8/17 Pumbaa - 15 straight hours in the greens!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
UPDATE:
PMPS = 127
+1.5 = 103
+2.75 = 56 (gave a tiny lick of gravy to slow him down)
+3.25 = 54 (gave another little lick of gravy)
+3.75 = 49 (gave another lick of gravy)
+4.25 = 43 (gave more gravy and some high carb food)
+4.75 = 45 (gave 10 pieces of dry food)
+5 = (didn't test, just gave him some honey on his tongue)
+5.25 = 49 (gave Stella & Chewy's freeze dried raw)
+5.75 = 58 (gave Stella & Chewy's)
+6.5 = 54 (gave more gravy due to his late nadirs at night)
+7 = 53 (gave more gravy)
+8 = 55 (gave more gravy and Stella & Chewys...I think he'd still be diving if it wasn't for all this gravy)
+9 = 53 (gave more gravy plus another can of FF Classic Beef)
+10 = 60 (I'm finally going to try and nap for an hour, and pray Pumbaa doesn't have a Lantus second dip)
+11.5 = 73 (Do I skip the AM shot entirely or give him a BCS just to keep some insulin in his body?)
AMPS = 90 (gave a BCS of 1.50U)
+3.5 = 98
+ 6 = 79 (fifteen straight hours below 100...is he going to break his own personal record of 17 hours?)



How the hell does that little bugger know it's Friday night? :roll:

I thought he was going to dive last night, but I think he looked at the calendar and decided to save it for tonight.

He's dropped from 368 at his AMPS, to 127 at his PMPS. I think there is going to be some green action tonight. Why? Because I'm tired. And because it's Friday. If you go through his SS, you'll see that he has a history of diving on Friday night's for some odd reason. Is that his idea of "happy hour"? *LOL*

SuZzzzzze
 
Re: 8/17 Friday night and Pumbaa is donning his diving gear.

Wow, Friday night fright flight with Pumbaa once again...

OK buddy, listen up -

Enough of this:


You can play that game for about another hour, and then we want to see some of this instead:


Got it?

I don't have a curfew tonight, Suze...
Carl
 
Re: 8/17 Friday night and Pumbaa is donning his diving gear.

Carl,

Good to know you'll be around recycling Heinekens. Hahaha!

So far, we've got this down pat with with lather/rinse/repeat on Friday nights. But it's nice to know someone is out there to hold my hand just in case!

Suze
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56

Pumbaa has already dropped 71 points since his PMPS 2.75 hours ago. I just gave him a little gravy to slow him down. He's been grazing on the low carb food, but he has a long way to go tonight before he hits his nadir....if he ever does.
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56

Hi Suze,
You okay?
Carl
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56

Carl, see my very top post. I've been testing Pumbaa every 15 - 30 minutes, and giving him little licks of gravy to slow this freight train down. He's now down to 49.
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56

When I saw him diving again today, I almost didn't give him the 2.50U at the PM shot time, but went ahead and gave it because of how he surprised me last night and went up instead of down. I should have trusted my instincts and reduced his dose.

But, I can't believe he could already be reacting to the dose increase from this morning.
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56

OK, so it looks like he just told you that he's not a fan of the increase?
Trying to see what caused the pink bounce last night, but not seeing it. Today looks like "bounce clearing" dropping all day.
It looks like you gave 2.25 a fair chance (8 cycles). How the heck do you see between the 2 doses to find a happy medium?
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56

Awww, hang in there. It makes sense that it would take awhile for the pancreas to heal, and that it will happen in spurts, stopping and starting again, right? Meanwhile, Pumbaa's liver is going strong, huh? How's the peeing, pooing, drinking and cattitude? Okay

I really should stay up with you, Suze. I'm sorry I can't. Emma is too much "trouble" during the day. ;-) I have to meet a client in the morning, too, and appear that I am the wise, well-educated, and experienced attorney he is relying upon == :cool == instead of a woman who is frequently covered in milk, baby food, and other unmentionable things, and loses it when she realized she just turned an entire load of white clothes pink!
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56

Yeah, doing my best. :-D
I missed all the excitement on the board last night. Tonight I have no curfew, off tomorrow. Max is good, right?
Carl
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56

Now he's down to 43. Just gave some more gravy and carbed food.

I need to stop this freight train. If he goes down any lower he's getting honey.

He's fine. Alert & hungry. I think he's resigned to me testing him 'cause he hasn't been running away quickly enough. Maybe he knows we have to stop this freight train.
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56

Thanks for stopping by, Dale. Get some sleep so you have a great client meeting tomorrow! (((HUGS)))

Suze
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56

You can do that, Suze, he made his point. But you need to keep him up too... No telling where the boy's nadir is today. He's been dropping for 16+ hours. Little turd.
Carl
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56

I guess you know what the reduction is, welcome to microdosing.

