Hi Bhooma , it's a mess lol@eva eva I have not read previous posts but it looks like you have increased Phoebe's dose from 1.75U to 2.25U too quickly and without enough tests to see how low a dose it taking her.
\Without enough tests to see how low a dose is taking her, too much insulin can actually look like too little insulin. What happens when the dose is too high is the cat's body fights to stay alive. The insulin may be trying to drive the blood glucose down too low and the pancreas will release stored hormones and sugars to bring it back up fast so too much insulin can actually look like it's not enough.
yes --I checked her at 1000am (4 hour post meal) she was 400---I gave only 2 unit of glargine. she is still moving, acting ok. Will check at 500pm for next sugar.Are you able to monitor Phoebe closely today? Do you have a hypo kit on hand with high carb food (like FF gravy lovers) and honey or karo?
Yes I still have the Party Mix......I have 2 other cats that eat that and a little moist (i am trying to get them over to moist) i have a renal cat who is on special diet. It is all a bit overwhelming at times---i sometimes feel like I am killing her.....slowly...@eva eva
Eva if one of the members I tagged don't come on then I would NOT give any insulin this morning, it's too low, you are new to all of this , plus we have to get the depot straightened out . So I would SKIP the SHOT this morning , but I want you to still get a few more tests in around +4, +6
Eva other than the hc kibble you have you need to go out and buy
Med and High Carb food and some honey in case she drops to low and you need to get her BG back up to a safe level
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs
Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs
Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-
Between 11% and 17% is medium carbs.
18% and over is high carb.
You still have the
Friskies Party Mix Original and Beachside Crunch that you are feeding right plus FF Pates right?
I have reviewed Dr. Pierson's food chart and printed out all the FF and friskies with <10 CHO. that is phoebes choices--she does well.Eva whete do you live ?
Eva I went over all your threads and you said you have another cat with kidney disease and wanted suggestions for food, you also said Phoebe won't eat the Fancy Feast Pate sometimes
Here is a list of of wet foods that Weruva makes you can feed both of them this
Theses are the ones called BFF Play
Found this posted by another member pates
Click to expand...
I don't know if the BFF play weruva pate is on the list your looking at or not. I wrote down the protein carbs & phosphorus #s in a notebook.
BFF play chicken Checkmate
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 129%
BFF play chicken & turkey topsy turvy
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 129%
BFF play chicken cherish
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 135%
BFF chicken & turkey tiptoe
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 136%
BFF chicken duck & turkey take a chance
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 149%
BFF play chicken & lamb laugh out loud
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 154%
BFF play chicken & duck destiny
Protein 32%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 165%
BFF play chicken & beef best buds
Protein 33%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 171%
Don't know if your kitty likes pate but here is the list of the BFF Play line.
You can also go to the Weruva site
You want the metabolizable energy profile percentage of carbs to be less than 10%, and the phosphorus which Weruva lists in Minerals to be less than 250 mg per 100 cals. So you have to look at two different places in the Weruva charts.
You can look at other weruva pates here and see if they are ok
Take a look here https://weruva.com/nutrition-landing/pates-ni/
I'm on the west coast and not up when you tag me early in my mornings. Or if I'm up, I'm out on the water and busy. So please don't tag me for time sensitive condo's in the early AM.
Always tap the alert tab up top to check and see if any one is replying back to you , it will say whatever Title you gave .To get back to where you want to go to your picture tap that then tap the word Profile page and then the word Postings ,you will see all of your posts, That's why we always put the Date in our TitlesUnfortunately, this site has a lot of convoluting pages and I get lost and can't find where things are--then when i do---I can't get back to where I was.....simply frustrating..... conversations, threads, forums, -- a bit much when attempting to understand.
Yes you should have left her at 2 units for 7 days in order for the depot to fill.I explained that in our private conversation.Ok---I have read all the posts and what I am taking away from it:
I changed over to glargine at the same dose (2) when i came home from OOT.---- she was still too high--I increased to 2.25--but that may have been a reflexive physiological response by her body and I should have left her at 2 (if not less) due to changing to the glargine when i came back from being OOT. she was not done with her depot.....Have I got this right?
See my SS i checked her today at 10am--400 gave the 2 unit---checked her at 4pm 316----no insulin yet. I try to stay on a 6-6 schedule. I will check at 6.
Please check back and tell me where I need to go with my dosing.....
Unfortunately, this site has a lot of convoluting pages and I get lost and can't find where things are--then when i do---I can't get back to where I was.....simply frustrating..... conversations, threads, forums, -- a bit much when attempting to understand.
