a concern than the high numbers.

It would be helpful going forward if you could get some of your BG data into spreadsheet format. We use a common template around here: FDMB SPREADSHEET INSTRUCTIONS. In the meantime, we can interpret the numbers as you've given them, once we know what kind of meter it is.

Hang in there! You're doing all kinds of great things for Olive already, and it's paying off!
 
This is for your signature it also will tell at a clance names Insulin type and all of Olives particulars: (your signature will appear at the bottom of each of your posts)

Make sure your signature is up-to-date.
  • On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature. This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
    • There is a limit of two lines which may include two links; you may separate pieces with commas, dashes, | etc. This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
    • Add any other text, such as
    • Caregiver & kitty's name (optional)
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
 
I'm confused by the terminology I'm reading on here. But I think I'm correct in saying that if the BG levels stays high for long periods of time, which is the case with Olive, that a bounce can happen, which is what I've seen happen during the times when her BG has actually reached a somewhat good level.

This is correct. Basically, the cat's body gets used to high BG, so anytime she dips down into lower numbers (they don't even have to be low, just lower than she's used to), there's a counter-reaction and she zooms right back up.

The really tricky thing about bounces is that they can last a loooong time-- up to three days. Until you know how and how long Olive likes to bounce, it can lead to seemingly nonsensical patterns where the insulin doesn't seem like it's doing anything for days, and then all of a sudden you get a dive. Or worse, if you happen to miss the brief dive, it just seems like she's high all the time and needs more insulin (when in reality, she might need less).

I just want to reassure you, you really are doing great for someone so new to all of this! You've already figured out a bunch of stuff that will help Olive get on track, it's just not (usually) a quick process. It takes some time to see the BG patterns, it takes time for the cat's body to adjust to an insulin dose and get used to normal numbers again. But you are definitely on the right track so far!
 
I'm so thankful for everyone who has responded. :bighug:I've never been on a forum before so I'm uncertain if I need to reply to people individually or if just hitting the reply button will show what I write to everyone. I will work on the spreadsheet and signature thing. Yes, I'm using the Alphatrak2 Meter. I was terrified at the thought of taking her blood, but Olive has been a real trooper through this and because she's so calm it has actually settled my nerves down doing it. I went to upload Olive's photo but it keeps coming through sideways no matter what I do. But at least you can see our baby if you crook your neck. lol
 
How many days has it been since you stopped feeding dry food and have given her only raw food? By the way, big fan of raw food myself too. It did good things for my Neko. It doesn't take weeks for dry food to work out of their system, more like days.

You don't need to reply to people individually - you can answer as many questions as you want from different people on the same new post.
 
No, I'm not feeding any dry food now. We stopped about two weeks ago at diagnosis. From the 14th when she was diagnosed we stopped dry and started trying to get her to eat solely the canned RAWZ pate. She ate that for about a week and during that time we started to incorporate the raw. By the end of week one we'd transitioned her fully to raw. I know you are supposed to transition slower than that but she didn't really want to eat the RAWZ canned pate and she showed a lot of interest in the raw by nearly biting the tip of my finger off (lol) so we simply let her dictate what she wanted and she chose raw. So she's been totally raw for about 10 days now. We're just blown away how positively she's responded to it. And no, she's not currently taking insulin. I know she needs it, but trying to get the BG numbers for a solid week before we travel that scary road again.

What does TR and SLGS mean? Also, what does a signature look like once written? I found the signature button, but uncertain how one is supposed to look after written.

I just want to reassure you, you really are doing great for someone so new to all of this! You've already figured out a bunch of stuff that will help Olive get on track, it's just not (usually) a quick process.
Thank you for the words of confidence. My husband and I have felt so alone in her care and I now have some hope things will improve for our baby.
 
Individual signatures are at the bottom of everyones posts in light grey.

ETA : Mine is different cause I no longer have a diabetic kitty cat.
 
Back to you. (Sorry for the delay. I have PTSD and it makes assimilating new information a bit of a struggle. :rolleyes: )


She was 18 pounds when we adopted her and fearing diabetes, we put her on a slow feeder that gave her 5 portions of food a day working around the clock. This brought her weight down to about 13 pounds over the years. We were told feeding small meals often would help with her metabolism.
It was her constant water intake and peeing frequently that alerted us something was up, but we'd just lost our 19 year old cat a few months before and we thought Olive's distancing herself from us and then her drinking more was from anxiety at the loss of our other cat. When she stopped wanting to eat her kibble we KNEW something was wrong because she had always been the kind of cat who ate anything and wanted more. A week later she was diagnosed diabetic and was now at 10 pounds.