Pumbaa, this is *crazy* stuff. :o
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56

He's gone down to 38 before without any symptoms, but if he does again, should I give him some dry food to try and stop this dive?
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56

I've never seen anyone do it, Suze, so I don't know. It takes a good while to raise it I think.
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56

Carl, giving dry is in the treating a hypo directions.

VERY LOW NUMBERS – WITHOUT SYMPTOMS
Retest glucose using a large blood sample to make certain you have enough blood, and if you still get a very low number (under 40 mg/dL or 1.9 – 2.2 mmol/L) administer a tablespoon of corn syrup, liquid glucose, pancake syrup or honey, or INSTA-GLUCOSE and follow with food until the blood glucose numbers rise to acceptable levels. The syrup can be mixed with wet food or poured over dry if the cat will eat the mixture. If using liquid glucose, dilute with water for a thinner consistency.

They bring up using dry food several times.

I'm afraid, though, that Pumbaa is going to get too full and I won't be able to entice him to eat regular low carb food.
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56

Dry food is too slow.

High carb wet gravy (and karo if needed) is faster.

Do you have any low carb dry?
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56

Suze, I never had to deal with a hypo with Bob, so all I have is what I have watched online. I've never actually read the sticky. I just haven't seen anyone resort to dry (on purpose anyway) to stop a dive.
How did you get him to stop when you saw the 30s?

Carl
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

Dale, I've been giving him little licks of gravy to slow this down, or he would have dropped much quicker, I'm afraid.

Just gave him 10 pieces of dry.

Carl, when he was at 38 I gave him honey. That was back on 6/15/12 when he was on a fat 2.0U.

He went up from 43 to 45 in the last half hour...that's a good thing. But with his late nadirs it's going to be a long, long night.
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

Suze...no dry. It takes way too long to kick in and then stays in their system a long time. I don't think you'd like what it does to his BG.

He's doing this big, fast drop because he's clearing a bounce. I'd give him some honey with the gravy. Lather, rinse, repeat until he's above 50 but it's early so watch for him to come back down within two hours when it wears off.
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

What kind of dry food?

It will start to kick in hours from now, and it won't be especially worse than the bounce he already has planned.

But the dry doesn't help for right now.
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

I just gave him some honey, and I'll test him in 15 minutes.

He's acting fine...he just ran and hid in the litter box when I was hunting him down to give him the honey. Hahahaha!

Hey, Carl, I just scooped the litter box and Beck was right behind me, but I didn't get jumped because it's hours past her dinner time. She only "thanks" me like that right after she eats her dinner. Never her breakfast. Go figure!
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

Dale, I'm wracking my brains (what I have left of them, anyway) trying to remember what kind of dry food I used to feed them. Oh yeah, Authority Salmon.

Good thing I only gave him 10 pieces, which he gobbled up like Godiva chocolates! *LOL*

Thanks for reminding me about the bounce Pumbaa has planned. Hahahahaha!
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

Hi Marje! Thanks for stopping by.

Okay, in the future no dry food. They should update that hypo information and warn against the dry food.

I figure I'm going to be up all night because he could just keep dropping the rest of the night until his AMPS.

I'm too old for this ****! *LOL*
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

Think about it..... people don't have desert after breakfast....lol

If you can, Suze, stick with the honey, gravy, and HC canned. You don't want bounce plus dry having you driving yourself crazy trying to figure out which is which.

Carl
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

Those 10 kibble will have you covered 3 hours from now when he will surely be bouncing.

The carbs (in only 10 kibble) are no worse than the gravy, just much slower.
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

Okay, no more dry! Although maybe when it kicks in in 3 hours I can get a nap in!

Carl, so Beck thinks I'm dessert? Hahahaha! She does sometimes treat me like a popsicle! Slurp, slurp.
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

So he's at 49? C'mon Pumbaa, we'd settle for 60s...

Carl
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

Well, at least with these 40's numbers, there is no argument that he gets a dose reduction. :)
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

Okay, he's up to 58 at +5.75. I gave him some more Stella & Chewy's freeze dried raw. Thank god he loves that stuff!
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

Well it's about time he moves up some! You hanging in there? Do you have to work tomorrow?
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

I'm still working now. Have been at it since 7:30 am. And yes, I have to work all day tomorrow. :(

I haven't even been able to get a nap in during the day in the last week due to these deadlines.

