8/17 Pumbaa - 15 straight hours in the greens!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

Dale, thank you. :-D Thank you for the encouragement and hand-holding last night!

I've been through Pumbaa's Friday night dive parties enough times now to know not to panic and to stay ahead of his diving too low. But last night was the first time I had to keep feeding him gravy, even after resorting to honey. He was just determined to see how low he could go on the meter. Hah!

Well, he hit 90 for his AMPS, and I just gave him my standard 1.50U BCS.

And you are correct...it WAS last Friday night that he did the dive and the 17 hours straight of greens.

What the Fkcu is with him and Friday nights???????? I mean, seriously! I know he's taken dives on other nights, but his Friday night dives are the most regular I've ever seen. :?

Now it's time for a well-deserved 2 hour nap! If I can get to sleep, considering how overtired I am.

SuZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzze
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

Pumbaa said:
I'm ready to propose marriage to the first single guy I see on the street...anything to get some help and support around here. *LOL*

Beck might be a little jealous ;-) Still makes me laugh. But seriously, I don't know how you do it. I'm OK with a night here or there of not sleeping much, but more than that and I can get a little cranky. Not to mention the errors that are made. I'm a little worried about you, as others have said... you are going to crash, and crash hard if you keep up this pace. I'm going to pray that Pumbaa will surf along in some safe numbers so that you can get some well deserved and much needed uninterrupted sleep.
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

Kathie: Beck doesn't have to worry. Only she would be allowed to jump me from behind while I clean the litter box at night. Hahahahaha!

Thank you for caring. (((HUGS))) I'm worried about me, too. Especially since my mom, four cats and one dog rely on me every day.

If Pumbaa would just stop with the bouncing and diving, and bouncing and diving, and more bouncing and diving, life would be so much easier.

I am encouraged by last week's 17 hour run of green numbers before he bounced a couple of hours later. And he's had more runs of greens in the last week than ever before. So something is going right, anyway.

Now for another short nap until his +6....

SuZzzzzzzzeeeeee
 
Re: 8/17 Pumbaa is diving. +2.75/56 +4.75/45

If history repeats itself... last week he bounced and it cleared very quickly. Don't forget to take the reduction tonight.
Carl
 
Carl:

History is repeating itself. So far Pumbaa has 15 straight hours in the greens. Last week was 17 hours. Someone call the Guinness Book of World Records...Pumbaa is trying to outdo himself. Hahahahaha!

Don't worry...after his spending 2 hours below the 50 point, there's no way I will forget the dose reduction tonight.

Did you have a good sleep?

SuZzzzzzzz (had two short naps this morning)
 
I'm counting 17 hours already? Way to encore Pumbaa!

2.5U seems like almost the perfect dose for Pumbaa to go green. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

(perhaps not so good for SuZzzzzzzzeeeeee)
 
Chippendale's:

Not yet. He went :mrgreen: at +2.75 last night which was 9:45 pm my time. So his +6 AM today (1 pm my time) would have been just over 15 hours. I'll test him again in 15 minutes (at +7.5) to make sure he's not dropping more.

What concerns me is that he shouldn't have already been feeling the affects of the 2.50U dose last night. That's not how it's supposed to work. I have to go on the assumption that he was generating those numbers still from the 2.25U dose shed. Right? Yo mentioned something in the wee hours of the morning about how it looked like he was reacting off of the current shot and not from the shed. And last week when this happened, someone had mentioned something about the shed being overfilled. That makes my brain hurt. If that is how Pumbaa is reacting to Lantus, then maybe Levemir would be better for him? But, I really don't want to to start over like you did with Chip.

I just want my little guy to stop bouncing and diving! <-- If I say this enough times, maybe it will come true?

Suze
 
He was on 2.25U for 8 cycles and hit a nice high green once. But most of the time he was sitting and spinning if not back to bouncing pink off pink.

I think you can see a pattern where Pumbaa has more immediate use of a given shot than usual which is probably why 2.5 pops green in two cycles.

Let's see where he is at shot time and go from there?
 
Yes, but he was handicapped from the start on the 2.25U because of that PM shot I skipped on 8/13.

It's almost comical how history is repeating itself from last Friday/Saturday to this Friday/Saturday. Right down to the Saturday AM big chicken shots.

Last Saturday, after the BCS, he bounced, and I gave him the full 2.50U for him PMPS, which then caused him to drop so low the next day, Sunday, that I skipped the PM shot since he was at 52 and dropping. I don't want to have to repeat skipping a shot this week.

