7/5 Merlin PMPS 196 dose advice?

Nicky & Merlin

Member Since 2022
Merlin pmps was 196 should I still give him the full dose which is 1 unit ? He didn't eat much. So I was worried about giving him the full dose so I gave him half. He had pretty good numbers today. So any advice would be great. I hope I did that right thing.
 
Previous post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/bg-numbers-advice.265327/

Sorry no one replied back . I'm no expert on dosing but you shot 1 unit on 7-2 and the BG was 181 AMPS, so I would have given the 1 unit tonight. Those were nice greens you got today . As long as you have med and high carb wet foods in the house just in case Merlin drops too low and you need to bring his BG up to safe numbers
Have you looked at the 2 dosing methods when using lantus
they will provide you with guidance about how you can adjust Merlin's dose depending on which method you choose.
Lantus likes consistency , the same dose unless a reduction is earned
On 6-29 you could have shot 1 unit also

Please read the dosing methods , I'll give you the link
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

SLGS: You hold a dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below 90. The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the 90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS.

TR is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below 50. The aim is to keep the cat in the range of 50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get a PMPS test and one more test say @+6. You are getting enough test if you want to followTR
You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.
You would have a better chance at remission.

I see this is your first on the lantus board
I would post every day like this
Date Merlin AMPS# and any tests after that, since you are using the Libre you don't have to post every test if you don't want to. Then continue with the PMPS # and any tests after that so we can follow along
To add additional tests to your title tap on Thread Tools it will be to the right, tap on that then tap in Edit Thread add your tests and tap Save
You should also link your previous days post to the new one
Your previous days post is all the way up top above the pic of that kitty on the left hand side , it's in that long line. Copy it and paste it to your new post.

You can always tag some members for advice such as
Elise which is tiffmaxee
Bron which is Bron and Sheba (GA) Bron is usually on at night she lives in Australia
Bhooma which is Bandit's Mom she is usually on late she lives in India
Wendy which is Wendy&Neko
Suzanne which is Suzanne & Darcy
To tag them you need to put @then the first couple of letters and a drop down will appear then tap on the person you want to tag. When you're done with your post the person's name you tag will appear in blue.
I'll tag you to show you @Nicky & Merlin

I read one of your posts and you said he wasn't eating well, how's he eating now
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/need-some-advice.264864/

Intro post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hi-everyone-im-new-to-fdmb.264704/
 
Last edited:
@tiffmaxee

@Wendy&Neko

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@Bandit's Mom

@Suzanne & Darcy

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Hi Ladies this is @Nicky & Merlin first post on the lantus board
No one replied back to her I know everyone is busy, I gave her some information , please correct me if I told her anything that was wrong.
What would you say her no shoot number should be
She just joined on 6-16-22
Can you maybe look at her SS and give her any advice or add something I missed.
Thank you , I just felt bad that she didn't get a response
 
Last edited:
Hi Nicky, For us to really help you, we need to know which dosing method you wish to follow as the advice will be different.
So have a look at the two dosing methods that Diane has linked for you above. Once you have chosen one of them it will be easier to help you.

Regarding the dose for the PM shot, yes you could have given the 1 unit. You have given 1 unit before when the BG was 181.
Remember that Lantus does not onset for 2 hours, so you have that time to make sure Merlin eats some more food.
However no harm done in giving a 1/2 dose.
Looking forward to hearing which dosing method you wish to follow
Bron
 
Sorry I'm late to respond. I'm a little confused by the dosing method. So im not sure. I test merlin every two hrs. He does eat 4-6 little meals day.
 
Sorry I'm late to respond. I'm a little confused by the dosing method. So im not sure. I test merlin every two hrs. He does eat 4-6 little meals day.
Please read the dosing methods , I'll give you the link
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

Ladies can you explain the dosing methods better than I can I gave Nicky the link above and a short explanation in post #2
I told him lantus needs consistency if you look at the SS you will see what I mean
Sometimes Nicky is shooting 0.5' units and then 1 unit

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@tiffmaxee

@Suzanne & Darcy

@Wendy&Neko

Thank you
 
Sorry but without a dosing method I can’t be of much help. With SLGS a reduction to .75 was earned on 7/5 but not with TR. As Bron said you could have shot a full dose that night but that would have been .75 with SLGS or 1.0 with TR. Since he’s on an all wet diet you could follow TR.
 
I'm a little confused by the dosing method. So im not sure. I test merlin every two hrs. He does eat 4-6 little meals day.
We have two dosing methods we use on this forum, and members pick one based on their circumstances and goals for their cat. Think of the dosing methods as guidelines telling you how and when to change the insulin dose. Tight Regulation requires the cat being fed all low carb wet or raw food, and at least 2 tests per cycle. Tight Regulation or TR is a bit more aggressive than SLGS or Start Low Go Slow which has no limits on food being fed. The differences between the two methods are how long you hold a dose before increasing, what nadirs or low points you need to see to determine if the cat's dose needs to be increased, or decreased, and by how much.
 
I guess I'm doing SLSG. Since
My merlin didn't care for the freestyle libre sensor to be on him anymore. He took it off himself in the middle of the night. The last reading from the freestyle was 127 pm +4hrs So im glad I already had The relion meter on hand. So first time pricking my cat ear this morning. It took 2 times to get it right and he's not very happy with me. The first reading I got was AMPS 121. So now I have to get use to the new meter.

How liable is the relion meter ?

With the freestyle I get reading in the 200s in the morning.

How many time to do you test your cats BG?
 
Could you please start a new post for a new day.
POSTING GUIDELINES PLEASE READ

Which Relion model are you using? There are a lot of people here using one of their brands quite successfully.

If you are following SLGS, please put that in your signature. And you can reduce the dose to 0.75 units, as going below 90 means going down in dose by 0.25 units.
 
Back
Top