When I finally did touch base with my vet, she said she wanted to try Olive on a curve for a week without insulin to see how her numbers went but that she didn't want to see her go above 500. I got into a panic a few days in when her BG reached over 525 and despite the fact we were told you can't give a cat half a unit of insulin, my syringe allowed for half units (I have the walgreens version) and I decided to give her half a unit. Six hours later she was at 94 and 12 hours later at the 9pm feeding she was at 192. I didn't offer anymore insulin at that time and by morning, 12 hours later, she was at 572. Got her to run around and even without the insulin she dropped to 60 by 3pm midway though day.

I keep trying different things to see how it will effect her numbers. Just when I thought I saw a pattern develop, she shocked me again. She was at 249 at 9pm last night before her last snack of the day. By 4am she was at 464. So instead of the 15 minutes of play I've been giving her at that time of the morning, I decided to see if she'd want to play longer. To my shock she started running after her toy and chasing it, and swatting at it, and before I knew it 45 minutes had elapsed.

[Emphasis mine]

It is clear from the observations you have made and the BG readings you have gathered that there is definitely something awry with Olive's blood glucose regulation.

I think it is possible that part of the problem you're having right now may be due to Olive being underweight. It can be tricky to administer insulin to underweight cats. Their BG levels may be sky high at times but administration of even a tiny dose of insulin can cause them to tank right down into hypo territory, and they skyrocket again without insulin.

Wild swings in BG like this can also happen to humans who are 'brittle' diabetics.

If Olive's BG levels are going sky high then she does need insulin support, but you need to be able to administer it safely, not having her BG yoyo-ing wildly - and potentially dangerously.

I would suggest talking to your vet about feeding Olive a higher carb diet for the time being. The higher carb load should enable her to receive insulin safely and help her get back to a healthy weight. Once Olive has regained the weight it may become more straightforward to administer insulin safely and you could then perhaps revisit food choices.

That's the best suggestion I can offer. I hope it might help.

Here's a forum post by member @Meya14 who has had a lot of experience working with human diabetics, in which she offers an explanation of how being underweight can affect glucose regulation:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/brittle-diabetic.182674/#post-2026117

IMPORTANT SAFETY NOTE ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Because Olive is currently spending some of the time in quite high unregulated numbers, as a safety precaution I strongly recommend that for the time being you test Olive's urine daily for ketones. Here are some helpful resources with further information and useful tips:

Testing Your Cat for Ketones

Tips for Collecting Urine Samples


She's been on the raw diet now for just under 2 weeks
Clinically, Olive is acting like her old self again since switching to the raw diet.
Olive may now be spending more of her day in a better BG range on the low carb diet and that could be what's making her feel much better overall, but the fact that she still runs high at times shows there is a blood sugar regulation problem that needs to be addressed.


I thought for sure this would bring her numbers down by 9am, but to my utter shock she was at 569. I rechecked her instantly and the numbers jumped to 580.
For future reference, glucometers are only accurate to within +/- 20% of the actual blood glucose reading. Due to the meter tolerance range, the above two readings are are to all intents and purposes the same. It is normal for two readings taken one immediately after the other to be different, even if one were to do two separate tests from the same blood sample. Given that the reading variance is a percentage of the 'true' BG level, discrepancy between readings will be small when the BG is at a lower level and larger when BG is high.


Our vet told us she's not real knowledgeable in feline diabetes and has ZERO clue about raw diets. She wants us to put Olive on the Diabetic food from Hills/Purina, and so forth. She's a great vet, but Olive is out of her wheelhouse and we need HELP.
Yes, she certainly does sound like a great vet. She is willing to tell her clients where there are gaps in her knowledge. It indicates that she is focused on patient safety and well-being - and hopefully keen to learn more about feline diabetes. :)

I hope some of the above may be helpful to you and your vet.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
I've never been on a forum before so I'm uncertain if I need to reply to people individually or if just hitting the reply button will show what I write to everyone.
As Wendy has already mentioned above, any new posts or replies you make can be read by anyone viewing this thread.

If you want to reply to the full post left by another member, just click the Reply option under the post on the right hand side of the screen. Their message will appear as a quote in the reply text entry box at the end of the thread. You can then type your response underneath the quoted message.