The only difference I see from last week to this week is the unknown of what is in his shed. Pumbaa only had two doses of the 2.50U, and that was just yesterday. I also have to take into account how long Pumbaa stayed below 50 last night, and what a struggle it was, for a few hours, to get him above 50 and keep him there.

So, I can pretty much guarantee that he's going to bounce the rest of this AM cycle. But he could clear that quickly. And I don't want to repeat having to skip a shot tomorrow if he dives after clearing the bounce. So if that is the scenario that plays out, I think dropping him back to 2.25U tonight would be the prudent thing to do.

Yes? No?

Who has that damn crystal ball when you need it? *LOL*
 
The fact that you can duplicate this all so precisely is great news for Pumbaa.

He's not not losing much ground, but I see no real evidence that he's needing any less just yet either.

Most likely you just haven't hit upon the right dose you can hold to keep him green. Then that should go down over time as you are able to hold him green.

What happened last Sunday was more from the AM shot than the one prior, and as you can see you didn't need to skip the Sunday PM shot anyway. As Gayle noted at the time a 2.0U chicken shot would have been perfect that night.

If he is pink and not diving yet I would shoot 2.5 for the next shot, since he will be riding the bounce and the previous chicken shot.

Then Sunday AM you can reduce to 2.5U SK.

Or you can always start the 2.5U SK tonight and hold it for 6 cycles. Both GREAT options to choose from I must say. :mrgreen:
 
Dale 'n' Chip said:
...Or you can always start the 2.5U SK tonight and hold it for 6 cycles. Both GREAT options to choose from I must say. :mrgreen:
Actually that is incorrect. You don't hold reductions for 6 cycles.

There is no "NDW" following a dose reduction nor do we hold a reduced dose 6 cycles (as done with dose increases) to "fill the insulin depot/shed".
That is from the NDW sticky.

"If the cat will not stay in the normal range after a reduction, immediately increase the dose again to the last good dose."

So they go yellow on the reduction (perhaps after clearing a bounce) then you resume the *good* dose with the next shot. You don't hold a reduction that is not working or you risk losing ground.
 
I knew Pumbaa was a mind control guru. :o

Chip just dived and went GREEN! ON THE SAME DOSE AS PUMBAA! (well no chicken shot here)

How uncanny is that? Pumbaa had the right idea this time.

And Chip just earned 4 more cycles on 2.5U.

This time the blues and green(s) for Chip are legit. :cool:
 
Dale 'n' Chip said:
I knew Pumbaa was a mind control guru. :o

Chip just dived and went GREEN! ON THE SAME DOSE AS PUMBAA! (well no chicken shot here)

How uncanny is that? Pumbaa had the right idea this time.

And Chip just earned 4 more cycles on 2.5U.

This time the blues and green(s) for Chip are legit. :cool:
EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!!

I hope Chip keeps this up!!!!!!!!
 
Dale 'n' Chip said:
The fact that you can duplicate this all so precisely is great news for Pumbaa.

He's not not losing much ground, but I see no real evidence that he's needing any less just yet either.

Most likely you just haven't hit upon the right dose you can hold to keep him green. Then that should go down over time as you are able to hold him green.

What happened last Sunday was more from the AM shot than the one prior, and as you can see you didn't need to skip the Sunday PM shot anyway. As Gayle noted at the time a 2.0U chicken shot would have been perfect that night.

If he is pink and not diving yet I would shoot 2.5 for the next shot, since he will be riding the bounce and the previous chicken shot.

Then Sunday AM you can reduce to 2.5U SK.

Or you can always start the 2.5U SK tonight and hold it for 6 cycles. Both GREAT options to choose from I must say. :mrgreen:

But so much of the above is thinking like the current shot controls everything, when you have to deal with the shed. That's the hard part.

And, if he's diving down to below 50 at 2.50U, isn't that an indication that the dose is too high? It is for me, being the one who has to be alert 24 hours a day to catch him in a dive after a bounce.

As for skipping last Sunday night's PM shot, at the time, I, and others, didn't think it was safe to shoot. Looking at the numbers in hindsight is one thing, but when you're in the middle of it and having to make decisions based on a cat who seldom does what you predict by past data, it's hard.

This is just too damn complicated sometimes.
 
Hmmm...

