Previous post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/bg-numbers-advice.265327/
Sorry no one replied back . I'm no expert on dosing but you shot 1 unit on 7-2 and the BG was 181 AMPS, so I would have given the 1 unit tonight. Those were nice greens you got today . As long as you have med and high carb wet foods in the house just in case Merlin drops too low and you need to bring his BG up to safe numbers
Have you looked at the 2 dosing methods when using lantus
they will provide you with guidance about how you can adjust Merlin's dose depending on which method you choose.
Lantus likes consistency , the same dose unless a reduction is earned
On 6-29 you could have shot 1 unit also
Please read the dosing methods , I'll give you the link
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
SLGS: You hold a dose for
7 days (unless a reduction is earned). You decrease the dose when the BG falls below
90. The aim of this protocol is to keep the cat in the
90-150 range. This is more suited for caregivers who can't test as much as TR requires. You do a weekly curve with SLGS.
TR is a more aggressive protocol with increases as often as every 3-5 days. Reductions are earned when the BG falls below
50. The aim is to keep the cat in the range of
50-100 (which is the normal BG range for cats). To follow TR, you would need to get a PMPS test and one more test say @+6. You are getting enough test if you want to followTR
You would also need to be feeding only LC canned food and no dry food.
You would have a better chance at remission.
I see this is your first on the lantus board
I would post every day like this
Date Merlin AMPS# and any tests after that, since you are using the Libre you don't have to post every test if you don't want to. Then continue with the PMPS # and any tests after that so we can follow along
To add additional tests to your title tap on Thread Tools it will be to the right, tap on that then tap in Edit Thread add your tests and tap Save
You should also link your previous days post to the new one
Your previous days post is all the way up top above the pic of that kitty on the left hand side , it's in that long line. Copy it and paste it to your new post.
You can always tag some members for advice such as
Elise which is tiffmaxee
Bron which is Bron and Sheba (GA) Bron is usually on at night she lives in Australia
Bhooma which is Bandit's Mom she is usually on late she lives in India
Wendy which is Wendy&Neko
Suzanne which is Suzanne & Darcy
To tag them you need to put @then the first couple of letters and a drop down will appear then tap on the person you want to tag. When you're done with your post the person's name you tag will appear in blue.
I'll tag you to show you
@Nicky & Merlin
I read one of your posts and you said he wasn't eating well, how's he eating now
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/need-some-advice.264864/
Intro post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hi-everyone-im-new-to-fdmb.264704/