If you only want to reply to part of another member's post, then click and drag over the text you're interested in to highlight it. You'll then see a little tag underneath the text saying 'Reply'. Click on the little tag and only the highlighted part of the message will be quoted in the reply text entry box.

You can quote different snippets - from the same message or from different messages - and reply to each snippet within a single post (see my long reply to you for an example).

Hope that all makes sense. :confused: :)


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Thank you everyone! I'll work on the spreadsheet tomorrow. I've got a lot of info in my head now. Just a call from the new vet I enquired about whom my vet suggested to take over. She wants Olive's BG numbers printed out and has tweaked her meal schedule to offer more food at night and less between the 9 and 9 feedings. So she'll get her two heavier meals morning and night with a light snack around 11 or midnight. She wants me to test her urine too so I've got to pick up the test strips tomorrow. For tonight she liked the BG numbers on the day she only got half a unit of Lantus, so wants me to do a half unit at 9 tonight. I'll be up all night making sure she doesn't go Hypo. Will talk to you tomorrow. Good night everyone.
 
I'll be up all night making sure she doesn't go Hypo.
There are members here from all over the world though it can get a little quiet in the wee, wee hours. Holler tonight if you have questions or run until difficulty.

If Olive does go below 68, change the title of this thread. At the top righthand corner, you should see

upload_2019-9-19_11-4-47.png

Click on Thread Tools and then on Edit Title which will take you to

upload_2019-9-19_11-5-35.png


Click on the red 911 and change the title to New. Low numbers. Need help now.
Type in the meter reading as well.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2019-9-19_11-4-47.png
    upload_2019-9-19_11-4-47.png
    8.1 KB · Views: 295
  • upload_2019-9-19_11-5-35.png
    upload_2019-9-19_11-5-35.png
    33.3 KB · Views: 316
If Olive's underweight and spending at least some of the time in very high numbers then she needs to eat more than a cat at ideal weight (the body can't use nutrients properly when it doesn't have enough insulin hence why diabetic cats often lose weight in spite of eating more than normal). For a cat on insulin - especially a cat on a long-acting insulin like Lantus - feeding regular small meals at different points in the cycle can help slow BG drops and even things out more. The big meal at preshot is more of a requirement when using intermediate-acting insulins. Here's an excerpt from a post I wrote about this earlier:

'Frontloading' cats with large meals at the beginning of a cycle is necessary when using insulins that hit hard and fast after dose administration and peter out many hours before the next dose is due (e.g. Caninsulin/Vetsulin, Novolin N). The action profile of Lantus is very different. It has a gentler onset and typically does not drop BG like a rock when it kicks in. Lantus also typically has much longer duration than intermediates like Caninsulin and Novolin. Therefore, there is much greater freedom when it comes to feeding schedules for cats on Lantus and other long-acting insulins.

Feeding smaller, more frequent meals is less likely to spike BG levels during the cycle and can be easier on the pancreas. Some cats, for example those with pancreatitis, need to be fed little and often and that works well when paired with a long-acting insulin such as Lantus. For cats without complications receiving Lantus, it is best to get most, if not all, of the feeding done in the first half of each 12-hour cycle, but it's not strictly necessary. Food only needs to be withheld for the two hours before each preshot test so that the reading won't be food-influenced.
Be careful with the 0.5 unit dose, especially at night time (most cats run in lower numbers at night). I know it's not easy, but if it were my kitty I'd be up all night monitoring too. Your vet's recommendation to give more food at night is a good one.

Sending prayers for an uneventful night. :bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
A word of caution:

Lantus is a depot insulin. It creates a store of insulin in the body, a sort of 'chemical pancreas'. Each dose builds on the next until the depot for a given dose is 'filled'. While BG may remain in safe levels in the 12 hours following the administration of the first dose of 0.5 unit, as the size of the depot increases numbers may go lower during subsequent cycles on the same 0.5 unit dose.


Mogs
.
 
If Olive's underweight and spending at least some of the time in very high numbers then she needs to eat more than a cat at ideal weight (the body can't use nutrients properly when it doesn't have enough insulin hence why diabetic cats often lose weight in spite of eating more than normal). For a cat on insulin - especially a cat on a long-acting insulin like Lantus, feeding regular small meals at different points in the cycle can help slow BG drops and even things out more. The big meal at preshot is more of a requirement when using intermediate-acting insulins. Here's an excerpt from a post I wrote about this earlier:

'Frontloading' cats with large meals at the beginning of a cycle is necessary when using insulins that hit hard and fast after dose administration and peter out many hours before the next dose is due (e.g. Caninsulin/Vetsulin, Novolin N). The action profile of Lantus is very different. It has a gentler onset and typically does not drop BG like a rock when it kicks in. Lantus also typically has much longer duration than intermediates like Caninsulin and Novolin. Therefore, there is much greater freedom when it comes to feeding schedules for cats on Lantus and other long-acting insulins.

