60 AMPS, 21 +5

Teire

Member Since 2024
A little bit before feeding time my cat came searching for me and he collapsed on the floor, I've already fed him high carb kibble and he has problems standing.

I know what to do, but I'm very afraid nonetheless :(

Edit: He ate as much as he wanted and I also gave him honey, now the only thing I can do is wait. I positioned his bed near his bowl and he's resting there as of 14:27

Ok, it's been 40 minutes and his BG is 23, he usually responds quickly. At least he's more responsive now.
 
Last edited:
When following TR, you need to be getting at least one additional test in each cycle after your pre-shot. As I looked at your spreadsheet, it looks like you’re not getting many follow up tests so you don’t know how low the dose is taking your kitty and that’s critical to know.
With a pre-shot last night of 54 It would’ve been helpful for you to get some additional tests overnight to see how low this dose was taking Neo in preparation for this morning.

The dose is too much if it’s taking Neo into the 20s and you need to do a reduction immediately.
 
You should be testing about every 20 minutes and giving a little bit of honey or syrup if your high carb isn’t bringing Neo up, you want to bring him above 50 So he’s in a safe zone.
Do not leave him unattended at such a low number and make sure you continue to test and give either carbs or honey to bring him up.
 
You can always rub a little honey on his gums if you need to.
And you always want to continue checking once you do get him up above 50 for two hours after you’ve given honey or higher carbs to make sure he doesn’t start to go down again too low once the honey or carbs wear off .
 
Did you give insulin this morning or did you skip the shot?
I gave him insulin this morning, he's at 24 right now
I'll try to test as much as possible but he only allows it when he's eating and I think he's getting full and irritated

Edit: his dose is 0.25 U
 
Ok, thanks

When he's had a hypo episode his numbers usually bounce back up rather quickly, but it looks like this time it
He’s way too low. You need to try to not let him go that low and I think at least mid cycle tests will tell you what’s going on. You definitely need to be testing more to know how a dose is taking him not just pre-shot numbers. It’s too dangerous to not know how low the dose is going.
 
His dose is 0.25 U, should I just skip it?

Edit: I already put honey on his gums
That could be. You can keep putting Honey on his gums every 20 minutes if you can’t get them to come up or use carbs if that will pull him up with food.
How long are you from your next shot time.
It is possible you should skip the shot, but let’s see what advice we get but you’re definitely not going to give .25 unit dose
 
That could be. You can keep putting Honey on his gums every 20 minutes if you can’t get them to come up or use carbs if that will pull him up with food.
How long are you from your next shot time.
It is possible you should skip the shot, but let’s see what advice we get but you’re definitely not going to give .25 unit dose
His next shot is at 9 pm and is 3:26 pm right now
 
Yes, I would call the vet ASAP.

I'm not an expert of giving advice and not saying you should until you hear from one or your vet, but at this low, I would personally consider getting a nitril glove and would administer karo rectally.

If your cat is experiencing symptoms, especially if those symptoms are severe, you need to rub Karo syrup, honey, or maple syrup on the gums or, if symptoms are very severe, administer rectally and get your cat to the nearest 24-hour emergency facility. Take the bottle of syrup with you to administer on the way if necessary. (Note that it is rare that we see episodes of symptomatic hypoglycemia with Lantus, Levemir, or Biosimilars and even rarer to see severe symptoms. But, you need to know what to do should they occur.)

Source: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/
 
Yes, I would call the vet ASAP.

I'm not an expert of giving advice and not saying you should until you hear from one or your vet, but at this low, I would personally consider getting a nitril glove and would administer karo rectally.

If your cat is experiencing symptoms, especially if those symptoms are severe, you need to rub Karo syrup, honey, or maple syrup on the gums or, if symptoms are very severe, administer rectally and get your cat to the nearest 24-hour emergency facility. Take the bottle of syrup with you to administer on the way if necessary. (Note that it is rare that we see episodes of symptomatic hypoglycemia with Lantus, Levemir, or Biosimilars and even rarer to see severe symptoms. But, you need to know what to do should they occur.)

Source: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dont-panic-or-how-to-handle-low-numbers.210109/
What is kato?
 
And he's 25 now? Can you give him honey on his gums again, and see if he would eat a small amount of food? If he likes wet food you can add some honey in it to make it hih=gher carb. It's important to take him above 50 as soon as possible.
I just gave him honey again. OMG his poor left ear, I started testing there and I panicked and didn't press the neccesary time and now is full of hematomas
 
He just went into hiding
Good. Can you re-test him in 15 minutes? Will he take some food? Even just a teaspoon, add honey to it so it is HC.
Yes, he's eaten his portion of food aside from the HC and honey. I'll try to see if I can convince him to eat a little more, he just ran away to the sofa
 
He just went into hiding

Yes, he's eaten his portion of food aside from the HC and honey. I'll try to see if I can convince him to eat a little more, he just ran away to the sofa
Maybe you can try to block off any areas you don’t want him to get away from you so you can feed or test him if you need to.
 
Back
Top