I got caught up in the work...I need to go check Pumbaa again.
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

Suze, you can't keep running on fumes, hon. You're gonna crash and get sick. You need naps:-)

No more increases till you catch up.
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

He went down a little, to 54 @ +6.5, so I gave him more gravy.

The problem is that he's been having really, really late nadirs at night. So we're not out of the woods yet.

Carl, you don't have to sit up with me. I really appreciate your holding my hand, but it's 4:30 am in your neck of the woods! Get some sleep! (((HUGS)))
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

Carl, because of Pumbaa's history of diving, that's all I have been doing for ages is take naps. From 11 pm until 1 am. Then maybe 2 am until 6:30 am. Or like last night, from midnight until 4 am, then from 4:30 am to 6:45 am.

It's been awful! I would do just about anything to have a full, 7 hours of uninterrupted sleep!

If he would just stop this bouncing and diving, and if he would just settle in to a somewhat regular nadir, my life would be so much easier.

-sigh-
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

Late nadirs at night? Hell, he hasn't had a daytime nadir the past two days:-)

I'm only gonna crash if you promise me:
No more dry
And you'll take a nap today.
Carl
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

Thank you so much, Carl. :YMHUG:

You go crash. I promise no more dry. Just more gravy, Stella & Chewy's, and honey if he drops back down into the 40's again.

Have a great sleep! I will have to get a nap in. I'll just have to make sure I have several alarms set that won't shut up until I turn them off. :)

Suze
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

Ok, I'll check on you when my cats wake me up for breffus. :-)

Pumbaa, enough is enough. You're grounded on Fridays till further notice, mister!

Night, Suze
Carl
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

He's still hovering in the low 50's, so I just gave him more gravy. (At +7.)

It will be interesting to see what happens when that dry food kicks in. If it kicks in after 3 hours, it should hit him around +7.75.

Just checked him at +8 and he's only at 55. That dry food certainly hasn't kicked in.
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

The dry food won't do much more than what the gravy does, carb for carb. 10 kibbles is not much.

It just takes much longer, and it may last longer.

These are perfect numbers really. The goal would be to hold Pumbaa like this all the time.

If you really want it to stop you could probably skip the next shot.

For some reason he seems to be using using more Lantus in the current cycle and not putting as much in the shed.
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

I've only been getting about 5 hours of sleep a night...broken up into two naps.

I've now been up since before 7 am. I am so tired I am ready to fall over, but I'm afraid if I even try to nap for 45 minutes I won't get up. I have a friend who is still up who promised she would call me in an hour if I need to nap, which is cool.

Pumbaa is killing me with these numbers.

Yes, they'd be ideal if he wasn't at 2.50U, and if he was stable and steady at these numbers. But I'm so dead on my feet, if he doesn't bounce soon, I'm just going to keel over. :(

What are you doing still up? And how's Chip doing?
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

THANK GOD THESE TEST STRIPS ONLY COST $0.18 EACH!!!!!!!!!!
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

I was up testing Chip. He's steady low yellow.

I guess you need to figure out the chicken shot if you don't want to skip.

Because of all the carbs, if he isn't clearly rising maybe it's best to skip?
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

I wonder if there is too much variability in those monoject syringes.

Do you still check each one for that hub problem?
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

After all the gravy and everything I gave him tonight, he's still only at 60 at +10, so I think I'm skipping in the morning. Oh wait...it IS morning. Hahahaha!

I never had a problem with the Monojects. Before fill the syringe, I move the plunger back and forth and then depress it like I would when injecting, and they've always lined up with the zero line.

Need to go nap for an hour.

SuZzzzzzzeeeee

ps: I saw that Chip has been getting more yellows lately, and he had that nice string of blue, too! So the Levemir is working.
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

Resting for an hour was good, but I had JUST fallen asleep finally (had a big cup of strong coffee at 4:30 am) about 5 minutes before a friend called to wake me up to test Pumbaa again.

Now the big decision is, do I skip the AM shot or give him a BCS? I have half an hour to decide.

The +11.5 reading was definitely food-influenced as I had been encouraging him to eat all night, including lots of gravy to keep him from dropping any lower.

I'm overly exhausted right now, and will only be able to nap a bit before I get up and start working again. My deadlines don't change just because Pumbaa decided to take a dive last night.

I'm ready to propose marriage to the first single guy I see on the street...anything to get some help and support around here. *LOL*


SuZzzzzzzzze
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

The good news is, in spite of everything he seems ready to revisit the 17 hour surf at will.

That was another great surf and you kept it safe every minute.

Job well done. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top