Feeding smaller, more frequent meals is less likely to spike BG levels during the cycle and can be easier on the pancreas. Some cats, for example those with pancreatitis, need to be fed little and often and that works well when paired with a long-acting insulin such as Lantus. For cats without complications receiving Lantus, it is best to get most, if not all, of the feeding done in the first half of each 12-hour cycle, but it's not strictly necessary. Food only needs to be withheld for the two hours before each preshot test so that the reading won't be food-influenced.
Be careful with the 0.5 unit dose, especially at night time (most cats run lower numbers night). I know it's not easy, but if it were my kitty I'd be up all night monitoring too. Your vet's recommendation to give more food at night is a good one.

Sending prayers for an uneventful night. :bighug:


Mogs
.
That's what scares me, as the lantus builds up that her numbers will go hypo and stay there. Should I try a quarter unit verses the half unit first? I just finished the article on Starting low and going slow. Is it better to start less than the half unit then? I know the new vet said to do a half unit tonight but I'm scared. Olive has always run high at night. Yes, she's definitely under weight now. The net wanted her to eat larger, more infrequent meals at first until I told her I'm simply not able to get Olive to eat more than 1/4 cup at a time and I have to work at that. If she eats only 1/8 of a cup, she will eat the food in moments. To get any weight back on her I'll have to continue feeding her smaller meals throughout the day in order to make up for the whole. How much raw food should she be eating in a day? I'm getting 3/4 cup in her now. Feeding Primal Raw Turkey Nuggets. The first week she wouldn't even eat that. I want her to safely gain.
 
The high numbers you are seeing is called a bounce. It is the body's natural reaction to low numbers or even lower numbers that it is used to.
In a nutshell, the liver panics and tells the body to release sugar.

Definition of a bounce: Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver".
 
Unfortunately I can't reach her until tomorrow. I may just skinny-up the half unit dose tonight.

Bouncing defines Olive in a nutshell. Without insulin she stays high all the time. 300-500 is her normal. When she's managed to go to 250, she shoots right back up to high gear again and it's hard to bring her down for some time. Once I can complete the spreadsheet you'll see why I've been so nervous. Speaking of which, what do the words mean on the spread sheet, like AMP? Maybe someone can give me an example of just one line and what it means.
 
There is nothing you can do about a bounce except wait it out.
It is the low numbers that are worrisome.
Yes, go with 0.25 units tonight and get a +1 and a +2 test. The +2 test is sometimes indicative of how the cycle might play out.
 
Speaking of which, what do the words mean on the spread sheet, like AMP? Maybe someone can give me an example of just one line and what it means.

Understanding the spreadsheet

If you need some help with getting it set up, I'd be happy to do it for you. Takes me about 60 seconds once I have some information from you. If you'd like me to do that, just click on my name and choose "start a conversation" to send me a private message.
 
Ok, I'll do a quarter unit tonight then. I feel more comfortable. What exactly does +1 and a +2 mean? Does that mean I should test her 1 hour after the shot and then again 2 hours after? If she goes hypo it's usually between 4 and 6 hours after insulin is given.
 
Ok, I'll do a quarter unit tonight then. I feel more comfortable. What exactly does +1 and a +2 mean? Does that mean I should test her 1 hour after the shot and then again 2 hours after? If she goes hypo it's usually between 4 and 6 hours after insulin is given.
Yes. We have people from all over the world here. Stating it's coming up to 10 p.m. means nothing to them.
AMPS is morning shot time.
PMPS is evening shot time.
+1 is one hour after you give the shot.
+2 is two hours after you give the shot.
etc.
 
Ok, I'll do a quarter unit tonight then. I feel more comfortable. What exactly does +1 and a +2 mean? Does that mean I should test her 1 hour after the shot and then again 2 hours after? If she goes hypo it's usually between 4 and 6 hours after insulin is given.
AMPS - Morning preshot blood test
PMPS - Evening preshot blood test
+1, +2, etc. - the number of hours that have elapsed since the dose was administered. If you do a blood test 3 hours after dose admin, record the reading in the appropriate +3 column (morning or evening).