I think when you are increasing, the current shot matters more. You've got the shed, and it's at a certain level. Now you're shooting "more" than that level, so you would expect some influence from the latest shot?

When you are decreasing, the shed is still at that level, which is higher than the dose you're shooting, right? So the effect should be a little higher than what's in the syringe for this shot.

And, if he's diving down to below 50 at 2.50U, isn't that an indication that the dose is too high?
I think so. Which is why it indicates a reduction is needed.

The unanswered question in my mind has always been "how long does it take the shed to adjust to an increase or a decrease, or a skipped shot for that matter"? It's got to be one of those ECID things. And I guess the only way to figure it out is to do it, and then look back and analyze the data.

Carl
 
No the current shot doesn't control everything, but neither does the shed. It's a balance and can vary with Lantus, even day to day. Pumbaa seems to be getting *something* significant from the current shot.

I'm not saying 2.5U is what he needs now, but it must be close. What I'm saying is I don't think his needs have decreased (yet) in the last few weeks. Just that you haven't hit the exact perfect dose. Likely just a hair less than 2.5U. But it must be more than 2.25, since that reduction failed miserably.

So I guess you just must try to microdose to just the right point. :smile:
 
Marjorie and Gracie said:
Suze

I'd be tempted to take him back up....2.5u if you are able to stay on top of it because it did get him into the 40s not that long ago. You could also just fatten it and see how he does. Depends on how aggressive you want to be and how much testing and possible sleepless nights you want :-D

Good luck!
I think Marge put it best. Pumbaa does great on 2.5U, but it could be considered aggressive. I don't think 43 is at all dangerous but you are just monitoring to see that he doesn't hit 23. And I doubt he came close, certainly not with you steering the curve.

You have some excellent wiggle room here since (surely?) as as long as you don't leave him high for too long you can always go back to 2.5U if all else fails. But what I learned with Chip is you don't want to piddle around too long or it can go up. Perhaps way up.

Pumbaa is getting so close, so you just have to hang in there for a little longer. You're doing a great job. :smile:
 
I have a question, because I've never drawn up Lantus into a U100 syringe.
How many drops are in .25u of insulin?

Carl
 
Pumbaa just had a 399 for his 8/18 PMPS. I tried creating a skinny 2.50U dose for tonight, but heaven knows. I know for a fact this microdosing stuff and I will not be happy companions.

I've been working most of the day, then doing chores at my mom's and grocery shopping, running on about 3 hours of sleep. I'd love to discuss the shed and when the current injection affects the cats, and how ECID, but I just don't have the brainpower right now.

If I could, I would take advantage of this 399 PMPS and go to bed until Pumbaa's +6. But I still have business/work to take care of, and a litter box to clean (after Beck quits eying me lustily *hahahahaha*), and really, really, really wanted to cook a nice healthy dinner since all I've eaten since my healthy, homemade turkey noodle soup for lunch yesterday has been some leftover baked chicken nuggets that I could grab, one at a time, from the fridge. (I was really hoping that the fairy godmother would visit my house while I was out running around late this afternoon...and leave a steaming grilled steak, baked potato, veggies and fresh salad for me for dinner, after cleaning my house for me. The ***** never showed up. *hahahahaha*)

I appreciate all support (tremendously) and all input and discussions. As others have said, recommendations are fine, but we are the ones holding the needles, with our eyes grainy from no sleep.

Pumbaa....would you just stop with the bouncing and diving and give your mom a break? :)

SuZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzze <--Pumbaa earned a dose reduction, but I earned more z's!
 
Hey Chippendale's:

What a beautiful string of numbers Chip has had today! (If you don't count the AMPS, and the fact that Chip and Pumbaa have got to stop communicating about how fun it is to watch their humans deal with bounces and dives!)

I have to say that I am so sorry to see Chip diving like this, as I know that reducing the diving/bouncing was one of the reasons you made the hard decision to switch to Levemir from Lantus.

But, you made the switch, and have seen positive results in Chip's behavior, and weathered going up the dosing ladder again, so I pray that the change to Levemir now pays off for both you and Chip!

So, is Pumbaa going to be the official Friday night "Diver Dan", and Chip is going to become the official Saturday night version? I so hope not!!!!!!

Suze
 
Pumbaa said:
I have to say that I am so sorry to see Chip diving like this, as I know that reducing the diving/bouncing was one of the reasons you made the hard decision to switch to Levemir from Lantus.