But I appreciate all the help I am getting....thank-you
That helps in navigation. I do see alerts and am able to click and go. It's getting to post something or find the core people for the best resources I seem to have a struggle. And again. I thank people for all the help.Always tao the alert tab up top to check and see if any one is replying back to you , it will say whatever Title you gave .To get back to where you want to go to your picture tap that then tap the word Profile page and then the word Postings ,you will see all of your posts, That's why we always put the Date in our Titles
When ever you post something that you need help with you need to keep checking where it says Alerts to see if anyone replied back to you
Is this what you mean?
@eva eva
@eva eva
Eva if one of the members I tagged don't come on then I would NOT give any insulin this morning, it's too low, you are new to all of this , plus we have to get the depot straightened out . So I would SKIP the SHOT this morning , but I want you to still get a few more tests in around +4, +6
Eva other than the hc kibble you have you need to go out and buy
Med and High Carb food and some honey in case she drops to low and you need to get her BG back up to a safe level
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs
Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs
Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-
Between 11% and 17% is medium carbs.
18% and over is high carb.
You still have the
Friskies Party Mix Original and Beachside Crunch that you are feeding right plus FF Pates right?
yes--the party mix is accessible 24/7 nomally.Wait you have me confused you just said your shooting times are 6AM and 6PM is this correct?
You just said you try to stick to a 6 6 schedule
Then you said you checked her again at 10 AM and gave her the insulin---yes this is correct am sugar 102--waited 4 hours and rechecked 400 gave 2 unit
That would mean you gave her the insulin 4 hours late is this correct?correct --just rechecked sugar 304---gave 1.75 unit 10 hours after am dose
You can't give her the night time insulin at 6PM , it has to be 12 hours apartit has been 10 hours-- i know not 12 hours but i am trying to get back to normal times
Get back to with what I asked you about and we will have to figure this outi hope doing the answers this way keeps it more organized and all questions get answered.
@eva eva
Eva please answer this question
One more thing we don't use times when you tell us what time you checked her BG or anything that has to do with timesnoted will keep in mind.
We are all in different time zones so that means nothing to usI will keep this in mind when doing Phoebe bg
You need to use , for example if you tested her 4 hours after giving insulin you would tell us like this +4. If you checked her again 7 hours after you gave her insulin that would be +7
thank you and i will follow your recommendationsEva Wendy told you to stay with 2 units for now, why did you just give 1.75 tonightso if am sugar is still in 300ish range should I stay at 1.75?
or if it is lower then where should we start?
OK then tomorrow morning start with 2 units and hold that for 6 more dayswell---reading all the posts I felt that i was overdoing the insulin and it seemed the 1.75 mark was where I understood my mistep was. so I started there. reading the posts i feel there is a lag of my fault
I'll get right back to you , please fill in the dose you gave tonight on your SS nowI will start with 2 unit tomorrow am.
What do you consider low to not give insulin?
Yes I gave her insulin at 8pm
I will start with 2 unit tomorrow am.
What do you consider low to not give insulin?
Yes I gave her insulin at 8pm
What about the fact that she gave the pm shot 4hrs late @tiffmaxeeI’d do as Wendy suggested and give 2 units in the morning.
@tiffmaxeeI will give Phoebe 2 units in the am.
What do you consider a low amps in the am where I would not give her insulin?
No she gave the AM shot 4 hours lateWhat about the fact that she gave the pm shot 4hrs late @tiffmaxee
Oh okay gotchaNo she gave the AM shot 4 hours late
@Chrispooky12
Elise she shot 4 hours late AM and 2 hours early tonightWith SLGS you never shoot under 90. Whole new we suggest posting for dos8bg advice if the bg is under 200.
it was actually 2 hours late...... 10 am gave insulin 8 pm gave insulin will do amps at 0600 tomorrow (which is 10 hours again)What about the fact that she gave the pm shot 4hrs late @tiffmaxee
yes----that is my goal....Elise she shot 4 hours late AM and 2 hours early tonight
Guess there is nothing we can do about this, she's trying to get back to shooting 6 and 6
There’s nothing to do about that. We never shoot more than 30 minutes early.Get a +1 and +2 to start. Post results.Elise she shot 4 hours late AM and 2 hours early tonight
Guess there is nothing we can do about this, she's trying to get back to shooting 6 and 6
Eva you just told me you gave the morning dose 4 hours late above and 2 hours early tonightit was actually 2 hours late...... 10 am gave insulin 8 pm gave insulin will do amps at 0600 tomorrow (which is 10 hours again)
it was actually 2 hours late...... 10 am gave insulin 8 pm gave insulin will do amps at 0600 tomorrow (which is 10 hours again)