Mogs
.
 
From the Lantus stickie.
This is just example. Cats like to mess with us. And not every cat nadirs (the lowest number of a cycle) conveniently around the same time.
Bold emphasis is mine.

Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus/Basaglar cycle:
NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus/Basaglar cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. Onset begins around +2 for most cats. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Often lower than the PreShot number.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Basaglar/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.​
 
Yes, she's definitely under weight now. The net wanted her to eat larger, more infrequent meals at first until I told her I'm simply not able to get Olive to eat more than 1/4 cup at a time and I have to work at that. If she eats only 1/8 of a cup, she will eat the food in moments. To get any weight back on her I'll have to continue feeding her smaller meals throughout the day in order to make up for the whole. How much raw food should she be eating in a day? I'm getting 3/4 cup in her now. Feeding Primal Raw Turkey Nuggets. The first week she wouldn't even eat that. I want her to safely gain.
@Wendy&Neko - You mentioned above that you're a fan of raw diets. Would you be able to help Olive's mom with the question on raw feeding?


Mogs
.
 
How much raw food should she be eating in a day?

If it's the Primal Freeze Dried Turkey nuggets, 1 ounce (3-4 nuggets) is 123 calories.

A good place to start is 20 calories per pound of ideal weight.....so if 10lbs is an ideal weight, you'd want to get at least 200 calories per day. Weigh once a week and increase/decrease as necessary. A diabetic cat may need extra calories until their blood glucose is under better control because while the BG is too high, they aren't able to get the full benefit of the food they're eating.
 
Is anybody on? I'm freaking out. I gave Olive the quarter unit of Lantus at 9pm with 1/4 cup of food and then the 1/8 c food the vet said to give her at 11pm. Her BG was 403 at 9 pre shot. I tested her 1 hour later at 10pm and she was 418. 2 hours after the shot she was 552, and I just tested her again at midnight and she's 645. What can I do?
 
What can I do?
Get that spreadsheet going, then we'll be able to help you with dosing. Go to bed. :bighug: No need to test further tonight. Looks like the food is bumping her up maybe? Any chance you have a second meter or package of strips? Have you set the code correctly for a cat on the meter?

As far as gaining weight on raw, another thing to think about is the type of protein you are feeding. Some, like duck, lamb, chicken thigh, are higher in fat so higher calorie and will help add weight. Venison, rabbit, some turkey are fairly low fat. Also meaning you'll need to feed more to get the same number of calories.
 
Get that spreadsheet going, then we'll be able to help you with dosing. Go to bed. :bighug: No need to test further tonight. Looks like the food is bumping her up maybe? Any chance you have a second meter or package of strips? Have you set the code correctly for a cat on the meter?

As far as gaining weight on raw, another thing to think about is the type of protein you are feeding. Some, like duck, lamb, chicken thigh, are higher in fat so higher calorie and will help add weight. Venison, rabbit, some turkey are fairly low fat. Also meaning you'll need to feed more to get the same number of calories.
I was wondering the same thing about the added food bumping her up. She's never been this high and she's never had back to back meals this late at night since going raw. No, I don't have a second meter and I'm waiting for some new test strips to arrive this week. I set the code on my meter to the number for cats on the test strip container so I know that's correct. I simply can't go to sleep until her numbers come down. I'm so afraid she's going to seizure at these levels. I didn't know turkey was low fat. I'll have to get some chicken and see if she likes that.
 
I'm so afraid she's going to seizure at these levels.

Cats tolerate high numbers better than humans do. In all the years I've been here, I've never heard of a cat having a seizure from high blood glucose even when they were in the 700's. High numbers take time to do damage....it's the low numbers that kill quickly.

There's really nothing you can do since you don't want to give more insulin now so try to get some rest. We all understand how you're feeling though!

One thing you'll hear a lot here is "it's a marathon, not a sprint" and truer words were never spoken.
 
Thank you for being here tonight, Chris. It helped to hear that. Reason I'm so concerned is because the new vet said earlier tonight that she was surprised Olive hadn't seizured after I told her Olive's numbers had reached short of 569 yesterday. Now being 645, I've been so scared. At least you guys understand how I'm feeling and that helps. Think I'll try and get some sleep. You've made me feel a little better. Until tomorrow. I'll be getting the spread sheet done then.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top