But, you made the switch, and have seen positive results in Chip's behavior, and weathered going up the dosing ladder again, so I pray that the change to Levemir now pays off for both you and Chip!
It wasn't a hard decision to switch. Was it the right decision?

I'm sure it was in any case. I hope it pays off with regulation. Using less Levemir than fits in a 3/10 cc syringe. ;-)
 
Carl & Bob said:
I think when you are increasing, the current shot matters more. You've got the shed, and it's at a certain level. Now you're shooting "more" than that level, so you would expect some influence from the latest shot?

When you are decreasing, the shed is still at that level, which is higher than the dose you're shooting, right? So the effect should be a little higher than what's in the syringe for this shot.
I see what you are saying about the increase, but at the same time, wouldn't the extra insulin go towards filling the shed instead of affecting that current dose?

But what you said about the decrease makes total sense. Until the shed depletes to the current reduced level, the effect is akin to more insulin than was currently injected. That's why a skipped shot or a BCS isn't a safety measure for the current cycle.

Carl & Bob said:
The unanswered question in my mind has always been "how long does it take the shed to adjust to an increase or a decrease, or a skipped shot for that matter"? It's got to be one of those ECID things. And I guess the only way to figure it out is to do it, and then look back and analyze the data.l
Except in Pumbaa's case where, once you analyze the data and expect similar results, he decides to be contrary. Hahahahaha!
 
I see what you are saying about the increase, but at the same time, wouldn't the extra insulin go towards filling the shed instead of affecting that current dose?

If there weren't any BCS doses or skips in the recent past, then the shed is "full" so the increase would have no reason to detour there, would it? And you should see the effect of the increase right away, I think.

Carl
 
Carl & Bob said:
I see what you are saying about the increase, but at the same time, wouldn't the extra insulin go towards filling the shed instead of affecting that current dose?

With an increase in dose the extra insulin goes to the filling the shed to the new "full" dose first and then becomes available for the cat to use after that...so if the previous dose was say 1u and you incease to say 1.25u that extra .25u goes first to the shed and then the next dose at that level becomes available to the cat to use to lower their bloodsugar. At least that is what I think you were asking, still trying to catch up on everyone's condos..but it feels good to be back. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Hi Mel,
When I saw your post earlier today, it got one of these: :-D
Welcome back!

Carl
 
Mel! Welcome back! Are you now surfing the web at the speed of light?

How are the kitties doing?

Suze
 
Well the kitties are doing great! In fact we have a new/old member....remember Hazy that was my foster momma kitty, well she is back in the fold again. She went home for awhile and then due to her dad's health problems she couldn't stay there so since she already knew everyone here we adopted her...she has a new name now...she is Smoochie Moochie and is the strangest little cat that I ever met, she is absolutely gaga for salad. :o She will literally try to steal it off our plates and not just the egg or cheese she wants the lettuce, the broccoli, the mushrooms and even the tomatoes...lol.

Autumn is down to .25u after she handed me a whopping 34 the other day at +4 on a mere .3u, but right now we are in that new dose wonkiness. Hopefully it won't be long and we will be throwing her an OTJ party. :-D She also finally met Maxwell kind of hard to explain but the way our house is set up they just hadn't crossed paths around here, until this last friday when she finally discovered our bedroom and thus Maxwell. She is absolutely smitten with him and now follows him around like a love sick school girl making doe eyes at him...however, Maxwell doesn't quite feel the same way about her as she does him at least at this point, I think he just thinks she is another crazy female especially after she was being all lovely to him the other day and then when he went to groom her, she popped him in the face with a left hook. :lol:

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Mel, so glad to hear that Autumn is doing so well! Looking forward to her OTJ party!!!! Glad to hear that she's settling in better, even if she gave Maxwell a left hook. *LOL*

That is so funny about Smoochie Moochie stealing your salads....but Pumbaa is another lettuce fiend. He doesn't want the other salad ingredients, but he'll steal my lettuce if I don't give him some. And when I was a teenager, we had a cat that couldn't get enough cantaloupe! So much for being obligate carnivores, eh?
 
LOL, Mullet's favorite non-carnivore meal is grits. With butter of course. Good thing, because that's one Southern Delicacy whose taste I've never quite been able to "aquire". :lol:

Carl
 
Grits with butter is funny! A true southern cat!

My last cat, Killer, loved fudgecicles on a stick...with me turning the stick for her!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top